Rent Raiden Fighters Aces for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Raiden Fighters Aces

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

506 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Such Sweet Shmuppage

posted by phreakind (FLETCHER, NC) May 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This collection of Raiden is exactly what it sets out to be: arcade-perfects ports of the Raiden Fighters games. It is no less, but is certainly more! All the features you expect in a console Raiden game, such as saving replays, tons of modes, full control over game settings, and extra content from the developer. And why not get some achievements while you're at it? Now sure, the aspect ratio of the game does not allow for the entire screen to be taken up, but why would it? This is a port of the arcade game, and as such it is exactly how it looks in the arcade. If your TV is big enough, it's not a problem. Also, these games came out over a decade ago, so the graphic quality is up to par for a 2D shooter from then - beautiful, I say. Lovely, lovely game if you like shmups and Raiden especially - 3 great games in one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun if you're not expecting an XBOX 360 makeover

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played the originals, but have always beena fan of games like 1942 back on the NES>
It's fun and has excellent challenges.

Probably not worth buying unless you were a die-hard of these back in the day. It's too short otherwise and easy to get frustrated on the expert (and to somed degree Normal) level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bang 4 UR Buck

posted by MigPortes (BRONX, NY) May 25, 2009

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

3 nostalgic games for the price of one 19.99 at major retailers. It really brought me back to my NES, SNES and arcade days.
DO NOT EXPECT over the top graphics and controllers these games are school bird's eye games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Raiden Fighters Aces

posted by turcottman (MESA, AZ) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Spin off of the old space invaders game. Kids will enjoy playing. Fun for a night or two--Does get old fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by softserve (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I have to say that I'm happy there are companies still willing to publish titles like this outside of Japan. I had a surprising amount of fun with this game.

You get two of the best shmups out there on one disc. I count Jet as something else, as it's basically a "best of" remix of the first two games. There's a few different modes: arcade, boss rush and (timed) score attack.

Not much thinking here, just blow the heck out of everything. If you're not obsessed with ranking on the leaderboards then there's only really so much to get out of it, unfortunately. The games themselves aren't terribly long.

As such, I think it's a great rental... which makes it perfect for Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Raiden Fightastic Yo

posted by ch3fnate (EDMONDS, WA) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I grew up playing this game in the arcade at the mall dude. I spent most money I came in contact with on Raiden Fighters. Pumpin quarters non stop baby, thats how we do on the eastside of the westside holla. If you have played this game before, its the same lovable arcade hit. If you haven't, get a couple of friends over. This game is meant for two player and you always mark "next game" with a quarter. Great times...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Raiden Fighters Aces

posted by JPOrtiz831 (WATSONVILLE, CA) May 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

Ive grown up playing raiden. This game has some serious drawbacks. First off its not fullscreen like every 360 Game should be. it does give you options to change the games setting but this game feels real old and it felt as if i was playing an xbox one game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »