Rent Puppeteer for PS3
view large frontback

Puppeteer

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
7.4

206 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Cute, but a little too sweet...

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you thought Little Big Planet had the PS3 market for cute, you definitely haven't played the Puppeteer. There is a cohesive story here that is told in a wonderful manner, that of a play. The mechanics here are rock solid. If you like collectibles, you'll have plenty to keep finding. If you need a game you can play with your kids, there's nothing to be worried about here.

With all that's good here, why do I ONLY give it a 7? This is a game that I can only take for so much at any single sitting. I'll normally game for 4-5 hours at a time, but I couldn't stomach the cute factor here for more than 1 hour, and normal Puppeteer sessions being 45 minutes. The game itself was enjoyable enough that I kept coming back for more 45 minute sessions, but just barely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I would love it more if I knew what was going on!

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 28, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Puppeteer is a gorgeous, but very atypical platform game. On top of the usual platforming, you need to cut your way through and along various routes. Is this the world's first snip-em-up? Fans of the Little Big Planet games would seemingly be at home here, but there is something strangely missing, strangely confusing about the whole thing.

Each level is prefixed (and interleaved) with extensive, excessive, cut scenes that tell the story. Something about the bear king and his generals, but I was lost be the third level. I really did not understand what was going on. A lot of it is based in Japanese folklore, of which I have a passing knowledge, but clearly not enough. Also, they are so long, that I can imagine most players getting bored (I know I did) and skipping through them eventually, which doesn't help it's cause.

Also the levels themselves are very long (30 mins plus), that it is less a pick up and play, than a big commitment game, which goes against it's nature.

I want to recommend this, but I don't think I can to anyone but the most dedicated fans of the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beauty is skin deep

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Aug 24, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

This game oozes style, character, and has some fantastic voice acting. However it sort of stops there.

In the Puppeteer you play as Kutaro, a boy who can change heads, use magic scissors and is working to restore the moon kingdom. If you've played a platformer you'll be at home here. The elements that set this apart are your companion you can be used to uncover items with the right stick, as well as the cutting mechanic and the special abilities of each head.

Gaming wise it's pretty standard platforming. Jumping puzzles, using new powers to get through a level, fighting bosses, and QTEs as well.

The graphics, music and voice acting are awesome. It has a lot of charm, as it's setup like a stage show. The audience reacts to your actions on screen, and each level is considered an ACT just like in a play. Each act has 3 separate parts.

Unfortunately despite all of the charm the gameplay seems to become a little lacking. I made it to the end of Chapter 3 before I had lost interest in the game. It's a shame because it is such a good looking game. The gameplay is very forgiving and easy, and the platforming challenges, while done in some extremely unique levels do get repetitive after a while.

One other thing is that before each level there is a cutscene. They are well acted, and animated. The only downfall is as the game goes on these get longer and longer. It doesn't mean they aren't entertaining, because they certainly are. It just feels like they weren't needed at the start and end of each level. I could understand at the start and end of each act.

For what it's worth this is a good game and worth a rental. It's also a budget title and now looks like it's about 17 bucks. Certainly something all ages can play due to the difficulty of the game being fairly low.
Come for the Charm, stay for the style. But don't expect to be blown away by the gameplay.

Verdict: Rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Probably wouldn't play again

posted by GamerWolf (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Puppeteer is based on a novel idea - playing through a puppet show. The presentation really is flawless, from the soundtrack to the voice acting to the visuals. The game play just isn't as fun as fun as it could be. The gameplay really is lacking. The cut scenes are long and usally I don't mind since they give you insite on the story but I just found myself just wanting to skip then so I could keep playing. Luckly for those of you that don't like cut scenes or are like me and they just didn't do it for you, you can skip them. Over all the game had a great idea behind it but I felt it could of been executed better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Intresting

posted by Raul12 (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) May 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

I enjoyed this game really different reasonable obstacles and bosses. What was good too you can go back to any stage just to finish loose ends. This game reminds me of a Genisis game called ''Dynamite Heady'' and Kid Chamilion remember those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a 3 without the amazing visuals.

posted by TCMF44 (PISCATAWAY, NJ) May 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A bad LBP wannabe

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I can't say much because after 10 minutes I couldn't stand it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good but absolutely confusing

posted by GMUNY (LYNDHURST, NJ) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

This game was fun but the story was a non factor for me. If you are looking for a game with a story, skip this one completely. As with most foreign games, it is almost like they translated it to English but didn't bother to read it. Everyone in the family was confused within seconds after the game began and focused 100% on the gameplay. The gameplay was fun and different, my kids enjoyed it for a few days. Positive gameplay, non-existent story give this one a 7. That's all folks, play for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Klonoa like.

posted by dgloverher (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

Game is very much like Klonoa for the psone. If you liked that youll prob dig this. Charming presentation, some of the cut scenes can go on a little long but they are so pretty to look at. The music and voice acting is also very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hidden Gem!

posted by lizcianci (TEMECULA, CA) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Only played a half hour and I was completely hooked. As I started playing Puppeteer made me nostalgic of games of hits past. bridging 2D scroller action games with 3D action platformer titles. The dialogue is witty and fun for kids and adults. Gameplay is easy to understand with minor quirks or mistake in the action button Ex. (End of a stage). The main character reminds me of Pinocchio. The story reminds me of Four films or novels. (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Coraline, Pinocchio and James and the Giant Peach. Taking the basic Mechanics from the Little big Planet Series and combining some of the Crash Bandicoot Series. Put all aside and give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »