Rent Rampage: Total Destruction for GC
view large frontback

Rampage: Total Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.0

458 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

A fair party game, but quick to bore

posted by Griffon72 (HEBRON, CT) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found that at first the game was fair; I had friends over and we went and raised cain, so to speak. I quickly found, however, the game play was basic at best, and after playing a city in campaign I was bored; button mashing and occasonaly the "ooh some random item! grab it!" the game had very little action left by the end of the day. Fair game, I reccomend a rental, but not purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wanna take out some stress?, Play this game!

posted by Whitesox11 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Aug 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a perfect game if you wanna take out stress, you smash buildings and helicopters and you can throw cars and eat people! This game has good music and great graphics, so I'll give this game a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is alot better than the other two. The thing that i love most about it is the new characters let me list them to you. The original George, Ralph, and Lizzie is still here but here is the others, Gilman who is a mutant blow fish, Cal a mutant squid (one of my favorite guys), Ramsey a mutant ram, Rhett a mutant rat, Leon a mutant lion, Crock a mutant crockadile,Kyle a cyclops, Marco a mutant shark, Rojo a mutant bull, Icky a mutant porky pine sorta thing, Venus a mutant venus plant, Harry a yeti, Wally a mutant boar, Shelby a mutant snapping turtle, Amanda a mutant armadilo, Kingston a mutant snake, Rocky a rock golem, Natalie a mutant octapus, Edwin a mutant bat thing(don't have him yet), Bart a mutant bat, Joe a warewolf, Jack a mutant deer, Jill some sorta golem thing, Philbert a mutant mountain goat, Nick a demon from you know where, Eygore a thing with one eye, Bubba a weird dud i don't know what he is. Well anyway I also like the levels. This game has game types for 2-4 player action like King of the city and King of the world their is also a game type called time run (also up to 4 players). The down side it is hard to unlock some monsters ill tell you what unlocks them. If you brake a window and it has this green emerald looking thing in it then hit the window again and it will fall out and explode and a monster will come out and then that means you have unlocked that monster. I recommend you rent this game. Hoped I helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Funnest game of 2006

posted by nintendo (BUTTE VALLEY, CA) May 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I've played the old arcade versions of Rampage, I gotta admit, those were really fun. But this game is way better, with alright graphics, a great selection of monsters, and a great selection of levels. Plus it also includes the 2 arcade Rampage games, but there is a downside, there's only 2 cutscenes. But there both hilarious. As you go through more levels it starts to become more of a challenge, including more cops, tanks, buildings to destroy, and many more. I suggest this game to any gamer, it's a great, entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rampage: Total Destruction

posted by Doofus300 (REDLANDS, CA) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I have waited 3 years for a new version of Rampage for N64 and now I finally got it. This game is a blast not to mention all the new characters and levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good game.

posted by LambOfGod (ANAHEIM, CA) May 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok, so this game is a lot better than the first two. i will admit its a pretty good game. so here come the cons, there is a lot of monsters but as far as i could tell they all have the exact same moves and attacks except for the small fact that some of them can jump higher or are faster or have more power, other than that they are exactly the same. also, the game is very repetitive just like the first ones, i think to get the real fun out of this game you have to have some friends over and play together. the controls were kind of weird at first, it took me a while to get used to them but i eventually figured them out. in conclusion, this takes you back to the good old days of rampage with a few extras in there, but also a lot of stuff that could have been made better, and that's why i only rated this game a 6, but i do still recommend you rent this game, happy destroying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but butt...

posted by hiltinberg (RUPERT, ID) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

it weird that it didnt have nudity in the rating because when you die you shrink back down to a human (naked) and in the old school rampage world tour you can see lizzies boobs and you know wat else when she dies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun

posted by Sariebear2 (MACKINAW CITY, MI) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game is better than the N64 version. You have more choice of monsters. I like the different ways you can knock the buildings down. The moves are pretty neat too.
I would recommend you rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME FOR GAMECUBE EVER!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Apr 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Why? Why I ask you?!?!?!?! Such a horrible game for the gamecube! I don't know why! It's so lame it poisons the gamecube! What stinks is everything on this lame thing! Like hardly any monsters on it, dumb story, boring boring and more boring!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't TELL you how many things I hate about it! LISTEN! You may not listen to this review, but I HOPE someone will! Heres a small tip for you. Don't rent it and don't buy it!!!! You will WASTE your money for this stupid game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The same

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

For me, this game didnt really bring much to the table. It was just like the other games of its kind, except it was on a console and in 3d.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Honey, the demolition guys are here

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Nov 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Rampage: Total Destruction is a pretty self-explanatory title. You take control of a whole bunch of monsters who are bent on the destruction of every building and vehicle in each city you visit, eating hapless skateboarders and SWAT officers to keep you going. You unlock about 20 new monsters throughout the game and have several goals to reach in each stage, but still, the game is pretty short. The fun comes from smashing skyscrapers and picking up buses to eat the tasty human treats inside. While that's fine, the controls limit your enjoyment of the destruction and the game is too repetitive to keep the steam going past the first couple days. Midway was nice enough to include Rampage and Rampage: World Tour, but the playability of those games is limited as well. It's a fun diversion, but nothing that will hold your attention past the initial fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Single Person game play boring

posted by smcmsam (BROOKEVILLE, MD) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I played this game with multiple players and as a single player. The single player game play is boring so don't bother trying this game out unless you plan to play in a group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rampage: Total Destruction

posted by jakejoseph (SANDY, UT) Aug 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

I personally have been a long time Rampage fan since the NES version. This particular addition to the series is a very pleasing addition making the legacy of the game even one greater.

I give the game a 9 due to my favoritism, though I should point out a small number of disappointments I saw.

The first, was the minute selection of powers. Each character gets the same four powers as every other making the power collecting quite dull.

The second being lack of areas. In the original Rampage there were 50 states to conquer and plenty levels in each state. In this there are very few areas to go through, however; each level has it's own boss which is a small condolence for the lack of areas.

There is, however; a pleasing aspect I noticed. That is, there are more characters than any other Rampage game I've played, making collecting the actual characters and powering them up the main challenge of the game.

The 3D effect makes it a big more interesting as well as in this addition you can climb the front AND sides of the building in stead of just the sides making the buildings a bit more challenging to destroy.

All in all, I still believe this game deserves a 9 even through the lack of challenges faced in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game brings back old memories.

posted by TMike22 (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I had Rampage for the NES way back in the day, and this game brings back all those good memories. The game play hasn't changed much since the original.

You still smash buildings, wreck vehicles, and eat people. They added in new enemy bosses at the end of each city and included 30 monsters for you to play as. You start with a few monsters at the beginning and unlock the rest during your city destruction. There are also bonus rewards in each section of the city which unlock new special moves for the current monster or give you a 5,000 point bonus.

The only part about this game that keeps it from being great is the fact that it gets boring too fast. There are lots of monsters and special moves to unlock, but you'll find that each monster plays the same as every other monster and that they all even have the same four special moves. Each monster has different stats for punch, kick, etc, which make them play slightly different, but that isn't enough to get rid of the repetitiveness of the game.

Multi-player is where this game shines. You can take along a friend in the campaign mode, or take up to three others in King of the City or King of the World modes. King of the City and King of the World pits you up against your friends to be the one with the most points at the end. There is also a time-attack mode where you and up to three others try to destroy the city before time runs out. You can even set the other monsters to be controlled by the computer AI, which does a very good job.

I give this game a 7. Mindless destruction is always a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

this game has to be on my top 10 favorite games everit`s awsome at first you`re a little counfused
cause ther`s no tutorial but there`s easy controlls so it`s awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review Of Rampage:Total Destruction

posted by JimmyJ (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Rampage:Total Destruction was a Very good Game to play once you got used to the game physics,it took me a couple of hours to figure out the spatial relations between what you were smashing or eating or whatever,because it wasnt a typical side scrolling game you had to properly lined up to your target to for example grab and eat the swat team greniaders or destroy the tanksand you have to do this quickly before too much damage is inflicted on you.The graphics are very well defined and detailed,you didnt have to squint to make out what was on the screen.I wasnt as crazy about the King Of The City gameplay,it seemed to me that the computer player had more power and was better able to easily reach the objective,no matter what strategy i employed the computer had a counter strategy.but other than that it was a good game all the way around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

We Loved It

posted by joemamma (ALTUS, OK) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

The kids loved it. Sounds of smashing and victory. The oooos and aawws that came from the room. Well, it was a big hit at our house. More than half the neighborhood enjoyed it. We had to send it back to get the kids out of the house. It made Santa's list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

about time

posted by mikeyb (MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY) Jun 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

It is about time a new rampage game came out. I liked the one on the 64 but this one is better. There are more cities and over 30 monsters. Don't worry, the three classic monsters are still there. The new way to play in 3d is a nice touch but does not really change the gameplay. In fact it makes climbing onto buildings a little difficult and kicking is hard to aim. You can unlock new moves for your monsters but each monsters get the same ones. With the exception of roar they are all pretty useless. Destroying buildings is fun and all but it will get too boring to unlock all the moves and monsters. The increased difficulty in the later levels is so hard it will take you all your lives to destroy one building. Even with all my little complaints this is a game that gamecvube owners should get and will not be disappointed with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sad

posted by ShaggyCW (DAYTON, OH) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

Honestly I would rather do my own dishes then play this game.Even my girlfriend was super bored with it.The only real upside to the game was the many many characters that are available in the game..

But the gameplay,the most important feature in a game is old and repetitive.I played it for 10 minutes.Then I took the game out and mailed it back the same day I got it..

Don't waste your time renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hmmm....

posted by Lorenzo (LA FAYETTE, GA) May 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

Rampage was not as fun as i thought it to be.yeah,there was 30 monsters but all had the same moves,this was a good game but the repetition of the game drug my rating down a lot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Old Rampage!

posted by GCGuru (MERRIMACK, NH) May 3, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

Wow... Reminds me of the old Sega Master System days! Sure, the graphics are better, but the game play is just as good!

Rampage takes the old school 2D game, and implements a 3D environment. It does take a little while to get use to climbing buildings. Its often easier to climb buildings from the front, rather then the original climbing on the side of the buildings.

The game has the three main characters; Ralph, Lizzy, and George. The game also has about 25 characters that you can unlock!

Overall its a game worth a rent. Where else can you just run around, eat people, destroy buildings, and take on aliens and the military?

Graphics: 7 <-- Nice 3D graphics with 2D game play
Controls: 7 <-- Hardest part to get use to is climbing builds. But can be mastered after a couple levels.
Sound: 8 <-- Good Sound effects
Fun Factor: 8 <-- 25 Unlock able characters as well as hours of destroying cities!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »