Rent Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords for PSP Games
view large frontback

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

368 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Your Typical "Blocks" Puzzle Game!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) May 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If there ever was a melding of genres, this would be a good example. It's basically a RPG strategy game, except instead of bloody, visceral fighting sequences you match-up blocks "Bejeweled" style.

You choose the class of character (e.g. wizard, warrior) which determines the types of spells available. The game is deep where spells can be chosen (six initially) and skills and equipment can be upgraded. Even your castle can be equipped with a forge to create new items (done via a puzzle mini-game of its own). Like I said, not your typical puzzle game.
Battles are done on a single board consisting of different colored mana "jewels" and other symbols. Linking three or more of these up bestows the mana: skulls do damage to "life bars" (yes, you have a life bar). Spells can be activated by collecting the "recipe" of mana and can affect different things: the jewels on the board, course of play or offensive/defensive plays to your opponent. The A.I. is quite aggressive and impressive and uses what it has. With this is mind, you have to think strategically (e.g. "two moves ahead"). If not, you could be setting up yourself for damage, mana drain or even death by "giving" combos to your enemy. As a result, do not play this like a normal puzzle game. The A.I. is actively trying to take you out. My wife who is a puzzle game whiz was mopped-up until she got the hang of it (several frustrated hours later)!
The graphics are nice and clean and the music is typical "fantasy" genre which goes well.
If you want a puzzler with more than "Time Trials" or "Marathon" mode or introduce your wife/girlfriend to RPG games, give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Something new

posted by Trapp911 (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful


A very unique combination of puzzle games and RPG element. I really liked this game because it was well done, had some pretty cool elements - researching spells, forging new weapons, capturing vs killing enemies. The one knock I have about the game is that because it is the Bejeweled style puzzle, and no other. The puzzles are varied enough because your enemies will have different spells/capabilities and you will also be able to change out spells throughout your quests, but the puzzle never changes. Overall I think this game would offer excellent replayability and is good to take on the road, once the price comes down I would recommend it. Interesting combination of the two genres that is done very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun puzzle game for the go.

posted by xterranv (BELMONT, NH) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a pretty kewl puzzle game to take on the go for your psp. It's a puzzle game with an RPG feel.

At first it starts out like an RPG type game with picking your character type and there's an overworld map with villages and castles.

In your quests, you encounter enemy's blocking your path as you move through the map. When fighting the enemies you are faced with a Bejeweled type puzzle. If you succeed in winning the puzzle, you have defeated the enemy. You are awarded points and gold. You then go back to the RPG feel of the game and can visit the villages and towns to purchase new equipment, armor in stores, speak to towns folk, and visit the royalies in the castles which will send you on other quests. Along the way you pick up people who join you in your party, this helps in the puzzle quests.

It's an entertaining game to have, It did move quickly, but if you didn't go into the puzzles with a strategy, as you progressed thru the game levels, you were easily defeated.

It's a good rental. If you don't finish it, and you like it, then 'keep it'. :-) Have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

puzzle quest

posted by nomansslave (TROY, PA) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

its an ok game, better on the computer, its alot easyer with a mouse, but if you realy love this game and want to take it with you then it would be a great buy,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most fun I've had on the PSP

posted by Syn_ (ROCHESTER, NH) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have this game for my computer, and I love it. It's the perfect mix of reading, RPG and puzzle. They story can be a bit linear, but that's fine with me.

There are a bunch of side quests and no game over for losing. You just go right on back and try again :) You keep all of the experience you gain as well! Always a plus!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not for me, but...

posted by keith1977 (NORMAL, IL) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

I didn't play this one; it was for my wife. Must be a good one, anytime we're in the car for more than 20 minutes, she's got the PSP in hand playing this. It didn't have a "keep it" option, so we picked it up at our local Best Buy and put this one back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bejeweled in the Middle Ages

posted by Gort999 (VAN BUREN, AR) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

Who knew that Bejeweled could be so much fun. Combining Quests, levels and all the typical elements of a Middle Age RPG game with Bejeweled elements for combat and experience this is one game that you will not put down for long. Orcs, Trolls, spiders, medusa, dragons, ect. it has it all and the quests are varied. You can seige a castle and make it your own. My son and I have had a great time with this game on the PSP. Many hours of fun on the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent puzzle action but the RPG aspect interrupts

posted by infp76 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

There something about puzzle games that makes them more enjoyable on handhelds. I played Luxor for both PC and 360 but didn't really enjoy the 360 version. I just bought a PSP and was anxious for a puzzle game so this is the first one I rented from GF. I'm not into RPG games at all, so I didn't like this game very much. The concept is pretty decent, I'll give it that, but I just dropped this one back in the mail hoping that the next puzzle game I get is more "pure" puzzle. But it's all good, I'll just jam on the Syphon Filter game I rented as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Must Have Game For Your PSP...Don't Overlook!

posted by TheDarkJag (DURHAM, NC) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

If you have ever played a puzzle/battle game (i.e., Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo), then you will definitely enjoy this game! I am a big fan of RPG's and after reading about this, I decided to check it out for myself. Man, this game is nowhere close to being a waste of my time! Who'd have thought that mixing an RPG and a "Tetris Style" Puzzle Game into one would work so smoothly? The main concept is easy! You basically match at least 3 of kind pieces in a row to make them disappear and to either damage your opponent or to gain the effects (matching skulls causes damage). The game gets more in depth with the addition of magic, weapons, items, mounts (you can capture beasts in the game and ride them and gain an extra ability), an intriguing story, and more. I have already beaten the game and I just started a new game (I rarely do that). One gripe that I do have (which the developer has owned up to on their site) is that when people join your quest, you are supposed to gain some attributes when you fight (like when Darkhunter joins, he is supposed to cause immediate damage to any undead foe). Well, it does not work! The developers forgot to fix that problem before they tagged the PSP version as gold and that is the one thing that is messed up (the only reason I gave this game a 9 out of 10). It does not hinder you from playing or beating the game. It will make it a little harder, but you'll forget about it.

Do yourselves a favor and check out this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Only for the die hard puzzle nut

posted by DirtHerder (TAMPA, FL) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

How can somebody truly enjoy this piece of "work"? I find it humorous (lie) that the cover has the default stock skeleton warrior challenging you.. How can you "strategically" position those balls if the enemy ALWAYS receives a Massive drop of skulls at EVERY turn of its?! How about if you're having some difficulty with the opponent? Can you "walk" around it and try something else? ....NO. I don't believe you can it seems, and can you shut off that annoying wench when you win/fail a round? ....Again - NO.

This games for all you masochists out there who thrill in the barrage of endless defeats by a opponent that constantly out-plays you by "chanced" drops at every turn of its. So enjoy, you sick people you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game

posted by Collector (PALO ALTO, CA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

An all around great game and must own for the PSP system. Puzzle Quest is an easy to pick-up but difficult to master game. The single player campaign provide a training ground for the true gem of this package, the wireless multiplayer game. Combining Bejeweled with RPG elements, this game will provide days, months, years of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

posted by RGonz1976 (PROSPECT PARK, NJ) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

This is everything the description states. This is an awesome title and it was better than expected and advertised. This game has a perfect blend of RPG and puzzle action. The storyline does seem to jump back and forth but it still keeps you interested. I considered this title just a rental but after a couple of hours getting the hang of it and fully understanding the games functions it turned into a must keep!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I bejeweled your FACE!

posted by Vezmeister (FAIRLAWN, OH) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Who would have thought using a bejeweled board as a battlefield could be so fun! I mean this is great. One would think, "Aww that would get old fast..." I am here to tell you that it doesn't. This is a real RPG folks. You have the addictive aspect of leveling, equipping, and crafting in the RPG and the very addicting puzzle aspect of battle. There are several different monsters to battle of whom some you can capture and use as your mighty steed. There are several different modes to play by yourself, but it doesn't stop there. You can hook up with your friends via ADHOC and showcase your favorite character against theirs! If you like puzzles and you enjoy RPGs... Well even if you don't enjoy RPG , my wife, you will still love this! I know she did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Out of the ordinary puzzle game

posted by CraigEG (DENVER, CO) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

If you are looking for the same old puzzle game, look somewhere else. This is a very unique take on the genre that incorporates an RPG into an addicting puzzle game. The name couldn't be more fitting. you get to learn spells, gain mana, destroy your enemies, capture castles etc, all via a bejeweled type puzzle matching game. Definitely an addicting game and worth keeping as there are many ways to play and win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Must Have for Bejeweled Fans

posted by KaZZaK (FAIRFAX, VA) May 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Personally I thought the game would be better than it was(I am not a fan of Bejeweled). To beat your opponent you need to match 3 or more skulls and keep doing it until your enemy's life points reach to zero. The graphics are alright and the controls can be easily managed. The storyline is captivating and interesting. You can choose to be either a warior, magician, knight etc. Every character has different abilities and spells. After a while PUZZLE QUEST can get boring and repetitive. But if you aare a fan of Bejeweled, this game is a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »