Rent Quantum Theory for PS3
view large frontback

Quantum Theory

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.0

962 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible Controls and Tedious

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

You basically go from room to more-or-less identical room hiding behind waist-high walls, shooting endless hordes of identical bad guys. There is no plot, no characters to speak of, and no reason it should be called "Quantum Theory". You need to be 100% precise, even with the grenade launcher, to do any damage. And, as 99% of your rounds will be misses, you run out of ammo pretty much instantly. Part of why you miss so much is that 1) you aim slower than any enemy can walk at a slow pace, much less sprint, and 2) you cannot hit ANY target if it is moving. It's like they borrowed an invincibility star from Super Mario Bros. that wears off whenever they hold still.
And if you get into a smaller-than-average room or corridor, God help you figure out what's actually going on as you face a brick wall while helplessly trying to get the camera to swing around and show you what's beating you to death from behind. I can handle swarms of alien cyborgs, but I cannot defeat The Dreaded Cameraman.
Add to this a complete lack of plot/exposition, totally cookie-cutter weapons, and a cover system that feels like it was designed by an autistic Martian, and you get this steaming pile of whatsit.
The graphics and slow-mo headshots are neat, but beyond this, there is nothing worthwhile about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NOT GREAT! BUT NOT BAD!

posted by ajohns81 (LONDON, KY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All and all this game is no masterpiece but its not a bad game either. The graphics are ok no real ohhs or awws. like others have said there is an obvious connection to Gears, plays almost the same. Controls take a min to get use to and the story is ok. Over all I give this game a 6 its a game if you have some extra time or an extra slot on your Q give it a try Its really not that bad! IF your expecting a game of the year contender look somewhere else. But if your a person who just likes to play games because its different why not give it a look

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its not that bad

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Nov 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the problem with this game is that there are so many great games out right now that being just ok, isnt going to get it anymore. I started this game but didn't finish because I had 2 better games in line. Maybe I'll pick it up again some day if I get really bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alot better than what people are saying.

posted by Nineteenth (BRONX, NY) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

At first, I was completely uncertain about Quantum Theory as a whole.
Not being a fan of Gears of War, I thought I was going to dislike this game from the get go. I was completely wrong.

Aside from having a stout, angry protagonist and being a cover based shooter, the similarity to Gears of War pretty much ends there. Remember people, Gears didn't invent cover based shooters, everything you like from it, they stole from Kill.Switch.

Gameplay Wise; You cannot play this like Gears. You will die and you will whine like so many of the other reviewers. The most common thing gamers do this generation is mash the buttons as soon as they flash on screen. Not in Quantum Theory.
There's only three jumps in the entire game and they actually require timing. Smart thinking and patience will see you through practically everything, but if you decide to Rambo your way through; I do hope you enjoy seeing the retry screen.

An important note!
Regenerating health is present in both games, but for GoW; There is no logical reason why there should be regenerating health. In Quantum, there's actually a story based reason why health regenerate; A reason? This generation? Amazing!

Enemies
Gears just throws a bunch of enemies at you; No rhyme no reason like many other shooters this generation. Quantum, at the very least provided some justification for the enemies.

Story Wise: This is where Gears and Quantum Theory split.
The story of Gears is simple. They attacked us, we attacked them, now we're fighting to the death aka the same Us Vs Them story we've been reading/playing since the 80s.

Quantum's story follows a rarely touched theme; It's surreal, a tale of body horror and science; it's a real shame people ignored it.

All in all, the game is quite good. It isn't perfect, nothing is perfect after all. It adds some flavor to the tired formula and attempts to change things; Again, it's really too bad this game was bashed so harshly be people who didn't even bother to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tragedy!

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is a "Could have been". Its got great graphics, great effects, cool weapons, great enemies, etc. So why is it a tragedy? Because the game is hampered by an absolutely horrible control system. Probably the worst of any game that I have ever played. Unlike most games, where you simply push forward more on the control stick, or press down on L3, to run, this game requires you to hold down the X button to run. But the X button also has other functions to do with taking cover, jumping, etc, so the game makes you do things that you dont want to do, just by trying to run. Also, running hardly works in anything but a straight line. Instead of feeling light and quick on your feet when you need to be, you feel like some lumbering oaf running through a tar pit. Jumping is another PITA because you have to press the O key to jump, which is just kind of a somersault that you do. It's almost impossible to run and jump at the same time, which is just plain wrong. Also, if you come across ammo, you need to get in exactly the right position, wait for the prompt to come up on the screen, and then press the down button to pick it up instead of just running over it. Who the heck ever thought that was a good idea in Beta testing? That's okay if you are just strolling through a place, but it wastes precious time when in the heat of battle, or running for your life. I dont know how many times I got killed because I tried to pick up ammo, allowing the enemy to zero in on me with a devastating attack. If they fix the controls, this would be a great game, and I would gladly give it an 8, but the way it is now, its just more frustrating than fun, and I dont need that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

There's no theory, This sucked

posted by ogreb0y (REDLANDS, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I have never played either Gears of War. I have played other 3rd person shooters ranging from Uncharted 2, both Lost Plants, War for Cybertron and both Army of Two(s). Keeping these games in mind, Quantum is the poorest of them all.

I had hopes for a game that seemed to have a different twist on the alien invasion twist, but the games short comings overshadowed any enjoyment. There was an utter disconnect between the action on the screen and what I doing with my controller. Switching guns is painful and, with the default setting, almost impossible to do while moving. Not that it really matters, the effects that the weapons vary slightly between each one and seem work sporadically. Area weapons, grenades and missiles, seem like they need to hit directly and shotguns would rarely hit multiple targets at close range. The only true advantage one weapons might have over the others is rate of fire, giving the player no real reason to use the slower ones.

The cover system is broke. Once you get to cover, (important in a game where the bad guys NEVER MISS) you have a few options on how to get out of cover: Backing out (Down and X), Jumping cover (UP and X) Sprinting From Cover (sometimes Left/Right and X) or Walking out (See Sprinting). These rarely worked they way advertised and would always result in getting shot.

There is no jumping, just diving. You can't jump over things, you have to slide into them ( x) and then jump cover. If there was a "jump" way to accomplish this, I failed to execute it. The game has hills and elevated enemies, but it seems like its all being played on one level.

The game is fairly nice to look at but their is some bad pixelation when the enemies are up close and they tend to blend into what ever level you encounter them on.

Not owning a 360, I have no hang-ups playing clones (If a fable clone ever came out, I would be first in line) but this is a clone of a clone of a rip-off. My PS3 needs penicillin now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty Weak

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
This is a Gears of War clone. The problem is the clone isn't nearly as good as the original. I wouldn't even suggest a rent on this one.

Pros
==================
um....can't think of any

Cons
==================
1) weak graphics
2) weak controls
3) poor and bland level design
4) not satisfying gun play
5) weak story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

whats all the haters for

posted by assassin1 (MOUNT STERLING, KY) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I dont know why everyone seems to hate this game so much. yeah the gunplay could use some tweaks(i swear ill be aiming on the enemy and the freakin reticule will move on its own) but other than that its a great game. the story is kinda weird i say im about halfway through the game and they still havent explained the charachters background and the girl is almost like always seperated from you. the graphics are fine though i think they are really good. i just rented the game 2 days ago and every time i get home i just put the game in and keep playing. one thing though that really ticks me off though is the checkpoints(ill be fighting for like 30 minutes just to die by something stupid and have to start all over) i dont know what it is about this game but its just fun to play i recommend at least a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played it the whole way through...

posted by Xyonn68 (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is what everyone on here is saying, only not quite as bad. It is a slightly worse version of gears as far as gameplay is concerned. But it does have a better selection of weaponry. The story is decent, but the end is TERRIBLE! I won't ruin anything other than expect disappointment. Almost as terrible as the end for Borderlands.....maybe worse! Seems like it could have been a good game, but got rushed and the developers never got the chance to play it the whole way through before shipping it out. Also the difficulty settings seem to be outlandish at some points. Easy can be really easy but sometimes it can still be unbelievably frustrating, and I can DESTROY Gears of War on the hardest difficulty and yet I still died repeatedly on certain parts on EASY mode like I was trying to beat Sigma from Mega Man X using only Terd Pellet Mans attack!

Synopsis:

If you liked Gears of War, and you like story mode style third person shooters, then rent it. If you liked Gears of War mainly for its multiplayer then forget it. And if you like Paris Hilton then go kill yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good...not so much

posted by mjk6df (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall this game is pretty weak. The graphics are mediocre at best. The game play is extremely sluggish and choppy. I had to adjust the aiming speed just to make it bearable. The story is also really weird. I actually played through the whole game and still have no idea what the story is even about! Oh yeah, and you die a whole bunch of random times because the Action button doesn't work very well. IF you can get past those frustrations...the game was somewhat fun to play. Its a shame that their is hardly anyone online (I played on PS3) because the few matches that I was able to play, the multiplayer wasn't too bad. MAYBE a rent but buying this game would be like wiping your butt with a $50 bill!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

uh...

posted by storming_flower (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sry but in my opinion this game sucked! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Give me a break people..

posted by kmkjester (TOLEDO, OH) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game isent as bad as everyone keeps saying.. Yeah its lacking on the story, alittle on the graphics, plus it is almost a clone of Gears of War but at the same time that last one isent such a bad thing. I dont own a Xbox so this can be the PS3s weak version of Gears..lol. Really though its ok if you just like a grity shooter but there are much better games out like Castlevania and soon to be out FALLOUT! haha. O yeah play it more than 30mins..lol, it gets alittle better later on. It deserves a 6 prob in my book but im giving it a 7 to cancel out some of these low ratings!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RIP OFF OF GEARS OF WAR!!!

posted by elpinguino (BOCA RATON, FL) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

being a huge fan of gears of war...this game is a cheap cheap substitute...the guns are terrible in comparison...no originality at all..the opening scene after the intro looks identical to gears of war with one exception..the graphics are just not as good...when you shoot an enemy and he "explodes" you can see the pixelation...

it seems like its a little hard to move around as well...maybe im just so used to gow that it jus feels awkward but it definitely doesnt feel as free-moving as gow....

all this imo could be made up if the game had some great cut scenes or a good story..but it doesnt...same old post-apocalyptic bla bla bla and this guy "just syd" has to save the world

if you play this game at all and like it even a little bit check out gears of war for xbox instead and youll be blown away..

the online is not really worth playing either...the maps seem really bland and boring...the color schemes of the game in general are just not appealing

get gow2 instead for xbox!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could be the worst tittle to date.

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

For once i whole heartedly agree with the first few people to post here. I tought terminator salvation was the worst game ever now i think i found a new one i got this game yesterday played it for 30 mins tried hard to give it a chance but nothing of the game made me wanna see it tru, i mean 30 freaking minutes, i played terminator 3 hours before i finally gave up on that.
This is by far the shortest time i have ever played a game, GOW rip off with bad voice over and bad graphics the enemies are stupid looking why its rated M beats the heck out of me when you kill an enemy you barely see any blood and the weapons have to be the stupidest weapons i have ever seen in a game.

This game is a disgrace and the company responsible should not be allowed to make any more because even if the game sucks i bet they spent 100 dollars to make this bullcrap they will still make some money,
HUGE SHAME ON THEM.

Dont even bother with this tittle its worthless i wouldnt buy it for 1 dollar to sit it on my shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Complete rip off! LAME game don't waste your time

posted by THEPFAT (KEY LARGO, FL) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So as the reviewer above stated it is a COMPLETE rip off of, "Gears of War" from XBox. Only thing is its done very badly. The story just starts in the middle of a tower that you destroyed coming down. No explaination why its coming down or how you did it. After this you just appear kind of captured by some survivors and they have taken your weapon...how....why...when...NOPE! And this is all in the first five minutes of the game and I assume (forgive me if I am wrong) is the pace the rest of the game will be. Apparently everyone who helps you always dies and thats why you are always alone...only explaination. No story on where these "infected" come from and why/what they are doing there, just a "Hey they are here and I'm gonna kill em" setup. Now it very well could explain everything later but personally I don't feel I want to stick it out to find out...not worth it. In my opinion a game/movie/book should grab you within the first 10 minutes and make you WANT to stay to the very very end, this isn't the one! The graphics are old and not up to date for a just released ps3 game! Think Xbox...original. Great for the time but not now. The game play takes ALOT from GOW and makes a valient attempt at the amazing gameplay but fails miserably. All in all I say don't even waste the time to rent it I feel you will come to the same conclusion...if you are interested and have never played, "Gears of War" one or two...DO IT and leave this one behind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

graphics all ways doing make a good game

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

that all your hear from people anymore is whinning about the graphics are not good. if you been around playing games then graphics alone all ways done make a great game. I played the demo and the game itself. sure there are games out now that are getting copied.so what I played it and enjoyed it like every other game out there. so i rate this a 7 good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow, does it get any worse than this?

posted by Lazworkr (MILTON, FL) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If this is the future of gaming I'm setting my ps3 on fire. Horrible graphics, horrible story, horrible voice acting, horrible controls, and the list goes on and on. I wonder how much money the game developer wasted creating this disaster? Like other reviews state, it's nothing more than a gears of war clone. A horribly done gears of war clone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucked....reall bad... really really bad

posted by Monstur (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off the game has a horrible plot which got me already boared as soon as i started playinvg. its one of thoese games that you find yourself doing the same exact thing over and over again... HORRIBLE graphics, the game reminds me of a cheap knock off to gears of war
1 suggestion dont waste your time installing this peace of garbage to your ps3 irate a 3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls

posted by McCbrad53 (OAK GROVE, MO) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The controls are just like Gears of War and I know for me I think that they suck. The actions and everything is the same so not bad game, controls suck and story which I didn't get very far in but so far sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Try the demo before renting ... No, really.

posted by tvandinter (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There's a demo available from the PS Store. I highly recommend downloading it and trying the game out, certainly before buying and even before renting.

Personally, I played the demo for about 5 minutes before giving up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quantum Theory

posted by davidgrion (MIAMI, FL) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unplayable, not even in easy mode. The checkpoints are to far apart and the jumping just doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HOT GARBAGE IN FULL EFFECT!

posted by bankholdup (NAPLES, FL) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Gears of war came out back in 2006 and im pretty sure time hasn't gone backwards and its currently 2010. What did go backwards is this game. It feels and looks like a ps2/xbox game that should have came out 8 years ago. Weird right. If I didn't know any better I would have thought Gears of war took notes and improved on what this game started. But it didn't,even after gears 2 in 07 u think a developer would be able to match what they did then,now. Maybe gears coding or whatever is just that good. Hats off to EPIC. BOO to KIOE. I WOULD LUMP THIS GAME WITH THE NEWER STAR WARS MOVIES THAT LUCAS PUT OUT (ep1-3) HOT GARBOOSH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gears of War minus the polish...

posted by Mrolli1 (AMISSVILLE, VA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Must have taken all of a few days to develop this game. Take "Gears of War", remove the storyline, and substitute vampires for mole men, then do your best to make it horribly worse than Gears. Then put an "M" rating on it (for no apparent reason), box it up, and charge $50 for it. Koei, should be sued for plagiarism, and plain ole' theft.

And just because, I compare this game to Gears of war, DOES NOT mean, that if you LIKE gears of war, you'll enjoy this game. If you've never played Gears of War, ... well... get on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by Awesometim (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Pretty sure gears copied this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

"Gears of Garbage"

posted by Hooride23 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I would have been mad as H.E.L.L if this was a ps3 exclusive.Can you imagine the flack we (ps3 owners) would get from 360 fanboys?This game gets a -infinity...Oh yeah,my idiot homeboy purchased this pile of fecal matter....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse