Rent Pure for PS3
view large frontback

Pure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

1924 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What can I say? Im really impressed

posted by DASHREDDER (PLYMOUTH, IN) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was one of those skeptical people that ever thought an offroad racer would be worth my time. I bought Mx vs. ATV last Dec. and man I just pretty much gave up on the genre. Alas, the savior of offroad racing has emerged, and the game is pure bliss. Kinda ironic, because the game is called Pure, and for a reason.

The graphics are top notch. Its got a cell shaded, hand painted look, and at the same time it looks really realistic. I know that probably made no sense, but its because its the first game that I've seen take that approach. Plain and simple,, the game is gorgeous. The animations are fluid. There is no pop in and no screen tearing. Really the only bad thing I can say about it graphically is that their is nothing bad to point out. Which I find amazing because its a multi platform game. Frame rate is a solid 30fps.

The gameplay is really solid. Its easy enough for beginners and has enough depth to never get bored. The regular tricks in the game are pretty average, nothin we haven't seen before, but the jumps are huge, and the special tricks are insane. Its never felt so rewarding to pull tricks off like these. Its like you feel so superhuman. Its arcadey, and sim at the same time. What I like the most is that you dont get punished like you do in Mx vs. ATV. You can actually land tricks and live to tell about it.

The customizing in the game is pretty nice. Its not a Gran Turismo, but you can really make some cool looking bikes. You can pick any of the five riders to use whenever you want, which works nicely because they all have different stunts to use. The multi player is really sweet, and yes there is voice chat. The thing about multi player is that you can't use all the maps at first. You have to earn them through single player, but you should do that anyways so you can get the better bikes.

Pretty much the best thing about this game is that it is really fun. Thats the thing that most devs forget to put in their games. Pick this up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Catch some air!!!

posted by DrMarten (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just downright FUN! If you enjoy racing games, you'll want to rent this one at least, and possibly buy it. I've heard alot of comments about "it's not realistic"....so what? It is a VIDEO GAME. Video games are unrealistic. Go and buy an actual ATV if you need strict realism. The controls are easy, the tricks are sweet, and you SOAR through the air. Theres plenty of tracks to race on, and you can also customize your ATV if you like. Like I said, try renting it, if you're unsure about purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PURE fun

posted by BamaMatt10 (KILLEN, AL) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so i got this game not knowing really what to expect other than it involved atvs and sick air. This is my list of pros and cons:

---PROS---
Visually stimulating. . . i wrecked several times because i was checking out the surrounds during a race or freestyle.

Sick Air

Realistic / Unrealistic Tricks

You get to build your atv from the frame up with parts from liscenced manufacturers like Tag, Renthal, Blingstar, and Pro Armor just to name a few.

---CONS---
The lack of a "free ride" area alot like ATV Fury. I cant get into how much time I would spend just riding around looking for jumps to hit.

Sometimes when you get off course it takes forever to wreck or restart which can easily cause you to lose a race. I mean seriously. . . .i dont wanna fall down a revene for 5 seconds before im reset.

Maybe lengthen the game a little longer. . . I placed in the top 10 in less than a week.

---Result---
This game can easily be enjoyed by anyone who gets into freestyle offroading. . . .i thoroughly enjoyed this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Purely Awesome!

posted by RockerBoi (NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

except 4 the fact that it's made by disney.. this game is just as i put the title.. "Purely Awesome"
Great Graphics, Great Controls, AMAZING TRICKS! lol to be honest it almost makes you wanna buy an ATV and go quadding i would def. suggest this as a rent or buy flat out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by Rendogg (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great graphics, great gameplay. just sucks it doesn't have 2-player mode to play with your buddies when they come over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PURE ps3 RevieW

posted by RallyEvoX (IRVINE, CA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The graphics are legit..the settings and places are beautiful. The game itself is so fun. IT's like playing SSX with ATVs. There is a race mode and a freestyle mode. Pure is very kind of arcade oriented in the sense that it's not that realistic however it's not supossed to be. It's supossed to be super fast and crazy. It's like what you wish you could do on an ATV. It's awesome. Get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome racing game

posted by mjkb24 (KATY, TX) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is super fun. The pace of each race is extremely exciting. Makes it a ton of fun, the fact that you can do tricks in air and earn boost or points.
The freestyle mode is a blast, where you get points by doing tricks.
Overall, this is a very fun game that racing fans should definitely give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fairly Impressed

posted by llions16 (STOCKTON, CA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont usually like racing games but this one grabbed me. The trick system is a little dull, but the vehicle combinations are endless. The graphics are also very good. The bad thing about this game is that it is not very realistic at all. The jumps you go off are too high for anyone to jump. And when you hit something head on or on the side you dont crash. All in all it's a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely Fun

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very entertaining game that gets old pretty quick. The gameplay is very fluid and natural, graphics are pretty good. Definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hate racing games...

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...but man do I love Pure. The ability to make your own quad from absolutely nothing is a great feature. The tracks are fun and the moves are easy to pull off. Finally an off-road racing game that could rival MotorStorm, but doesn't suck like ATV offroad fury. Definitely worth checking this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh....

posted by Dx0313 (CIRCLE PINES, MN) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Disney certainly can pull off good graphics but the game play gets repetitive. I think they could have had more options for parts maybe something more extreme. The handling characteristics are amazing though. Very realistic when it came to different terrains. Basically this game is worth playing but i wouldn't rush out to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun...dirty, messy fun

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

for the past couple years, i have felt that the whole ATV game racing genre has been pretty bland and dry. this game has rejuvenated my confidence in that genre or racing games. the one flaw i would admit, right off about this game is that there is no free roaming like in previous ATV styled games, but thats easily looked over once you realize how much fun your having with the intricate tracks this game has to offer. of course, its beyond realistic, since you can get some unreal air (you might have time to get a drink during some jumps), but the trick system has so much variety, youll never get bored while flying high. the graphics are fairly impressive, though not HD. the way the camera follows you through the courses takes a bit getting used to (at least for me it did), but it creates alot of excitement for the racing enthuseists. you get to build your own bikes, where, if you like customizing its pretty fun (they also allow an easier way to somewhat automatically build a bike if you dont like going through the effort of deciding how you would like to personalize your bike) if you like ATV games, definitely give this a try. if you think the ATV games have gotten stale lately, definitely give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Renter

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have played the demo you are not missing much. The game is a typical racing game that tries to throw the ticks in to shake things up. I found the tricks to be too much of a distraction. The customization options for your ATV are very good. I would say go ahead and rent this if you are into racing games but don't expect a sleeper hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An overall disapointment

posted by gr2007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game is just bad. I was looking for something with a little more substance. This game is just about getting unrealistic air and pulling off impossible tricks. Where is the realistic racing? I played this game for all of 15 minutes and it went right back into the box. Don't get me wrong, the graphics and sound are pretty good but the game in my opinion just doesn't work. Disney just needs to stick with "Aladdin" and the "Little Mermaid" and leave the serious racing games to studios that clearly know what they are doing. If you are looking for a good ATV game go with THQ's "MX vs ATV Untamed". I personally ride and "MX vs ATV" is the closest you will get to real life physics out of a game. Pure is just another wasted $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This is a good game but it has a few Glaring Problems,First theres the Problem of the place you are forced to start every Race the guy in front of you in every race start gets in your road. Then in the last area you race on a track that part Ice and while the Game controlled riders dont seem to slow down on the ice you do big time though. So even after winning every other race,Sprint,and Freestyle i have been unable to win that one frankly i think it is made that way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

because it was from PURE IS PURELY EPIC!!!

posted by jmcdaniels365 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

First off, I decided to give this game a try because I didn't want MX vs ATV Reflex due to its reviews and the youtube videos looked promising. I was skeptical because it was from Disney Interactive. But just like Split/Second, they didn't let me down.

Pure is purely epic! At first, the game seemed like a piece of cake because winning the events was easy in World Tour mode. However, after about the third round, some events took me a good number of tries to beat. Once you know all the secret routes, you will do fine.

The stunts are almost unreal in this game and its fun making combos! I usually hate games with freestyle events, but this game made winning freestyle events easy yet hard at the same time. You can get frustrated when you don't land right when your trying to pull off a second combo or the combo times out before the next jump. However, there is a wide variety of tricks at different levels. If you get some tricks together in one combo, then winning freestyle events should be a snap.

Graphics wise, this game is somewhat blurry with their cutoff lines, but that is what makes the game even better. I give the graphics a nine.

The only cons to this game are that some of the trophies can be difficult to earn even for a pro player. The game also only does ATVs (sorry MX). But, the game makes this up by giving you the opportunity to make all of your ATVs from scratch, which is a plus for people who love games with customization options.

Overall, great game to play both online and off. The stunts and graphics are great and the gameplay offline presents a nice challenge which keeps the player addicted. A MUST RENT IF NOT BUY, ESPECIALLY FOR OFFROAD FANS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by sajuggalo (CANASERAGA, NY) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is fun im not a fan of racing game but this game is sweet i would have kept it if i could

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pure Fun

posted by shadowgren6900 (RANDLEMAN, NC) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Pure fun and full of air if ur looking for a 4wheeler game wel thats the game but u want more sadly theres not but all in all it was a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pure for PS3.

posted by TankGod (THOMASVILLE, NC) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Pure was some what of a dissapointmen. I played the demo on Playstation Network. I was so impressed with the demo that I imedeately ordered it on Game Fly. When I played the full game I was let down. on the demo, the game gives the impression that it uses realistic physics, and that there are tons of ATV's to choose from. I found that neither of theese are true. In my oppinion the game was a let down, and not worth spending full price on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best ATV game!

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is one of the best ATV games i've come across since early ps2 days. Mtx vs ATV doesnt come close the the fun in this one.

Granted there are times that it seems the CPU is way faster than you in the same class, its still beatable for almost anyone.

Graphics are nice and tight. Controls feel good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PURE is pure awesome

posted by PPUURREE (NORCROSS, GA) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

PURE is the best ATV racing EVER. i've played other motorcross games but this one is just takes it to a whole nother level. for one just pulling off a clean trick brings so much satisfaction and you can't wait to build up your boost so u can pull a special trick which are insane i mean it just makes me feel like going out and buying an ATV and jumping off of everything. i mean the tricks are pure fantasy but man it just makes you feel like getting out there and doing it...........all and all the game is awesome good graphics of course (its a ps3) good game play the controls are pretty simple and creating your own coustom ATV is so much fun......this is a must buy seriously you can rent it to test it out but trust me if your in to motocross your gonna want to keep this game.....WWOOWW.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PURE!

posted by poacher (MORGANTOWN, WV) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Very fun quad game probably the best ATV game I have ever played. It takes a few times per race to figure out the fastest route in each map which makes it kinda repetitive but its fun to explore the maps and bust out freestyle tricks. Once you get the the upgrades to make your quad fast the game is much more enjoyable compared to the demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by jasonxb (BAY POINT, CA) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I really like this game, its fun. The animations are are fluid and Disney like and the Graphics are pretty nice. The send of speed and falling is well done. The sound track is kind of weak so I turned off the music, and the commentary gets old and is chessy. If your looking for realism then this isnt it, but I wasnt and so I was very happy with this game. I first played a Demo on year ago for this, then forgot about it. Then I saw it online for $20 and so I bought a copy. Worth every penny. Very few games are worth the $60 price tag, and this game isnt one of them...but for $20 you cant go wrong. The controls are tight and the tricks are easy to pull off, once you get the hang of timing your boost and saving the bigger tricks for certain jumps on the track you will start to get some faster ATVs. The Trophies in this game are hard to get. The first 7 or 8 come fast and easy, but after that...not so easy. Anyways I love playing this game, I bought it and you should too, but if you dont want to buy it, at least rent it through gamefly. FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Exhilaratingly Fun!

posted by FuntimeMom (ARLINGTON, TX) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Had fun with this game, but my little one couldn't play it. He is 4 and can win on Pacific Storm game or MX and ATV, if he has motion sensor and not stick. Pure was to frustrating for him with the stick. Can do, but hard. It had a motion sensor off and on, but we could never get it to steer. It would be great if you could tilt steer! Real good graphics and scenery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

???????????????

posted by Josher (WINDERMERE, FL) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

why is disney making racing games in the first place? lol, thats the only reason i made this post is to ask that..disney has gone down hill :P

i played some of it, pretty fun, gets kinda boring after a while tho

worth a rent. not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse