Rent Ratatouille for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ratatouille

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, DS, PS2, GBA, PS3, Wii, GC
GF Rating
4.9

890 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

not really a kids game

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

who were the developers hoping to buy this game, because i will tell you it isn't a kid friendly game. way too hard for kids who the movie appeals to. my 8 year old kept handing me the controller. i dont know if it was the camera angle, the controls or just me but i found this game difficult as well. some of the mini-games are just brutal! and trying to collect the coins to get the achievement--wow! forget about it, there are over 525 coins..
there are fun spots and bright spots in this game though, some of the levels are enjoyable.
the graphics are decent, disappointing though considering it is a PIXAR licensed product(maybe i expect too much from a PIXAR game graphic wise because their movies look amazing) the sound is great because its the actors from the movie actually in the game, however the same lines do get redundant....
achievements can be tiresome and bothersome(as mentioned the over 525 coins)completing all the mini-games etc....
i just scratch my head though and wonder who this was made for....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad, just kinda hard.

posted by TheChicken (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I play pretty much all the kids games, because I believe the achievements to be a better easier. Well with this game they are not. 525 charms collected for an achievement. Beyond that, a lot of the achievements you will miss if you don't keep them fresh in your mind. I died a lot also. But, I did enjoy what I played, and it looked really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another OK movie tie-in game

posted by AOSKINS (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all this is not a great game. It will pass the time and there are tons of achievements points to go after.

Graphics: A strong point of the game. Seen on an 1080 HD display the graphics are strong. The fact that you are a rat makes the scale of the environments seem large and opposing.

The camera could use some work, but not too bad either. Decent draw distance with some problems with advanced platforming parts of the game.

Sound can be annoying with the same phrases over and over again, eventually you will hear them in your sleep.

The gameplay can be fun at times, but gets bogged down doing the same jump your way to a mission checkpoint and then jumping to the mission objectives, over and over.

Overall, another decent movie game that while it will not blow you away, you will have some fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow I'll rather watch the movie then play the game

posted by GhetooKat (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I didn't like this game at all. I couldn't really get into it because it either had too much going on or not enough things to keep my mind on it. After you leave the house and be in the alley I guess that's where the fun suppose to start but it don't. Don't waste your time getting this one cause it's not worth the wait play and send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Confusing but pretty enjoyable

posted by blacklabel (FLORENCE, KY) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

Ok, so I rented this game thinking its gonna be an easy 1k. Now don't get me wrong it is an easy 1k but at the same time it can be pretty frustrating. Alot harder than most kids would be use to. All in all it was a pretty fun game once you get the hang of how the game works. It took me a while to understand just how the game works in terms of missions, challanges, etc. Anyway had some fun with it but would'nt you know it my 360 died again. 4th time and all I have left is 1 achi. left. Time for an elite........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too hard to be a kids game

posted by SmokinJOE (GARLAND, TX) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This game could have a lot potential if it had REALLY been made for kids. It has cool adventures/missions, etc., but my five-year old son lost interest pretty quick when he couldn't understand the controls and the mission concepts. From my perspective, it's actually a fun game, but after a while, I could understand completely why my son couldn't really get his hands on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing Like the Wii Version...Unfortunately

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Dec 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I picked this one up thinking that my son would enjoy this more on the Xbox than the Wii. Big mistake as it's a totally different game, and not in a good way. No logical flow of missions and incredibly difficult for a kid. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

1000 pt game

posted by owtkast (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

It took a combined 9 hrs spread out over 2 days but it is achieveable. So if ur an achievement monger (and you know where to get good info on games) this is an easy 1000

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Did the developers even watch the movie?

posted by Warchild13 (NEWBURGH, NY) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is bad, really bad. It starts out ok, and the voice acting is spot on, but it looses its charm with the first "Boss Fight." The game is not for kids, heck, it's not really for grownups either. I rented this with hopes of sharing it with my 2 year old who loves the movie. Now, I had no delusions of him being able to play, but how surprised I was when I couldn't.

It's not hard in the Ninja Gaiden way, but more of the frustrating, try-and-error, whoops, you have to start the level all over, kind of way. This type of frustrating game play was supposed to have gone away back in the 80's.

I don't know if the game ever really improved after the second map as I just couldn't stomache anymore. Also perplexing is the choice of enemies and hazards...stink bugs and cats weren't even in the movie, and feel out of place. I can't even recomend this game for the achievements as I only ended up with 30.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mildly challenging...

posted by infallible (GLENDIVE, MT) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

A cute, amusing game that offers challenges on many levels. Voice over acting is amusing, with nearly a dozen slightly chuckle-worthy quips repeated throughout the game without regard to context. Seemingly open-ended levels are fun to explore, but challenging when attempting the story missions, which require one to take an unknown linear path through the environment. The missions are entertaining and slightly thought provoking, with acrobatic feats showcased, although the main challenge is presented by the poorly presented goals and agonizing "what am i supposed to do here?" moments which are compounded by occasional glitches which sometimes make completion impossible. The same rush through development is evidenced in the environmental hazards, with injury boundaries which only closely resemble visual boundaries. I stopped playing and put this one back in the envelope immediately after encountering a particularly difficult and poorly programmed chase sequence had me dying without apparent cause and trying to memorize the exact point for each hop that would not result in a glitch. I would recommend this game for extremely patient children and experienced unemployed gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very poorly designed game....

posted by Alphagamer (NEWHALL, CA) Jun 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

How the game communicates and responds to the controller is very poor. My 4yr and my 8yr both had a hard time with this game. I tried it myself and I couldnot make it past the first level after spending almost 2 hours. The in game instructions are very poor. The movement requirements are extremely complicated especially for a game that is made for kids.
I returned this game in 1 day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sloppy & inconsistent

posted by spinmike (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Ratatouille appeared very fun and amusing at first glance. The game is actually very inconsistent and therefore frustrating. The story is LOOSELY based on the movie. In fact those that are hoping to relive the movie will be surprised to find the timeline jumbled, new characters introduced and never seen again, and most of the activities as B-stories to the film. The game does well at providing a variety of story and minigames, but some of the challenges are extremely difficult. Ironically the difficult challenges do not offer the option to exit and play later, you therefore are resorted to Rebooting your system and losing any saved games. This to me means the programming was sloppily done for the game. These difficult levels may actually get your kids to throw the controller at the screen and go outside from frustration. Graphics, sounds, and sets are all top-notch though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had so much promise.....

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The graphics in this game are very good. The characters are cute and loveable. But then comes the gameplay and the camera.

The camera really ruins this game. It spins around at the worst possible times. Many times I would be wrestling with my controller to make the camera turn. Most times I would end up having to make blind jumps. It lead to many rediculous falls and deaths. Thus leading to have to redo a lot of things.

The controls are not very responsive. They needed to be fine tuned.

There are many glitches in the game. I had a mini game glitch and thus prevent me from getting all of the gamerscore points.

My son's gamesave also corrupted.

I hate not being able to replay or revisit certain areas and missions. If you miss something you will have to replay the entire game. Allowing more than 1 gamesave slot would have been a benefit too.

Very frustrating game. It had a lot of promise... but as usual, it was rushed and the game shipped out flawed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lousy Controls

posted by jrpub2002 (RENO, NV) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I could not control the little rat at all. Not fun. Don't waste your time or money on this poorly designed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by XBFREAK (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I didnt like. It was complicated for me. I couldnt find where do I have and miissions were stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Really For Kids --- But It's a Kid Game

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

Ratatouille, which was a terrific movie, is actually not a bad platformer, either. It's not the best one out there but it's better than most of what the 360 has had this year.

That being said, the game is clearly targeted for children, but the game is just not a game for kids. It does require platforming that is a bit more precise than the target audience for the game can really pull off. 5 year olds would have a hard time figuring out how to properly balance on ropes --- but it's something you do A LOT in this game. It's like the game was programmed for at least moderately experienced game --- but dressed up in such a way to make sure moderately experienced gamers do not really want to give it much of a chance.

The game hits the collect-a-thon thing with some gusto, and it's a bit irksome. I don't care about collecting the 100 charms per levels or the tokens for bonus material. It is lazy, lazy, lazy, lazy game design to make that a focus of a game like this. That stuff ceased being a tolerable thing in the 32-bit era. It's not excusable now.

Now, the voice acting is good --- but repetitive. I can understand that the actors don't have hours upon hours to record dialog for the game, but hearing the same short clips ad infinitum is a headache. And the game looks good. It isn't the prettiest game out there, but it captures the movie's spirit expertly. The camera is a headache, which is the bane of most mediocre platforming titles. It becomes a constant battle to get a suitable view of the world to see where to go next. And the ending run towards the screen stages weren't much fun when Crash Bandicoot did them years ago. Time has not been kind to this game cliche.

The game is a shallow experience, one that won't offend anybody or make you hate it --- but when you beat it, you won't have much desire to go back to it. If not for renting, I can say I'd have never considered trying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by JHOOVA (FRESNO, CA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

After playing the game a while i kinda got in the
groove. But afer getting to one point at the game
it kept freezing. I dont know if it was the game
of was i doing something wrong. After about 8 times of doing this i was frustrated. So its worth renting but i wouldnt buy it personally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WARNING! Prepare for the mental institute!

posted by seanthedon (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

If you can get 1000 Achievements you are pro! I got it! ALmost went to the loony bin trying to get it. Trust me... you might break your controller.. luckily mine only has a few teeth marks. LOL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game for Kids

posted by Jonahpapi (DOWNEY, CA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is obviously not a HIT but it serves it's purpose for young kids that like the movie. I played it with my 3 year old and he had fun as the graphics are ok and the gameplay is not too difficult. It has easy achievments and lots of minigames the kids can enjoy. Again this is no going to be a 10 on anyone's rating board, but if you are looking for a fun game to play with your child this will serve it's purpose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for kids

posted by lolab08 (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I rented this for my 11 year old sister and I did most of the playing. The only thing that she did on her own was the beginning level after that they wanted you to do very intricate actions that would only be easy to an avid gamer also the task would only be obvious to an adult or a very logical child. The content is for kids the game play is for adults. Overall the game was fun for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The most famous game in paris...not

posted by MrRobin (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

You know Ratatouille's a non-perfect game that wouldn't make it over um....8 stars I guess. Now!I ain't sayin`it's a bad game I RATED the thing
8 stars fer god sakes I'm just sayin`it's frustrating. Heck I-my eyes got tired `cause I couldn't get past the city of lights quicker. It's a game you
really need help with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by anonymous7 (COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

didnt like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tedious

posted by illbeyou (DENVER, CO) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

Played this game with my 5-year-old and I thought it was frustrating, tedious and boring. The graphics are good but so what. That's to be expected nowadays. I realize it's probably more geared for an 8-year-old than a middle-age guy and a pre-schooler but I still think it was just a tedious experience getting to the 2nd level. It's maybe worth a rental if you have children but no way is this thing worth the money to actually buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »