Rent Puppeteer for PS3
view large frontback

Puppeteer

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

A bad LBP wannabe

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I can't say much because after 10 minutes I couldn't stand it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good but absolutely confusing

posted by GMUNY (LYNDHURST, NJ) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

This game was fun but the story was a non factor for me. If you are looking for a game with a story, skip this one completely. As with most foreign games, it is almost like they translated it to English but didn't bother to read it. Everyone in the family was confused within seconds after the game began and focused 100% on the gameplay. The gameplay was fun and different, my kids enjoyed it for a few days. Positive gameplay, non-existent story give this one a 7. That's all folks, play for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute, but a little too sweet...

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

If you thought Little Big Planet had the PS3 market for cute, you definitely haven't played the Puppeteer. There is a cohesive story here that is told in a wonderful manner, that of a play. The mechanics here are rock solid. If you like collectibles, you'll have plenty to keep finding. If you need a game you can play with your kids, there's nothing to be worried about here.

With all that's good here, why do I ONLY give it a 7? This is a game that I can only take for so much at any single sitting. I'll normally game for 4-5 hours at a time, but I couldn't stomach the cute factor here for more than 1 hour, and normal Puppeteer sessions being 45 minutes. The game itself was enjoyable enough that I kept coming back for more 45 minute sessions, but just barely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Klonoa like.

posted by dgloverher (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

Game is very much like Klonoa for the psone. If you liked that youll prob dig this. Charming presentation, some of the cut scenes can go on a little long but they are so pretty to look at. The music and voice acting is also very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I would love it more if I knew what was going on!

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 28, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

Puppeteer is a gorgeous, but very atypical platform game. On top of the usual platforming, you need to cut your way through and along various routes. Is this the world's first snip-em-up? Fans of the Little Big Planet games would seemingly be at home here, but there is something strangely missing, strangely confusing about the whole thing.

Each level is prefixed (and interleaved) with extensive, excessive, cut scenes that tell the story. Something about the bear king and his generals, but I was lost be the third level. I really did not understand what was going on. A lot of it is based in Japanese folklore, of which I have a passing knowledge, but clearly not enough. Also, they are so long, that I can imagine most players getting bored (I know I did) and skipping through them eventually, which doesn't help it's cause.

Also the levels themselves are very long (30 mins plus), that it is less a pick up and play, than a big commitment game, which goes against it's nature.

I want to recommend this, but I don't think I can to anyone but the most dedicated fans of the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hidden Gem!

posted by lizcianci (TEMECULA, CA) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Only played a half hour and I was completely hooked. As I started playing Puppeteer made me nostalgic of games of hits past. bridging 2D scroller action games with 3D action platformer titles. The dialogue is witty and fun for kids and adults. Gameplay is easy to understand with minor quirks or mistake in the action button Ex. (End of a stage). The main character reminds me of Pinocchio. The story reminds me of Four films or novels. (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Coraline, Pinocchio and James and the Giant Peach. Taking the basic Mechanics from the Little big Planet Series and combining some of the Crash Bandicoot Series. Put all aside and give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »