Rent R.U.S.E. for PS3
view large frontback

R.U.S.E.

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

1416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome and challenging

posted by Zazwinger (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally found a game that is very fun yet very challenging. The campaign teaches you everything you need to know and than improves your strategies and tactics with various challenges and obstacles! Would definitely suggest this for game for any really strategic people, people that like to play games like Risk, Checkers, Chess, etc etc will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game if your into WW2 era

posted by TXHONDA (KATY, TX) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game was awesome I'm big into military history especially ww2 history... Game really does need skill to play... more so online... if your not into WW2 era I don't recommend this game... but if your a history buff and like games like starcraft, red alert and original warcraft you need this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Impressed

posted by GeezerDan (SAINT PAUL PARK, MN) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been an avid FPS gamer since way back when and never really got into the whole RTS genre....Until now that is.

R.U.S.E. actually offered me something other games have not done in a long time.....a challenge. I'm still in the early stages of the SP and have yet to venture online to match wits with actual gamers.

The WWII themes is what drew me into this game and the fun factor is what will keep me with this one for some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TRUELY Underated

posted by thumbwars (HARTFORD, CT) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is a very good and intellectual game that actually requires thinking (not like most games we see nowadays). I was surprised that the average gamefly rating was around 6.2, R.U.S.E is a very addictive game and the gameplay is great aswell. But, the only down thing is that the online multiplayer community is small.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RUSE

posted by ElKato954 (ROCKAWAY, NJ) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ok, let me explain one thing. This isn't a normal RTS game in any way. You can LIE to the AI and real people. It's sick!

Pros:
Long campaign and very fun to play
Nice modes like battle and ranked matches thar really test your strenght
Nice graphics

Cons:
Enemy AI can be overpowered at times
Online lags a lot and can sometimes only slow you down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

for command and conquer fans

posted by rome78 (NEW CASTLE, DE) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

those who played command and conquer generals..this game is for you.this game is like a new and improved command and conquer fans.with a deeper storyline..great war game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty awesome

posted by 1991Danny (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Well i dont know about all the bad feedback that these reviews are showing, but i see this game really well made, amazingly realistic and so so entertaining.
This is how war really is, you cant question a thing in this game. every action you do is actually practiced in real wars. The units and the details are amazing.
The whole point of the game is to make us use different strategies + our intelligence unlike other RTS games, this game really depend on using your brain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good if you're into RTS games...

posted by MitLong (CHAMPLIN, MN) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- Units seemed very balanced. There was just enough of a "tic-tac-toe" feel to make for an interesting strategy without making every battle dependent on needing"paper" to defeat the incoming "rock".

- I had an easier time controlling the units than I thought I would. I do not own a Move controller and I feared that the game would be tough to play without one; that was not the case.

Cons:
- Hiding: It's tough to tell when you're hidden in a forest and when you're right next to a forest. You want to move your guys as close to the edge of the forest as they can be in order to maximize your range, but move them one step too far and the incoming units destroy them. If your troops automaticall made an effort to engage nearby enemies while remaining hidden (patrol or guad mode perhaps), it would have made the game much more enjoyable. As it is, I spent a lot of time putzing with individual units to make sure that they were in a good position.

- Line of Sight: I like the idea of having forests and towns that you can't shoot across as the idea of cover makes things more strategic. Too often though, I thought I had a good shot from one of my long range units only to have him instead drive real close to the enemy unit in order to get a shot off because he indeed does not have line of sight to the target. Now, if the unit had some sort of good AI, he'd just take a little step to the left and commence shooting. But because they take your orders literally the unit will make a direct path to the enemy and will only fire once a shot is available. This wouldn't be too bad except that this is an RTS and during the vital moments of the game you're trying to do 4 things at once, as quickly as possible.

Long story slightly less long, I'd recommend this game for people who may be looking for a little more strategy in their RTS. If you want a collect resource, build stuff, amass army, crush enemy type of game you may just want to stick to Starcraft II.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good effort

posted by Zathurs (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like my RTS games in general and would really like one I could play off the computer but sadly this one is falling short.

Pros: The look and feel of it. I like the zoom in & out overview and I didn't have much problems as I figured I would once I got usto selecting and moveing units. (Of note just useing standard dualshock3 control) Combat seams pretty balanced. Does help to use X unit vs Y but there is usualy a plan B if your paying attention so you don't get owned because a tiger tank rolled down the road.

Cons: Unit AI would be at the top as mentioned they're really stupid and quite offen get shot crossing the road litteraly. Units will take damage retreat heal then sit and watch there buddys they just left get beat down. Says units move faster on roads but make little to no effort to use them. Lack of advanced unit commands. No patrol, guard, waypoints, move attack, move dumb, give chase. No time scale. Sometime you just need to slow the clock down so you can give all the orders you need to or speed it up when your just sitting there with 5 credits waiting for 40. Can't group units together for easy/quick selecting.

IMO: Ruse cards need timeing tweek. You get them pretty quick and you just end up redoing the same ones most of the time rather earn them slower and have them last longer just saves me micro managment time. This game come across really intuitive to me in what they have done right I just wish they could of gone that extra mile and made it top notch. I spend to much time giveing orders twice (or more) to really enjoy anything I'm doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Complete Junk; Didn't Use Move, Cannot Comment

posted by KParrish (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

As always, developers created yet another general RTS game for every single device. And, as always, it's perfected for the PC.

The controls are clunky and hard to use (no surprise). When the game first starts, you're told a way of selecting units that you want in either single, or group fashion. Later on the selections become better, such as taking one unit of four, splitting them up into two teams and flank opposing forces. Problem: trying to select units can be an annoyance in itself. After a checkpoint is hit and a cutscene ends, you're thrown back into battle yet your units are literally crammed together. Trying to pay attention to the enemy while trying to move, split, and position your units is the biggest problem. If you have enemy tanks coming at you from two different directions, and your medium tank unit of four is crammed in with soldiers and light tanks (useless against other tanks), it gets ridiculous. By the time you locate, split and position your tanks, it's all over. The controller simply isn't as good as a mouse; it's way too slow and clunky.

RUSE cards can be played during battle. One, for example, can be chosen to interpret enemies communications and find out what they're planning. When they're played, they generally last for only a minute in an area of your choosing.

The problem though is that it's hard to see what exactly you're doing. You can either zoom in or out on the battlefield yet when you do zoom out, the little icons that represent your forces become insanely big. When this happens it's hard to tell what anybody is doing because the icons hardly move at all. So, you zoom back in only to find out that you can clearly see your forces but now, you really have no idea what the enemy is doing.

So basically, the gameplay consists of zooming in and out constantly and/or rummaging about slowly trying to guide your teams, stressing trying to find the right unit in the clump of others, and playing RUSE cards; not all that fun, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Also on steam

posted by tacolover1 (CHURCHTON, MD) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 27 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

i got the steam version Gold demo for this. All it really is WWII Age of Empires. You can choose diffrent fractions EX: USSR,USA,Britan,Italy
Also you have special upgrades and troops and certain factions get things for cheaper. So get some people to go against you and use a specialty suck as cheap paratroopers and just eat them alive with infantry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by Viper115 (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game is okay but gets boring really fast. The skirmish mode is manly based on airpower. I didn't get that far in the campaign,so I really can't get into the details. The ruse's in the are a pretty good features. So it's a rent game only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

R.U.S.E.

posted by chingchow1 (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ruse is a fun game , but gets old fast. And the graphics rimind me of Ps2 graphics at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame.

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game made me sad. I was annoyed after the first few moments when my soldiers didn't show enough common sense to take cover while being shot at. I was angered when my Anti-Tank units kept packing their stuff to move nearer to Tanks, rather than shooting AROUND obstructions. Selecting units and zooming in on them is kind of crucial in this game, yet there is no option for changing the speed of the camera. Select All Units doesn't actually select them all. It selects all the units of the same type! THAT was irritating to learn after having most of my infantry get eliminated while my anti-tank guns traveled alone to my prior destination. And I never could figure out how R.U.S.E. cards were supposed to work.
Games like this should just be turn-based. RTS doesn't do well on consoles. They should just give it up and leave these kinds of games on the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i really like rts and this is what i need

posted by rezard (STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I got this from game stop one day while I look for a rts game either topical or this game I chose this and I freak in like this game pros are huge but sadly I have to give this A 9/10 instead cause I use the cheap artillery tactic now here we go with the pros this game has ww2 vehicles and infinity you can use ruse cards to give you advance like radio silence or fake air assault the story mode or captain for some people that teaches you about the gameplay mechanics and its very nice also I found for other reviews that if you zoom in you'll see the battle unfold for your eyes zoom out you an see the command table like it fells like your a real commander I hope this helps and I hope I found new tactics also there's a online mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had high hopes

posted by Thecoolr (MESA, AZ) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

This game was just not meant to be on a console. Maybe with PS MOVE it would be better I don't know. I tried a demo and enjoyed it, but once you start playing the actual game it becomes obvious you really only move your units into trees and play a stagnant match of rock papers scissors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun But Arrgh ....

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

The Idea of a WW2 Map , and YOU as the General is a Fun Experience. Command the Men and Tanks ...send them to War! The ONLY downside of this game , is the "Friendly" AI that in later levels , runs like a whipped baby , leaving you at the Line , with little resource to stop an onslaught. No Walkthroughs here .....just arrgh. Other than that , if you can do all the heavy lifting ....its a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ITs all a RUSE

posted by skidmark13 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

A big fan of RTS's for many years. The controls were clunky also the game was mired in what passes for a storyline. Please just give me gameplay if i want a story i will watch a movie... i played thru 2 missons and thats as long as it held my interest the only thing now is i have to wait a week for another game. gameflys turnaround time sucks so far. kinda like RUSE. dont waste your time. go play command and conquer... i expect more from UBISOFT love the Silent hunter series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just plain horrible

posted by krede23 (RICHMOND, CA) May 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is one of the worst games that I have ever played. I was bored with it after only 10 minutes. Don't waste your time with this one, as it is just bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

it takes forever to do anything

posted by irish (WILMINGTON, IL) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i like most strategy games but this one was bad it had a cool concept but it took hours to complete one match because all your units are so slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good RTS

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2010

I was skeptical about renting this on the console, as I own the PC version, and usually I find the controls for RTS games to be sluggish and awkward at best. This game works surprisingly well on the console! Game wise: the campaign mode is fun, interesting story. there are plenty of factions to chose from with strengths and weakness'. Worth the rent, and not a bad used price to buy either. Offers a unique 1942 era selection of units.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun game but a bug doesn't let you go any further

posted by cmunk (ALPHARETTA, GA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Part five of the Campaign Mode. Digging in something or other... there is a bug on ps3 where your supporting forces never show up so beating this level is near impossible. Disappointing. And Ubisofts website is no help. Pretty much a dead end to get a patch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nice try

posted by Rome (TELLURIDE, CO) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

To me this game was a poor rip off of a warcraft/starcraft type game.. with poor movement.. poor combat... and even poorer controls... for a game like this to be "decent" on a console it cant just be slapped together haphazardly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RUSE

posted by cmacmoto (ATHENS, TN) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game R.U.S.E was a very poorly made game. this game was set to be a good thinking game on how to take out your enemy. but, the game dose not go with that. well it dose but it dose not show it well. each move you make is a very confuseing move to even you. its sad how they made it

so if you are wanting to rent it and try it by all means do so but you can not say i did not worn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse