Rent Quake 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Quake 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.5

4808 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Terrific Sci-Fi Shooter.

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played any other Quake games and picked this up just fine. It's like Halo and carries the space, futuristic, and alien theme. The story is pretty good but much darker and more gruesome than your average shooter, and the single player campaign will take you 10 hours to beat. It's creepy and gory like Dead Space, with lots of dark areas where you need your flashlight to see. Human experimentation in the alien ships is pretty gross, particularly with what they do to human bodies. Mature content indeed.
It's scary.

You play through levels like Halo, with a few bosses to beat. You have to navigate through semi-maze levels a lot to complete small missions in each level. You usually have a teammate with you. SOmething cool and unique is that depending on your teammates, if you have a medic he can heal you, and if you have a techie he can repair your armor to brand new. It's cool.

The game has lots of other positives though, such as the guns. There's a good selection of 10 guns to blow your enemies to pieces with. You have machine guns, rocket and grenade launchers, chain guns, dark matter guns, etc. The controls are also super easy to pick up, and I prefer them over Halo controls any day. The graphics are pretty solid.. nothing spectacular though. The campaign was entertaining, and the AI for once was actually helpful and didn't get in my way.

I did't like the absence of grenades and explosions. I could've used a sticky grenade or something. There were too many levers, doors to open, elevators to ride, etc. Just let me roam a landscape for once. Too much inside spaceship action.

Solid rent. Online play used to be good, but the game is kind of old. Still playable. Super gruesome and creepy sci-fi thriller of a shooter.

Milt Drucker- xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid game, but nothing special

posted by Feanor (BURBANK, CA) May 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

41 out of 47 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

The single player and multiplayer aspects of this game are well thought-out and executed. Unfortunately they don't do anything new or exciting, but instead stick to the tried-and-true first-person shooter formula.

My main complaint is that there seems to be so many missed opportunities. For example, at one point your character becomes half-Strogg, but the game really doesn't do much with it.
New powers? Not really.
New weapons? Nope.
Can you drive enemy vehicles? No.
Can you blend in with enemy forces so they don't immediately attack you? No.
Do your team-mates now distrust you since you now look like the enemy? Nope, but a few NPCs throw a couple of insults your way.
Are there new missions that only you can do? Kind of.

You also have a team of squad-mates to help you. A cool idea, but yet another missed opportunity.
Can you give them orders? No.
Can you give them health, ammo, and weapons if they need it more than you? Nope.
Do they persist between missions? Not really.
Do you get a bonus for keeping them alive? Not in-game (only as a X-Box Live Achievement).
Are they actually more helpful than annoying? Almost.

My other complaint is the textures. Quake 4 does a good job of capturing the look and feel of Quake 2, but that's actually bad since Quake 2 was a very ugly game. All the textures are drab and rusty, which sounds fine on paper, but really doesn't look very impressive compared to the slick Sci-Fi look of Doom 3 (which uses the same engine as Quake 4).

Overall, this game is a good rental, the single player will keep you entertained for a while and the multiplayer is decent, just don't expect to be impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shooting Feels Like I'm In Control

posted by CooBrain (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jul 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

In my opinion I thought it was a great game. The shooting really felt like I was in control. It was by far the best shooting I experienced, but I think the cross hair could have been a little better. I think that with a few updates to fix the glitches, this game could be a Platinum Hit. The only bad part was the multiplayer people ran too fast. I would consider playing it, besides some people rated it a 3.3 for what reason, I don't know. Just give it a try, go past the demo and you will see how much fun the game really is. Trust Me!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Quake 4: The Loading

posted by GLantern4 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I picked up "Quake 4" in December, because I enjoyed playing it a little at Zero Hour. I also liked how it came with "Quake 2". The graphics looked sweet as in "Doom 3" and I was exicited to see they could carry the PC version over with little change. However, as I continued to play this game, I realized that it brought nothing new to the table. At least with "Doom 3" you felt tension and even possibly jumped a few times out of your chair. What I also found out is that with little change from the PC version, this titled suffered from not getting modified to run more efficiently on the 360. Sure the graphics look sweet, but at the price of the framerate slowing down at times. The worst part of this title and the reason that I gave it such a low score is the loooooonnnng loading times. God help you if you get to a point that you keep getting killed for you will keep seeing the reloading of your last saved game take around 45 seconds, only to die 3 seconds later...rinse and repeat. Those who love achievements, becareful on this title. Unlike games like "PDZ", which rewards you with the achievements of easier difficulties if you beat it on hard, this one expects you to replay it at least 3 times to get the single player achievements for the different difficulty settings. I can't bare this game for one time through let alone 3. I would say on the plus side there is multiplayer, but you can only play up to 8 people on Live, and with more popular games out now, not as many people are playing this title. "Quake 2" seemed like a good bonus, but you also find out this game is a direct PC port and has no Live support, only splitscreen and system link. It also has achievements, but those looking for points should look elsewhere since they are worth 0pts. To sum up, although it is better than many fps out there, it is still average and not worth the $60 price tag. Just remember, the magic word on this game is...... loading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quake: doom to the next gen.

posted by Haloman5 (PERRY, IA) May 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game sparked may attention by its Doom characteristics. When I first played it I felt like I was playing Doom, but I think there could have been a bit more use of the vehicles not just once throughout the entire game. I also don't like the fact that I got killed and didn't save it and went back to the beginning to the level. So people who haven't played this yet SAVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

stop wasting your time

posted by atombomb (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

quake 4 isn't a bad game. its got exceptional weapons the strogg are pretty cool lookin and the AI isn't to bad either. ok so im gonna start off with the good, there were only a couple things i liked about this game and one is having the only way to heal yourself is to find a medic or an engineer for your armor. this is a really good idea that they should have in other games like call of duty 2 for example. the other good thing was how gory this game is, i can assure you that this game is not for the little ones. for example i am not going to spoil the game for you but incase you haven't heard you become a strogg (which in this game is the only way to win) it shows you going the the process which is the coolest part of the game and the goriest. my final word on this game is that it is just a cheap knock off of DOOM 3. so i am going to give this game a PASS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game Fly..6.7???? You've GOT to be kidding me!?!?

posted by patricia72 (ALLENSTOWN, NH) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sorry folks; I don't know where this 6.7 rating is coming from (Game Fly) but in my opinion this one of THE BEST GAMES I HAVE PLAYED IN YEARS!!! Halo 2.....you don't even come close!! Maybe it's just me and my own personal preferences...but I think Quake 4 deserves a 10+....excellent shooter game...my favorite!
Bud
Candia NH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Again, and again, and again...

posted by SheepClone (PLYMOUTH, MI) May 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

At first look this game is totally where it's at. Then after a few hours, once you've gotten over the sweet sound of the nailgun pentetrating your ears, you realize you've been doing the same things again, and again, and again.

Gameplay is where it's at and this game has pretty much one mode. It starts like this-- Go into a dark room with wires and biomechanics all over, kill the strogg, find a switch, repeat. Again, and again, and again. With the exception of a few very short trips in some vehicles, that's all you do. The scenery and challenges do not change much. Just one hallway after another and they all look the same.

Perhaps the worst part of this game is the loading time. Every time you die the level must completely reload. I'm not talking 10-20 seconds either. More like 1-2 minutes each time. If you get yourself into a difficult situation, with little ammo, expect to spend a lot of time twiddling your thumbs and staring at the halo 2ish loading screen.

In other words, don't buy, rent, or put this game on that birthday list your mommy asked you for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dare I say it...its better than Halo 2!

posted by Penguinite (ATLNATA, GA) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this game and am so glad that I purchased it. The controls are fluid and easy to learn. The graphics really show off the 360s capabilities and the multiplayer smorgisboard that everyone wants. I actually cant find anything bad so say about this one guys. So stop reading the reviews and rent it already!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quake 4, a good FPS

posted by Pitbull666 (TRINIDAD, CO) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Quake 4 has great graphics and is easily the best quake game. Although it has a good story, great controls and weapons, it can be a little glitchy after a while. For the 360 this so far is one of the best FPS's, even though most of us are still waiting for Halo 3, Quake will give it a run for its money for great storyline, and Gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

w.t.f 6.6 rating?

posted by bwoodzfine (BRENTWOOD, NY) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

dude if you think it deserves 6.6 rating you must have no idea what the story line ok you don't know jack about "Quake"1,2,3,and4. Like seriously have you ever played quake 1 or what about quake2 hey i bet you never played quake 3 you know why becuase you don't know games like i do. See you can't skip the "Quake" trilogy to quake 4 you have to know the whole story doom 3 it was a good game but not as good as this game. so b4 you make a comment review you better check yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quake 4, Xbox 360

posted by Fatman (HIGHLAND, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!!!!! If you had Doom 3 for Xbox or PC you would totally like this game. The game is definitely intense ( especially when you're character is "stroggified") so if you are limited on "M" rated games don't rent it, but if you are allowed to play all rated games, totally get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by n0v4c41n3 (CARMICHAEL, CA) May 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly this is probably one of the best first-person shooters i've ever played. It's almost like DOOM 3 mixed with C.O.D. 4. I really hope a new one comes out soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game very much like doom 3

posted by jc0512 (GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL) May 29, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is for people who like classic shoot em' up's and if you liked doom 3 you'll love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

QUAKE 4 is not that impessive

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I got this game shortly after launch and it started out sweet. I then realized that once you get playing there is a framerate issue and the indoor graphics are merly xbox 1 as they use the DOOM3 engine for this game. This game had a weak storyline which was not intersting and the final boss wasnt as hard as the small bosses before him and nothing much to offer once you beat it, meaning no replay value storywise. Online is fun at first but its fast moving run around and shoot in a small arena which gets old and there isnt much left after you play the few map the game offers. i say its worth a rent to play the story but not a good FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome

posted by ahmedhomie (LIVERPOOL, NY) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow this game is awsome it so relastic the machine guns and the shotguns my opnion on the strogg weponds are bad but i liek the marine guns it awsoem u should rent its fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

belongs on xbox

posted by Dcash27 (CAMARILLO, CA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you've played doom III, you'll feel right at home here since it uses the same game engine. With that said, I was expecting much more for the 360 but was greatly dissappointed. Frame rate is a big issue here and the animations are,again, are on the xbox level. This game belongs on the xbox. With GOW and COD3 coming out, I played this for about 10mins and then sent it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

outstanding,buy it now

posted by quakeking (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) May 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game blew my mind i played the game at least 9 times...or maybe 10 but whose counting. i have followed the series ever since it started and i believe this is the best game yet in the series. basically you start the game on the strogg planet and all kinds of weird things are going on i mean at one point they turn you into a strogg absolutely phenominal. i also really liked the graphics they were top notch next gen?no doubt. I loved the presentation they seemed real at certain points of the game. the sound was cool but the stroggs sounded a bit constipated...kind of scary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glad all launch titles were not this bad

posted by ChromeSky (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought I was playing this game on the ps1 that is how bad it is. The game play was linear and boring the graphics were mediocre at best. Doom 3 embarrassed Quake 4. Activision dropped the ball on this one. What's next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quake 4

posted by JStorm (MORRISVILLE, PA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well this is a awesome game but after you beat it... there's no more reason to have it i wanted to keep it but no one really plays it online to bad if there was more people playing it i would of kept it. im still giving it a 10 great game in story mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All about the Multiplayer

posted by DukeNC (Rogers, AR) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As the rest before me have so eloquently put it, the story mode of the Q4 is below average. But be honest who buys a Quake game for the single player.

I went into the store looking for a quick, easy yet challenging multi-player game. For those of you who love the slow strategic combat of say G.R.A.W. then you'll find none of that here. Just good tong -in-cheek fun.

The online community is great, run around with lasers vaporizing each other. Good times, good times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game

posted by TruCritic (ROLLA, MO) Aug 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is by far the best 360 game I have played so far. The scenery is unbelievable not to mention the variety. The gameplay is next to flawless, and the best part is the abillity to use medics and engineers. Also, you never get that bored feeling because you have no allies. Weapon selection is great and the enemies actually do go down faster when you shoot them in the vital points. Graphics obviously are top notch making this game the $#!%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just not up to par..

posted by AnotherGuy (BOWIE, MD) May 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I admit I haven't played Quake 3 or 2, but
I'm really unimpressed. I consider myself a pretty big FPS, and this game was such a let down that I only played it for about 1 hour before deciding to return it. This is even more impressive considering that I just got an XBOX 360 5 days ago and have been playing nothing but demos until today.

Reason? No depth in gameplay. I feel like I just played an hour of the old DOS version of Wolfenstein 3D instead of next generation game. I wasn't exactly expected the next Brothers in Arms, but I would like to be reminded every once in a while that my brain hasn't completely shut down, and this game just doesn't do it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME

posted by Real5hit (FAIRFAX, CA) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Quake 4 was an extreme disappointment. Not only that, but I expected a multiplayer aspect on one console with friends at home...you know, REAL friends. Instead, I got a game that can only be played single-player, unless you have Xbox Live. Now onto the actual single-player aspect. Not very impressive. The graphics are last-generation at BEST. The actual gameplay is mediocre. Finally, the story is terrible and the variations made in-game that are supposed to be cool provide no new powers or anything that could make the game at all interesting. I want my money BACK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could've Been Better

posted by MrJDO70 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Story line is bland for this game. Controls were too easy to operate in this game. It seemed too much like a cheap arcade game. Graphics are fair. If you're looking for a sci-fi game with which to kill some time, then it might be o.k. to rent but definitely not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse