Rent Ratchet: Deadlocked for PS2
view large frontback

Ratchet: Deadlocked

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

2684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fancy moves are for people who can’t use big guns!

posted by DelRio (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Forget sneaking around corners and precision attacks, it’s time to unload some rounds and destroy some stuff! This is why I love the Ratchet and Clank series, yes I have played all four of them, and yes, I have beaten them all.

This time our heroes, Ratchet and Clank, are thrown into reality television. The twist - you don’t lose. You die! I wasn’t sure I was going to like this installment of the series, because this one is more squad based. But once I got into the game and had a feel for all the controls, it was as enjoyable as the first three.

The greatest thing about this game is the weapons and the upgrades. Ratchet wields some of the biggest guns ever put into a video game, and he handles them like pistols. Unbelievable, yes, very much so, that’s what makes it so great!

If you're looking for a break from your average video game experience and you just want to destroy a bunch of stuff, then this is your game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THis is a good game

posted by Joey15 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I love this sires because even after you beat the game there is always something to do. Either getting all the guns or upgrading all your guns. And it's hard but not too hard. THat's ok thought because if a video game is too easy nobody likes it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ratchet is back and is a gladiator?

posted by defrox336 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had just got this game and was not surprised to see that this game, just like all the other ones, were over the top quality. The graphics were a little different, though. It took me a while to get use to the graphics and the weapons. The new arsenal of giant guns that Ratchet has is phenomenally superb, and I can tell that it took a wild imagination to create the weapons. The only major flaw is that Insomniac had changed the background. The last 3 Ratchet and Clanks had a variety of worlds and enemies. I just don't find the gladiator setting in the game really appealing to most players. The graphics and gameplay were awesome, but different.

Conclusion: An excellent game to rent, but probably not worth $40.00-45.00.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just plain fun. Period.

posted by Meckara (BRIGHTON, MA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You see an enemy, you get out your BFG and blow em up. That is basically what Ratchet: Deadlocked is all about.

Throw in a meaningless story and you have what seems to be a shallow run and gun shooter with a few platforming elements thrown in. Right? WRONG! This game is not the bad, hit the same button and repeat ad nauseum, kind of shallow, but more like a private hot-tub with whirlpool jets kind of shallow. This game is just like a hot-tub.

You come home from work late, stressed and tired. You get in and its hot at first too hot, but slowly you start relaxing and letting the jets take you to a whole another realm filled with over sized guns that need constant upgrading and endless streams of poor poor enemies that get blasted into a million pieces. Long story short, this game is great, relaxing, stress relieving, upgrade heavy, fun with a story thrown in somewhere. RENT IT! NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beat it dont buy it

posted by Hacker (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and clank is a awesome series but the coming of the fourth one is just starting to be repetive it is still fun tho. but its a rent beat and return game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Frickin SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Krazy93 (PITTSBURG, CA) May 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game was incredible. i liked how u could upgrade guns. it gave some customization to the game. whoever doesnt like this game has no taste in videogames!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh

posted by tidus2 (ALTADENA, CA) May 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is for young players. I personaly liked the others this is just tournament after tournoment there is not alot of fun in this game. The online players are a bunch of whinning beebing kids I beeping hate. If you find an older player online you might have fun, some of the people are funny. (the online gets a seven the single player gets a six) Have Fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Ratchet and clank game EVER!!!

posted by dabeardude (NINILCHIK, AK) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I know this review is a little delayed but ratchet and clank 4 is the best one of em all simply because:
1. 10 very powerful weapons which you can level up to 99 and can customize with mods you can buy at vendors.
2. the co-op feature is really fun and even in 1p you get two robots that are customizeable and are pretty powerful as well.
3. it had a good storyline that was fun to play and easy to follow.

Oh yeah all you people who think this game is bad are the people who play shooters where u duck behind cover tho whole time while u spray bullets and hope to hit someone ELSE hiding behind cover. Dont get me wrong some of thoes games are fun but RC4 is just a different kind of shooter so dont diss it :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guns B-B-B-Blasting

posted by Infinite (BRONX, NY) May 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unlike the past Ratchet and Clank games, there isn't much platforming to speak of in this game. Not that that's a bad thing(for some it might be). Blasting things with all your cool guns are as fun as ever. Watching as all your guns upgrade never gets old either. Moreover, playing with the various vehicles is good fun. The only problem in the gameplay department is a little slowdown in the framerate from time to time.

R:D, like past R&C's, doesn't attempt to have a very engaging story. However, what is presented is a whole bunch of laughs and entertainment. It's also kinda cool being forced to play in this tournament.

The controls are the same as the past games, meaning that they are pretty easy to get used to.

The graphics are good; nothing that'll blow you away, but definitely nice.

The music in the game is okay. There's nothing that's really catchy. The voices, however, suit every single one of the characters, especially the male announcer("That's right, Juanita!").

With five different difficulty settings, it will definitely suit anyone who wants a walk in the park or a challenge.

There is much replay value to this game. It's online, has upgradable weapons, five difficulty settings, etc. You'll get your money's worth with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ratchet: deadlocked

posted by tippy2193 (PARKVILLE, MD) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

over all this game was way to easy i beat it all on the exterminator difficulty (i beat it once then beat it again) the co-op feature was not as good as i expected because if player 1 is using dual vipers than player 2 can't use them. this gets very complicated when you are fighting a boss and you both want to use the same gun. also in co-op you can be invincible. have 1 player fight and the other use the shield on him. like i said it was a very easy game.

if you rent this don't be disappointed if you beat it in less than 8 hours.

boo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For a younger audience

posted by gregr1 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I really didn't like this game. I was new to the series, but the animation is very cartoony, the humor is more childish, maybe an 8-13 year old would enjoy it, but probably not an older gamer. I expected it to be more violent, as it was advertised as nothing but guns. I really couldn't stand it and sent it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best in the series in my opinion

posted by nonames (EAST ELMHURST, NY) Jul 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

the guns are fun to use and can level up to 99, the challenges are fun and don't overstay their welcome, the announcers are hilarious, their banter adds a good bit of humor to the already fun game-play, each campaign is made of a set of challenges and do not just copy/paste your average run of the mill weapons, and the exterminator tournaments make you feel kinda boss. the only complaint i have (and the only reason this game is not 10/10) is that there are only 10 weapons (game 1 had 15, game 2 had 24, 3 had 20, size matters had 13, tools of destruction has 15, and c.r.a.c.k in time has 17 including the oh so marvelous mr.zurkon.). if this game had more weapons it would be a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic!

posted by Eveekitten (AVONDALE, AZ) May 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I normally hate FPS games. I suck at them and I find them boring. This game proved that there are a few gems out there. There was a perfect mixture of game play and story keeping things fun and exciting. It's constant epicness!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Ratchet and Clank ever

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) May 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

I love this game a lot. It's so fun to play. My sister isn't in to this kind of stuff, so i cant play multiplayer. Besides, my game is scratched up and it won't play properly, i evened cleaned it. Well, this is worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Buy or Rent this GAME!!!!

posted by chibiflor (NORTH TONAWANDA, NY) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The name says it all, Ratchet: Deadlocked, no Clank, no fun (Clank is there just not a playable character). Instead you have thinking/feeling versions of Mr. Zurkon. Who fall down and force you to risk your life to save them. Nice.

Basically, the game is a elongated Arena Level. You would think that this would carry the game, but it doesn't. I don't care about the characters and what happens to them. Not even Ratchet.

To Make Matters worse, the story seems to be contrived around the levels/multiplayer aspect. Which is very odd considering how good they usually are in constructing the story.

If you are looking for Multiplayer with Ratchet and Clank, look elsewhere. Try Ratchet Clank: All 4 One for the PS3. It has better reviews and plays a lot better than this game. Or better yet, ditch the multiplayer thing and go play any of the other Ratchet & Clank titles. It will be worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a 'real' Ratchet game.

posted by WelderChick87 (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

This was sooo incredibly different from the other Ratchet games and I just didn't care for it. This is one of my favorite game series and I figured I'd love this one as well...but well, not so much. I don't think I even got to the end of it, although there really wasn't a story line (from what I remember), just a bunch of running around and shooting stuff. The other Ratchet games in the series are much, much better. Makes me wonder what Insomniac was thinking when they made this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok

posted by jestr (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i rented this game cause i like the ratchet and clank games but i just felt the story for this game wasn't to good it seemed like i was playing the first ratchet all over again if your into these kind of games id recomend it but i couldn't get into it even tho i like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by 768 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

it is worth geting this game the campain is awesome the guns are out of this world and it is not a one of those boring games it is really exciting when you play and you will never get bored even with a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ratchet deadlocked

posted by elianator (GROVE CITY, OH) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

ratchet deadlocked is a really good game iplay it alot with my brother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.. Didnt realize it was basically arena fights

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

The game is okay.. the story was pretty weak for a ratched n clank game.. Didnt realize it was mission after mission.. and i finished the game within a day or two.. Woudnt recommend.. not sue why the high rating. blah lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, but lost the charm of the previous games.

posted by Mikeorelse (ALAMEDA, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

As a big fan of the series (Getting a PS3 just to play the future trilogy) I must say, this game lost some of the charm that the first three boasted. I personally really liked this game, too, but it's just not the same without clank on your back and a huge arsenal of weapons. In this game, you get ten weapons that can level up to level 99, as opposed to 30-40 weapons that level up to eight in Up Your Arsenal(the third game) 2 in Going Commando(the second) and in the first game they don't level up at all. In Deadlocked, though, you are accompanied by 2 bots all the way through that shoot enemies, turn bolt cranks, and hack orbs for you. That's a nice addition, and it really helps a lot. Another thing, you can buy "Omega Mods" and "Alpha Mods" to fine tune your weapons, and, boy do they help out, too. One more thing, the announcers have some hilarious one-liners.
So, let me cut to the chase:
+Great weapon upgrade system(alpha+omega mods)
+Helpful robot sidekicks that go along with you through the whole game
+A bunch of great wrench upgrades
+ Customizable menu colors(and the menus themselves are pretty awesome, too)
+Multiplayer!

-No clank :(
-Only 10 weapons
-Short, I beat it in ~3 hours
-Final boss is easy

=Good Graphics
=Moderate Replay Value

All in all, it's a fun game that will keep you occupied for a few hours. Rent it, don't buy it. It's not worth $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect. Best game in the history of life.

posted by dylan09 (BECKLEY, WV) May 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The best game ever. Better than MW2, Bad Co. 2, and Halo. If you tryed other Ratchet and Clank games this one is more of a shooter. I have every Ratchet and Clank game, all 4 PS2, all 3 PSP, and the 2 PS3 game that are out and this is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Glitch-tastic!

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

There are severe technical deficiencies in this game. The shadows randomly scatter into grey noise over all brushes in the level. The frame rate drops so low that the game actually slows down in many places. It also randomly freezes entirely, forcing a reboot and losing all progress. Rent only if you are a true completist with regard to the Ratchet & Clank franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

deadlocked

posted by gamekid12 (WAYNESBORO, VA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

it is good but it is easy i beat it in 2 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This isn't the Ratchet game you're looking for

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

As a Ratchet [& Clank] game, this is the worst game in the series (at least for the console games, since I haven't touched the PSP ones). Instead, this should just be thought of as a third person shooter in the R&C universe. What they added in to the game is online play, but I've always loved R&C for the single player campaign. My guess is that the online stuff is dead by now (the game's over 4 years old), so the value there is minimal. What they took from the game is the exploration and platforming elements that truly make the series stand out as the best the genre has ever had to offer.

If you want a true Ratchet & Clank game, pick another console based R&C game. If you want one that completely focuses on third person shooting, this one does a decent job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse