Rent Racquet Sports for Wii
view large frontback

Racquet Sports

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.5

298 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Racquet Sports....I Enjoyed the Game

posted by Jadinstar (YAKIMA, WA) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually like the game. Is it worth a purchase? Probably not, but I enjoyed renting this game. I looked at the cover and didn't expect very serious games and such. What I did like about it was the control while playing tennis. You can move in close to the net, hold the B button for a soft drop shot just over the net or flick your wrist to get a good power shot.

No doubt, as the other reviewers have stated...the game has too much fluff and not enough content. And it certainly gets repetitive way too soon. The beach tennis, badminton and squash were just "ok" to play and I didn't care for the table tennis at all as Wii Sports Resort has far better controls for that game.

But overall, I would probably rent this game again for a few hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Far too little content, far too much fluff

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Sometimes a game maker can try to stretch out meager content to make a product. With Racquet Sports, the content is stretched so much that it’s about to burst.
Sure, you can get five sports - Table Tennis, Tennis, Beach Tennis, Badminton and Squash - but each of the five plays exactly the same.
All you have to do is wait for the ball (or shuttlecock) to come near your player and swing away. Then, you have to hope that your shot gets past the opposing player(s) - or they hit it out of bounds.
And you do it again.
And again.
And again.
Even with the Motion Plus accessory, the game play is still the same.
Could all the repetition will grant you the ability to unlock great features? No, not here. The game modes are almost all the same - either you play one match or a few matches.
The material unlock doesn’t stand up either. As you progress through the game, you get really second rate versions of the Nintendo Mii(s), various outfits that look bland, and a few courts that look really cheap.
This game rips off the Tennis part of WiiSports very badly. Why pay $30 for this game when you can play almost the same game for free (and get the other games in WiiSports, too)?
Last month (February), Ubisoft announced in the magazine Game Informer that it is getting out of the Wii market and concentrating on the PS3 and Xbox 360, saying they want to get involved with serious games for serious players.
Racquet Sports is Exhibit A in the case that supports their belief that game makers for the Wii are not making serious games for serious players. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Racquet Sports

posted by apr2499 (KOKOMO, IN) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I saw that Racquet sports was coming out, I got extremely exicted. I thought “wow, finally badminton, and racquet ball (squash) on the wii. “ The Trailer video that UBISOFT put out made he game look great.

All I can say is WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT!!!

Quite honestly this game stinks. It attempts to do all of the things that made Wii Sports and Wii Sports Resort great and just fails. The graphics are pretty impressive, but the game play is just not that good. In fact I can just sit in my recliner and move my arm back and forth and the guy will hit the ball.

It is a lazy man’s game.

If you want some fun games, play Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort, or Virtua Tennis 2009.

You will have to buy the Wii Motion Plus to enjoy the games, but hey you have to have Wii Motion plus to play this game.

If you are looking for a game that is fun and challenging, skip this game and go for Virtua Tennis 2009. You won’t be sorry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Must have the right remote!

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game, but I cannot rate this game because I did not know that it could not be played without the new Wii Motion remote. So do not rent this game if you do not have one. I had to send it back without playing it and will have to rent it again once I can afford the remote. The only reason I wrote a review was to let people know that they will need this remote if they want to play this game. I thought it was just compatible with the new remote, but it is a must to play it. Please do not make my mistake. What I saw of the graphics it was good and I cannot wait to actually play the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Makes No Sence

posted by Amanda0126 (DANIELSON, CT) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I liked it. It was fun. But when I was playing Ping-Pong the opponent served the ball, it went know where and the other guy got a point because it said the ball bounced twice when it didn`t even go anywhere.So if you like unfairness this is te game you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Title Sounds Nice But Don't Let It Fool You!

posted by cls7102 (HANOVER, MD) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

We decided to get this game for our younger children and was excited about having more options at playing a wii tennis game besides wii play but boy we were really wrong!

The remotes are very hard to use and catch on when you use to swing and hit. The choices of locations and characters are limited. I say keep the wii play and rent another game. If you are looking for some good tennis action try wii play or sports resort (table tennis).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »