Rent Pure for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Pure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

4572 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pure Fun

posted by Yogurt109 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First Off I am not a huge race fan mostly because the games can't hold my attention for more than an hour or two. This was not the case with PURE. I enjoyed this game through more than two days of playing.

Graphics are top notch. Backgrounds are sharp and I can't see why anyone would say anything bad about them.

The music did not get old at all. Enough songs on track to change it up and keep it fresh.

Gameplay - Some great tricks. Racing was fun only a few little hickups here or there but that ws mostly getting used to the controls. The build your own ATV aspect was a welcome addition. Online play was surprising hard to get into as a beginner since everyone had better ATV's than me but later on that was taken care of.

A very solid rental and if your a race fan you may even want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow, that was FUN!

posted by UrThumbs (GARDEN CITY, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, I wasn't expecting much. I'm not that big a racing fan to begin with. I like Forza series, and before that was... well Daytona USA by Sega. I still hit that multiplayer arcade anytime I see one in a mall. Well back to PURE... as in PURE awesome. The game has slick presentation (which i feel we should expect in 2009), and fun easy to pick up gameplay. I feel I could pick up the game in a minute, but it took me an hour or two for me to figure out when to boost vs saving it. It sounds simple, but timing when to boost vs saving your juice is what will have you win or lose a race, and make no mistake - it is hard to master.

FunFactor: 9/10

I picked up the game and couldn't put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Off-road arcade racing at its best

posted by Undead (PASADENA, CA) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

48 out of 53 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Pure is an offroad arcade ATV racing game that puts you in races on all sorts of different tracks around the world. Every track has a ton of crazy big jumps, realistic scenery, and multiple paths to race through. Each of these paths can either get you farther head, farther behind, or can send you off some very large jumps to pull over the top tricks on.

The game itself is very straightforward. You have three basic racing types: a normal race, which is usually three laps around a big track, sprint, which is about 5 laps around a very short track, and freestyle, in which the goal is to get the highest score possible by pulling off tricks and chaining as many together as possible to increase your score. Each of these types offers a ton of fun and requires you to build the optimum bike for each type of event.

One of the unique things about Pure is the way you can build your own unique ATV from scratch. You can pick each individual part, from the brakes and suspension, to the engine and even the handguards on the front of the atv. If you don't feel like building one by choosing each individual part you can also just hold X to autobuild a race bike or hold Y to autobuild a stunt bike. Either way, each bike you make will handle and perform differently.

The graphics in the game are top notch, with clear-looking water, mud, scenery, and beautiful skylines on every course. The AI in the game is also very good. From the first race, the AI will never fall too far behind and will almost always give you a run for your money in every event. As for the problems, well, there really aren't too many outstanding problems. The game could have added more options and depth but that's about it.

Overall, Pure is a very fun and enjoyable arcade ATV game with beautiful graphics, over-the-top tricks, challenging AI, and very few problems. It's definitely worth at least a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game!

posted by Beachbum (CARROLLTON, GA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pure is exactly the opposite of what you want in a ATV game.

On the one hand, it is laughably inaccurate when it comes to the simulated racing part of the game. For example, when you are racing in real life, you are rewarded by taking the correct lines thru turns to get a better hole-shot coming out of the turn. You are also rewarded in real life by having smooth jumps and landings that keep your momentum up. This is not the case in Pure. It teaches players to "preload" their atv's prior to jumps in order to do tricks to gain boost. Yeah right!

"Now wait" you might say, "this is a game, hellooo"! I agree, which brings us to the other fatal shortcoming of the game, the lack of multiplayer and the fact that you cannot goof around on tracks except in freestyle mode! The game does not allow you to cut corners (literally) and any attempt to deviate from the track, or go the wrong way, is met by being placed back where you belong by the cpu. My friends and I enjoy being able to just play around in games like these and were met by an epic fail due to lack of multiplayer mode!

Thank god I was able to send this stupid game right back to Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ATV for little kids

posted by OMDCookie (CANEYVILLE, KY) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My title explains it all, this game is PURE child's play and thats all it can be. The only thing it has going for it is the customization, which is only slightly above average. Of course, this only applies if you mean average of 2005. It might as well be called Kiddie ATV 3000. Anyways, it has no free roam, the selling point of most ATV games, unrealism (there are invisible walls everywhere), and completely moronic AI. I got smacked in the back of the head by an ATV, yes it leaped up and kicked me. All in all Kiddie ATV 3000 gets a 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I Was Looking For

posted by Moonajuana (OLD LYME, CT) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pure is a great game, for the first hour or two. I quickly lost interest in the game as it seemed very repetitive. However, you can customize your ATV for hours and I think is one of the best parts of the game. An okay rent, but I wouldn’t suggest buying Pure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not To bad

posted by CG0882 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pure is a fun game if your into racing games that are not realistic at all. Riders can jump 300 feet into the air and fly over mountians..
After playing the game for an hour it started to get boring. Seems like the game dont change much beside the track you race on.. The graphics are pretty good including the landscape..
The best part of the game is where u can build your own quad. The parts you can chose from for your quad keeps this game decent. There are many different ways of building a quad.

So if your into arcade racing games with fast action gameplay this game is for you. Pure is worth a rent but not really worth a buy.

Graphics - 8
Gameplay-6
Sound- 6
Control-7
Replay-7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pure...Repetition

posted by 707kid (FAIRFIELD, CA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though Pure has some great graphics, and some cool atv customization. That's about all this game has going for it. After playing games like Atv off road furry Pure is child's play. I found myself flying through race after race on pures hard mode leading every lap. The tricks on the game get to be Monotonous as do the tracks when your opponent is no where to be found. I think this game is cool for kids but if your over 16 its probably not worth your time. The online play is O.K.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a True ATV Racing Game

posted by gsxr1181 (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If your under the age of 12, this is the perfect game for you. If you are looking for a game that competes with ATV vs MX, wait for Untamed.

This is a 100% arcade game, not a racing simulator. The ATV slides in corners, and won't turn like a true ATV. Unrealistic jumps, and racing. Power Boost? C'mon! No multiplayer unless it's online? No gyro effects?

Though the game does have great graphics, and customizing of the ATV's is pretty good. But as far as gameplay, horrible.

It was made by Disney, so I should have expected that it wouldn't appeal to true older ATV enthusiast.

You will ship this game back only after one day of game play... I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Tricks

posted by khujo78 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big racing gamer, so it says something for me to review this. First off, the graphics are great...and the off road really is that. You can drive just about anywhere and the game will allow you to do so, until you drive urself off a cliff, lol. The controls are a little flimsy and its easy to get turned around if going too fast, but you can catch back up by accumulating and ucing nitro/turbo or whatever. The tutorial at the beginning is very quick and dirty (literally), and teaches you everything u need to know. Also, the tricks are pretty awesome, many of them would kill any human being upon landing (and/or cause irreversible damage), but it looks great in a video game. However it can be very easy to crash after a trick if you don't reset back to the bike before you land...and sometimes you still crash, lol. That kind of sucks because you want to get a bunch of points and unlock more tricks, but it can be tough. However, my personal view isn't about winning every race, but getting to do all the tricks. Don't get me wrong, I like to win, but it isn't my priority in a game like this. All in all though, this game is great, a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had potential but disney didnt pull through

posted by JrideDGAF (JOSHUA TREE, CA) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, I love the customization of the ATVs.. Seriously from the frame, to engine, to nerf bars and even grips. This game had excellent graphics but the gameplay wasnt as great as it could be.. They made this game to "arcade style".. The boost system is totally stupid, should have taken it out.. The handling on the game is ridiculous also, Ur ATV never turns the wheel, it just slides left or right.. Other than gameplay issues, this game could have had mass potential.. I got bored of this after a couple hours.. Very disappointing..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Adrenaline pumping action, lacks real feel

posted by thecasefac (BERKELEY, CA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Having game tested ATV racing games before, I came into this game with an open mind. Right off the bat, the production value of this game is apparent. In your face action, smooth controls and nearly flawless gameplay make this title easy to get into.

Unfortunately, after several hours of playing, and placing first in one event after the other, the game starts trailing off. Towards the end, your "coach" figure who pep talks you through each of the different stages stops talking to you and the games final stages feel anticlimactic. You don't feel like you're actually winning anything. It's just another race, and not in a good way, in a sort of, "what's the point?" kind of way. Although the game's "coach" figure tells you that you need to fine tune your vehicles for each race, it's not necessary, and the only time I ever failed a race was when I left to get a snack. The AI is very robotic in their racing styles, mobbing together around the track in sprints, and all of them doing tricks in unison after every jump.

The game looks great, but it's missing something important, unfortunately I can't quite put my finger on exactly what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SSX on a ATV?

posted by MillsBM (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was a great trip for me. However it was not all I was looking for. For a game that lets you trick out your ATV with a large amount parts and colors, I was very disappointed to find that the same was not true for the character. With only a few colors to change on a helmet and 2-3 premade outfits I would have liked a little more freedom. Also, I found myself cursing the game when I would fly off a jump in 1st place and run smack into a tree and BOUNCE BACK 100 yards instead of crashing and resetting me on the track, I had to waste lots of time getting back on track (if possible) and back up to speed aka dropping down to 16th for something that could have been avoided with better collision detection. Also there was a LARGE jump in difficulty between some of the events. I would go along just fine getting 1st in every event then all of the sudden I would be placing in the bottom of the leader board. The game does not help curb this with a race specific tutorial as to how to better control your ATV that slides across the track 90% of the time. Also the game demands perfection (1st in every race type) in the last event that destroys any hope of "finishing" the game as by this point the AI is crushing in the race events, and seems to get 50k in bonus points at the last second in the trick events. As for the Achievements, well lets just say some require a super human skill level to obtain so don't expect a quick 1000/1000 here. Overall the experience was alot of fun. It was the next best thing to playing a new SSX game (oh please oh please). Its worth a rent, but I would not "keep it".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One player racing games...

posted by Loadblown (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

KICK BUTT!!!

NOT!

Only Disney could do something this stupid. Actually a decent game except for the fact it's only 1 player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pure Review

posted by S7AiND (LUVERNE, AL) Oct 12, 2008

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off, this game is very fun. It has beautiful graphics, an easy control system, and a lot of huge falls. I like how this game lets you customize nearly every aspect of your four-wheeler (changing stats and appearances), but there was one thing that made this game feel tiresome. The majority of the game feels like repetition. You jump, do a trick, use boost, repeat... Thats pretty much all their is to it. The controls do feel smooth and its easy to get the hang of it, but 1 thing I did find wrong about the controls is that sometimes your character wont come out of the trick, he just holds the trick until he hits the ground and wrecks. This is just my opinions so dont let me make a decision for you... youll have to try it yourself if you want to know how it really is. Hope you enjoy it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Racing Game!!!

posted by 250zombies (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved playing this game. After a string of dissappointments on the 360, such as Fallout 3 and Prince of Persia, I am really glad this turned out to be an awesome game. The graphics, the courses, the jumps were all amazing. Although the superstunt was hard to manage(flipping upside down), it didn't matter. Your gonna have a great time playing this game. Especially if your buzzed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DONT RENT UNLESS UNDER 15

posted by Mattyd17 (WHITINSVILLE, MA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game doesnt know where to draw the line between fantasy and reality.The handling is horrible and the entire game play is just BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insaine!

posted by 1337P5ych0 (Kent, WA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. It was so unreal that it was fun. The customization in the game is beyond fun. You literally build a bike from scratch. 2 Thumps up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pure

posted by 32326565 (GILBOA, NY) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was the worst game i have ever played it is stupid

Thank you for wasting my time

Sincerely
Cedric DeFreitas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure fun!

posted by GAMEFISH (OOLTEWAH, TN) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Insane jumps, super tricks, tons of speed, beautiful environments, and smooth multiplayer. Games like this are why we play video games. On the hard rock scale, Pure is AC/DC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS WHAT 4 WEELING IS ABOUT

posted by stoney33 (WEBSTER, MA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ALL I WANT TO SAY IS PLAY IT THIS IS WHAT 4 WHEELER GAMES SHOULD BE LIKE I GIVE IT ALL A 10.ONLINE AND STORY MODE GREAT AND BYE THE WAY SOMEONE SAID NO FREEROAMING WELL ONLINE HAS IT ITS JUST A GREAT GAME IF YOU LOVE THE 4 WHEELER FRANCHISE ALL I CAN SAY IS KEEP IT UP GUYS .THAT IS MY REVIEW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is just madness

posted by jigglesclj (ABILENE, KS) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I did not get to play the game because it did not work. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent game

posted by danomite13 (RAYTOWN, MO) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was pleasantly surprised.Good graphics, fun courses with massive czazy kill you in real life jumps,lots of buggy tweaking.Some minor glitches but its about what you would expect.Buy if your really into dune buggys otherwise its a solid rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cant give it more then a fair

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

The reason i cant give this game more then just a Fair is because of the Stupid way You have to Preload so you can jump. In the first place the Joysticks on XBox 360 controllers are not that good and when they get used a little they are even worse so Using them for anything other then Steering is Just plain Stupid. This and the way no matter in what Game it is if there is racing the AI is Programmed to run into you above all else and in this game they run into you for no other reason then to run into you. Why Programmers wont program the AI to try and Avoid running into you Is beyound me, they program them to run into you on Purpose so they could program them not to run into you too. And Only having one camera angle is Ok but would be better if it didn't Move around as your going around a corner. This would have been a 10 maybe except for the Preloading and the little Camera ProblemMake it only a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BMX MEMORIES

posted by SLendEraSsassIN (SANTA TERESA, NM) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

this was a great game it brought me back to my times in BMX intill i broke my caler bone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse