Rent Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games, DS, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
6.4

657 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game, Easy Achievements and decent controls

posted by MajorFear (APEX, NC) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

For not having an instruction book the game is remarkably easy to play. You are taught, on screen, basically every thing you'll need to know to get out there fishing. The game is somewhat ridiculously in the first tier of Rookie. I managed to grab 24 of the 50 achievements for nearly 400 points in the first hour and a half and do not expect the rest to be that difficult to achieve.

Graphically the game is solid and the sound is fairly solid. The only incredibly annoying thing is the announcer telling you every 2 minutes that the lake is home to a monster nearly 10 feet in length, etc etc. You can turn it off but you miss other tidbits because of it.

Controls are great, especially with casting. I find myself flicking it like a pro without even thinking about it. It's too easy to get the perfect cast every time, however, and nail the bonus attraction rating. But otherwise it's great.

Overall, decent game. Would I be happy paying $30 for it...maybe if I can get at least 5 more hours out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Easy

posted by DrShocker (HADLEY, MA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I loved playing these games when i was a kid .. But this one is waaaaay to easy , you can catch a fish each and evey time you cast .. the patterns for getting lure bonus are way to simplistic and you can win a tournament on your very first fish ... The graphics are nice and it is a fun game , but after a few days you will send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Fishing game, better controls than the last1

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

great fishing game overall with better controls over last years version with improved graphics . and if your also a trophy hunter and love hunting for trophies then this game is very easy to gain a plat off of . but over all great game with exciting fishing game to fish for tons of big fish to fish for couldn't ask for a more realer experience from a game it comes close to the real thing as you can almost get to without actually really fishing .

overall 10/10
controls 9/10
replay ability 10/10
gameplay10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than I expected!

posted by MajorOrion (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the first fishing game that I have played, ever. I had a really low expectation for this game because of other outdoorsman sporting game that let me down, but this game turned it around for me.

The graphics are stunning, and actually trying to reel a fish in is a challenge. I didn't actually rent this game from GF, rather I bought it straight up from a retailer, so my copy came with the wireless rod/reel for the XBox 360.

The downfall to me, for the game is that when your playing with regular XBox 360 controller, it doesn't tell you how to set the hook in the controls, which is a flip up motion of the left analog stick if you were wondering. Also, its really annoying to be reeling in a fish and it only be 11 ounces, and it be fighting you like its a 20 pound fish. You get it all the way in to 4 ft and it turns on you and goes out to 30 feet. There isn't a way to set the drag on the reel to effect this random outcome.

Also, if another "computer" fisherman gets in the way, all you see is his boat and not your fish, and it doesn't effect your line in anyway. In real life, the line would have been snagged or cut, but once you get past his boat, its like nothing happened.

Another con is that your lure never gets snagged on the lake grass or weeds, but thats a pro for the gamer because that can be really annoying!

Otherwise, all other aspects of the game are realistic. You drive the boat, you choose where in the lake to fish, you choose where to cast, your lure, you choose your rod, reel and lure, the weather even changes, you have to set the hook with a yank, the speed of the reeling changed with your speed you move, and you get to see the fish underwater instead of looking at the back of a boat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game but gets old quick

posted by Steelhead (BONNEY LAKE, WA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a longtime fan of fishing game dating back to Super Black bass on SNES played a as many as possible and still waiting for the Rapala series to take the next big step, this game tried but is still not there yet still even with my somewhat low score I consider this the best fishing game so far this gen.

This game has decent graphics , backdrops , fishing areas and fish all look pretty good.
The lakes are all huge but it feels like you are limited to fishing the designated areas anyhow, they have over half dozen big lakes but the GPS and no map makes it impossible to ever see where you are overall on lake so it can be confusing sometimes getting around.
The tackle selection is huge but the set ups are all quite basic no way to run different rigs just lures , line, reel , rod.
They have tournament mode and free fishing but no online play just really bad leaderboards with everyone having caught the same 218lb monster fish and other similar usless stats.
I finished tournament mode 1st place really easy and went to free fishing mode where most stuff is unlocked sadly including the monster fish that I wanted to catch before sending the game back but did not have the patience to wade though all the annoying challenges to get them unlocked.
While the game has boats to get around the lake they contol terribly.
And possibly my biggest let down is the fishing mechanics themselves that become really annoying fast and are not fun or realistic starting with the super finicky lure action mode timed to music on the retrieve the the annoying way you have to try and keep the fish centered in the screen that is the exact same every single time you catch a fish , fish also stay underwater until the choregraphed jumps that are all the same and it never really delivers the feeling of real fishing other then that you are looking at a fish while you are playing.
Rapala really needs to scrap this engine and trying doing something that delivers a real fishing experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring Fishing Game

posted by dhusker (PERRYVILLE, MD) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is very arcade like and boring. Catching a fish doesnt take much skill at all. You drive to a given fishing location, mostly which is shown to you by the icons on the screen. As long as you have a lure thats rated 4 or so for a fish, then that fish will bite. Reel in, repeat repeat. I miss the old Bassmasters games for the SNES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Hunt15317 (CANONSBURG, PA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

There's no online and it's not the greatest graphics ever but there good it's helps if u fish in real life in the game u get to fish in Erie where I fish in real life I gave it a ten it's a awesome game and I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Number 1 fishing game ever!!!!

posted by vladn2000 (PARKER, CO) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Rapala Pro bass fishing 2010 is a great fishing game for the fishing fans because you could feel like your really in the fishing tournaments and the free fishing. Activision has done very great and well done job on making this game the best fishing game in the world and for fishing fans. The game has also done a great job on making tournament events on that game. But when I played it ,It felt like you're really fishing and participating in the fishing tournaments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rapala Pro Bass Fishing 2010 (X-Box 360)

posted by Bdixon1340 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This Game Is Really Fun Haven't Tried It With Rod Yet But I'll Buy That Bundle For This Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Looks good - Really easy

posted by markopolo (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

Fishing = patience

This game rewards your A.D.D.

Fishing is partly about finding "that spot." Exploring the waters for what you think will get you bites.

Not only does the game tell you exactly where to find fish... it tells you in 3 different ways! You got the normal jumping fish... but on top of that they give you a radar and a hot air balloon just in case you're too far away to see the other blatant cues.

Graphics are good.

Gameplay is no fun. The screen says pull left/right, otherwise keep reeling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good for a fishing game

posted by forfor44 (AMARILLO, TX) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

my 7 rating takes into account this is a fishing game, i mean really, how good could it be? if you have really been craving to go fishing but dont have the means or are just too lazy this will satisfy your urge for a little bit (although it is no where close to the feel you get when fishing in real life).

on to the game. This is probably the easiest game i have ever played. its not uncommon to WIN an entire tournament of your FIRST cast. yes, you heard that right. Not to mention if you dont its okay because unless you have never held a game controller before you will catch a fish on every single cast no matter what if you are using the correct lure and in a "fishing spot" that is located on the map. Fishing spots on the map is probably what make this game way too easy, but hey, if they took it off it would be almost as hard as the real thing lol.

i do like that they put fishing spots in logical locations(around cover), and give you some options with lures(although the lures you start out with seem to be the best anyway). there is a little bit of character customization but not much, especially if you havent unlocked all the clothes and such from the mini quests in free fishing mode. i'm not an expert or even close when its comes to americas fishing lakes but it seems that they have alot of each lake off limits.

unless you like fishing, and need to satisfy the urge in the cold winter months, you probably wont get a whole lot out of this game. and if you REALLY love fishing this game might just leave you feeling lacking with how ridiculously easy it is to catch a monster fish and get 1st in every single tourny in less than 60 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spoiler: This game sucks

posted by ShaneFroggy (LEBANON, PA) May 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game has one or two plus to it and that is the stupidly easy achievements, (I got 500+ gamerscore in an hour) and that you can play it on PS3 Move (I rented it for ps3 and then lost my wand). But this is when any sort of positive remark ends.
I rented it for 360 and I instantly hated it. First of all when you make your character you can pick 2 hats 4 shirts and 3 pants. Thats it. Also, the moment I started free fishing I hated how the controls were completely mundane. "You cast by holding down RT and flicking RS forward. You reel the fish in (Which you have an 85% chance of catching a record breaker) by holding in RT and moving RS." There is NOTHING that slightly phases me about retrieving the lure. You, hold in RS (Repetitive, huh?) and follow the coach which shows you which direction to move the RS. (Hopefully your getting that you use like 5 buttons total in the entire game) And then this annoying pep music comes on and two voices say stuff like (Bullseeeyyyyeeeeeeee) and oh, look at that you caught a 280 lb monster fish. I dont even think the people who made this game knew how to fish. The gameplay is just so distracting from the actual object of the game, the graphics, unlike what the others say, are horrid. The fish act NOTING like what they really do. Fish are extremely cautious about anything they do, and in this game, 3 seconds after you make a perfect cast (which if you don't get you probably have no hands, and if you miss it you can press B and start over less than a second later) a fish pops out of nowhere and grabs on. Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if shamu popped up and bit it. Its just so simple. I hate the fact that you cant even use a simple worm and floater. To make it simple, don't get this game. Actually, get the game so you know how horrible it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

After 20 years of fishing games?

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

This is the best they can do? This isn't a new concept. They've added new things to fool you into thinking this should be a fun game. But the graphics are about as good as the old Sega games (which were much more addicting). I give it two stars only because they actually made a game...period. And those two go to Gamefly for letting me rent it instead of waste money on buying it. The other poor reviews were right. There's no setting drag and every fish feels the same no matter the size. I don't think I can even tell if the fish is worth reeling in by the fight scene. There's no meters or feedback or anyway to tell what you're fighting. I do like the new star system telling you if your set up will attract the fish you're looking for but that's the only improvement in the last 20 years I've seen. It's a sad day for fishing games if this is all they can do. There has got to be enough anglers out there that would love for the devs to build a fishing game as good as any of the FSP's out there but they just keep making it worse. Nascar skipped a year...maybe fish devs should too and at least make one as fun as Sega did 20 years ago. Or at least make us feel like we're fighting a small fish or big fish and let us set drag. That's basic fishing and all we really wanted from a game...just better as years go by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by zzraider (ANTIOCH, CA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

its sucks dont get it dont even rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »