Rent Radiant Historia for DS
view large frontback

Radiant Historia

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $27.99

GF Rating
8.1

592 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

loved it

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Historia was a very fun game. The best rpg game I have played in a while. It was really interesting changing time lines and seeing how your actions in one time line affect the other. Also, the battles were really fun as each one felt like a mini puzzle. You also don't get attacked constantly like other games and it's pretty easy getting preemptive attacks. Overall, really great game and worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All in all, worth a try

posted by Brontis (KELLER, TX) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright let's see here.

Overall I would say this game deserves an eight.

Here's why:

It actually brings something new to the table. When I first read about it and was told it was all about time travel, I edged away, thinking that the developers probably spent way to much time on the time travel aspect and left out things like combat or fun side quests. I was wrong. While their Historia's combat system is nothing terribly new, it does have some interesting elements.

First, yes it is a turn based system, akin to that of Final Fantasy X's, where you can see who goes next and whatnot. Cool thing is, you're allowed to switch out your turn with someone else's, even the enemy, which allows to to string combos together. The other aspect I found enjoyable was the ability to move enemies around on their field, hitting them into one another and then being able to attack two or even three enemies at once. While fun and engaging though, it didn't really change the turn based combat system that drastically.

Now, the time travel. I'd have to say it was executed fairly well. My first and foremost concern was that the game was going to get extremely repetitive, seeing as I'd be going to back to change one thing a whole lot or something like that. But, again, I was surprised. What they did with the time travel was quite interesting. First, you could only go back to things called "nodes". These were places in time that had significant impacts later on, and also would branch out into a different history. The cool thing was, things you did in one history, could also affect another history. I occasionally found myself baffled at why this affected that, but eventually it all started to make sense.

So, yes. It's a decent buy and I would recommend it to anyone who loved the final fantasy franchise, or anyone who enjoys traveling through time. Both aspects are brought out extremely well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A simple comparasion

posted by grazal (BELLAIRE, TX) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a big back to the future fan or any time travel series you will find this a refreshing breath of air in the rpg world. Personally as a fan of Megaman Battlenetwork I found the combat to be very similar, so if you are missing out on the old 9 square combat this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you love RPGs...

posted by LemmaNADE (DENVER, CO) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

... that have an original story and game play, I think you will like Radiant Historia. Most people who play RPGs like long games with deep stories and this game definitely offers that. I think that there are a lot of a-typical aspects to this game such as dialog and whatnot, but overall I found a lot of aspects of this game to be original, like the battle mechanic, the time traveling and even the overall feel of the game -- though I will add a disclaimer that the most recent RPG and JRPG games I have played are FFVII, Dragon Age, and Mass Effect, so there may be other games similar to Radiant Historia out there.

I did find some of the time traveling very confusing when it came to figuring out which point in time you needed to go to to continue the story and I didn't feel like there were obvious clues you could locate if you were stuck. Often times I had to look to online strategy guides for direction.

This is a game that I think about even after I have closed my DS and gone about my day, so there is definitely something to the story and characters, which is what most RPG fans crave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maybe in another reality this game is even better

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) May 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Radiant Historia has a number of unique features; unfortunately it is also a member of a far-too-large class of games that coulda shoulda been better.

The game can be praised for adding something original to the tried and true turn-based battle system. By switching turns not only with your party members but also with enemies, you can strategically form long chains of successive ally attacks, which will allow you to land more powerful attacks as well as earn bonuses. Battling effectively will also require you to make good use of moves that allow you to push enemies into one another so they can be attacked all at once. The system is well done though it still will become repetitive after a while...

Being able to jump between two timelines was a good idea, but it could have been done better. For one thing, it's only two. You have the one choice you make that splits the game into two, and that's it. You're presented other choices from time to time, but they're false - one will just give you a bad ending and the other continues the story. Sometimes even that choice won't let you continue until you go to the other timeline and accomplish something there. Which is fine, but the game makes this too easy, telling you when you need to switch over, and to what point in time you must go. The basics of a good idea are here, but it's too linear and simple to get the most out of the concept.

The storyline and decent gameplay keep things moving interestingly, but unimpressive production value prevents this game from being as good as it could be. In particular there are not enough enemy types, and I was really bothered by how there are so few songs in the game. So many outdoor areas play the same song, and some cutscenes have no music at all. This game had a solid framework and it's just too bad that not enough effort was put into it for it to be seen at its best.

RH still stands out as unique and does enough right to be worth a look if you're in to this genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good ideas but average game.

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is another example of wasted potential, while not bad it could have been so much more. Time travel is a great idea for a game and an epic story, but sadly this idea is barely used and as the game goes on falls by the wayside. Many times through the game you will need to make a decision, but there is only one right answer and the wrong choice leads to an immediate game over. You will have no way of knowing which is the right choice so you have a 50/50 chance to guess it right, so what's the point in having them? It would have been nice if they had made the game continue on a different path depending on your choices instead of just giving the illusion of choice. There are only two timelines you can follow and you'll just follow along one until the game stops you and tells you to switch to the other one, and vice versa. The battle system has an interesting system where you can move enemies around a grid to damage multiple enemies with chain attacks but as the game wore on I used it less and less and it's almost never necessary to win.

Overall it's a decent game but you'll quickly realize it's just another linear jrpg. They could have done so much more with the premise and made a truly epic game!

Oh and for a fun drinking game take a shot every time a character uses ellipses :3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Radiant Historia is a Fantastic RPG

posted by jak1998 (AURORA, CO) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

Radiant Historia is a fantastically executed turn-based RPG with several very good concepts. Historia is a location between time that only Stocke, the main character, has access to. When in Historia you are able to move through time to various nodes that you have been involved in. One of these nodes will cause the timeline you have access to to split. This split is necessary as actions in one timeline affect the other. Let's break down the concepts that this game brings to the table that I love.

Combat- The combat system works around 2 things, a turn order that you can switch around letting you change one turn with an enemies or an allies to create attack chains. These chains are important because enemies appear on a 3x3 grid that you can move the enemies around on using certain skills. By moving an enemy onto another when either of those enemies are attacked both are. This can be done with several enemies at once, allowing you to get the most of a powerful attack.

Sidequests and the timelines- You know those games where your choices affect what happens throughout the story? This sorta has that only the choices will either continue the plot or will lead you off to a bad ending. These bad endings are interesting to watch unfold, and happen immediately. There are several good endings that can happen each requiring certain side quests to be completed. There are a load of sidequests that can allow special skills to be unlocked or for you to get good items or just a sum of money. The plot is amazing and I recommend this game a ton.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Decent Time Traveling JRPG Game

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Aug 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Radiant Historia is basically Atlus's version of Chrono Trigger, another game with time traveling mechanics. That is the first thing anyone with video game knowledge will notice once you put Radiant Historia into your DS, DS Lite,DSi/XL or 3DS/2DS/3DS XL systems. Secondly the time traveling mechanics is not as broaden out as other games are. Other than that it is a decent JRPG game on Nintendo's system of handheld goodness.

Story is basically the world is in ruin from a threat called Desertification, that is turning the world into desert and sand. Secondly the neighboring kingdom is trying to butt heads with the kingdom of Alistel (Idk if I am spelling it right but oh well), the setting of the game. You play as Stocke, a special intelligence officer and former soldier that is working in secret agency. One day your mission goes bad and you get in touch with a book, the White Chronicle. The book imbues Stocke with powers to change the course of his and his friends/team history by going back in time to change the course of events. Eventually the smaller choices goes into big choices such as saving the world from itself. Story is very decent and engaging with the way characters are and even the choices the game presents to the player, which is great for a handheld game. The only minor thing is that some parents might not want to let their kids play this game, even with the E10 rating because game does have mild cussing, suggestive themes (characters mainly) and alcohol consumption that the NPCs & chars partake in or mentions.

Gameplay is a simple strategy grid turn-based combat system but is not as detailed or fleshed out as other games like Fire Emblem is. The game starts easy but does get hard once more of the battle system gets fleshed out and needs to be used. The game world is very open and able to explore in 2.5D and semi 3D like graphics with 2D spirtes. A Grip, uses a Final Fantasy save system for saving/changing history. to. Game sound good. Overall 7/7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i didn't like partial of this game, too confusing

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) May 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

this game is an alrite one.

its all about making decisions and watever u decide is bad or good, personally i found it annoying and confusing.

the combat and storyline r the only two things that r good about this game.

a good rent but but was just too confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An good game but boring for non Jrpg fans

posted by apecape92 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

As the title says Radiant Histora is an good game but isnt for everyone because of the pacing of the game. The reasons I didnt like this game alot is because of the overused war element in Jrpgs or rpgs in general the only the character I actually liked was the main character (which I forgot his name). but the music was epic and the gameplay or battle system is top notch for a ds game. now to conclude with this review I give it a 8 out of ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by leapers (BLACKWOOD, NJ) May 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

one of the best games i played. loved the ending but wished there was more. Also, stopping the evil boss at the end was almost imposible!! Make sure to level everyone up!! I wish there were more games like this. another great game like this is called 9 hours 9 doors 9 people. Its simular to this game, so if you love this, you will love that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »