Rent Rampage: Total Destruction for Wii
view large frontback

Rampage: Total Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
5.0

1101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SO disappointing!!!

posted by thomglea1976 (TAMPA, FL) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Was really looking forward to a beat em up from my past and Rampage failed to deliver a fun game. Trying to move is downright frustrating and after 30 mins of going in the wrong direction, punching up in the air instead of to the side, and after reading 3 different articles on how pick people up from the ground and still unable to accomplish that basic task, I packed it up and sent it back. The graphics look great, the idea sounds fun, but with the horrible controls, I couldn't play any longer. You move by tilting the Wiimote in the direction you want to move. That is all well and good, but when one of the special attacks is to shake the remote back and forth, half the time you just do a little shuffle on the screen and look kind of foolish. Meanwhile, those darn police are still popping off at you and you just kind of stand there, doing a little dance, or running off in the wrong direction. Don't waste your time with this one unless you are a Wiimote GRAND MASTER as this one is tough to control!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow boring

posted by mankind (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

this game was so boring and don't rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rampage total destruction

posted by xxx3000 (SUITLAND, MD) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this game is hard to play and their are only 5 fight modes and the game is to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TOTALLY WORTHLESS

posted by nyvonnia1 (WINONA, TX) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game was a major disappointment. You just stand there swatting flies with the remote and they bang and bang and bang some more. No thought process, no skill level needed. You might as well get newspaper and chase flying bugs, your sure to have a better time than playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deplorable

posted by DarkPrism (LITITZ, PA) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

This game has got to be one of the top 5 WORST games I've ever played. The pure loathing I have for this games stems from the completely ridiculous control scheme that seems to have been designed by a brain-dead ostrich. It's 100% unusable. And to boot, the game play is awful as well. You take a simple concept like Rampage, and throw it into a 3D space with mediocre graphics and terrible mechanics, and what you're left with is a bad taste in your mouth. I wish I could give this a 0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse than horrible

posted by review95 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game doesn't even deserve a rating of 1 for horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dissapointment

posted by Hacklan (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Aug 8, 2007

Member since May 2005

I was a big fan of the early rampage games. so when i rented this game i had high hopes of swiing the wii remote and destroying cities. but instead i spent the entire time trying to figure out the controls. the maps have a bit of depth to them this time around.. which would have been a great idea, but the controls are so bungled up it really hurts the game. i could not consistantly get my monster to move foreward and backward, or punch out a window instead of climbing to the other side of the building, or kick a bystandard instead of swiping the air. after about an hour of frustrated playing because i could not get the monster to do exactly what i wanted him to do i gave up. you may find you have a better experience, but i myself could not get past the horrible controls. if you rent this game, good luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

please rent something else!

posted by JustKrisK (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

This game will cause early arthritis! I felt like I was going mental playing this game, or at least my girlfriend told me I looked mental playing this game. The game play is completely boring, and the controlls with the controller is just waiving your hand up, down, and to the side; thus cause carpal tunnel syndrome. Please avoid this game at all cost!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking

posted by MiSsInGo (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

the title says it all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game EVER!!!!

posted by luddite (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

Terrible presentation, gameplay, and controls. The control is especially hard to figure out and not intuitive at all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is not fun - poorly implemented and dumb

posted by DCPete (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is not fun at all. If you have fond memories of the original Rampage(s), you will be sorely disappointed. This game simply stinks - the controls are cruddy and the Wiimote functionality is tacked on. Moving around and destroying stuff should be fun, instead it is a confusing chore. To add insult to injury, the sound loops are boring and extremely repetitive.

The only highlight is the broad number of playable characters and fun graphics - but the gameplay stinks soooo much, it doesn't matter at all.

AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

best left for nostalgia

posted by TheWrench (NORFOLK, VA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since May 2006

The idea is great, remake a classic game, but if you think about the original it wasn't so insanely great either. This is fun for the first 4 or 5 stages but when you realize that the game ISN'T going to change AT ALL you feel cheated out of your money you spend to have this trash sent to you and then mail back when you could have had a decent game to play during that whole while...

Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where Did the Arcade Game Go?

posted by BpBarrick (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Having a Wii has been a blast, but to this day the most enthralling game for it so far has been, without a doubt, Wii Sports. I do my fitness every day. Seriously. What makes it so great? The simplicity of play wrapped around a great employment of the physics of the genre inspiring controller.

That being said, ever game for the Wii has been scrambling to shove this new controller style into a game they probably already had three quarters of the way done. This just makes for sloppy/frustrating gameplay. Rampage: Total Destruction is no exception.

I love the Rampage series. It was a great arcade game; be a monster, eat stuff, destroy a city. Simple. Fun. Not anymore.

The controls were beyond comprehension. Trying to turn your monster by moving the WiiMote in three dimensions just didn't work. Good luck trying to climb a building, or facing one for that matter. My friends and I were so excited for this game and it just turned out to be a big disappointment. I would have given it a 1, but at least they named it "Rampage".

They should have just released the arcade game, let us flip our WiiMotes sideways, and play until or destructive needs are satiated.

Don't bother renting this. Just go bowling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Dec 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

This game was horrible, i liked the one for PS2, but this one sucked! dont wast your time renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controlling this ruins the game.

posted by DigDougM (EDISON, NJ) May 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I was a huge fan of the original video game. I am not happy with the wii version. It has the potential to be really fun, but am having an impossible time controlling it. To go away from camera, move controller toward you???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wiii... not so "Weee!"...

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always loved "rampage". It was one of my favorite Quarter games back in the days of playing video games at the yearly circus/carnival.

I actually downloaded the Original from Sony on my PS3.. the classic is still one of my favorites of all time.

This game for the Wii, however....

The controls require you to hold the wii-mote facing the screen and then pointing up and down to move your character to and from (3d maps) and pressing A & B to jump & attack...

Sounds easy enough, but the controls are anything but.. extremely frustrating (wigling the wii-mote around) to use.

The game would have been several times more entertaining if they had either made it so you turned the wii-mote to the side (typical remote style) or made it so movement was attained with the Nunchuk.

.. the game deffinately needs a rehaul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointing

posted by wowbango (VISTA, CA) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The original Rampage was so much fun. Just chaotic destruction. This one, was a huge dissapointment. The graphics are bad, (even for the wii) and the controls....wow....the motion sensing was incorporated very poorly and it's hard to even get your guy to move the way you want him to. SO GLAD I rented this first as I was going to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Designed for the Wii

posted by Enwardo (INDIAN TRAIL, NC) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

To sum up this Wii game one would have to say "nice try." This game very obviously was designed for all the other consoles. The game looks very nice, but the controls are the exact same as they were in the original release of Rampage on the 1st Nintendo; 1 punch button, 1 jump button. The guys at Nintendo tried to bring some Wiiness to the game by adding some Slash and Smash functionality by swinging the Wiimote, but it is buggy at best. Although this game does not work for the Wii, it was promising enough for me to add it back in my que for the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have Been Awesome, But Wasn't

posted by DnJ420 (TORRINGTON, CT) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very hard to move around, you tilt the Wiimote but it doesn't respond well, when I was having trouble with the controls I looked them up but even knowing the controls, and combos, doesn't make the game all that fun.

My boyfriend had played the arcade game and was very excited when we got this in the mail, but it didn't meet his expectations either. Would rather play it online for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rampage. . .

posted by Ninjaslug (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

What I didn't like at all about this game was; if you play one rampage game, you've played them all. Nothing is new in this game except a bad storyline and worse gameplay. Even with a large supply of 40 monsters, the game was weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

y bother

posted by ceddydaddy (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game was fun 20 years ago when I played it but not much has changed with the game while technology has made advances by leaps and bounds. Translation...step your game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sloppy controls ruin otherwise good game

posted by DarkPope (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 8, 2007

Member since May 2005

While smashing buildings sounds like an excellent
way to work out some frustration, I finished this
game more stressed than when I began. Graphics are
good, sounds are all right and at times a little
amusing. Controls are awkward, counter-intuitive
and under-responsive. It is impossible to anything
with precision in this game; the sheer frustration
of just trying to move about the screen is enough
to drain any fun this game might otherwise offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be better!

posted by rayomec (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I loved this game in the arcade, but very disappointed at the Wii version. The controls were awful, could barely control the character. I found myself playing the old versions that are found on the disc. I hope this is better on a better system. It could be so cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been fun

posted by CrashX (ARNOLD, MO) May 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game COULD have been fun if it didn't use the Wii controls and instead just stuck with classic controls.
Waving your arms around for every game just isn't necessary. And this is one game that doesn't do it right.

The game looks really good actually and I really did want it to be fun because I loved the old Rampage. But by the end I was just waiving my arm around frantically just to get it to do something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hampered by the controls

posted by CyrusL (SUNNYVALE, CA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Many many years ago I enjoyed Rampage in the arcades. The makers of this game had the opportunity to update it and make it fun again.

They almost made it, but the controls completely hosed the game. I played the Wii version of this game and it was terrible. Some games translate well to the Wii controller, but this game did not. It's a pain to get anything done.

The single-player game is repetitive and boring, but (if the controls were better) I could see it being a lot of fun in multi-player.

Try this game on another system and in multiplayer. It could be a good party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse