Rent Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords for DS
view large frontback

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PSP Games, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

706 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very unique game!

posted by gardnerjr (BOTHELL, WA) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The premise was pretty awesome, a puzzle based RPG. It is a great fit for the DS, i can pick it up and play it whenever i have 5 free minutes, which always turns into 50 minutes.

I'd give it a 10 but two things bump it down:
1) only one "type" of puzzle. I can only play a bejewelled type puzzle in one of its forms for so long. Having other puzzles to mix it up would have been great.

2) the computer sometimes made moves that make me think it was "cheating". Sometimes, it would match up a group of 3, seemingly knowing that the unseen pieces that would fall in would make a 4 or 5 of a kind. Maybe it didn't know, but there were some that seemed that way. There were also some battles where i was winning a lot, and then all of a sudden, out of nowhere, the computer flips into this super agressive mode where every match it makes turns into a 4 of a kind or some other way of getting another turn, and suddenly i lose 100hp out of nowhere.

Having more equipment options might have been nice too, but that didn't detract much from the game.

All in all a great DS game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly fun and addictive.

posted by UnityK (AKRON, OH) Apr 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2003

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to play the game through the whole way twice before I commented on it. In playing it twice, my opinion went from an 8 to a 9.

I am NOT a big fan of Bejeweled only because there is no point to it. Since PQ is very similar to Bejeweled, I wasn't holding my breath that it would be fun for more than 30 minutes. Surprise!

The game play addition of trying to capture certain colors to cast spells or damage your opponent with skulls was enough to make the game semi-intriguing. Add a decent storyline, and I was sold.

Playing a different character type and gender makes a difference. Doing certain evil or good deeds can affect the game a little. It's nice to see that on a handheld.

Overall, it's worth the rent and for me, the purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

greater than the sum of its parts

posted by balexbot (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

sometimes taking tried and true formulas and mixing them together can make for something so uniquely refreshing it can't help but feel completely new. such is the case with Puzzle Quest. while the components that make up this fantastically addicting title aren't anything you haven't seen before, the way the elements are blended together make this a stand out game that really needs to be checked out to be fully understood.

the game is essentially a match-3 puzzle game (think Bejeweled) serving as a battle system for a surprisingly deep RPG set up. you're given classes to choose from to start your character, the story is surprisingly involving, you can collect and equip various weapons, armor, spells, etc. as you would expect from an RPG, each effecting the puzzle game play in its own way adding constantly changing strategic elements to battles. you can capture enemies and learn new spells from them or use them as mounts to increase your abilities. and this is just the start! forging new items, upgrading your abilities, recruiting party members...practically anything you could expect from an RPG is included in the design to make the most casual of puzzle game designs into something not only remarkably refreshing as a puzzle game but also as a unique role-playing game.

its nice to see developers do something new and different every now and again. this game just goes to show that sometimes the most unique titles are made of some of the most run of the mill elements. in this case, the result is much greater than sum of its parts. i defiantly recommend checking this title out. if you're a fan of either of the influencing genres you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Blend of RPG and Puzzle Game

posted by JonnyYeags (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game takes a simple game that everyone knows how to play (Bejeweled) and combines it perfectly with an RPG to create a game accessible to tons of people.

I find myself playing game for long periods of time just to build up my character. Puzzle Quest is a very addictive game and I recommend it for anyone who owns a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bejewled with a storyline

posted by eclipse127 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bejewled with a storyline... that's pretty much it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutley terrible and mis-advertised game.

posted by SilverLion (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me save your time. What this review is going to basically say is that Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords, is one of the worst the DS has to offer.

Graphically, the game is barely passable for a GBA era game. Most everything is 2d, with one very badly rendered 3d map to move around on. The graphics are dark and kind of smudgy, and are bound to hurt your eyes after awhile. Very rarely you might get a single still image to illustrate the horrible story.

The audio department is the game's 2nd worst feature. All in all, there are about 4 different song you're going to hear through the game. The battles (Which you will do hundreds of) will play one of two songs. That's it. No more to unlock, nothing. You will eventually mute your DS.

There is no story. You're generic knight/wizard/druid in training. Now you must stop the evil! That's it. Moving on...

The Gameplay, lauded as a "unique blend of RPG and Puzzle elements" (HAH), is the game's worst fault. put simply, the game is Bejeweled. Played every time you need to do anything. At all. Unavoidable Random battle? Bejeweled. Story Battle? Bejeweled. Capture something? Bejeweled. Siege a city? Bejeweled. Make a weapon? Bejeweled.

There are no special rules to any of the rounds, no nothing. Standard horrible bejeweled. Played several hundred times until you either finish the game or quit.

Now as for the supposed "RPG elements", they are basically the ability to acquire/create mostly useless equipment which does very little for the most part. Once you gain the ability to make (Very early on), nothing the game will give you will be better. You may siege cities, which gives you 100g every blue moon, and capture things, which might learn you a useless skill. That's it for your "RPG Elements"

In closing, don't rent this game, please. Save your sanity. There are better puzzle games. There are better RPG's. Get one of those.

The only reason to even consider this game is if you live and wish to die, bejeweled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Concept, weak execution

posted by FrostBight (WHITTIER, CA) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, this game did not hold my interest for very long, despite being a decent game.

The concept for the game was great and really had some decent 'beef' to it, however, the graphics, music, and overall presentation of the game was severely lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it's GEM SWAP

posted by millertv (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it's gem swap with a lame story attached. that's it. just gem swap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All quests/battles are just matching 3 in a row.

posted by cmtgat (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I wouldn't count this as a RPG. It is just another classic-style matching game of 3 or more in a row. ALL battles and quests are held in the form of moving objects around on a grid to form 3 or more of the same objects in a row. It is slightly different in that you have "an opponent" (other than a clock timing out) that takes its turn moving objects around also getting 3 or more in a row.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game on Xbox Live

posted by nycubans (OSSINING, NY) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

I love this game on Xbox Live and since I contracted the rings of doom I decided to rent it for my DS (while Microsoft repaired my 360). The one great thing about this game is that it reminded me of how much I can still curse in my native tongue. The controls are horrible and unforgiving. The stylus will point to one box and the next box will be chosen. I had to send it back and hope that my 360 comes home soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice!

posted by kopiekatt (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I'm enjoying this game very much.. its hard and addictive :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well worth playing

posted by Crazyman86 (WOODHAVEN, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

If you enjoy Bejewled, or any other games of that nature, then Puzzle Quest is a must play. It does a good job of utilizing the gem-swap type gameplay, while bringing a little more to it.

Basically, the "role-playing" aspects are a nice extra. The stat system does add more strategy (to a game that otherwise is mostly luck based) and the inclusion of mini-games for the learning of new spells, training mounts, etc, helps to keep the game from getting too stale at any given point.

The music is also well crafted, managing to never get old (it is decidedly simple, but that helps to keep it from getting old fast). Even the other sounds are, for the most part, nice - never distracting too much from the other elements of the game. However, I do wish that I could shut off the end of battle voice (the "you are victorious" gets old and annoying really fast).

My only real complaint is how much is left up to luck. The randomization system seems to favor the enemy unfairly sometimes, and while this doesn't happen often, it's a little too often for my taste. It can be very annoying when you think you'll have the enemy dead the next turn (with most of your life still intact), and suddenly they get an amazing run out of nowhere that completely kills you. Those moments are frequent enough that they can easily inspire the feeling to throw one's DS across the room.

Aside from this one flaw, however, the game is well worth renting, and potentially owning - even after you complete the story mode once, there are three more character types to try, and the fast challenge system allows for a quick battle if you have only a few minutes free to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So much more than "Bejeweled"

posted by Amozarte (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

I often hear people refer to Puzzle Quest as “Bejeweled with a couple of RPG elements mixed in.” I believe such a statement is akin to saying a Ferrari is a Yugo with a bigger engine. Puzzle Quest is so much more and a fantastic example of how to take an existing gameplay mechanic and evolve it into something new and exciting.

PQ pits you, the hero, against zombies, skeletons, and various other baddies as you quest your way through the kingdom. You travel the map, acquiring quests from Queens and townspeople alike. Battles use the basic Bejeweled concept of matching “gems” to score damage to your opponent, as well as to generate mana, boost experience, and earn gold for yourself. The basic mechanic is just as addictive as Bejeweled, but choosing a class, leveling your character, finding companions, and all of the other RPG elements add a surprising level of depth.

One of my favourite features was the ability to capture monsters and use them as mounts or learn spells from them. In order to capture a monster you use the familiar game board, but instead of simply doing damage until your foe is defeated you must eliminate each and every tile on the board. These puzzles serve to change up the pace just enough to keep things interesting and while some of them can be pretty challenging, the rewards are typically well worth the effort.

As simple as the game appears on its surface, Puzzle Quest will have you coming back over and over. Individual puzzles are short enough to pass just a few minutes at the dentist’s waiting room, but don’t be surprised if the quests and storyline cause you to pull an all-nighter without even noticing!

I highly recommend the game to anyone looking for a wonderfully unique experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun game, didn't put down for about 3months

posted by LauraX (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

if you enjoy bejeweled but also "quest" action, this is the game for you.

i played this during any free moment i had almost additively.

it took about 3months to finally finish every quest there was.

the only neg. comment i have is you can only gain 99999pts of experience and i got that half way, you lvl up through exp or gold, so it kinda sucked that once i hit that mark, all my gold that i would gain i had to use to lvl up instead of purchasing better armor/equipment.

i really did enjoy the game 2nd is that you can capture foe and learn their spells in which you can use these spells later, which was pretty cool.

hope this helps you in your decision to order this game, i bought it i enjoyed this so much.

thx again
LX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interesting genre mash = good!

posted by CaptSberg (OMAHA, NE) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

Puzzle Quest at first may sound like kind of a dumb concept...a puzzle game and an RPG, but it is pulled off extremely well. I will be as concise as possible:

Pros: Good length, great pick-up and playability, good difficulty curve, seamless integration of RPG elements into a Bejeweled style battle system with magic and weapon/armor creation, as well as a "siege" system allowing you to take over towns as you go collecting gold as their ruler, rather intelligent AI (which is always nice).

Cons: Sometimes the sidequests get a little repetitive as does the battle (all bejeweled), towards the end it is easy to become too powerful (but difficulty can be adjusted on the fly), finally the story is a little cliché (but the cast of characters make up for that).

Overall, a nice solid puzzle game for the DS that has a nice humor about itself while keeping the pace nicely quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What can I say

posted by Kguidry (COTTONPORT, LA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Before I rented this title I was trying to figure out how a RPG with dumb puzzle elements could be fun. I figured what the heck.

Come to find out, it was quite fun and a very long single player game.

I'm not a huge fan of puzzle games but I must admit the added RPG elements change the whole feel of the game.

The music is one the first things I noticed and is very very well done for a DS title.

Next thing I noticed was the ammount of content in the game from building a kingdom, capturing monster to learn different skills or using them as mounts.

If you are in the same mind frame as myself and not certain if this is the title for you give it a whirl just to see. I did and was impressed more then I thought was possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some graphics glitches, yet still addicting...

posted by MurphySD (SANTA ANA, CA) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

If you like the bejeweled style puzzle games, you are off to a good start.
If you like the idea of "leveling up" and "gaining new abilities" in a Fantasy setting, your on the next stage.
If you like playing against the AI or other people head-to-head with bejeweled and leveling up and gaining abilities in a fantasty style setting? Yup.. Rent this game.

Yes, there are occasional graphics glitches, but the nice bit is it won't last for long. That is, you can finish your battle, save out, turn off and on, then play again.
They really don't happen that often, either. At least in my experience I have not seen a graphics glitch more than 2 consecutive times in 10 hours of play.
The graphics, themselves, are pretty low-level, but if you are interested in the game, itself, you can get past that and enjoy the play of it.

You start with the option of what class to pick and these classes get abilities that affect the bejeweled board which now features more than just colors, but stars (to earn you extra xp) and gold coin stacks (to earn you extra gold).

As you level up, you can also build up your 'Citadel'; A dungeon allows you to capture enemies to learn abilities from them in the Mage tower and a stable lets you capture enemies that can be used as mounts (eg- giant rat, gryphon) and these give you bonuses to your 'abilities' as well as an extra ability.

The other nice thing about the game is you shouldn't need the manual as you can click 'help' for most everything ingame.

(Also there is plenty of help on the gamefaqs web site in FAQ's and the forums)

I am only a casual player of the game, but I have found it challenging enough to continue playing and even delete characters (you can have two saves at any time) and start new ones to try out.

If you have a little patience, enjoy Bejeweled and want some light entertainment, this should deliver for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game is fun for a while

posted by slifer (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

For those who are reading this review Puzzle quest is a very confusing game when you first start. But once you play it a couple of times you'll get used to how the game is played. you start out as a lvl. 1 but by the time you get done with the intro and tutorial you should be a solid lvl. 3 or 4. Once you've played the game about 5 times you should know it is very difficult to defeat enemies. Thats why you should lvl. up and get gold by performing patrols. then you should buy spells and items that up you're damage points.

But after a while I started to bored of the game because the battles would always take to long. So that is why I gave this game a solid rating of 7. Oh one more thing I highly suggest being a wizard!
They have best attacks!

P.S. Im not saying that everyone will get bored of this game after a while, I'm just saying I wouldn't buy this game because sooner or later you will get bored of it. Thank you for reading:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Puzzle/RPG fusion

posted by wetlands (KENMORE, WA) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This is a great game.

The RPG elements breathe new life into "match the gem" puzzle gaming. Puzzle game monotony is balanced with RPG items, spells, building, etc. A deep level of strategy can be employed through careful selection of items and techniques.

Use of the stylus is required. Input is spread out between moves and does not generate excess wear and tear on the hands. Playing with a comfortable mechanical pencil makes things even better.

The music composure is quite nice in places, redundant in others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game Is TIGHT

posted by MrPeanut (Spanaway, WA) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Im not a huge fan of most puzzle games because it feels like there is no point to realy playing them but i absoulutly loved this game. The whole RPG/Puzzle thing seemed kind of wierd to me so i decided to check it out and ever since then i have been playing it non stop. GET THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hit and miss

posted by linkfan5 (FALLBROOK, CA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

Puzzle Quest is one of the better puzzle games i have played in a long time(the others being Tetris DS and Meteos). I really like this game but the DS verion is a slopy port of a great game. If you have a PSP, get it for that.

Good:
touch screen
good puzzle game on the DS

Bad:
graphics(the puzzle sprites suffer severly)
sound(this game has an epic soundtrack but only about 4 songs are ported to the DS)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gets dull

posted by 365postal (Ottawa, WV) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is a good game and easy to learn. But it does get boring rather quickly as its the same type of puzzle over and over. I was hoping for different types of puzzles when I saw the title of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords

posted by Martell (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

At first I was worried that it would be too much of the same thing, but I was caught up in the story and wanting to accomplish different quests and enjoyed the strategy of the game.

Excellent game that soaked up my gaming time for several weeks.

Introducing a puzzle with quest made the game part luck but mostly strategy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Insanely addicting

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

This game is my new addiction. An hour goes by as if it is 10-15 minutes.

The different story lines are actually amusing with limited branching elements that make you itch to play a second time.

I get a sense to unleash revenge if I'm defeated.

There are two glitches in the DS version that I've noticed so far. This game would be a 9 if they were fixed.
1) If you level up while training a mount, the screens overlap incorrectly (exit screen and re-enter workaround).
2) One of the songs during battle has a clicking sound (buffer underrun) that you just have to ignore.
3) Citadel buildings are built instantly if clicked. I don't know how to preview their use unless the character does not have enough money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Magic the gathering meets puzzle games

posted by Mooglewing (BLOOMINGTON, IL) May 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This is a great example of what a fresh coat of geek paint on Bejeweled can do for fun. It is a great mix of simple game play and a real depth of options and strategies. Instead of just playing the puzzle game where you match three or more of a kind to wipe the board and meet some arbitrary win objective you are pitted against foul fantasy beasts and fighters that can afflict damage on you from the same board you are playing on. You can take off their hit points directly by matching three or more skulls instead of colored jewels or you match the colored gems and build up mana of that color. You then can use that mana to inflict damage, change play conditions, or even heal yourself. If really does play out like a collectible card game but plays out different every time. As you go along you can capture skills from beaten opponents in matches that are more than just mini-games. The only draw back I found was that if you rush to far ahead in the story you can get locked into sections of the board where the enemies are a lot tougher and may require 10+ attempts to beat. So take your time and don't get to attached to your first character

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »