Rent Purr Pals for DS
view large frontback

Purr Pals

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.3

143 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this game!

posted by RobynPuff7 (WOODSIDE, NY) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am 27 and, at the risk of sounding totally lame, I absolutely love this game! I probably spend more time taking care of my Purr Pals cat than I do my real cat! You can pet, groom and feed your cat as well as scoop his litter (a lot less painful than in real life!). There are games to play to earn money to buy accessories and supplies for your cat and for the cats home. You also get a daily allowance, the amount of which is based on how well you care for your cat. There are also cat shows where you can win money by entering your cat. Totally fun and addicting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good way to get to know your kitty!!!

posted by geor2006 (SPRING HILL, FL) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game for my 8 year old son,because we are ready to buy a persian kitty,so I tough that by getting him this game,he will learn how to be responsable with pets,and he will get to be more familiar on having a kitty...so he love this game,specialty the mini games with the cats songs....This is a fun game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for kids

posted by TrooperDth (NORTHGLENN, CO) May 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 9 year old daughter can't put this one down. It's fun but not my kind of game. This is a great one for kids. The mini games are fun and the cats are cute and responsive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adorable!!

posted by Audrina (PICKERINGTON, OH) Jun 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is like Nintendogs in cat form!! True, you cannot take the cats for walks, but I don't know a lot of cat owners who do take their cats for walks. On the bright side, the cat can roam about the house. I like the graphics, though some of the cats have huge ears for some odd reason and I like the variety of accessories available for the cats. Plus it's easier to earn money to care for the cat. I had trouble feeding the virtual cat because I could not get the food from the list of supplies to the bowl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is a good game for anyone who loves cats

posted by GameGirrl3 (FAIRMONT, WV) Apr 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought this game a couple of weeks ago,and I
love it.I had Nintendogs(which is a good game),but
I'm more of a cat person.So when I saw an ad for this game I wanted
to try it.I thought that if it wasn't a good game,I'd just trade it in later.But it's a really cute,fun game.Doesn't
have a lot of stuff like
Nintendogs,but I like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sounds Very Cute!

posted by petboy8910 (EDGEWOOD, WA) May 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I haven't played this game yet, but it sounds very cute!Now, I'm a dog person so why am I going to play this game? The answer is because I have 3 dogs and don't get me wrong,but I love my dogs,
I also have 1 cat and I love him as much as I love my 3 dogs all together!This game just looks so cute and I really want to play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhhhhhhhhh, it's ok.

posted by EEOphoto (GLENMONT, NY) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I loooooooooooooooooooooooove cats and am in love with Nintendogs but this game just didn't do it for me. I guess it's the lack of activities you can do and items you can purchase, etc. Also, in response to the person who said you can't start your own game and have to play with the previous renters.. not true. When you first go to pick a cat, simply choose each cat that is there and click DONATE. When you donate every cat, it will restart and you can learn how to do everything in the game with a fresh slate. I recommend this game for kids, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Is a Waste Of Your Time

posted by Terrence123 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is very very horrible its extra glitchy everything you buy is super high priced like, food, litter, clothing. If you want to buy a kitten or something its atleast 80 or 100 dollars, Do not rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

polly

posted by pollyp (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

why is it called purr pals? why does it have cats on the front and back cover? do you ned to have a pet cat in real life? why did you make this game? should I buy this game? how well do you think you made this game? - polly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this is an very good game

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This game is very very good,but it should be more easy to earn money.The graphics are awesome.Besides that it takes a long time to earn money, this game is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's okay

posted by eiym1313 (OSCEOLA, WI) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Purr Pals is a really fun IDEA, but badly put together. In the game, you can chose from a wide variety of cats and alter it's color. Then, with the help of an extremely annoying vet (I think that's what she is, anyway), you take care of it. That was the good, now here's the bad. The cat's needs are NEVER satisfied! I fed my cat three times, then, after I groomed it and petted it, I had to feed it again! Then there are the little games. They're all boring except the music one, which is strangely interesting. Picture all of these parts wrapped up in junky, glitchy graphics and you have Purr Pals. It's playable, though, and maybe little kids will enjoy it more. I suggest that you get Nintendogs instead, since it's the same thing with dogs and better graphics... and more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what I think About this fun purrrfect specil game

posted by steven45 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jan 31, 2008

Member since May 2005

I think that purr pals is an amazing game as any person would be very happy puppy to rent this purrrrrrrrfect game My friend jonni has this game which is what sponsered me to rent it and I think its a very specil game and we are so speacil
our selfs.

Allison Bickham

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't even play it

posted by bluemike (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

As soon as I started to play the game, I knew it was going to be bad. They had the same graphics as Catz and I hated that game too. I tried to play one game and I couldn't figure it out. Only rent this game if you adored the game Catz. I returned this game back to GameFly the first day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I gave it a 8 'cause I liked the mini games.

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jul 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

I gave it a 8 'cause I liked the mini games.The mini games are kind of funny. I mean making your cat sing is hilarios. My mom burst out laughing when I played Torodora. This is a kind of boring game and the only thing you can do is play mini games. I mean the mini games are fun and all but,I expected this game to be more like nintendogs and not mini game apolase. The mini games are good because I kept the game for about 9 days playing the mini games and I normaly send a game back the day I got it if it is all mini games.What gets me is that I have no idea how to feed the cat.You can get a new cat but it's like having 2 nintendogs.I think the best person to play this is someone who LOVES to play mini games.C+ P.S.who ever windes up with a gray abbysyinian named Sarah,she is mine and good luck. I'm givin' a shout out to my gray abbysyniian cat I created named Sarah!

WolfGirl09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Purr Palkins

posted by onegriff (NIXA, MO) Jun 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

My 8-year-old daughter loved this game. She compared it to Webkinz. You can follow your cat around your home. You can play games to earn money you can use to purchase items for your cat. My daughter couldn’t put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Play Nintendogs

posted by Statyck (BELMONT, MA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

I found this game enjoyable. I am a cat lover and animal lover in general. I recommend Nintendogs (to rent) but cat owners and lovers will love this game as well. There is a very wide range of cats to choose from, I am sure anyone can find one they like so they can start petting, grooming, singing, and playing basketball with your kitten. Did I mention they can sing Ode to Joy? There are nine songs to play in DDR crossed with a bit of Elite Beat Agents mixed in. They are fun at first, yet just too simply mastered. There are other games to choose from to earn money for your cat, you can enter them in cat shows and dress them up. But please don't dress them up. I would categorize that as animal cruelty. As there are four different rooms to choose from your cat will have a lot of room to explore and do what they please. Petting your cat is fun, most of the games are fun, and playing with your cat is fun. There were also some not so fun parts. I don't like grooming because it seems as if there are still things jumping around on your poor cats back even after cleaning for the third time. Cleaning the litter box isn't exactly fun either. They could have made it creative with scooping and filling but failed by making you just have to tap on of the turds with your stylus 3 times to make it disappear. I recommend this game to rent for those who don't like dogs. But please, avoid the doodle tapping and rent Nintendogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't rent Purr Pals

posted by throck (BOSTON, MA) May 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

Don't rent this game. There's no way to start a new game, so you're stuck with the game the previous renter saved.

The animations are not very good -- this is no Nintendogs, er cats.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »