Rent Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One for PS3
view large frontback

Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1905 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good, but not quite great

posted by marmarmar (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ratchet and Clank has been one of my favorite series for about 10 years. This one isn't on the same level as the first 3 and the 2 full length ps3 ones, however it is not as bad as deadlocked or size matters.

Gameplay: It's good, but it could and should be better. The cameras are fixed and this can be annoying. I'm used to the right analog stick to adjust the camera but instead this is how you change weapons.
Since you fight alongside clank you can't hover, which just feels weird in a Ratchet and Clank game. The AI in the single player is alright, however it can be frustrating. Clank (who plays side by side with you) can get stuck or not fulfil his task needed for the puzzle. This game is also completely linear (though you can choose what level and chapter you want to play).

Graphics- Eh, the cut scenes look pretty great, and some parts of the game do too but overall I wasn't too impressed. They were also very cartoony, which all R and C games are, but this one especially. I think the Future Ratchet games looked a little better.

Weapons- Unfortunately nothing too special, but nothing bad either. There was nothing too new here. Just different versions of weapons we've already seen. They also all have only 3 power ups so they are very attainable. I was a little disappointed with the RYNO as well, it was pretty much handed to you.

Replay value, I personally feel like this doesn't have much replay value, especially single player. Since gamefly doesn't provide an online code, and the playstation store has not released it I haven't tried online.

The game was still fun. Despite the cons of the game it is entertaining, and if you like other Ratchet games you'll find some good parts in this one. Single player on normal mode, exploring about as much as possible took me about 8 hours. It's not the best R and C game, but it's definitely not the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, But Could Have Been So Much More...

posted by KhaotiKoalition (WICHITA, KS) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

: : OVERVIEW : : : : : :
I've been a huge fan of R & C since the beginning, and is one of the most-loved series I've ever played. I was a bit itchy about Ratchet & Clank becoming a party game, but I thought I'd give it a go anyway. Let's break it down...

: : PROS : : : : : :
- Great graphics, things carry the cartoonish-feel of the series but still look nice and smoothe
- Hilarious lines and quirky moments that make the series awesome lol
- Unique weapons staple of the series
- Jetpack and downhill sequences are pretty fun

: : CONS : : : : : :
- Some of the gameplay feels repetitive after a while
- Not NEARLY enough grind-rail sessions lol
- Character dialogue is annoyingly heavy with advocating teamwork
- If you switch characters mid-game, you start over with no EXP or money, which makes later stages in the game impossible
- Teamwork mechanic is aggravating when you're stuck with a dumb teammate
- No armor or nanotech upgrades, same health the whole game

: : FINAL WORD : : : : : :
I love Ratchet & Clank, and I still will, but I felt like this game kinda dropped the ball. I'm a big fan of cooperative gameplay, but you should do it via splitscreen or online, not mushing four people into the same screen - it just doesn't work well here (vs a game like Champions of Norath where it does).

This game could've been a great title if it was done outside of the party-based format, but I guess we'll have to wait to see if the next game learns to do it better or stay away entirely (the better option in my opinion)

Disappointing, but not damning. I'd call it a 'RENT'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All 4 not, not fun that is

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's two major differences between All 4 One and every other Ratchet and Clank game ever made. 1) All 4 one features 4-person coop. 2) All the other Ratchet and Clank games are fun

I would recommend playing all the other Ratchet and Clank games (especially <rack in Time), but not this one. Not to sound cliche, but this game didn't deserve to be called Ratchet and Clank. The shooting isn't fun, the weapons are boring, the enemies are too few, and the puzzles are effortless. Honestly, the whole game felt like it should have been a PSN download. I hope Insomniac get's their act together and gives us a R&C that we actually want.

Aside from being generally bad, two major issues I had with the game include the auto-save function and the auto-camera adjustments. It's impossible to know when your game is actually being saved. I thought it saved during each cinematic, and after defeating bosses, but it didn't and I still had to play sections of the game and defeat bosses more than once. Just because the auto-save icon appears doesn't mean your game is really being saved. The auto-camera is also annoying. I found myself practically yelling "just pick an angle already!" The auto adjustments were too many and too slow to keep up with the already slow pace of the game. Camera shifting during parts of the game also led to some cheep deaths from falling off ledges that were clipped by the angle.

Although I didn't play 4 player coop, the game board looked much too narrow to support 4 players. Playing with 4 people seems like it would be near impossible. I was having difficulty tracking my character with only 2 people playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Ratchet Game but not for everyone

posted by shaffdaddymack (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played every single Ratchet and Clank game made thus far and I must say this title is right in the middle of the pack as far as best of the series. It added a new flair with the multiplayer portion of the which I unfortunately never got to experience (not with a human player). I can definitely see where playing with another human player would make this game much more fun then the single player mode. The game has a great story and was surprisingly much longer then I had originally thought. The story length is on pair with Deadlocked and has a much deeper story then that game did though. The weapons were a lot of fun but this time around the variety seemed to be much less then the previous games. The camera angle is exteremely annoying this time around, no longer can you pan the camera around as you wish, you have a fixed camera angle which sometimes causes issues with being able to see characters or boxes easily. The mini game is pretty fun however it seemed a little to easy (for the RYNO parts). The replay value is definitely there however the fact you can't fast forward any cut scenes is a severe oversight in my opinion and the saves are on a level basis not checkpoint which makes it difficutl and annoying to try and gain the in game achievements. Overall if your a Ratchet fan you will enjoy this title a lot however if your new to the series, I would say probably skip it and play the other PS2/PS3 Ratchet games first before dabbling with this change of pace game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An interesting new take, but I miss the old style.

posted by naporter (SALEM, WV) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I understand the general idea behind the major game play changes Insomniac incorporated into All 4 One, namely the first chance at multiplayer in the franchise's history, but I have found these greatly detract from the quality of the game.

If you have played "A Cr ack (sorry for spelling it like that but Gamefly is censoring me) in Time" you would remember that it gave you massive amounts of freedom with the camera allowing you to use traditional FPS style controls with a more enjoyable story line. In All 4 One, however to accommodate multiple players, you're locked in to only using 1 joy stick to move around with the other controlling your inventory. Often times I'd find myself frantically changing weapons as I tried to look around. Also some scenes where you jump across bouncy platforms give you no control, the game just moves you.

Another key element is also gone, the exploration. This is due partly to the locked in camera view, but a lack of imagination as well. If you've played any of the other games in the franchise you would know gold bolts (or titanium ones in older games) are difficult to find because they are often well hidden. In All 4 One even a novice would have no trouble finding them on the first run through.

The graphics are also another issue. In the more recent set (Tools of Destruction and A Cr ack in Time) the graphics had stunning detail. That great detail is lacking and is evidenced early on by the considerably lower native resolution. This lower native resolution detracts greatly, especially when played on a large TV or projection screen.

The bottom line is I feel this game would have been absolutely amazing if it were on the PSP instead of PS3. It just doesn't take advantage of the PS3's abilities like the previous titles. On the plus side it was interesting to have Dr. Nefarious as a "hero". I am just glad I rented it instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Online Pass Required

posted by MadMax760 (LA QUINTA, CA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This new age of gaming is really starting to suck for GameFly users. I don't know 3 friends interested in playing this so my only option for co-op is online but the game requires an online pass. The online pass isn't available at the playstation store yet so the only way is to buy the game.

The game is not really meant for single player and as a single player game it is below average. My advice is don't rent unless you have extra controllers and friends who want to spend a few hours over at your place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very different Rachet and Clank, but really fun!!!

posted by Brewso (ATTLEBORO, MA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off i need to state that if you are gonna base a game around 4 player co op and then expect people to dish out money to play online. I am renting this right now and i cant even play the game to the full extent because they failed and didn't know how to offer a good online experience. DONT DO THAT!!! REALLY STUPID AND IT GIVES YOUR COMPANY A BAD NAME... Besides that game is great. you can tell the graphics aren't the best because they had to bring the screen back to fit all 4 playable characters. I love these series and the way they made this game was really cool. it plays different but don't worry its a good different. A lot of fans are complaining that the game is to easy for them and i say put the difficulty up then. The game is meant to be played for 4 people if your playing just single player then you are really missing out on this games full capability! Over all the game is a must play for ps3 owners but if they try to pull this online access code bull i will never buy another one of there games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rachet & Clank "All 4 One"

posted by olegs23 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is one-dimensional. Graphic wise, the game is a downgrade from the previous versions. Also, the game is extremely easy (even when you put on hard mode). Thus, for someone who is a big time Rachet & Clank fan, I am very disappointed in this game. Nothing stands out and the graphics resemble PS2 play at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Does not feel like Ratchet & Clank

posted by Shadowkarm (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game revolves around playing 4 player co-op and as many people have stated you can not pay the $10 to get the code. The humor is there but it just does not feel like a ratchet and clank game. If they make another one hopefully they will take out co-op as i feel it ruined the atmosphere of it.

Verdict: Rent, its a cool concept and all but it does not work for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Screw you too, Insomniac

posted by Carl_Drogo (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of the Ratchet series since the first game came out when I was in middle school. All of the games have been excellent (except for Ratchet Deadlocked which I choose to ignore...) and when I heard a co-op focused title was coming out, I was pretty excited. Turns out it requires an online pass for the online co-op features. This sort of thing enrages me and I almost never give in to it, however, this being Ratchet & Clank, I was willing to slap down some cash to play with friends. That is until I find out that THE ONLINE PASS IS ONLY AVAILABLE WITH A NEW GAME, there is no option to purchase the pass on the PSN. This is absurd and a really lame move on Insomniac's part. Guess this is just another reason why Naughty Dog is king as far as Playstation is concerned. Guess I'll just go play Uncharted online which, you know, I get to do for free cuz I ate at Subway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I returned this an hour after receiving it

posted by Dropk1ck (FORT RILEY, KS) Oct 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you rent this, you cant even play it online yet because there is no pass to be purchased yet. I was willing to dish out the 10$ but lo and behold Sony doesn't have the pass available online. The graphics are worse than the last game and I didn't enjoy the single player at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please Don&#39;t Call This Rachet and Clank.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

All I have to say is WOW...They butchered this game. It's terrible....I love Rachet and Clank one of my favorite series of all time, but WTH was this. What kind of kiddie PSP reject game was this? No camera controls and your so far away from your guy you dk wth is going on. All I have to say is who ever let them do this to a great series such as Rachet and Clank should be shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ratchet and Clank: All 4 one = Pure awesomness!

posted by slayer127 (HEMET, CA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Many of these people are wrong about this game, but they are entitled to their opinion, and I am entitled to mine. So first off let me just say this game is amazing! Some people on here think its only multiplayer but it is also single player. I don't have an online pass but this game is well worth one single player playthrough. I have loved all the Ratchet and Clank games in the past and this one is one of the best. I rated this a 9 because there is no challenge mode playthrough but the 4 player online and offline co-op plus the beautiful graphics make up for that. Great job Insomniac keep up the good work with Ratchet and Clank!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it

posted by AlmightyBME (COLUMBIANA, AL) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

if you don't like "change" then i don't recommend this game for R&C fans, but if you take the game for what it is it's really fun, the bosses are the most vicious bosses i've ever faced in ratchet and clank's entire series, the game is no where near as bad as some people make it out to be, i was definitely satisfied with this game, i love how the game has a large variety of enemies to kill, also love the humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a go, but my least fave Ratchet

posted by GlassDarkly (DUBLIN, CA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

My title pretty much says it all -- happy to have played it, but it's forgettable after you've beaten it. The environments are pretty bland and when I played it, although the 4 person co-op was a blast, it also had a lot of issues. I desynched with my players every so often and things would get laggy if someone joined you with a bad connection. And sometimes the gameplay was just frustrating and not fun. But if you have some online friends to play with, it's worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by Jafo187 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2003

They should have retained more of the best parts of the other games vs. try to make everyone happy, & the steady cam POV was just awfull!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Honest, Good Title

posted by DARKtemp6 (STUART, FL) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

As always, a good solid rent for someone looking to fill their time with holiday releases. GREAT if you got some people that want to bust through this title but also perfectly fine running solo. Weapons not as good as some originals. God I miss the disco ball....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun

posted by DeLuX (VINELAND, NJ) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Big fan of the series. This one although way different from the others, definitlely satisfied me. Not too long or short, awesome weapons, easy controls, camera can be a bit iffy at times but good game. Worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One

posted by MainMafia372 (LOWELL, MA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One is an excellent game and I have to give so much credit to this game, it was amazing. When you start the game, you get to choose who you want to play as either Ratchet, Clank, Dr. Nefarious, or Qwark, and all you people know that so. The story was amazing, but some of the missions were hard for me and I didn't know what to do so. But anyway, All 4 One was an amazing game, I've been a #1 fan of Ratchet and Clank, and a #1 fan of Insomniac Games. So for that, Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One gets a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flaws remove some of the fun for the solo player

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

This is a review for single player only. Had I played co-op my score might have been a bit higher. Make no mistake. "Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One" is definitely designed as a co-op experience. While not impossible to get through as a solo player, the game gets increasingly more frustrating and difficult the farther you progress through the game's 9 chapters. This is due mainly to your teammate's AI, which when it works it's good, but often it fails you at the worst times. Add to that a fixed camera that doesn't always provide the best view, checkpoints placed far apart, and no manual save (the game autosaves at certain points, but does not save at each checkpoint. Quit before it saves, and you're going to start further back and have to replay sections over.) The enemies are varied, but really soak up a lot of ammo towards the end of the game, at times leading to cheap deaths. I actually defeated the final boss, got the trophy for doing so, and because the game didn't save then and the boss fell on me, killing me, I had to refight the boss's lat two levels all over. Such gameplay design does not make things fun. On the plus side, controls are mostly good, though swapping weapons is a bit clumsy. The graphics are well done, maintaining the look of the series, and the story and voice acting are good. The series trademark humor is present throughout, making it worthwhile to keep going even at those times you want to throw your controller out of frustration. The game is not impossible for a solo player, as I said before, but a better AI would've made this more fun. Still, despite its flaws, fans of the series will want to at least rent this. It may not be the best Ratchet & Clank game, but it's still worth playing, as this series has consistently been one of the best in the action platformer genre. Co-op would've boosted this score at least a point higher, so if you can, play with a friend. It will go easier, and thus be that much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very fun game, but is multiplayer based

posted by HoboZombieGuy (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One is a fun action/adventure, third person shooter game for almost all ages. It has a good story mode and it has excellent multiplayer play, being able to have up to 4 people on one console or 4 people online. The controls are very easy to use so just about anybody can pickup and play the game. There are also a few hidden collectibles to find throughout the game, such as the big titanium bolts that can unlock extra costumes for the four playable characters (Ratchet, Clank, Qwark, and Dr. Nefarious). There are a few flaws with the game, such as the story mode being shorter than most games. Another flaw is that the game is made for multiplayer, and while you can play the game alone, It is much more enjoyable with other people. Saying that, however, you can still play as all the characters offline by yourself and find all the collectibles for each character. Overall, this is a fun game made for two or more people, but is still very fun with just one person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I am utterly disappointed

posted by AntHoney (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I only lastest 30 minutes with one of my most beloved series before i packaged it back up and shipped it back. The game was a disaster. It is not a R&C game and it makes me wonder if I should bother getting the next one that comes out. Thank you for ruining my week Insomniac Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ratchet and Clank Fans

posted by BloodByrd (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

If you are a fan of the series..You'll be disappointed with this addition...I've played every single release minus Agent clank for PsP...and this one just doesnt live up...the story line is flaky. It has it's moments but just doesnt pull through. It DOES NOT have the same great feel as the others..and the worlds are not as free roaming and not large...The weapon control this time is borderline annoying...and one little thing that bothers me is that all four of the characters (ratchet, clank, Quark, Nefarious) are available to play which is cool and they are all involved in the storyline at all times..but you dont fight alongside them.only Clank no matter who you are..so all of the sudden when you get to a cut scene they are all present..just me being picky I suppose because these game are usually spot on with the stories etc..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trying to decide if..............

posted by DiamondP (FORT PIERCE, FL) May 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I should rent this or the sly cooper collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can't review a broken disc

posted by papapico (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Gamefly been (I believe) purposely sending poor discs since allowing my cousin to purchase a disc using my account yet the code didnt work! Since then I would love to give honest opinions but talk to gamefly to send a disc in good condition!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse