Rent Rapala Tournament Fishing for Wii
view large frontback

Rapala Tournament Fishing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.2

973 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fishing At Home

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game the first couple of days I had it then it got old really fast as most games do. The controls I thought where pretty cool. The lakes I thought where really small. The challenges where really fun to play. Length, wieght, quantity of fish. You are going to want to mute the game or turn of the guide because he says the same thing over and over and over again. Easy play you can just throw in a lure and get a fish every time. The medium and hard levels take more experience and patience. If you like fishing and want a cool game to play for a couple of days get this. Really fun with a bunch of people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

underrated game

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun. It makes excellent use of the wii remote. When you start pulling in a fish you have to move the remote way back behind you and reach as far as you can to the left and to the right. If you want to see a wii game that has completely revolutionized the gaming industry then take a look at Rapala fishing. Only wii sports compares to its use. In Rapala fishing you will learn tons about different kinds of fish, bait, rods, lakes and so on. It is a full complete game. The different tournaments you enter provide lots of super challenges. This game is the most underrated game on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome! so much fun!! :)

posted by mikeng (MARIPOSA, CA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome! so much fun!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!

posted by 6007226 (MURRIETA, CA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

why is everybody saying this isn't a good game?I think it is one of the best games for the wii[i love fishing also].If u like fishing u should definitely buy it or rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rapala Tournament Fishing

posted by critic911 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall I think this is a pretty fun game. The only thing that would make the game more enjoyable is playing it with a some type of controller that mimics every action of a real fishing rod&reel. There are certain controls that take some getting used to, but once you do, you'll be slayin' em!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for My Kids

posted by momof2 (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My two boys (8 and 10) really enjoyed this game. They had a great time deciding which bait the big fish were interested in and winning new lures. The two boys even consulted with each other about what had happened when the other had played! They really didn't want me to return it yet but were anxious to see what else was on our Q since I keep it a secret.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by 24454426 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its a ok game its not the best, but it makes me feel good about fishing 4 i find fishing boring it probably will get old after awhile but i still like it. the controls r a bit bothersome but not totally a issue with me. it could do abit more n i do wish the guide would stop talking, over all its a ok game 4 a non fisher lik me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not too bad, but not great

posted by GoatmanTK (PEARLAND, TX) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is fun for a little while, but I am not impressed with the game as a whole. If you are an avid "real" fisherman, this game will be miserable for you. It has no life like scenarios or patterns and you can only fish crank baits and similar hard baits. There also aren't very big areas to fish. If you want to have a little fun, it can be fun in the free fishing part, but hopefully some better fishing games will come out. It may be worth a rent, but not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wii Rapala Tournament Fishing

posted by Scooterdoo (GLASGOW, KY) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is okay, but I feel it leaves a lot to be desired in a fishing game. The graphics are mediocre and the guide is very annoying. I hope someone brings out a better fishing sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to play somewhat

posted by rayemtjax7 (APO, AE) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game I found hard to play to a certain extent. The controls are hard to use here and its not really good as far as realisticness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wow! It was fun!

posted by BBBoys (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The tournaments were fun and the graphics were good. Easy to learn how to play. Anyone can play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The FUN wears out fast.

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

31 out of 37 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

If you're a hardcore fisherman on "weekend warrior" status - this is the game for you. Great variety of gameplay modes. The Wii controls are a perfect fit for a fishing game. However, be warned if you're not all that into fishing - the 'excitement' found in this game - in reeling in the big one - will fade away fast.
Perfect as a rental to play through for a while.
But - hey - don't take my word for it - try the game for yourself. The Wii Controls are what makes this games fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by jonnyred (BYRON, NY) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. Not very hard though and thats a little dissapointing. Its worth the rent and I actually find the game a little relaxing just turn the sound off. Your wii mote gives you the real in sound so in that regard its alot more like real fishing. NO SOUND. I had fun playing this game and I am glad I rented it. But its spent and Im sending it back. ITS WORTH CHECKING IT OUT. some of the reviews on this site and others are way to harsh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as bad...dont use the nunchuck controller.

posted by coconut196 (HONOLULU, HI) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I played this a few times with the nunchuck controller and it was very clumsy and very disappointing. But I removed the nunchuck and played with the remote only. WOW! what a great difference does it make. Its more playable and the remote is more responsive. Just reel it in with the A button. Dont press it continuously, just press it intermittently (click it) a few times to reel in the lures. When you are fighting the fish press the A button down and pump the rod (move the remote up and down) to speed up the reeling. Each lure acts differently. The key is slow reeling, for example press the A button a few times, wait a second or so press again, press twice, wait a second and so on. My advice is to play it only with the remote controller with smooth slow action on the remote(rod) and reel it in slow by clicking the reel(A button). Remember its just a game. You Can not compare it to the excitement of landing a real fish. But again you can have fun with this game by making a few adjustment of your own. Let us know if you have more tips. Merry Christmas to you all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too many flaws for me to recommend.

posted by jfisher446 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like fishing games. I love some fishing games. I find them exciting, fun, and replayable.

I would not even call this a fishing game. It is more of a sad promotional item for a company trying to boost it's sales by slapping a game all over the shelves.

I don't say that because I'm bitter at all. I am a little bit of course because I wait 9 days to receive this thing, TRY to play it for about 6 hours of so before finally deciding that it is a %100 worthless waste of my time and probably burning up my precious Wii.

So yes, 6 hours of struggled gameplay has taught me so much more about how not to make a fishing game than I would ever want to know.
-Horrible camera angles
-Lakes/rivers that you can navigate, but you don't get a map of any kind.
-Fish graphics that relate in no way to the size/weight of the catch.
-Motion sensing that is some of the slowest to react in history. Generally takes me 15 seconds to push A, pull my arm over my head, wait for the game to realize it, then throw forward, only to do it again because I was too fast for it.
-Nearly uncustomizable. You can pick from 26,000 different lures with very little explanation or actual benefit between them however.
-Voice acting stutters and gets confused.
-Do not use loading quiz questions that ask what color the box of your bait products are. Also do not ask how far a Size 9 Stinger bait can dive on a 64 ft cast at the average reel rate. WTH?!

The game DID have some pros however, though not enough to even pull the scales somewhat even. They are only some tips that another company can use as suggestions in their release of a fishing game that is hopefully worth more production time than a couple weeks.
-Great rod/reel sounds.
-Variety of fish
-Many different types of tournaments, though I threw my Wiimote on my 8th tourny.

All in all, I don't care how nice the lures are.I would never buy Rapala anything because they slapped their name on a piece of worthless game like this thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst fishing game ever? Don't waste your time

posted by redice (COTTON, MN) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

With bad controls, un exciting fishing, a nagging commentator, constant Rapala advertisements and no online play I can say this has to be about the worst fishing game put out to date.

First off the controls, while they should work good the developers didn't seem to actually put in any time on actually getting them to work. You can see how it should work but for the most part its either glitchy at its best and totally un-responsive at its worst.

You can catch a fish every cast, boring the commentator constantly is talking however he has nothing to say always saying the same thing over and over and over and over. The adverts are annoying, no online so even if the game was fun to play you wont be playing with anyone else so whats the point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FISH'IN IS FUN!!!

posted by sneky22 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I LIKED IT! it was cool and stuff but if you dont like my vote something is wrong.i like to go fishing unlike you babys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG! Why did I rent this!?

posted by LuHurt (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Such a bad game, not fun at all. Not even fun swinging the wiimote around. There is no point at all to play this game. I feel sorry for anyone who actually went out and bought this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rapala tornament fishing

posted by quick207 (TAYLORS, SC) May 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is not fishing but Q/A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A pile of stinkbait

posted by down4six (Alamosa, CO) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

Let me start by saying I own this game on the 360 and enjoy it. I also used just the wii mote without the fishing pole attachment. Playing this one, I got the feeling the development meeting went as follows-
"Hey, there's this wii console, and we can actually develop the game to incorporate the feeling of real fishing!"
"Nah. I have better things to do. let's just throw something together, and put it on the shelves."

I was surprised on how much this game was lacking. I played the free fishing mode. It starts off with driving the boat to where you want to fish. So you speed around until you find the spot with your trusty fish finder.... wait, there isn't one! Then go to fire up the trolling motor to get yourself in the right position... no trolling motor either! You basically have a co-pilot that tells you "this looks like a good spot" or "you're going to scare the fish with all your driving around". fine. Time to fish. The casting motion should pretty pretty simple, since it would be the same as if you were actually hold a rod and reel. You try to finesse a shot in, the co-pliot makes snide comments. You finally hook the fish, and you're reeling it in, and a power-up screen pops up. no directions, nada. I ended up losing 75 percent of the fish I hooked, that's when I turned it off.

I am really hoping someone makes a serious fishing game, cuz this one ain't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hard To Use Controls

posted by bigguy1977 (LOVELY, KY) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

It was hard trying to cast the fishing line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad graphics second rate game play

posted by player4fun (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 25, 2008

Member since May 2008

With today's technology this game could have been design better than this, there's no real life motion when fishing. I played other fishing games that are way better and lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rapala Tournament Fishing

posted by dakota1307 (EDMOND, OK) May 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This game is horrible, it has the worst rating i have ever played i tried to play this game and it does not have very good handling or control i give this game a big thumbs DOWN!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by quickview (HIGH POINT, NC) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I decided to rent this even after reading so of the other reviews. Game was not easy figure out. Isn't easy what Wii is about? Casting was difficult. Caught a few fish but wasn't able to land them. Really needs a practice mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Much less fun then Zelda fishing

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Zelda fishing made me think this would be a good game. I really didn't like it. I guess I need a camo jacket, a bud light and a child molester mustache to enjoy a game like this.

Pros:
Driving the boat around wasn't bad.
Trivia during loading screens.

Cons:
Gameplay was boring
Controls were jerky
Character models were laughable
Generally bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse