Rent Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time for PS3
view large frontback

Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

9686 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Wow

posted by HLEo42o (LITTLE NECK, NY) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

34 out of 34 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I decided to rent this game because i saw it was one of those up on the most popular list. Ive never played any ratchet and clank titles before so i didnt know what to expect. After the first 15 mins i was hooked. I never wouldve expected a rated E, cartoon based, video game to entertain me the way this game did. I dont know what it is but this game just did everything right, the action, the puzzles and the cute humor once in a while. The weapons were fun and creative, the game never got repetitive, it was always something new or something added on to what you previously did. I've been renting games for a couple of months now and this is my first review ( Yes, ive played GOW3, Uncharted2, Heavy Rain, COD2, these games dont need reviews to explain just how good they are). Sometimes creativity means a poorly executed game and underdeveloped. Ratchet and Clank help show (along with COD2 and Uncharted) what great gaming is all about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As expected, Excellent

posted by Josh11 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

If you like the Ratchet and Clank formula, then you won't be disappointed by the latest installment. If you've never played one, pick up Tools of Destruction first.

The weapons, as usual, are creative and a blast to play with. The humor is top notch. Captain Quark makes his ubiquitous appearances to help Ratchet save the universe. Most of the content is unoriginal, but personally I don't care. I like the way Ratchet and Clank games play and they have the formula down to an exact science.

The new Clank areas are original, however, and a lot of fun. If you like platformers, humor, Pixar graphics, and wild guns, then you'll like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Ratchet and Clank since Tools of Destruction

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

37 out of 46 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and Clank is back to find Clank of his mysterious disappearance. The gameplay is smooth and beautiful to look at and while controls are the same but on target without lacking. Graphics glisten and set the mood while intertwining with the gameplay. Comedy still resumes around the funny action pack adventure and Captain Qark is still stupid as ever. New weapons are introduced as the sonic belcher of a fish burping. Weird but gets the job done. This is better than the prequel eith a little twist of puzzles so you have to think more. This is a very good adventure game. A 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!

posted by Pashta (BIGFORK, MT) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I played this constantly until I beat it and then I wanted to play some more for the extras. Very fun! I wish there were more puzzles because that was my favorite part with Clank. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by kittytoe (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

So many weapons, so many monsters , great story , great puzzles , hours of game play . Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good

posted by G3N3RALsk (RIVERTON, WY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Played this game for the first time and it took me sometime to actually get it. Played for 1 hour and was hooked. I ended up buying the game and hopefully getting 100% of the whole game. It is still fun and im wishing they will make an other one just as good or better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The epic adventure continues..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Once again Rachet and Clank are off to save the Universe.. The game is well designed, as always, and with same control schemes as before. To anyone new to the title, Rachet and Clank is very friendly for younger audiences, with basic, mild, cartoon story aspect, as like you would see in any cartoon on TV. The Gameplay is like any Lego adventure game, but with cartoon dialog and voice talents.

You play as Rachet and Clank. Continuing where the "Tools of Destruction", and the miniature pre-equal "Quest for Booty" left off, Rachet is in search for his lost buddy Clank. Clank being kidnapped, Rachet goes on his journey to find Clank with Commander Quark, to subdue the sinister plot of the nemesis who abducted Clank.

This new title, is a very renovated Rachet and Clank addition to the series/Platformers' title, while still keeping the classic functionality with addition features. The new features really add more life to the game. Unlike before, were you are running from planet to planet with the occasional star ship fights, you are given the ability to wonder around in the Galaxy of Rachet and Clank, in their upgradeable star cruiser, doing small side missions and bonus objectives. The reward is upgrades and bonus features. The upgrade system has changed, as well. The Guns can now be fully customizable, from color, to modifying the appearance, fire rate, functionality, and other neat modifiable aspects. Incognito has truly outfitted Rachet and Clank into a greater Game.

The Online enabled feature, is the ladder board system presented by Sony. Which means you are able to Track your score along with the other players who have, the new title: Where you can also compete with your buddies to see who can obtain the highest score in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by Obiwankeno (VINCENNES, IN) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have read on here a fine ending to a superior run as Hero and sidekick.... I have never viewed Ratchet and or Clank as the Hero or sidekick. I have viewed them as equals. As those of you who have played the series realize it is hard to be the one without the other. However the gameplay in FUTURE crak IN TIME.... Is flawless where this game really shines is the story telling. The amount of affection you have gained for Ratchet and Clank thru the years will be rewarded..... Let's hope sony continues to reward us with delicious story telling

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Addition to the Ratchet and Clank Saga

posted by samroolz (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and Clank was the reason I bought a PS3, sure I have been exposed to better games since then, but it was the original reason. This was a good addition to the Ratchet and Clank saga. Like "Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction" this game had a fantastic storyline and was very entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ultamate Ratchet and Clank Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Joshua2010 (CONGERVILLE, IL) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the BEST Ratchet and Clank game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Weather your into cute weapon intros(good job on that one,Insomniac),funny cinematics(my favorite aspect of the game),or just a big Ratcet and Clank fan,this game is for you.I suggest buying it,but no matter what you do,you will have a very fun time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Ratchet And Clank Game Yet

posted by chumichess (TROY, MI) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Last week I rented RaCF:ACIT. And let me tell you this... IT WAS ALOT BETTER THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE!

Gameplay: 10/10
Graphics: 10/10
Storyline/Plot 10/10
Controls: 10/10

Score: 100%, Flawless

I'm telling you, if you have a PS3 and don't have this game, RENT OR BUY IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best ratchet clank game yet!!!!!!

posted by rooneypack (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game was fantastic!! It had cool graphics!!! I bought it before i rented it and i don't regret it!! some easy trophies,but some of them are really hard!!!There are better weapons.I have all ratchet and clank games except secret agent clank and ratchet and clank tools of destruction,and this 1 is the best 1 yet. so if it is on high or available know get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then Halo3

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'M totally impressed with this game. Everything about it from the graphics to the story takes you away. This is surely one of the top 3 games I've played this year along with Unchartered 2 and Infamous.

It is refreshing to play a game without all the cursing and blood. This game is also funny and will make you smile over and over. Just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mom Says, "Yay!"

posted by tinkerbell (CALEDONIA, MS) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

My husband and I are both avid gamers that find ourselves in a growing population among the gaming community: responsible parents. We love our PS3, but find ourselves continuously reminding each other that we can't play certain games (Call of Duty, Unchartered, Army of 2, etc.) until our small children are in bed for the night. The violence and language is not something I want them exposed to.

I am so happy I took a chance, believed the other reviews and rented this game. We are not followers of the Ratchet and Clank series, but hoped we could finally play a PS3 game during daylight hours (yes, we have Little Big Planet... it does get old, though).

The game quickly caught us up on the storylines from past installments, and we were off and running. One, this is the most gorgeous platformer I have ever seen. The graphics are amazing. The storyline is intriguing, and the jump from cutscene to gameplay is flawless, with no load lag. While there is violence, it is cartoony, and nothing I wanted my 5 year-old to leave the room for.

We will be replaying this again and again, so I am off to tell gamefly I'm keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by ZACMAN10 (CHEEKTOWAGA, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

you will never get so brought into a game like this one. great storyline and great graphics. this game is perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MASSIVE improvement over past Ratchet games

posted by DanGator (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played about 5-6 Ratchet games, and I have to say that this is the best one so far. I'll just compare it to TOD in this review because of limited space.

It's improves on every single aspect that TOD felt clunky.

For starters, the menu system has been overhauled and streamlined. The stupid weapon upgrade grid is gone (so is the need to collect raritanium).

The Groovytron/Mt Zurkon/other items are now weapons which means that you can upgrade them (Lv5 Zurkon = badass!). The Constructo weapons are cool and there's a lot of parts you can modify. Also the weapons themselves feel better. There's deffinetly less of them than TOD, but it's not like in the past how you stuck with 2-3 main ones and everything else just sat there in your inventory. You have incentive to use all of them and so far non are what I deem useless (except the buzzblades... Why did they bring that one back for?!)

You no longer have to crouch to throw your wrench. This is great because you can be on the run and throw it out. It makes the wrench a much better and more useful backup weapon (for when you run out of ammo).

The space parts are really fun. I was a bit disappointed at first when I saw you could only travel on a 2D plane, but it actually works really well. It's a lot of fun to explore all the little moons.

Also, there's no more stupid six-axis minigames (like the skydiving one). I can only say good riddance!

Finally the biggest improvement is the hoverboots. They dramatically alter the game. I always felt that Ratchet runs a bit too slow, but now you can boost anywhere for as long as you want. It's a really good addition and it makes the general gameplay feel faster and more hectic.

Overall, this is a superb game. The artsyle is incredible, the voice acting is unmatched, and it's just a ton of fun. My only problem is that sometimes there's a bit of pixelization (like when you're absorbing a bunch of bolts). It looks bad, but overall it does not detract from the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I got into the Insomaniac Museum

posted by SweetGame (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I beat the game and got almost everything. Ballin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!

posted by danny123 (SEBASTIAN, FL) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this was one of the best games sony has made in my opinion. if u havent rented this game yet go ahead and do it now!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I have played in a while.

posted by Bigguy182 (MATTESON, IL) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. Lets first start by saying that this the only character action franchises left. So that by its self says something about the game. The game graphics are amazing. The gameplay is also amazing (with a couple side glitches ... which not uncommon of a game this big and diverse. Nothing big just falling into the moons and having to reload. But being it saves nearly everywhere i did not find this to be a huge problem just a programing error.) The game story line is good enough to keep adults entertained but also will thrill kids as well. There is no gore or language to speak of which is a nice break from all the killing and cussing. They also make Clank a prime time character which is nice. There is a nice replay value and achievements that are not impossible to get but are hard enough where you wont get all them easily . I cant say enough about this game it is a kind of game that you just love. and will keep playing just for the heck of it. Love this game got it from GF and will keep it. A Booming ten out of Ten best game i played since Infamous. And its just in time to keep you busy till Modern Warfare 2 or Dragon origins comes out . Great rent . Great buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sadness

posted by Graggalicious (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved all the Ratchet and clanks including this one.

pros: great game that fits well with the rest of the games in the franchise. So many weapons.

cons: The biggest problem is that it freezes... a lot. From what I could tell from other people's reviews this is not uncommon. For me it froze whenever I bought a new weapon and with so many weapons it was a big deal. It also froze at one part and corrupted the save file so I suggest multiple save files if you decide to rent this anyway. Finally aiming sucked it never quite shot where I wanted it to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ratchet and Clank future: A Cra!< in time

posted by ToneBone83 (KENNEWICK, WA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's probably one of the best in the series. extreme fun with a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun

posted by DBVPSlayer (BEVERLY HILLS, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game, like the previous Ratchet & Clank's, is a solid game all around. The corny jokes are well placed and the story has a better flow to it than the previous games, in my opinion.

The weapons, are once again, quite unique. If you really take the time to upgrade each weapon, you can come up with some interesting ways of defeating the enemies. Mr. Zurkon was a great companion to have floating beside you with his rhetorical bragging.

There are only two beefs I have with this game. No.1: the game was a bit short to me. I'm not sure whether my girlfriend and I played it too much, or if it really was shorter than the previous games. I'm certainly glad I got it through gamefly, though so I didn't spend $45 on a game where you can find all the ins and outs of the game within one week. No 2: the enemies get old real fast. I would have liked to have seen more diversity, as you see the same 5 enemies over and over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rachet & Clank Future: Another Great Game!

posted by TSSpoor (VAN WERT, OH) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was another excellent chapter in the Rachet & Clank series. Gameplay was enjoyable & rewarding, with seemingly more bolts to collect than ever! The only portion I can honestly say that I didn't enjoy were the Clank puzzles, which, while entirely doable, I found tedious & a little boring in an otherwise fast-paced game. I hugely recommend this game to those new to the series, as well as old fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent game

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is decent but nothing really great and wonderful like Tools of Destruction. I don't like at the beginning because your separated from Clank and have to switch from him to Ratchet every little bit. The game play as Ratchet and great as normal. The game play as clank is okay but I prefer Ratchet. This game deserves a 8 so at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun and safe for kids

posted by Nosaj3 (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a great time. It definitely reminds you of the great platformers from years ago while retaining unique qualities only available in games developed by Insomniac. There are tons of games within the game going on in this one and it's all safe for the family.

My only gripe is the space travel and combat feels a bit like it was added as an afterthought. Not the reason why you play this game for sure. However, the entire game looks stunning and sooo much clever and fun content packed into one package, definitely worth renting!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse