Rent Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010 for PS3
view large frontback

Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Good Game To Play If You Like Fishing

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is good but that's really just because I like to fish. In game standards it's actually a not so great game. The game's graphics are touchy and don't look extremely detailed. The game also can get very repetitve at times when you keep catching the same species of fish. I recommend it to any one who likes to fish but other than that it's not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010

posted by justfocus (SODDY DAISY, TN) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enjoyed the game overall, but I found that the controls on reeling a fish in (the left and right motion ) does not so well. It seems the the system (eye camera) has a tough time following it. It took 5 or 6 times to get it to react and this will cause you to lose many fish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Fishing game, better controls than the last1

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great fishing game overall with better controls over last years version with improved graphics . and if your also a trophy hunter and love hunting for trophies then this game is very easy to gain a plat off of . but over all great game with exciting fishing game to fish for tons of big fish to fish for couldn't ask for a more realer experience from a game it comes close to the real thing as you can almost get to without actually really fishing .

overall 10/10
controls 9/10
replay ability 10/10
gameplay10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

if u like free roam and old style type fidhing

posted by ips3er (PERRY, FL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

youll enjoy this game,its a fun game and the bass and everything are huge and tuff,i enjoyed this game,in the tourney mode youll have a bout 15 min to max out but but you can catch a ton of what u need easy ,ull catch whoopers out of the yin yang,i only give this a 9 bc its easy to win the tourney(bc im good apperently)and if u fail at a rd u can restart..you dont have to fish in the fishing holes really til the last tourney bc of the time limit,i won most and caught the biggest wrr the fish is by theirself,i also caught biggins in schools of fish,the graphics are great,only thing sucked about it was there is no online mode(atleast 2 player online be nice)but it does have 2 player coop for at home play vs or together,lure selection,pole and reel selection are good,mix and match for the best piossible outcome for fish and you can ctch anything with any lure just about,i ind that fast cranking was the overall best type of kure action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another Horrible Fishing Game!!

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

What has happened to fishing games??? This game is called Rapala Pro Bass Fishing, which would lead you to believe the game is going to be centered around bass fishing, right? Wrong, it is you in a boat, with horrible controls catching random fish, nothing having to do with bass fishing. Get this, to cast with the controller, you have to hold down R2 and pull back L stick and swing and release at the perfect time. What??? Stupid!! I haven't played a good fishing game since Super Nintendo and it doesn't seem to be getting any better. What makes it worse is that I have been trying to get this game in through Gamefly since it came out and being unsuccessful, I went out and bought this thing today and now I am stuck with it!!

My only hope is that the Kevin Van Dam fishing game that is supposed to be released sometime soon will redeem fishing video games. Surely if he put his input in this game, he won't let them screw it up this badly. If anyone is listening, when you make a bass fishing game, number 1, make the game about catching bass. Number 2, tournament mode shouldn't be trying to complete ridiculous challenges in ridiculous time frames, they should be a real bass tournament with fishermen trying to catch the most weight in BASS!! Finally, make it old school, allow the player to win money in these tournaments that they can use to upgrade equipment as the play goes on. If you need help, go and find a Nintendo or Super Nintendo and play Black Bass, please!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Didn't like it.

posted by Caerus (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Played this game for all of 30 min. couldn't take anymore. Graphics are good, sound is good. As for game play I found it overly complex. You start with limited tackle (even in free mode) you must reel in your lure while pushing in verious directions on the left stick, if you goof a few times your cast is done. (You have to reel it in, but no fish will come after it.) All fish semed to come in and strike from off camera. I think the ones you can see are eye candy, they just moved outta the way when my lure was about to hit them. Only to have a fish of the same species swim in from off camera 2 seconds later. I like the ocassional fishing game to relax, but I found this to be a bad atempt to cross a action game and fishing game that will satisfy neither.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hmmmm

posted by KronicDoty (ESCONDIDO, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I thought it would be cool to give this a try since it is move compatible, but i had it in my ps3 for an hour and a half at best and then it went right back in the mailbox...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

STINKS so bad the buzzards wont eat it

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

maybe someday soon due to the motion controller craze someone will CREATE a good fishing game.. not just rehash the same failures over and over again... graphics / boat action / casting and lure presentation were pretty poor... i didnt have high expectations when i rented this one,,, but man.... anyway im headed back up to birch creek on fork.... not to fish,, but to find some deep water and throw this game overboard... LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by VanDusen86 (BILLERICA, MA) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

If you want a real fishing game go back to Nintendo black bass fishing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Enjoy It

posted by coachk21 (JANESVILLE, WI) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but I had to after seeing a bunch of the yahoo's reviews on here. I really have enjoyed this game since I got it. Of course eventually it will get boring, because it's fake fishing. How many different things can you do while you are fake fishing?

As for some tips...start with a few free fishing trips and follow all of the coaching tips about casting and reeling and where to look for fish. Find your favorite ways to reel in and try to perfect those. Then, go to a few different lakes in the free fishing mode and complete challenges to add to your tackle box. Then, start doing the tournaments.

The only thing I would change is getting rid of the birds and hot air balloons. That makes finding fishing spots too easy. There should be some fisherman creativity to find overhanging tree's, changes in depth, and underwater weedlines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The game is OK

posted by racemy442 (DUBLIN, GA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

But OK is all I'll say for it. I only wish catching Bass were as easy as this game makes it out to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better then most

posted by wowkmoto (THIBODAUX, LA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

is fun game only wish you could use 2 controlers one move controler is not so good jumps around to much

if you used the thumb controler for the move in one hand and move in the other would work much smoother other than that fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »