Rent Ragnarok Odyssey for PS Vita
view large frontback

Ragnarok Odyssey

Rent

Keep for: $21.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

191 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Understand the appeal...

posted by StTrdamus (BROWNSBURG, IN) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

...but it's not for me. I played for a few hours, almost as an experiment. I've never played one of the monster hunter games, and I know this has been compared to the same. I completely get the appeal that many see in the game, but it's just not for me. Way to repetitive for my tastes. And I never got the sense that my character was progressing. I was collecting tons of little things, but my character was just the same guy with new stuff. not what I'm looking for in an RPG, but again...I see the appeal. There are probably hundreds of hours of solid gameplay in this for those looking for a monster hunter type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by Schnippshly (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

No AI teammates for offline play. It's nice Ad Hoc and Infrastructure are included, especially because few games have Ad Hoc on the Vita, for some freaking reason, but finding people at your level early on is impossible. You have to play the game by yourself before you can be of comparable strength to other players. The combat system is OK, but not great. It's like countless other tedious JRPGs before it, where you just accept quests and go through the same areas over and over fighting different enemies. There was some popular game on the PSP where you had giant laser swords that was like this, but that game had AI teammates. I want to be able to have a good experience offline on my portable game without having to rely on lots of single player grinding and then finally being able to do co-op in order to have any amount of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprisingly Refreshing

posted by pearacidic (GIBSONTON, FL) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

From the second you begin your first quest, you are hooked. This game is like Monster Hunter, but more streamlined, and has way better controls (love the usage of the right-stick for camera!). Using potions from a quick touch on the screen is also way more convenient.

Enemies are difficult in packs and Bosses are fairly challenging. The game really surprised me with over 30 hours of gameplay on top of all the fun of this "offline MMO-style" RPG. I don't understand the lower review scores here, but this game is one to own if you are a fan of MMO's or RPG's in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Generic's blandest cousin

posted by JyroBove (ABILENE, TX) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

So there is really only one way to describe this game, and that is Bland, its the definition of eh Japanese RPGs. The devs were not content to just be bland though, they've gone a step further to make things stupid, Mage, and Cleric both can only cast after a melee combo, a mage should NEVER be in ANY way reliant on Melee, that ruins the point of a mage, there now just flashy melee people, a fireball for a mage here is not as useful as a warrior with a flame weapon. So you have 4 warriors, ranger, and rogue, assuming rouge is much more than a fast warrior, I didn't have time to test, honestly ruining the mage was enough to tick me off, and convince me the developers are incompetent. If this is any example of how Ragnarok Online 2 is, then dear god I hope it dies, and that RO1 continues to grow, RO Was actually pretty entertaining in both mechanics, and art style, everything here tells me that they just wanted to make a Multiplayer JRPG, and just picked whatever seemed popular and then did it poorly. BLANDNESS THY NAME IS RAGNAROK ODYSSEY!

Avoid this, and go play RO on the DS much better title, and a good example of the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very cheap and boring

posted by Figgs77 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Well i thought this game was a RPG not a cheap version of Dynasty Warriors without being fun. its really just pick up a quest go to a non free roam zone and kill them go to next area rinse and repeat very boring. played it 1 hour sent it back very terrible addition to the vita wish they could make a good rpg for vita but til then this game is just bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Perfectly boring.

posted by Qiljoy (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Looks great, plays smoothly, short load times. Repetitive missions using recycled maps, minimal character interaction, no story to speak of, pretty much the polar opposite of an RPG. All in all it's a very solid execution of a very boring and pointless game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool Concept but...

posted by BlackDove58 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Eh, this game isn't for me. Though mainly that's because all you do is stand around the city and then go to one room and get a mission and then repeat forever. Of course I got bored and didn't get past chapter 2 so maybe it changes halfway through but mission based RPGs are boring to me. I liked the idea of being able to make your own character and have it similar to an MMORPG style but you can't explore anything which makes it really restrictive and boring since you have to select missions if you want to grind on monsters to get items and you have NOWHERE to go outside of missions. I just like exploring worlds a lot more than constantly walking up to the same spot and taking one mission after the other.

I do like the fighting and the combos you can do are fun. You just feel so powerful when you send enemies flying. It's easy to fight with out feeling too easy. The quick access menu to your potions is very useful and the lock on feature can save your life in big boss fights. Moreover the card power up system is useful and not confusing or complicated which is good.

So basically it's a nice game but not for me. If the mission areas were bigger or you had to travel to different spots to get quests so you could explore the place I'd be a lot happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i didn't really play it much

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) May 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

all i kno wat u do is:

make a character,
battle monsters,
do quests

a pretty cool game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool online features.

posted by Weeeeeeee (STOCKTON, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Good:
This game have a lot of cool online features that all other games don't have.
Very good graphic, cute voices, cute clothes design, cute characters.

Bad:
Item drops so bad, rare drops only on max rank and max difficult mission, so you can't find them by yourself in offline mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad Monster Hunter clone, but not much else.

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Mar 12, 2013

Member since May 2010

This game has its own share of humor, but if you go in thinking it to be an RPG, then you will be sorely disappointed... This game is really a Monster Hunter type clone... And it isn't half bad either.. It isn't the greatest, though, so a word of warning in advance... I have seen worse games, than this to be sure, and I have also seen better... There is a higher degree of performance in this game, or so it seems, but it also comes with higher expectations too... Gathering points are more easily identifiable, and the fact that the creatures you kill may also drop weapons too... Monster Hunter for beginners mayhap???? Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by YaDigzz (COOPER CITY, FL) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Real tight yo. Rent dis sheeeeeeit ryte now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Niche game

posted by gothicdj (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Good if you like Diablo style games without a lot of back story. Didn't try multiplayer, but single player was enjoyable for a few hours of game play. Nice addition to the Vita lineup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since May 2012

Ragnarok oddyssey is a rather intresting game; so lets start with the bad. no depth of customization although the plus from that is that armour is more for an asthetic look. you would expect that a game that was developed from an mmropg would have a sorta phantasy star feeling and it does but not to the same extent. the inventory system can be pretty clunky and a hassle at times it doesnt smothly tranfer tfrom item detail and unfortunately the occasional load screen can be annoying. the games camera can be a little clunky at times
now for the uknown, ;reason being i dont know if its good or bad. the game has little story and is like monster hunter quest except it sota of a miracle for you to complete with out going broke on potions while playing on single. your leveling up is not exp based but more in how much ch. you complete. not a huge variety in classes or advance classes. the looting sytem is decent.
now for the good the game has a vibrant online community those that have played any psp monster hunter game or lord of arcania you will meet the familliar pub where you make your own lobby and play with others. the multiplayer is fantastic and a great compliment to the game if your having trouble or just to lazy to complete the mission head on to the pub. you can restict the level of what you want to join or are looking for to join you. no online pass needed. great graphics the enviorment is stunning to say the least control are pretty smooth. the cards that you gain from enemies are an inreting features they can either give you decent abilities or reduce one while boosting another. weapons do come in a variety and are class based. by varriety imean that the same sword by name may have different attributes or strenght level.
my final take on this game is that it was a fun experience th egrinding did become bothersome but the great multiplayer made me want to keep on playing. I personaly would list this game as a rent but it coulve been a keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »