Rent Rango for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rango

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.8

790 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't overlook Rango

posted by Toastygmr (BLACKSBURG, VA) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got it and let it sit there for a week. I thought about returning it, but decided to give Reach a rest and try it out. Color me impressed! I'm about halfway through it. And I'm enjoying it thoroughly.

Really good core gameplay with incentive to replay the levels. It gets a mild repetitive, but it's a movie game. It features a new and original story, which is fairly interesting. It's smartly written, just like the film. The animations are also surprisingly good (of Rango). The level design is also surprisingly creative, especially the Land of Giants level. Achievements are generous, with some Mildly tough ones for those who are wondering.

Technically, this game falters a bit. During the cutscenes there's are a lot of screen tearing and chop-video, and the glarey eyes for some of the charcters make them look downright weird.

Truth is though, if you're looking for a game that's quick, fun and surpringly good out it at the top if the queue. Dont overlook Rango, especiallynif you liked the film. Its good old fashioned spaghetti western fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent kids game

posted by N0TPENNYSB0AT (WORCESTER, MA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I chose this as my first game from Gamefly because I am in a heated achievement hunting war with my friend. But I realized it isn't so bad anyways. My younger sister and I played it together (although it is just a single player game). The story is a little wacky but I think it'd be fun for kids. It plays a lot like the Toy Story 3 game, which many regard to be one of the best licensed games out there. Easy achievements and if you have young siblings or children, this game is worth playing. Great level design and fun characters. The biggest blemish is that Johnny Depp didn't lend his hilarious voice acting to this game. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crazy Little Gem of a Game

posted by woozle (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I completely ignored this game, initially refusing to put Rango in my 'Que' as I figured it was going to be another horrible title based on a film. After stumbling across a review that gave it some actual gaming credibility, I took the risk and added it to my already crowded list. Boy am I glad I did.

Granted, this game isn't for everyone. The gaming is a bit simple and repetitive, but Rango makes up for it with clever writing and whimsical environments. If you are a fan of "Psychonauts" (one of my personal favorites), "Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath" or the old PC based game "Alice", then Rango is for you. It's a surreal little ride that begins in a sleepy western town but winds up taking you through some pretty amazing environments, all part of Rango's tall tales.

So if you want a fun little distraction between more mainstream games, put Rango in your list and enjoy the wild ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but .....

posted by PYROxSYCO117 (CHILLICOTHE, MO) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

tells what the movie doesn't tell, i have a problem with the basic height of the characters it looked wierd from my point of view, of course the took out the use of real weapons which was a let down in trade for corn guns, but overall it completes the story in a very funny way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly good!

posted by MetroidFreak (DALLAS, TX) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Like a lot of reviewers have said, Rango is surprisingly good for a movie game. Controls are solid, graphics are good for a kids game, game play is simple and fun. I think most people rented this for the easy 1000 game score, but were quite satisfied by the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad..

posted by Acdburn23 (GLENOLDEN, PA) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

Not gonna lie got the game for the easy 1000 achievement points but after playing the first board I really enjoyed the game.. Just wish it was a little longer...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by USMCKIDD (RIO RICO, AZ) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

This is no doubt an extemely fun game! Very creative and a ton of fun! The game is fast paced shooter, with a lot of action! The gameplay is fairly simple and repetitive. The pure creativity of the characters and levels made me give it a GF rating of 10. It's a pure, family fun game that I highly recommend!

P.S. You can easily get 1000 gamerscore with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surpasses all expectations

posted by Warden72 (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

Rango borrows heavily from other games such as Ratchet & Clank and Prince of Persia but does so competently. It's fun to play, never frustrating, well paced, has a lot of environmental and gameplay variety, and bears some of the movie's mature wit. The last third of the game gets bizarre but remains entertaining. It makes for a great rental if you have kids, want easy and fun achievements/trophies, or are a fan of Rango. It's short but very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My wifes review(she wanted this one)

posted by Cyberkeys (MIAMI, FL) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The controls are easy to learn. Even on hard mode the game gives you a chance. Graphics are clean and crisp. The story line is hilarious. The levels can entertain for hours. All in all a great game for kids, moms and everyone. Only tick is no chance to keep upgraded weapons. And the weapons you do get is just one type.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for kids and adults

posted by windsurferic (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Why can't game studios create more games like this? So many games are dark and serious and few light hearted games have good game play and are enjoyable for adults. This was a fun action/platforming game. The voice acting is very good and funny. The game play is fast paced and includes a big variety of challenges and characters. It was easy on the easy setting and hard on the hard setting just as it should be. This allows it to be played and enjoyed by both experienced and un-experienced gamers. It's only bad part is that it is short which makes it a perfect rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by Buggyhoser05 (ENID, OK) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

It only took me 4hrs to beat it, and I only missed a couple of achievements... It was fun, but a game I would only Game Fly... NOT BUY!!! lol :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT for a Kids Game; Good for Achievements

posted by freednerd (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

This was by far the best kids game I have ever played. Also, you can easily get all 1,000 achievements- by easily I mean difficulty level easy. It will take a while to get all of them, however you can probably get around 600 within a few hours (3-4) that it will take to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really Good Game

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jul 27, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

This was a really good game that bridges the gap between kids game and adult game. Rango the movie was rated PG so this game isn't going to be a good choice for your younger kids. Older kids will appreciate some of the humor and the moderate challenge offered by the game.

Adults will also have a good time playing through this, and they will have a great time if they have ever read the book or saw the movie Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson. The references to the book and movie are everywhere in this game.

The Rango movie and game share characters, and that's about it. The story is completely different, but they are both still charming in their own ways.

All in all the game is a very easy 1000 gamer score that shouldn't take you longer than 8 hours to complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Entertaining Game

posted by jrpub2002 (RENO, NV) May 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

A simple and easy game to play. The characters are fun and the game play is not hard, yet not so easy to be boring. It has a lot of shooting action. I did not like the targeting system at all, but it was tolerable for most of the time, but was more an annoyance taking away the fun of aiming and shooting. I rank the game a 10 because there are a lot of games out there that are so bad you don't want to play to the very end. Rango was good in that regard you will play the entire game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprising

posted by nukesplode (PRAIRIEVILLE, LA) Apr 28, 2011

Member since May 2010

I was surprised at how good the game actually was. Most children games I play I do not enjoy because their storyline almost doesn't make any sense. When I first started playing it I couldn't stop because I actually liked the game. The achievements are very easy and not very time consuming. I would reccomend this game to other gamers. Don't be afraid to play this because it is a childrens game. After playing the game I actually want to see the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kid fun+

posted by jimberanis (BELLEVILLE, IL) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

Originally I gave this a seven rating. twice I bumped it up......rethinking. I never saw the movie and was only playing the game to garnish easy gamer points on another mindless dull kids movie game. The story line and animation are worthy of a 10..wise cracks and very entertaining. decent replay value as achievements are very doable in a couple replays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Short!

posted by gamerchick85 (CHATSWORTH, CA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I would have given this game a 9 or 10 because my 5 year old son loved it! However, he passed it in 2 days! The game was way to short! But it is a great game for kids, he only needed help passing one or two bits. He loved it and he's trying it again on hard, so maybe that will take longer :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

one of the best kids games

posted by cruzinho (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

i rented this cuz of the easy achievements , but to my surprise this title was good ,( of course im comparing it to other kids games) the controls are good , the grafics not great but good , the story well i didnt like it that much ( i dont know if the same has the movie) , only bad thing that i have to say is that is to short , for me i rented it so that wasnt so bad but for people buying it just wait till is cheaper .
So if you want easy chievos , or want an easy, fun kids game give this a try...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not da best !!!

posted by xDbZ4liF3x (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Easy achievements i must admit,not fun but easy 1000 in about lets say 2 hours :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »