Rent Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009 for PS3
view large frontback

Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
4.3

976 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gameplay - lacks in depth

posted by Se7enW (LINCOLN, NE) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the actual gameplay and controls while reeling in your fish. The game looks good, but I wish there was more to do in the game. It was pretty repetitive. DEFINATELY a rental, not necessarily a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this is a fishing game.

posted by ebirah (MIDDLEVILLE, MI) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you are a hack-n-slasher ----- not so much

like running around the asylum being detective? ---- prolly not gonna like this

like fishing games? then play this one. awesome graphics. fish are extremely detailed. decent selection of lures. controls are somewhat wii-ish, not too bad.

camera angles sometimes get jiggy, but not too distracting.

overall, can provide some hours of entertaining gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice game

posted by WabbaJack (RICHMOND, KY) May 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

it is a fun game.. i love shooters but every now and then its ok to sit back, relax and catch some bass the tournament should be more challenging and it would be great to have online challenges. I give it a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fishing

posted by TommyBoy (ATHENS, GA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was far better than any fishing game in the past. although that doesn't say much this game is very fun and entertaining for the avid fisherman. PS3 is the way to go with this game. the motion sensor makes it kinda realistic. would recommend but probably not for true gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

simulation folks

posted by airave (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i love to fish.. this is pretty close..a simulation without the tug on the other end.. and the beer.. and the peein.. and the rock.lol

well, not bad rapala.. lets get a real good hunting simulation next.. one that takes like a week to play because you have to track and stalk.. u know scents and stuff

so.. cool.

m

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rapala 2009

posted by lat0710 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Game is very easy to play once you get the hang of it -- it took a while to figure out you are supposed to follow the tips at the bottom of the screen being that the instruction book does not indicate that. My four year old has NO problem playing this -- only complaint is that it's difficult to get back to the very beginning to change lures, etc. without losing all your information.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak

posted by unsteddie (LA MESA, NM) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im 26,I love gaming and tend to lean more to the online games, however I also enjoy fishing so decided to give this game a shot. The game lacked depth and was very repetitive once you catch your fist fish you pretty much have a feel of what your gonna be doing the rest of the game. I do think its a good game for younger peple and less experienced players. Its also fun to watch people jump up and down using the sixaxis movements, but still a bit boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't tell your friends you rented a fishing game.

posted by marmit66 (ELKHART, IN) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game is fun for about 5 minutes until you realize you are playing a PS3 fishing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK Fishin

posted by seminoles3 (CAIRO, GA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I didnt like the fishing techniques of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thinking about trying Rapala Fishing Frenzy?

posted by wltr0slchk (CARBONDALE, IL) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Don't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009

posted by jdmelton42 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

Game wouldn't load, so I sent it back. was looking forward to trying, but I didn't get a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad

posted by grizzman33 (BEVERLY, MA) May 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

The one for the WII is a lot better then this one for the PS3. I don't know what I was thinking of. I'm a big fishing guy. But this game had no REAL FEEL to it. When you get to 15 to 10 feet you start pulling the fish in by hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring!!!

posted by JackJack (DENVER, CO) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game was fun when i caught my first fish on this game, but it started getting horribly boring. The only thing on that game that was good was the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fishing Frenzy 2009

posted by billyboy (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

graphics are good the game is fun to play except the how to tutorials could be better for the life of me I could not get the boat to turn left or right and I had to figure everything out myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rapala fishing frenzy

posted by gthomas1 (PALESTINE, TX) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i didnt even get to play the game. its only made for use with a wireless controller and i didnt know that. i wasnt about to go spend 30 on something just to play a game that wasnt mine. it was ridiculous and a waste of time, i could have been playing another game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time!!!

posted by PS3NUT01 (DELAND, FL) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This is by far one of the worst games ever. I swear I popped it in, tried it for less than five minutes then removed it. It's boring and no action at all. I've played way better fishing games on far inferior systems. Graphics are alright, the background music makes you want to pull your hair out. Overall a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever!!!!!!

posted by Jeriker (PALM COAST, FL) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Ok if u are thinking about renting or buying this game then u are making a big mistake. This is a horrible fishing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Begs for a Wii

posted by Lemzilla (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Never mind that the graphics are adequate, the gameplay dodgy and the interface is clunky. Using the SIXAXIS controller in the manner requested by the game ensures Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009 should be a solitary experience. Because anybody sitting near you while playing this game is subject to sudden elbows to the head when the on-screen prompts ask you to start jerking the controller to and fro and reel in your fish.

Or die of complete boredom from watching. The wrangling of the fish with the SIXAXIS can be tough on the wrist which is why I'm sure this would be more fun on the Wii. But while the scenes change slightly and some were actually quite pretty, there isn't enough variety in this for me visually or in the gameplay to give it anything more than a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LOVE IT

posted by Emberflame (WACO, TX) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I have always been a fan of fishing games, but this one makes it fun to fish on your couch. The motion sensitive controls are so much fun. My 8 year old was laughing at his mom shaking the controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocre at best

posted by pepsidp (WALTHAM, MA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I'm new to the PS3 experience and I must say that this game was a huge disappointment. It took me a little bit to figure out the controls, but this game would be better suited for wii. The graphics weren't bad, but the depth of the game itself was very basic. After 30 minutes to an hour of gameplay, it got very repetative and just seemed pointless. If you're curious in the game, just rent it, but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its not!!!

posted by rickrepp (LAUREL HILL, NC) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

well anyway this game is not to good not 2 many good graphics under water and cant seem to see a 3d prospective in this game only kept it for one day maybe it wasnt my type of game so if u like plain old games try this one out but if u like a good action type fishing game pick another one ! cause this will not be it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste the rental

posted by midnite420 (JENKINS, KY) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Game is very basic. You can land twenty pound largemouths with ease, requires no skills, just reel and move the control from left to right. I played the game for about 90 minutes and 60 of them was boredom time before going to work, and I believe the drive to work would have more enjoyable. Game is way too basic to be on a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009

posted by Athlone (BANDON, OR) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Being a fisherman part time in real life, helps out in the game like knowing structure where the fish like to hang.Controls are good with sixaxis.And the graphix are pretty realistic.Its worth checking out,rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i had higher hopes

posted by bdeanr6 (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

i thought this game was real fun for about 20 minutes. the 3rd axis controller made the game alittle better. it was to easy and i got bored catching bass. you can catch other fish, but theres no point. all in all i think it was the same fishing game we've always seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by Draven70 (GRAPEVINE, TX) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I can't believe how bad this game is !!! I thought that with the amount of technology in the ps3 this would have been better. the water looked good the idea is fine but the fish just looked and acted really bad. it was just a shame I was really looking forward to a good fishing game on the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse