Rent Rango for PS3
view large frontback

Rango

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

585 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly fun

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's just start off and admit that this is a kid's game. If you have problems with that, then just move along. With that out of the way, this is an extremely refreshing and fun game. Yes, it's short (I finished it and got the platinum trophy on a Saturday). Yes, it's based on movie characters, but it doesn't retell the movie story. Like Toy Story 3, there's a surprising amount of variety and fun to be had. If you like action/adventure platformers in the vein of Ratchet & Clank, and don't mind a linear story, it'll be a wonderful diversion from the normal games in your queue.

As for the negative with this game, the 2D portions of the game (rendered in a 3D environment) felt as if they should have been 2.5D (think of Little Big Planet), and may have been close, but the mechanics just felt a little off. Other than that, I really can't find anything to complain about with this gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good job

posted by mrbones (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was so surprised this kid/movie game didn't suck. lol
If all movie and kid games had this much put into it, they wouldn't get a bad rep..
Game may be short but the graphics are ok and any gamer who grew up in the 80s will love the second to last level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kinda reminds me of the old GEX games!

Anyway, fun game to play even thought its way off from the movie. Solid and lasting gameplay and it stayed fun until finish.

Trophy hunters, easy platinum with minimum grinding. Only have to grind for the sheriff coins, and i suggest maxing out the star upgrades and playing through the "nowhere and back" level over and over as the end of it provides a LOT of easy coin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great platforming game for what it is

posted by shibutani (APO, AP) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I would like to start out that I rent games from here mostly with the purpose of collecting trophies. I have played many games aimed at children or spin offs of a big movie.

With that being said this game is enjoyable from start to finish. The controls handle excellent and there was never a time that I felt frustrated like they were not responsive.

The levels recycle some of the same platforming mechanics however that didn't seem to detract from the fun while playing it.

There is a small element of upgrading your skills which you have a wide choice of and that is an extra element that I thought was fun and is not included in many games like this.

For trophy hunters this is an excellent game because it is relatively easy (its a kids game everyone) and enjoyable. There are no trophies that will cause much grief while playing through it and can be done in a day if you have the time.

All in all this is a KIDS game and it delivers exactly as I would hope any game like this would and then some. A good play for anyone that is looking for a fun platforming game or is a fan of the Rango movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EASY FUN GAME FOR KIDS

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

graphics are good .. camera angles make a few sections harder than they need to be. controls are good most times ...dont expect a big budget masterpiece and you wont be dissapointed at all...game takes about 5 hours to complete and probably three playthroughs to platinum...once your weaponns are upgraded even the hard setting is not difficult and absolute fun to shoot stuff,,, great rent and i will probably see the movie now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good for a movie game

posted by vb2688 (MADISONVILLE, KY) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Pretty simple beat it in one day i say rent it because its short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rango

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it was a very awesome Gameplay i ever had great job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but sweet

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Great graphics, solid controls, and decent voice acting. Does not follow the storyline of the movie but none the less an okay story. Convoluted a bit but still the story is a throw away with games like these. Enjoyable and a very easy platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short but sweet!

posted by kittymarie (COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is quite a short game, even for a kids game, but what it lacks in length it makes up for in fun and overall quality!

The controls are solid, especially for a movie tie-in game, with some fun melee combos and a simple auto-targeting feature for your gun. And there's a standard upgrade/shop system that makes mining and busting objects for "Sheriff Points" worth your time. There's a bit of jumping and climbing, of course, and some rail gliding as well, which were some of my favorite parts.

The game looks and sounds fantastic. Rango in particular is just as well animated and lovable as he was in the movie. The characters are clearly voiced by different actors than in the movie, but it's done well enough that it's not distracting. The music is really catchy and fits the tone of the game to a T.

It does not follow the same storyline as the movie; each level is a different tall tale told by Rango, with a larger story arc tying it all together, leading to a nice amount of variety in the environments and gameplay. The game takes place after the events in the movie, so if you haven't seen it yet, you will be very slightly spoiled (but see the movie even if you don't rent the game; it's terrific).

Overall, I would definitely recommend a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blaze's Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I found the game half fun and the other half boring. Truth is I only rented this for the easy platinum. Rent this game trophy hunters. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best movie licensed games I've played!

posted by Grimfolse (SAN GERONIMO, CA) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

Usually, movie licensed games are completely horrible, or mediocre at best. Rango is one of the few that actually works. The game may not have the same visual polish as the movie, but the gameplay is solid, the soundtrack is very nice, and the way the story is told is true to the original movie. It is quite an easy game, however, even on the highest difficulty, and would also make a good target for anyone seeking an easy Platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game Play...

posted by Floman_of_Games (ANAHEIM, CA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Graphics are excellent, good game play, but the storyline does NOT follow the movie at all! There are zombies and aliens and other strange things, but this may appeal to kids younger than 10. I enjoyed it, but it was just too easy for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

entertainment for kids

posted by mad_max0 (SYLMAR, CA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i rented this came for my neices, they give this game a thumps up, although still alittle complicated for a 6 or 7 year old, but its great entertainment for them to enjoy. good picture and good sounds too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rango Length and Story line

posted by kasandra (LAKEWOOD, CO) May 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

I loved the movie but the game was not based on the movie's story line. I didn't really care for the game for this reason although it was a fun gameplay, it is very easy to beat and is a very short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »