Rent Puzzler World 2 for DS
view large frontback

Puzzler World 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

26 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Four out of Ten BUGGY

posted by penumbria (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2005

For several hours of gameplay I was doing quite well with this game and enjoying it a good bit, enough so the rating would be eight or even maybe a nine. Then I started getting to puzzles that were buggy. It is impossible to get 100% on this game due to puzzles that are impossible to complete. I do not mean incredibly difficult. I mean, due to software bugs, the game will not accept a correct answer, the correct answer is not there or selecting a puzzle crashes the game. This is evidently an issue with a large number of the US release of this title. I would hopt that Gamefly would contact the makers (UFO) like many consumers have to get the replacement games that work. That said, the puzzles that do work are a lot of fun and there is a lot of variety. The puzzles get progressively more difficult as the challenge mode progresses (for example, Sudoku goes from an easy 1 to 6 grid to the traditional 1 to 9 grid after several hours of play). However, hint coins are easy to earn lots of. So, if you don't mind the bugs and don't care about getting 100%, then I rate this game an 8, but overall, especially for those that DO care (like me) it is a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Part extremely good, part extremely bad.

posted by steve470 (OIL CITY, PA) May 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

The Good: Most of the puzzles.

- Crosswords: In addition to a bunch of real, newspaper-style crosswords (9x9 and larger), they also have the normally-annoying "crosswords" where half the grid is black, and half the letters are part of only one word. However, they don't play those as normal crosswords, but in one of three clever ways: In "Fitword", there are no clues; they just give you a blank grid and a list of the words, and you have to place them. In "Backwords", they give you a field full of letters and the across and down clues (unnumbered, but in order), and you have to black out the squares that aren't part of the puzzle. In "Pieceword", they cut the grid into 9, 16, or 25 pieces, and give you the across clues only; your task is to reassemble the puzzle.

- "Link-A-Pix": You're given a grid of squares (from 15x15 to 60x60), some of which contain colored numbers. Each numbered square is an endpoint of a line that color, and that number of squares long. You determine the paths of the lines, and in so doing, create a picture. I wasn't familiar with this puzzle type, but quickly fell in love with it.

- Puzzle quantity: 137 Wordsearch, 137 Sudoku, 101 Crossword, 51 Hide & Seek, 86 Link-A-Pix, 102 Fitword, 51 Backwords, 51 Pieceword, 51 Silhouette, and 560 quick bonus puzzles. About 80 hours' worth of material.

If I could stop there, this game would rate at least a solid 9. But...

The Bad: Did they not beta test this game?

When I buy a game, I expect that all of the puzzles will be solvable, and that the game won't crash under ordinary use. This game did not meet those expectations. One of the bonus puzzles, "Splitwords", has five instances with no solution the game will recognize as correct (the ones attached to Challenge Mode puzzles 45, 109, 256, 275, and 370).

And if you select puzzle 82, expecting to find a crossword, you'll instead crash the game. Just by selecting the puzzle.

If you can get past that, it's a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wide variety of puzzles and plenty of each kind!

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Oct 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

There were several puzzles that I had never even heard of before(and couldn't figure out despite the instructions). My favorite is backwards(a cross between a search a word and a crossword puzzle) where you use the clues to figure out which letters to black out. I fell in love with that on the PSP crosswords and more but haven't been able to find it anywhere else. There are also the usual fill it ins, sudoku etc. The hint feature is horrible, though, and not helpful at all. I couldn't figure out how to pinpoint the clues that I had trouble with, it seems to be completely random. I loved the wide variety of of puzzles both new and old that were available right from the beginning. There also seemed to be plenty of extra content to unlock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow very Fun

posted by moores (RAPID CITY, SD) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a very great fun game. Well I had alot of fun playing it & I plan on buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »