Rent Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords for Wii
view large frontback

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.2

402 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quest Over For Consoles; Better On Handhelds!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played the handheld or online version but,
D3 just ported this over because the text is so tiny that even 1 foot away you can't read some words. It would control better with a stylus or a mouse so even if you are a fan of this game then just get the handheld version and skip it. It pains me to say this because I realy wanted a puzzle game for the Wii (besides Koroinpa). The concept is there but the execution is off.

I would like to see a remake of Tetrisphere or The New Tetris!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game - Just not on Wii

posted by Sleeper (SAN MARCOS, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Don't play this game on the wii, unless you have a big HD screen.

My wii is hooked up to a standard def TV, and the game is almost unplayable. The text is too small and unreadable (and there is a lot of text).

You are better off with the DS or Xbox Live version in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Epic Fail!

posted by Pootzen (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This could have the best console ports of Puzzle Quest because of the ability to use the Wii remote, but the developers failed miserably on the graphics. Even on my 42" widescreen HDTV it's barely playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Really.

posted by adminwendt (EASTON, PA) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought I would try this game out. My wife likes puzzles and we turned it on and she played some...well I took it over and have been playing for days! I would be playing Call of Duty 4 or Unreal 3 but this game has me addictive. The story is pretty good and its sort of an RPG type of game with dwarfs and elf's etc. You can be a Paladin, Warrior, Wizard and one other class. I hope you will try it for 1 hour and see if you like it. Enjoy =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

I love this game. It's like Bejewled, but playing aganist another person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Puzziling

posted by databank (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is one of the great puzzle games that make playing them so much fun. It is not the avereage game but it will keep you entertained and thinking about your next move. This game will keep your eyes and brain at a level with a little help from the sytem if you let it. I would reccommend this one for all the fantasy game players who like a great challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much Match-3 for me!

posted by hdupuis73 (RENTON, WA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I love puzzles, but I really don't consider match-3 games to be "puzzles" in the classic sense of the word. You do need a bit of strategy for the gameplay, but unless you're a big fan of match-3 play to begin with this really doesn't work as a game style.

Had this been on a PC with a mouse I might have played it longer, but using the Wii remote to swap icons in a grid is very fiddly and gets old fast. I liked the storyline, though. I'd recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Match-3 games. I would have preferred a different style of puzzle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by tigger23 (Snyder, NE) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game is fun to play and it is addictive my brother started to play it and now he wants to go out and buy it as so do I. which i will i have already bought it for the PSP. Awesome game loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i did not think it was too bad

posted by thebreeze (EASTSOUND, WA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Its graphics even on my 42" were weak but given i love puzzle quest bejewled etc i really didnt mind what threw me off more was the "quest" rpg part of the whole thing that to me was a tad odd but its fun if your bored and wish to occupy a wii ;-) bit of your time. Not acceptable for di-hards but great for those simply looking to pass the time and keep amused and slightly mobile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DS is Better

posted by loukerri (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I have this for the DS and was hoping that on the big screen it would more fun because of less eye strain, wrong! It is much easier to read on the DS, the main concept of the game is great in the DS version and I have beaten it but I didn't get beyond the first quest before I started to get a headache on the Wii version. Play this game it's great, but get the DS version instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A glorified version of Bejeweled

posted by fierohink (BRUNSWICK, MD) Jan 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

The battles are nothing more then switching to a two player game of Bejeweled, you against the computer.

The menus are hard to read even on a 50" HD plasma. I can't imagine them even being seen on smaller screens. A really poor choice of text styles.

This is very much an RPG, go to this castle start a quest, go to the opposite side of the game world, complete your task, go all the way back to your original castle for a new task. Normally the doldrums of an RPG fade away with a good story, but there really isn't a compelling story here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2 on the Wii, 10 on the PC

posted by barbeau (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

This game was a port to the Wii from the PC game of the same name. I actually rented this game because I enjoy it on my laptop, but my wife took over the computer once she got addicted to the game.
I figured, what the heck, play it on the Wii, same thing, right?
Wrong!
They did a straight port, not accounting for the control difference between a remote and a mouse.
More often than not, I would hit the wrong move thanks to the shaky remote issue.
But that is NOTHING compared to the graphical nightmare that this port is.
Since this is kind of a mashup between a puzzle game and a JRPG, there is a ton of text to read, armor to buy, spells to learn, creatures to capture. All fun, all exciting, on the PC. On the Wii? No. you cannot read the text, even on my 42" HD Samsung. The text, all of it, looked like a BADLY pixelated render of an 8 bit game.
I was unable to play for long due to the constant squinting just to see what was going on. Navigating the world map is nearly impossible, and the game just doesn't get close to its awesomeness on the PC version.
Skip it here, buy it for $15 for the PC, and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad port

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

I played all the way through this when it was on the DS. I thought a Wii port would be a neat upgrade. I was mistaken on both counts. It's not neat; the controls are sloppy, the graphics are atrocious, the game is unpolished to an extreme. And it's not an upgrade; it's a direct port from the DS, nothing was done to improve the game.

In short, it's a fun puzzle game, just play it on the DS or PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Puzzle Quest - Great Game, but not on the Wii

posted by CatCadaver (GRANBY, MA) May 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

The PC version of Puzzle Quest is great: an egnaging blend of RPG and puzzle elements. Engaging quests, in-depth character development, and fun (often surprising) combat options.

The Wii version, however, fell fall short of my expectations.

The biggest problem I had is that the text is absolutely unreadable. On my 25 inch television, I had to sit two two feet away from the screen just to read the tiny, poorly rendered text. This might not be an issue on an LCD or plasma screen, but on my standard CRT it just didn't work. After laboring for 15 minutes over text, I gave up on the plot and just focused on game-play.

The second issue, not as serious, is that the Wiimote didn't quite work as well for pointing as I would have liked. The pointer is very responsive, but for my mildly shaky hands this was a major issue in a way it hasn't been with other Wii titles. The puzzle items are small and it requires a steady hand to get things just right. The size of the puzzle was adequate to see at a reasonable distance, but I had trouble reading names and descriptions of spells in battle.

This game was made for a point-and-click environment and it shows in both the text and the controls. A lot of the game is about flavor--reading about quests and items and spells--and the unreadable text severely detracts from the overall experience, even though the puzzle action is mostly unaffected.

I'd recommend this game to anyone looking for a fun mix of RPG and puzzle, something you can play for minutes or hours. But do yourself a favor: pick it up for another system. The Wii version is not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for casual gaming, bad for longterm play

posted by CBZinger (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The graphics are fair - nothing is visually spectacular or eye grabbing unless you happen to catch five matches in a row. The plot is an interesting twist to add to the game but I found myself skipping past all the dialogs just to get to the puzzles.

This game is good for casual gaming - it would be better on the Nintendo DS - play a few puzzles during your metropolitan commute on the train on the handheld and this game could have some better value. It shouldn't have been developed for the Wii.

I found myself bored with it after about an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where's the game?

posted by Elayoh (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

So, the real puzzle of this game is where to find the puzzles. UGH! Not every game will translate well to the Wii environment and this one should never have been released on any platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game

posted by jloneill (ROSEBURG, OR) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This game is a very fun game,but a bit harder on the Wii. It has a habit of choosing one that you did not click on. Other than that, I really enjoyed this game and my daughter did too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's an ok game

posted by Superddave (COQUILLE, OR) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I first got the game for my wife who loves the computer puzzle games like Bedazzled. But she didn't like it at all the puzzle was the same every time and the the graphics sucked. But I gave the game a chance anyway. Although the words are terribly small and very hard to read, the game is more like chess to me than anything else. If your into a game that you have to outwit the computer at a puzzle game than this game is a real challenge. I wish the charters had more interaction though, and more animation. I could see a real good sequel made if they took our input.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »