Rent Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
4.4

1440 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair Game with some good points.

posted by DavidW (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The good stuff

1. Graphics are nice, reflections from light on the bottom, sun rays at certain times, overall the graphics are very good.

2. At times can provide for some good addicting fun, the small fish are a bore, the bigger fish present a nice challange.

3. You can unlock all 9 Acheivments in under 5 hours of gameplay.

The Bad Stuff

1. Load screen take awhile, approx 20 - 30 secs, liveable but no where near the exagertions by others.

2. Animations at the end of the catch is stupid, I never ever saw anyone, nor have I ever brought a fish in by hand over hand with the string.

3. Way to easy to catch a fish every cast gets a bite, and if you do it right, the objective fish, makes it pretty easy.

4. No multiplayer, why? I dunno seems kind of a gamekiller to not put multiplayer of somekind in this game, it does have leaderboards, but thats it.

5. Lack of customization of your "Fisherman or Fisherwoman"

All in all acheivemnt wh0re$ will love the game for the quick and easy 1k GS, worth a rent, purchase price would be $15.00 bucks if you want to own the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as the reviews led on

posted by Vertigo (PATCHOGUE, NY) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The first thing i wanna say is that this IS A FISHING GAME. If your looking for the excitement of a first person shooter or the strategy of an rpg this just isnt the game for you and you WILL be disappointed. That being said, I thought this was a great fishing game, One of the best ive played. I had no problems with it freezing or stuttering as some of the other reviews suggested, but that doesnt mean you wont. As you reel in your catch i thought the different button combos make it a little more interesting. The underwater graphics i also thought were great. sunken cars and flooded houses are some of the things you'll see under the water and makes for some pretty cool fishing. If you like fishing games and dont expect it to be something that its not, I would recommend this game to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fun enough to be this frustrating

posted by Stugots54 (OMAHA, NE) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is my first review and i have read and understand the Gamefly Guidelines and will follow them as instructed.

The good: hmmm... the scenery was nice and having the trolling motor was a great benefit as well. the graphics underwater were really nice as well.

The Bad: Tournament?? against who? father time? i was very disappointed in that part. but i played through it. i landed a 25 lb large mouth and i didn't see any achievement points for that. (I was shocked) so i looked at what achievement points there were and there are only 9 (i think) and none of them have to do with catching a Lunker.
upon further review of the achievements, i saw that this was going to be a quick way to get some serious points....boy was i wrong.

I played the first 2 lakes with no problem. never lost one fish. but when i got the one where you have to catch 20lbs of spotted bass, i never got one in the boat. no matter what i did, the line either snapped or the fish got off the hook. 45 mins of trying to land ONE spotted bass and never getting anywhere near the boat. so i gave up.

I took the game out and put it right back in the gamefly envelope and back in the mail box, after about an hour and half of play.

and on a side note, i wasn't able to gain any achievement points. that being said, this was just my experience, and MAYBE i was doing something stupid when i was trying to land the spotted bass, because i saw lots of reviews saying it was fun and easy, but not worth buying because it lacked re-play value.

so take this with a grain of salt. again this was just my experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same game as last time

posted by Londogg (Catheys Valley, CA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This Rapala game is the same one they put out last time only they added a bunch of button mashing. The graphics are good but they may as well stuck with the 1st edition.

It's a good game for about the 1st ten fish then it's just the same thing over and over again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game when you first start out. The graphics

posted by joshjones (MCDONOUGH, GA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great game when you first start out. The graphics and the sound effects are pretty decent. The button pushing gets annoying. They also make this lame jump thing that the fish does, blahh it's so annoying. I only played it for 1 hour and got bored with it. But that is mainly because it isn't what i expected. I would say try it you might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not worth the time

posted by Infadel (HEWITT, NJ) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I give this game a 2 based on graphics alone. There are many glitches and even froze when reeling in fish. I never write game reviews, but i was so disappointed and angry that I just wanted to warn you guys how disappointed you will be. If you are a fisherman, save yourself the hassle and just hit the lake instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Best grapichs for a fishing game!

posted by Dtormala (GWINN, MI) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that this game is a great fishing game. The only downside of the game is this. When you fight the fish. there is only one camera view and that is under water. Now it would be great if it allowed to be able view you fighting the fish from the person point of view while the scenery around you but you can't. This game would be perfect if it had the first person view when fighting the fish. The best thing about this game is that this game has excellent grapichs. The real world surroundings. Wish there were a way to turn the voices off in the game as well.

Perhaps there is a camera cheat that allows to to turn off the under water fights. The Pro fishing from rapala had a great camera setting for fighting the fish. I also own that game and still play that game. This is the reason I bought this game.

This game gets a 8 for the grapichs and the unique way in playing the fish.

The reason is didn't get a 10 is the voices and the lack of different camera views.

Just a warning though As your progress through the tournaments. The harder it will be to try keeping up with the buttons in the game.

overall this game is great. Buy it or rent it. most likely you will have a blast with the game for hours on end just like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fishing meets street fighter

posted by cwinchest7 (LOVELAND, OH) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I just wanted to fish not have to get power ups with sequence of buttons. What next are they going to have a finishing move. don't rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little too easy...

posted by wookiedad (ROCKPORT, ME) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although the game has good graphics and interesting gameplay, I found that beating the game in about 6 hours of game time was a little quick. Also the tournament mode is a bit on the cheesey side. I would much rather particapate in an actual fishing derby style tournament.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not buy this game and rent at your own risk LOL

posted by goodtimez (LINDENHURST, NY) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is nothing like waking up early on a Sunday morning and heading out to the local fishing lake or reservoir for some good old relaxation. Load up the tackle box with your favorite lures, baits and your rod and reel and you are set. Will today be the day you land that lunker that has been teasing you week in and week out? Maybe but that's how long you can last playing this game.

Past Rapala branded fishing games have been a bit on the less than desirable side and I was extremely skeptical going into this one for sure. Most of the titles have seemed more like an advertisement for Rapala gear and accessories than a game about fishing. Not much has changed or been added from the original Rapala game. If you own or played the first one, do not bother with this game.

Overall, this is a ok fishing game and has quite a bit of fun to offer for the virtual anglers out there if you haven't played any Rapala game yet. You'll find yourself sweating a bit to get those monster bass into the boat from time to time and find it pretty rewarding to lift the fish out of the water even though there's only 15 types of fish in the game. The addition of the online leaderboards at least gives you something to compete against but really is nothing. The lack of online multiplayer is a issue and really needs to be addressed in the next version of the game. I have enjoyed the game first game alot and it actually has more options then this one. Buying this may be worth it, and I can say I do not suggest. If you enjoy virtual fishing than you should check this one out as the Rapala series made serious strides of improvement over previous versions then this is worth the rental if you never tried the first Rapala game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and Repetitive

posted by xxnwoxx (BUCHANAN, MI) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is no skill involved. Graphics are decent but looks every other Rapala game. The gameplay is awful, every fish takes the same amount of time to reel in regardless of size. Glad I rented and did not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by BossofBoss (BELMONT, MA) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the graphics are sweet..the fish look so real...
the gameplay is awesome...its a little glitchy as most fishing games are but its easy if u know how to fish...this could be the best fishing game since sega bass fishing on the dreamcast!!!
if u like fishing rent this game

the achievements are pretty easy too...just go thru the tour and they pop up as u go...pretty simple...id say an easy 800 gamerscore...the other 200 is a little more tricky...

must rent

10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad but could be better

posted by Brooksy420 (ROBBINSTON, ME) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game had some good points about it like the mini games when you where reeling where fun but at the same time they where sometimes few and far between there was a good amount of lure selection but they all had the same feel to them they were not that different it was just a cast and reel and the tournaments were not like tournaments in real life the were just objectives like catching so many of a certain type of fish in a given time limit and because of these qualitys the game was fun for short periods of time but after an hour or so it was just to repetitive so it got boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

RAPALA FISHING, Not Fun

posted by dereksmom (ALPINE, CA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I did not like this game, very slow gameplay and every cast you catch something.....rather ridiculous. Selecting a different lure was more a chore than it needed to be. The controls are the lamest part of all and it gets very repetitive ...... each cast is the exact same.

I rented this and sent it back the same day. Wasted my rental and like 4+ days until the next game arrives.

GAMEFLY TAKES FOEVER TO SHIP ME ANOTHER GAME !!!! does anyone else experience large gaps in their games on "MY Q"?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wonderful refreshing game

posted by jaypony17 (Gainesville, FL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

Hey if you're an avid fisher or even someone who fishes every once in awhile well rapala fishing frenzy 2009 is the game for you. There are about 5 or 6 lakes that have been beautiful restructured like its counterparts including clear lake, lake okeechobee to name a few. There are all type of bass in the lakes: smallmouth, largemouth, shoal bass, rainbow trout, striped bass, etc. You have tournament modes, quick fish challenge, and open fishing. The drawback to this game is you cant set your own rod and lines or buy new lures (you just obtain them as you progress through tournament modes) and you re not competing against other anglers. Also the fish are too easy to catch on any difficulty level. Overall the graphics are great and its a fun exciting experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horribly boring

posted by leeman7957 (ITHACA, NY) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game takes patience ... a lot of patience the load times are long and it can be frustrating trying to get the fish you want in some areas. I do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by gamerfly (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

well its not the best but pretty good.The bad thing is that you catch a fish every time you cast out and they should make it a little more challenging and you can't troll while you fish.i like the diffrent lakes that you can choose and the open lake fishing so you have time to try the hot spots and new lures.I don't like that when your all done with tournaments that they don't give you money instead they give new lures,couple poles and i think you should have money so you can get what you want.but overall its a pretty good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for an hour or so.

posted by MessyRTK (OREGON CITY, OR) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

After that, the game is pretty easy and tedious (in a bad way) and there is really no sense to keep playing...

I tried to go through and get some achievements but.... I just couldn't do it...

Hardcore fishers out there, you may like this. But I highly doubt it. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOO!!!!!

posted by HotDogz (WENTZVILLE, MO) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I love fishing games, and fishing, but instantly i knew that this game was HORRIBLE! The graphics were ok but everything else is stupid. U can only fish in small lakes and the biggest fish you can catch is a catfish. Controls are way too complicated. Free play is terrible. Overall this game is a waste of your time.DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

YAAAAAaaaaaawn!

posted by jrjames14 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

This game is boring and repetitious. Nothing to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great game if your 5

posted by Hammer1 (KANSASVILLE, WI) May 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

If you are looking for a realistic fishing game this is not it. Hardly any choice in tackle or lures. Fighting a fish and having to enter a code is simply ridiculous. If you never fished in your life or like I said if you are 5 or 6 you might like this lame game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rapala Fishing Frenzy 2009

posted by moose59 (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is a joke. Fishing is boring. Driving the boat is boring. The viewing angles are weird when you are reeling in your lure. You will be very disappointed with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rapala fishing frenzy 2009 for xbox 360

posted by fangoria (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Ok everyone if you are a fishing fanatic and you want to play a good fishing game sorry it isn't this one I honestly could say that the only thing that i really liked about this game were the graphics and they really weren't even that great i really can throw out any good points to the game. The bad things about this game are that there are only a total of 7 fish to even catch, loading time for this game is ridiculous extremely slow there are a couple of glitches in the game, your really not facing up against anyone during the tournaments, it starts to really get boring and drag on there are only about 6 lakes to fish on so this game does not have much variety at all i beat the entire game in about 4 hours but it felt like 3 weeks. Ok well if your a serious gamer or even a serious fisherman this is not the game for you now for children from ages 5 to about 7 this is a game for them not sure some of them would even like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so good

posted by BAdBunn (East Carbon, UT) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I have to say I was disappointed with this game, I mean the graphics were good and the action was alright, But the realism was shot to heck with the power move button pushing. If you want an arcade style fish pond at the county fair type game, then go for this one. But if you want depth and realistic fishing, Don't bother here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extreme fishing

posted by Brad15010 (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

I gave this game a 4 because it got old very fast. You catch a fish every time you cast out so the excitement is lost after your first 5 fish. My recommendation would be to rent this when the fishing season starts when you're exited to go fishing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse