Rent Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction for PS3
view large frontback

Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

11522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BOOM!

posted by gnomungus (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just plain fun. Everything about it is fun. The guns are fun. The puzzles are fun. The achievements are fun. The story is fun. It just does not disappoint in any dimension.

It's hard to tell which gets noticed first, the great graphics or the sense of humor. The opening is a does-it-better-than-star- wars cut-scene where our heroes go catapulting through a futuristic rush-hour on a rocket sled, and things just get more visually attractive from there. The overall future/cartoon aesthetic comes across just gorgeously on 1080p, and all the animations are as smooth as they are polished.

And then you get to use the weapons! From the relatively prosaic fire-blaster and grenade launcher you start with, you swiftly build an arsenal of supremely destructive energy-whips, beam-cannons, multiple rocket-launchers, and all-powerful world-destroying rhino-guns which all pack a satisfyingly destructive punch. The auto-upgrading experience mechanism just adds to the fun as you find your favorite guns becoming more powerful as you use them.

But then these are all wrapped up in a well executed story package that has the right blend of excitement, pacing, and whimsy to make the game outstanding on basically every front.

There are downsides, sure. It's a hair on the easy side (though the achievements can make it less so). But you'll be having too much fun to care too much.

The good: unbelievable polish in every aspect. good controls, great weapons, and a downright excellent story. plus the ratchet and clank sense of humor remains intact.

the bad: the game is on the easy side until you re-play it in the challenge mode.

Bottom Line: it's definitely a PS3 classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rachet & Clank:Tools of Destruction

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Tools of Destruction is the best platformer for the next-gen to date and will be for a long time. Let me first comment on the beautiful visuals and graphics. I know it's cartoony, but the power of the PS3 makes the levels and the characters more life like than most other next-gen titles. If you have HD you cannot see anything The story is funny, smart, but has a cliffhanger ending that makes you beg for more. The gameplay is classic Ratchet and Clank with fun spaceship missions. And the weapons are just, wow! Some make a comeback while new weapons like Morphing bombs show many varieties of how to destroy your enemies.With alot of unlockables and replayability, like the challange mode when you beat the game, Tools of Destruction is the best platformm on the PS3 and one of the most fun games on the PS3.
Posotives:+ Beautiful graphics
+ Classic Gameplay with some new stuff too
+ Awsome weapons galore
Negatives:- The ending teases us for a sequel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hours & Hours of Entertainment

posted by Linde94 (CROWN POINT, IN) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a miracle, a game that actually adds different twist and mixes it up as the game progresses. It seems the last several games I've played (Assassin's Creed, Uncharted) have been the same, repetitive thing the whole time. This game adds new weapons as you progress, new enemies, new objectives, new environments, everything you could ask for. The graphics and environments are excellent, you can go pretty much anywhere. I haven't beat it yet, but I personally do not see any replay value in it, which is the only reason why I gve it a 9 instead of a 10. Excellent game though, several hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My first PS3 game!

posted by DXfan98 (CREOLA, AL) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

That's right! This game is a dead obvious choice for your first PS3 game! The gameplay, the physics, the weaopns, the EVERYTHING!!! They put in the perfect balance of Action, and humor! It is very LOL! :) Let's not forget the GRAPHICS! They surpass the PS2 series by far! You can see every little shade and detail in the characters! They creatures looked so real they scared me! It was insane! So if you get a PS3, start it out with this game! (There is some inappropriate humor for little kids.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very addictive

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is a very addictive game. Ive been a Ratchet & Clank fan sense the ps2 games. The weapons are very nice, the upgrades are great as normal. The planets are very colorful and bright, weapons very well thought out, and the graphics are amazing. Overall this game deserves a 10 so please play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best PS3 game yet!

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game delivers soooo much! It is the very definition of fun. The good folks who developed this game polished it up real good and made sure to include something for everyone. This is the most complete game of the "next gen". Minor interface issues and a few random crashes are the only things keeping this game out of 10 territory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What you'd expect

posted by UncleMao (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I feel bad giving this game a 6, but I just can't push the rating up any higher. I guess I could summarize the game best by saying "been there done that." R&C Future breaks no new ground. It is the same R&C game you've played before. I was tired of it after the first hour, which is sad because I'm a big fan of the series. It just feels decidedly non-next gen. The graphics are fine, but for some reason they're only 720 (even though it's a PS3 original/exclusive). It seems like a game that was built to fill a void (good, original PS3 titles) and it lacks polish and innovation.

This game is probably best if you've never played a R&C game before. Or if you're a youngster.

These days I look for games that WOW me, and R&C Future didn't at all. The PS2 games are absolute gems. Future just fell a little flat.

I get the feeling that, at some point, they'll build an all new R&C that really feels polished and well conceptualized -- a true cartoon game for grown ups. But R&C Future isn't it.

Definitely worth a rental though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Entertaining

posted by ajwall (BRONXVILLE, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and Clank is not only fun the first time through, but it's actually just as fun to play through the second time.

You are Ratchet, a furry fox/cat like creature with a love of cartoonish weapons and a robot sidekick who can transform himself into all sorts of helpful gadgets, and who normally rides on your back like a backpack.

What makes this game so much fun are the different variety of weapons and how they mutate as you gain experience with them. I mean, who wouldn't want a remote-control tornado? Especially when you can control where it goes by tipping the controller while you make ratchet run around in other directions? It's fun to go through the game the second time on challenge mode and upgrade these weapons still further.

The environments are colorful and fantastic and so fun to explore. I particularly enjoyed the planet of the dinosaur-like creatures, especially because Klank tranforms into wings and you can glide all over the map tipping the controller like you are controlling the glide.

Interspersed are hilarious cut-scenes and star wars-like space combat sequences.

This is the first video game in over a year that I thought was fun enough to be replayed. And that's saying something, because I go through games like potato chips.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Playing Pixar

posted by Bubbha (REDLANDS, CA) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This is the best game on ps3. Great action, great story, great graphics, great control, enough unique bits but not overwhelming, good sound, a very balanced and enjoyable experience for any age.

You really have to experience this-- some of the later planets you visit are so gorgeous, the stuff in the background, the skies, the backdrops, the sheer size of everything.

The writing is great, the humor is fun, the characters are good.

The framerate is steady, and it is amazing how much stuff is happening at once. On the pirate level, I looked up in the sky, and it's this roiling, cloudy sky, like we've all seen in fps'.

But there's like 5 levels of sky, and they're not flat, they're like these diaphanous ribbons, flowing along, at different depths, and frequencies, colors. And that's just the sky.

This game shows that the holy grail of "pixar-like" videogames is now upon us.

I went out and bought it, and it was worth every penny, gotta send the rental back for y'all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the amazing series lives on!

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are a ratchet and clank fan, you will love this game. All new weapons,gadgets,devices,e- tc. Oh and also their are lots of missions(more than the other ratchet and clank games in my opinion.) So do your self a favor and buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Impressions

posted by Orion20 (EL PASO, TX) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

One day, after looking through my GameQ I decided that I would put something different on there. While I am used to FPS's and RPG's and RTS's, I've never played a game like Ratchet & Clank (R&C). I admit, I was rather sckeptical in the beginning, but as with life, first impressions are important. R&C had a great hook from the get-go. Even at 20 years old the humor drew me in. You really grow attatched to this "Lombax" and the Robot (My favorite).

From the start the game teaches you how to play. While most games have tutorials, R&C does not, but it does tell you along the way. The whole first mission you learn almost everything you need to know but it plays better than a tutorial. Don't be fooled by its cartoony nature however, this game is no walk in the park. Sure I may not be the best player in the world, but I would think with at least 15 years gaming experience (That's right, no life) that R&C would be a breeze. I was defiently wrong, I have died numerous times throughout my adventures. Though R&C doesn't have a penalty system like some games, it does however use save spots where you are returned to (With everything you had upon dying).

From there, the gameplay is smooth, nice story, and very entertaining. I didn't notice any glitches and was overall very impressed for my first time playing a R&C title. They say that first impressions are important, well Ratchet And Clank: Tools of Destruction made a great first impression to me, so I will go with the crowd on this one and slap a big fat (9). Hope you take the time to rent it and enjoy it yourself.

Orion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good platformer.

posted by MazingerZ (SAN GABRIEL, CA) May 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've never played R&C series but after playing this one, I'm a fan. In my opinion, this game is a lot better than Mario (Wii) as a platformer. I loved how you can upgrade your weapons as well as your armor. And all the little gadgets and devices are a trip. There is sort of a "Sam and Max" style of humor here and it made me very nostalgic. Plus, it was very funny!

Gameplay: 8
Graphics: 9
Re-play : 7
Camera : 7
Fun : 9
IT-Factor: 7

Overall: 8

Try it! You might like it like I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I've never seen such awesome graphics

posted by XCAT73 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I own the 360 and PS3. The PS3 hasn't had much use due to low quality games, however with Ratchet I have renewed hope in PS3. I own a 1080P TV & the graphics are the best I've ever seen. Much better than Gears of War. In fact I'd say the graphics are about twice as good as the best 360 game out there. Sony has a truly amazing machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All around an excellent game and lots of fun!

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Having been a long time fan of R&C I was anxious for this release, and thank you Insominiac...you lived up to my expectations!

They have delivered top notch graphics. I have a Sony 1080p, and am just blown away by how awesome this game looks, nothing thus far can match this game!

Humor is a must, even for us adults, and this certainly entertains with some all around humor for everyone! The kids love the pirate scenes.

Game play is smooth...and unlike past R&C where you could spend mind numbing hours trying to gather up nut's and bolts, this game moves along allowing you to advance both in skill and money. It's slightly easier than previous R&C games...but given the detail, humor, maps, and "special" items it's been great fun...without the extra frustration!

The game is very playable, with little curve in learning it....making it fun for all ages!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gimie them bolts!

posted by JoshRyche (CARBONDALE, IL) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, the sixaxis controls made the game a gem always tossing some quirk in.

Loads of weapons and tons of baddies to take your frustration out on, overall the game was a little short without replaying it that is. Game defently has replay value.

I gave it a 9 because the final boss was disappointing, the whole fight I was thinking in my head "Please don't be the final boss" over and over.

R&C never disapoints and in this instance it stands strong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Awesome!!!

posted by Optimus (HOBOKEN, NJ) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Insomniac has done it again! Ratchet is back! And his adventure never looked or played better!

Just plain good single player fun!. In an industry saturated with the FPS... this is well deserved... and will go down in PS3 history as one of the best games the PS3 has to offer!

BRAVO Ratchet, Insomniac and SONY!

-Chineze

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A disappointing performance from a series fav..

posted by toxicjelly (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've been with Insomniac and the Ratchet and Clank series ever since it began, and I've loved all of the games. This one though didn't quite live up to my standards. The graphics truly make up for it though, and the weapon variance is always a plus as well.

Gameplay: It's the same old, same old in this department (not that it's a bad thing!) You'll be beating baddies with all sorts of new weapons, and some that have clearly been inspired by past titles. You'll soon find which weapons will be most helpful during the game. I personally found it better to upgrade the core of weapons I used most in contrast to spacing it out to all of them. One of the most annoying aspects in the game though is the sixaxis controls. They're poorly done in all scenarios, and quite honestly, are boring.

Graphics: This is where the title excelled. The graphics are smooth, and the environments are vibrant. It doesn't differ much from past titles, and old fans (and new ones) will highly enjoy the differing backgrounds on all of the planets.

Story: I liked the idea of finding out about Ratchet's past when I first heard about the game, but for me, it all seemed to drag on throughout the experience. One thing I've always admired about this series (and found in this title as well) is the wit and humor included within the cut scenes and off-remarks during gameplay. Some of our favorite characters return, and new not-so-notable ones are introduced. Overall, it's a decent job on story, but it left me unsatisfied.

Sadly, I have come to the conclusion that I've outgrown this game. The graphics are stunning, the story is decent, but the gameplay gets so mundane considering it's a cinch to beat. There's variety, but there's no challenge. I don't even have the desire to go back and beat it on hard!

My recommendation: If you're 13 or younger, it's a definite rent. Any older and this game, despite it's vivacity and charm, might be too boring in its ease.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yup, it's a PS3 Insomniac Game

posted by asgeras (IOWA CITY, IA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Insomniac made a great PS3 game when it comes to Ratchet and Clank. First, let's get the criticism out of the way.

The camera control can get a little poor, just like any game. This generally happens if you're up against a wall. Other than that, I haven't really had any problems and I'm currently about half way through the game (in my estimation).

The only other thing I'll say is that some of the music is a little cheesy. This is especially true when you find the Titanium Bolts (secret items). It seems like they did it almost on purpose, making it similar to Windows 3.1 music, but it's still a little too...well done, in order to be sure.

I've read reviews which complain about the difficulty level being too easy. Yes, it's a bit easy (not incredibly so, but still a bit easy). That's if you stick to the main quest without seeking any of the extra's, which take a little more work.

That's about all I've found which is negative. The graphics are amazing, whether you're playing on a standard definition TV or HDTV. The detail level is surreal, with many things happening in the background, most of which are completely interactive. For instance, the random flying cars can be blown down with your weapons.

The best aspect, however, is the combination of balanced weapons, as well as fairly tight control (even the sections which require sixaxis movement are fairly well done). I played the first Ratchet and Clank game, as well as the PSP iteration, but haven't touched the series elsewhere. The weapons have always been a strong point in this series, but they are much improved in R&C: ToD.

The best part is that they're balanced really well. For instance, if it fires quickly, it won't be as powerful and vice versa. In addition, most weapons serve a specific purpose. This is one of the few games where I actually enjoy every weapon.

All around, this is a great game, and you owe it to yourself to at least rent it if you own a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Is that a PS3 game???

posted by ultracr (MOHAVE VALLEY, AZ) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Insomniac has show us once more that they know their stuff when they develop for Sony.
Starting with the amazing graphics and fantastic sense of humor that we expect from the series, this is by far the best R&C ever. Great game play which has not change a bit ( for good), great voice acting, and a wonderful music score that take you through the ups and downs of the story line this is a must own for the PS3.Thank you Sony for let us believed once again and give us hope to look forward to things to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What PS3 owners have been waiting for

posted by evilstuart (GREAT FALLS, MT) Oct 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

R&C has been a series that has been around for a while and this is the game that has everything fans and non fans are looking for. If you own a PS3 you know the disappointment of the lack of games. The games graphics and use of colors is a breath of fresh air for a system's who games seem to be more on dark colors than bright and vibrant. The game doesn't change much from previous entries, but it doesnt have to. Finally a game developer uses the if its not broke dont breat it form of game development. This game is a must play must own game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

my first review

posted by RazorT (BOAZ, AL) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the First Ratchet & Clank when it first came out on the PS2. so when i Got my PS3 i decide to check this game out.
I was not disappointed with the game at all. the game play felt like it did in the first one.
I love the the new weapon's a couple of the new weapon's Surprised me. There was a few weapon that that i didn't like.
The story line was alsome. i loved the way the put the mosion sencure in the game. there not much i didn't like expect for the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid R & C Action

posted by Blazer (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is solid for fans of the R & C franchise. I creativity of the weapons was excellent, but the gameplay was pretty repetitive from world to world. I would have rated the game slightly higher but the save points were poorly done on some levels leading to lots of backtracking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Straightforward

posted by tyemoody (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game moves quickly, the puzzles are not overly difficult and the characters and cutscenes are Pixar cute. I gave it a seven because none of those things appeal to me but they are done particularly well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its cool for a kid

posted by danger310 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

but it needs to have the online function

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Beautiful Button Masher

posted by EvanHoward (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't get very far in this game, maybe I just smoked too much, but I honestly couldn't convince myself to devote time to this game.
I am a fan of the earlier incarnations as well as the first two Jak and Dexters, which I associate as great examples of this gameplay, but this game was like using my head to break a piƱata, lots of colors and sweet treats but I can't manage any enthusiasm to do it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse