Rent Rampage: Total Destruction for Wii
view large frontback

Rampage: Total Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
5.0

1101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad....

posted by zombiezane (FAIRMONT, WV) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im a fan of the old game and for a buget title its worth 20 bucks I feel. It plays just like the old school arcade stand up....your a monster....you eat people,throw cars,and you blow stuff up....I havent played it alone but with a few buddys of mine we've had a blast playing it.Hope you enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wiii... not so "Weee!"...

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always loved "rampage". It was one of my favorite Quarter games back in the days of playing video games at the yearly circus/carnival.

I actually downloaded the Original from Sony on my PS3.. the classic is still one of my favorites of all time.

This game for the Wii, however....

The controls require you to hold the wii-mote facing the screen and then pointing up and down to move your character to and from (3d maps) and pressing A & B to jump & attack...

Sounds easy enough, but the controls are anything but.. extremely frustrating (wigling the wii-mote around) to use.

The game would have been several times more entertaining if they had either made it so you turned the wii-mote to the side (typical remote style) or made it so movement was attained with the Nunchuk.

.. the game deffinately needs a rehaul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rampage ...awesome

posted by jake1234y (HAMPSTEAD, NC) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game Rampage is the title exactly. It is meant for destroying and total destruction across the u.s.. I was not able to beat the game but from my view this game is going to make you pick up the controllar and will not let you put it down. I talked to my friend and he has beat the game. He loved it and unlocked every single character and all the cities. I had to say "will how did you do it ?" And really to destroy Jolly Rodger's and The Oasis you have to have Eyegore on a 5 star mega power to take those two places down within 3:00 ( three miniutes ) . The only reason I would stop is because some times my ( nunchuck on the Wii copyright and trade mark ) woud die and I got to earatating to me so I would quit but my point is to the people who also like or dislike Rampage total destruction my opinon is I think this game is terrific !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by jbsbenson (HYRUM, UT) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like games that I can play with my little kid. This game was fun, and he has played the original. The graphics, and controls are good also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have Been Awesome, But Wasn't

posted by DnJ420 (TORRINGTON, CT) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very hard to move around, you tilt the Wiimote but it doesn't respond well, when I was having trouble with the controls I looked them up but even knowing the controls, and combos, doesn't make the game all that fun.

My boyfriend had played the arcade game and was very excited when we got this in the mail, but it didn't meet his expectations either. Would rather play it online for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nostalgic

posted by Gonzo151 (CHASKA, MN) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Oh Rampage how excited i was when you arrived in the mail even though you were number 8 on my list just the thought of crushing buildings and eating soft fleshy humans brought a smile to my face. Then the game began with a cheesy story Id rather not rehash and the rest is just a blur. Ill admit for a few minutes all the smashing and chaos in the game was entertaining but about after 10 minutes it just wasn't hacking it. The controls i thought could definitely have been tuned to the Wii much better instead of the 3 motions and seemed off at times. On the bright side my wife and son had a blast playing it and it held his attention for a good period of time and found the characters very cool. The addition of the original games was a definite plus and saved this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same OLD Fun

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This a fun game. Loved playing it back when I had my 8bit Sega Master System. But this game is more of the same gameplay. Naturally there is some learning to do with the Wii Controls. This game somehow does not feel completely "at home" on the Wii. However, if you're looking for a 'budget' game - give this one a try - as the 'keep it' price is only $24.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game!

posted by JerrodDRag (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well I gave this game and 8 because I’m a fan of the series. The game had a huge character section (40 different Monsters) and its always just fun to go and destroy stuff. It uses the Wii remote for a couple of attacks. Plus the Levels are long. This game also had a fn Co-op Multilayer. Its at least worth a rent because it’s a fun game to play by your self or with friends. But you might want to just buy it on the Gamecube since its so cheap and you can still play it on your Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is This A Game?

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Not worth renting because the controls are terrible and even if there were better there was not much content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is not fun - poorly implemented and dumb

posted by DCPete (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is not fun at all. If you have fond memories of the original Rampage(s), you will be sorely disappointed. This game simply stinks - the controls are cruddy and the Wiimote functionality is tacked on. Moving around and destroying stuff should be fun, instead it is a confusing chore. To add insult to injury, the sound loops are boring and extremely repetitive.

The only highlight is the broad number of playable characters and fun graphics - but the gameplay stinks soooo much, it doesn't matter at all.

AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SO disappointing!!!

posted by thomglea1976 (TAMPA, FL) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Was really looking forward to a beat em up from my past and Rampage failed to deliver a fun game. Trying to move is downright frustrating and after 30 mins of going in the wrong direction, punching up in the air instead of to the side, and after reading 3 different articles on how pick people up from the ground and still unable to accomplish that basic task, I packed it up and sent it back. The graphics look great, the idea sounds fun, but with the horrible controls, I couldn't play any longer. You move by tilting the Wiimote in the direction you want to move. That is all well and good, but when one of the special attacks is to shake the remote back and forth, half the time you just do a little shuffle on the screen and look kind of foolish. Meanwhile, those darn police are still popping off at you and you just kind of stand there, doing a little dance, or running off in the wrong direction. Don't waste your time with this one unless you are a Wiimote GRAND MASTER as this one is tough to control!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controlling this ruins the game.

posted by DigDougM (EDISON, NJ) May 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I was a huge fan of the original video game. I am not happy with the wii version. It has the potential to be really fun, but am having an impossible time controlling it. To go away from camera, move controller toward you???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

w.t.h

posted by shellymurphy (DIXON, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Buy an 8 bit nintendo and play that one. In life some times the original is the best and in my opinion this is one of those times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but has some flaws

posted by gamerkid0 (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this is an average game, fun, but as i said in my old reveiw by 2008flyboy the last levels do get a little boring but it is because all the buildings take the same amount of damage to destroy them,and there are too many monsters to unlock 40 in all, ok you think should i use george or lizzie or ralph, i am not going to tell the other monsters cause that would get a spoiler alert,i don;t know why they put so many monsters in the game,why can't there have only been the classic three, george lizzie and ralph, in the game you can play the classic rampage, or rampage world tour,oh and another thing is that there are only a few levels.well that is pretty much it the game is a fun short easy game oh and one thing i forgot is that the controls are pretty bad.thats why i give it a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controller Rampage!!!

posted by DeltronDon (HONOLULU, HI) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The game would have been a lot better if I didn't have to flick my wrist every which way to get the monsters to react. I found my wrist getting soar after 4 or 5 levels.

The graphics were great. I also like the addition of both of the classic versions of Rampage (which utilized the classic controller model).

Over all:
The controller issue ruined it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rampage

posted by washburnj (VISTA, CA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I rented this for the nostalgia of the original. This version is not too bad but its a little trick to control at sometimes. There are a huge amount of playable characters that have their special abilities. Most of these have to be unlocked. I believe there are 40 total characters to unlock. Over this game was alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rampage - Total Destruction

posted by 2008Flyboy (MARION, AL) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

It's AWESOME! Great Action and Adventure. Great Graphics. Not enough destruction. Last levels get a little boring. Overall a great game to play. Worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Horrid If You Remember The Original....

posted by annofMT (LIVINGSTON, MT) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

And keep in mind that the original was lame.

The appeal of rampage isn't so much of it's graphics, playability or it's 'coolness'. It's the ability to play a game that really doesn't take much effort other than smashing things.

Don't expect wonderful graphics or in-depth play. You'll need to laugh off the lame sound effects and learn to love the ability to throw people, flame buildings and punch random busses.

If you keep the kitschy attitude it was made with in mind, it's not so bad. Enjoy the stress relief of destruction and repetative motions. But if you want a four star fighting game, look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow boring

posted by mankind (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

this game was so boring and don't rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rampage

posted by Banzuke38 (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Well I was always a big Rampage Fan so when i heard that is was coming out on the Wii I interested i renting it well i think it is about time for me to give up on the Rampage series because after renting it i sent it back a day later out of boredom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rampage. . .

posted by Ninjaslug (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

What I didn't like at all about this game was; if you play one rampage game, you've played them all. Nothing is new in this game except a bad storyline and worse gameplay. Even with a large supply of 40 monsters, the game was weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

y bother

posted by ceddydaddy (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game was fun 20 years ago when I played it but not much has changed with the game while technology has made advances by leaps and bounds. Translation...step your game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rampage total destruction

posted by xxx3000 (SUITLAND, MD) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this game is hard to play and their are only 5 fight modes and the game is to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Game

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Come on giant monsters destroy the city....And you get to be the monster!!!! This is a nice remake of an old arcade calssic. My 4 year old even loves it. You can't not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TOTALLY WORTHLESS

posted by nyvonnia1 (WINONA, TX) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game was a major disappointment. You just stand there swatting flies with the remote and they bang and bang and bang some more. No thought process, no skill level needed. You might as well get newspaper and chase flying bugs, your sure to have a better time than playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse