Rent Rabbids Travel in Time 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Rabbids Travel in Time 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.1

232 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

2.5D Action Platformer fix for launch window

posted by VoIPTeK (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like action platformers such as New Super Mario Bros and Donkey Kong Country returns on the Wii, this game may be your "fix" until those Nintendo brand games come out for 3DS. The gameplay on this is pretty much identical to SMB and DK Wii games though not as challenging (so far). I've made it through approx 20 levels so far and they are a lot of fun. The first 11 levels are a little too easy but they do get a little harder as you go. The "3D" effect in this game is more cosmetic than a "wow" factor. There really isn't much difference between 2D and 3D gameplay but if you like 3D, 3D is obviously still the way to go. You can still see depth of the scrolling background but since it is a platformer, you don't really notice it as much. I personally like the touch, just not a showcase game you'd want to show people to "wow" them with 3D effects. The only "problems" I've had so far with the controls is when using the circle pad, if you're pressing to the right and slightly downward, you'll do a slam in mid-air as if you were to press down only which caused me to slam myself down some pits or into fire coals when I didn't mean to. Other than that, the game plays great and is a fun platformer. Aside for the "ease" of standard play, after you complete a level you are given two new modes to play the level (which I haven't tried yet) that has a set of requirements to make the level more challenging. In summary, if you want a classic gameplay platformer, this is a great launch-window title to get you going until the big N releases their mascot titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short, but great game!

posted by Sonic211 (CONROE, TX) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

RTiT3D is an awesome game. I'm a huge fan of platformers, and this one is definitely in my Top 10 if not Top 5. First of all, DO NOT discriminate this game JUST because it's short.
It's difficulty is very easy at the beginning, but get's much harder as the game goes on. The Final Level is the hardest level in the game (as it should be).
As for the rest, the 3D graphics are amazing and totally noticeable! There are 4 worlds with 15+ levels each:

Prehistory
Ancient Egypt
Ancient Greece and Rome
The Middle Ages

I guess that's not short, but I blew threw this game for the most part. If you think that RTiT3D is a short game, there's also:

The Fitting Room: Try clothes on your Rabbid and fill your heart's content.
Figurines: As you accumulate mor points through the game, you'll unlock figurines, which show Rabbids playing and goofing off in different places.
Pictures: After you complete a level, you can replay it at anytime in Time Trial Mode or Mission Mode. In TTM, beat the clock to recieve trophies. To unlock pictures, you have to win gold trophies (it's not that hard). You must have 4 gold trophies to unlock 1 picture.

Well, that pretty much sums it up, I gave RTiT3D a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocrity in glorious 3d

posted by HLarge4 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Apr 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the Rabbids. The original Rabbids game on the Wii was filled with charm, humour and a passable mini-collection. Sure alot of the mini-games were just altered vesions of the same idea, but I laughed while executing them, thanks to the energetic cast of bunny-lings tripping, screaming, singing and exploding in their own special way.
Rabbids Travel in Time 3D is just as passable as its heritage, but purely devoid of charm and originality. If i had to make an analogy, its like drinking a glass of your favorite soda gone flat. Its still Dr.Pepper, but where's the fizz? Answer, not in this glass.
Foregoing the usual mini-game formula, RTiT 3D makes a stab at platforming. And this is classic platforming. You run right, leap gaps, collect coins and avoid obstacles. Everything functions as promised. You won't swear at the controls or blame the game design for any foul-ups, and thats a good thing, because its the only leg this game is standing on.
The concept involvs our Rabbid friends performing their usual grace upon a generic museum exibit when a washing machine or dryer appears unnanounced from the air. Being the curious rodents they are, our Rabbid friends fight thier way inside the bottom loader. When your screaming nutball climbs in the door shuts and your spirited off into pre-history for said platforming.
And here lies the biggest complaint. Through all four historical periods, you never feel as though your playing in the time periods. There are shaky floating platforms in each timeline, the same killer green smog, the same pendulum spike, same enemies (raabbids dressed up). And you never feel like your behind the wheel of one of the titular rabbids. No screaming, no antics, no fun
It is painfully boring. A test of humility to see the credits role. And while I finished the game, I wouldn't reccomend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rabids go home

posted by Zeena (HIGHLAND FALLS, NY) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

the best game on wii is naw even beater when u play it in 3D sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for Little Kids

posted by Red2dbone (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

If you have an 8 yr old and under, then this game is for them. It doesn't have the same type of antics or comedic effect as all the other Rabbids game. Its definately boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by zaphod82 (NEWARK, CA) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Good game. Wish it was longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dislike-good base, but not enough variety

posted by breezybroad (HOLLAND, OH) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Boring! Started out ok and never got better. I got bored with it fairly quickly and didn't bother to try to beat it-to repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A vile sandwich covered in 3D sauce

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Dec 30, 2011

Member since May 2008

This is the worst game I have played on the 3DS, and the worst game in the rabbids series. It makes horrible use of the 3D during gameplay, and slightly better use during cut scenes. If the AVGN played this, who knows what he would have said. The biggest dissapointment was the fact that its a side scroller. Its a 3d game, and they made it a 2D sidescroler? What were they thinking? I had might as well be playing Virtual Boy. It didn't even have the classic rabbids humor we all know and love.
Bottom line, it's a bad game that should have been great that ubisoft is trying to shove down our throats in 3 dimensions. Don't buy it, rent it, or even watch a video about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by yoda9428 (TONAWANDA, NY) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

all for the fun. It is like donkey kong with rabbids. They are so awsome. the gameplay is great a great game for kids that just got there 3ds system to get a taste and get ready for intense gaming. the rabbids you get to dress the rabbids up. really nice graphics. the 3ds will be coming out with another rabbid game. and hopefully a donkeykong for kids that like mario and donkey kong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing Special

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

Not a bad game, but not great either. The levels are repetative... knock a couple guys out, slide down a hill, bounce up to a platform, repeat. Would be ok for a kid to play during a car ride, but other than that I wouldn't bother with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rabbids attempt at a platformer.

posted by CaptColon (SHIRLEY, NY) Aug 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

Unlike the other games starring the Rabbids, this is a good old fashioned platformer instead of a party game.

I kinda felt this game deserved at least a 7, but decided to take off a point for two reasons:
First reason being this game does nothing new for the platformer genre. If you've played through either of the New Super Mario Bros. games on Wii or DS you will experience some serious déjà vu moments when playing this.

Second reason was this game is just way too easy. There are 4 Worlds with 16 levels each (12 levels and I think 4 bonus levels that might be optional but I've been playing through them anyway) and by the time I made it halfway through the second world I had already gotten nearly 40 extra lives. At the moment I'm near the end of World 4 and have 64 extra lives. Unless there is an unexpected increase in difficulty in the last few levels, I will never have to put those extra lives to good use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »