Rent Punch-Out!! for Wii
view large frontback

Punch-Out!!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

7222 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Plankto (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the third in the Punch-Out series and so far the best. With the Wii controller and nun chuck it really makes you feel that your really in the match. Though even though you can use the Wii Balance board it does not really impress. Its the perfect game for Wii. In career you get to fight your way to be the champion of the world and after that protect your title. In Exhibition you get to fight opponents that you've fought before to earn achievements plus you can fight opponents that your stuck on as a practice. In Head-to-Head you get to fight your friends. In gallery you get to check out movies that you've unlocked and music. I'm pretty sure that thats everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back In The Ring After 15 Years.....

posted by GameBo1 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When I was a young kid, I rented Super Punch Out!! for my SNES, and it was a lot of fun. A Year ago, I bought Punch Out!! for NES on the Wii virtual console, and it was still fun with simple controls, awesome music, and a couple of tough bosses. So what does the Wii version stack up to...... still awesome!!!!!!! The controls for the gameplay haven't changed much for the classic controls, with the exception that you have to hit minus to activate the star punches. The motion controls work perfectly gameplay although sometimes uppercuts are registered as jabs, and that can sometimes ruin the whole match. And not only that, at one point, the bosses got so hard for me to beat that I said screw it, the NES contol style is what i think the only possible way to beat these guys. BTW, it doesnt matter if ur 7 years old or 27 years old, you will yell, swear, and punch the wall tryin to beat this game. Especially the last boss, The Sandman. Overall, this sequel is amazing on the Wii and stands to the test of time the sometimes a game could be fun with only a d-pad and 2 buttons. The only problems are that there are that there is no online(WTH, this is the year 2009 Nintendo), you cant use other boxers in multiplayer(seriously, WTH NINTENDO!!!!!), and that the Wii Fit board option is freaking useless, actually Wii Fit was useless to begin with...... but even with these flaws, it gets a 9/10.

So........

Buy It

Rent It

or

Screw It

Final Verdict:
Buy It!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Must Own Game.....

posted by KMB313 (BEAR, DE) May 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is as great just like the original was in its time. I
recommend this game for anyone who was a fan of the original.
This game would have been better if they would have added some
more fighters and still had Mike Tyson in the mix. Nintendo did
a awesome job with this game and I hope they put out more
Punch Out games with a list of all new characters to fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Original Punchout would TKO this version.

posted by kahncory (VALPARAISO, IN) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Hoping to take a trip down memory lane, I decided to check this title out...While this version is better in a few areas...namely multiplayer, graphics, and sound it would get beaten down by little Mac of the original series. It was wonderful to see the reimagination of some of the classic characters in an updated graphic form, but they all still have the same exact moves that they had from the NES version with maybe one or two new ways to throw punches. Also there is really only the addition of I think only one character in Disco Kid. If you ever beat, or for that matter even played the NES version than this will give you that warm and fuzzy feeling of your childhood for all of fifteen minutes...and then it's o.k. In all honesty I'd rather just go on the Wii shop channel and buy the first Punchout. You will get a lot more playing time out of that one than this one. I say rent it beat it and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dance Like a Fly....Bite Like a Killer Moth

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) May 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Punch Out was a cult classic 20 somewhat years ago, having a underdog from the Bronx go head to head with cartoon-ey characters to have a chance at Iron Mike Tyson. The controls were simple just like today. It's button one or two for jabs up on the d pad for upper jabs and if you hit an oppenent for a star you press A for a special jab. Doc is back to give help-less advice but what did you expect. And you still can hold down the button after round two for a extra health boost (It's button plus and minus after round one and Doc will eat a choclate bar to prove it works). Unfortuntally you only have one new boxer Disco Kid, other than you have the previous NES and SNES Roster. Not that it is bad thing, they're more of a challenenge now then they were 20 years ago and although it's still duck, dodge lower, upper jab and special punch...........You're going to really pay attention. Example, Great Tiger doge the exact opposite after he throws an uppercut (DUH, I KNOW) Still..........King Hippo is the only one who has the "Old School Stragety". There are some interesting features such as Hologram Training, Title BOut Defense and Last Stand, where Donkey Kong is unlockable. It's disappointing you only get a small handfull on a Disc Game, but this is a Number One COntnder. ALso you can use the Will Controls for a Wii Fit Work Out or the Will Pad to dodge and duck. Eight Stars Out of Ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

even glass joe should try this game

posted by thefrabs (JAMESTOWN, NY) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this beautiful little game should win over the hearts of all who play it. it's simple and fun. you get the feeling with each match that you're becoming a better player--a better boxer. the motions are easy to control, the game provides a good variety on the theme with its characters, their personalities and fighting styles. the game itself will probably only take a weekend or one long night to beat, and it's well worth it. i'm impressed with nintendo's ability to continually produce fun games. at times, challenging, and in fact the title defense felt more like a punishment for winning in the first place, but overall, a knockout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy It Or I'll Send King Hippo After You

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) May 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is so totally awesome. I just cannot describe it. Nintendo and Next Level have created an amazing game that everyone should own. This is one of the best games I have played EVER.

Pros
-not too easy, not too hard
-lots of single player modes
-great visual design
-over-the-top characters
-smooth controls

Cons
-Multiplayer mode isn't as fun, but Punch-Out is a single-player kind of thing anyways

If I could guarantee everyone play one game this year, it would be this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The perfect revival!!

posted by joshuaswii (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Punch-Out!! is just that, the perfect revival of a series that needed to come back. The game feels just as satisfying as the previous 2 installments to the series. The new Wii motion control works flawlessly, and the new features such as multiplayer and Giga Mac are really fun. Any fan of the original would be proud of this game, as it stands up to, and beyond the standards of the previous titles. Its a very nostalgic game that brings a lot of good memories of countless hours of fun playing the first game. This game is a must buy. Forget about renting it. This game has appeal for longtime fans, and newcomers alike. You will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Stuff

posted by MFreezy (LEXINGTON, KY) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you loved the classic, either on NES or SNES, you'll loved the game. The controls are rather elementary, but that is well made up for but the funny character personalities and the vintage feel you get while playing. Great choice!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEEFED-UP 8-bit classic!

posted by witchtomb (WALTHAM, MA) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is basically "Mike Tyson's Punch-Out!" (without Mike Tyson, unfortunately) with super-souped up graphics and photo/video montages. That makes for a very, VERY awesome game! Not only is the gameplay totally adaptable for anyone (choose from classic Nintendo style controller use OR Nunchuk/Wii Remote combo), the game looks unbelievably cool with its smooth animation, slick graphics, and some hilarious photo and video montages set for Little Mac and the opponents. This game is also very challenging, which makes it even more addicting and better to play( but not so much where you get so frustrated to never play again.) The feel of the game is very much like the 8-bit version, so anyone familiar will catch on to this right away.

The above clue as to who's in the game, that's all you get from me, I'll leave you to rent it and see for yourself to see who else made it to the final cut! Although I will say one more thing: if you really, really, I mean REALLY loved the 8-bit version of Punch-Out, you are going to salivate over this game.

A MUST for rabid Punch-Out fans and fans of good action/adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Back for your Punching Pleasure...

posted by DrMarten (SAYLORSBURG, PA) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Punch Out returns, and it's on the Wii now, so we get a more polished version this time around. There's not a whole lot of new features though, which could be good or bad....Good, if you love the "old school". Bad, if you expected more from Punch Out on a next-gen system.
I really enjoyed it, though I went through it very quickly. I did have practice - (way back when I was 11 yrs old.)
It would have been nice to have more characters and more moves to learn, but hey, there's nothing wrong with playing a old favorite with new looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT NOW!!

posted by KevenW (FALKVILLE, AL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Punch Out!! is one amazingly fun game just like the original. It's everything the original was and even more!! If you grew up on Mike Tyson's Punch Out like my generation did. This is an extra big treat!! I'm 34 now, and got my first Nintendo when I was in the sixth grade and of course got Mike Tyson's Punch Out. EVERYBODY had that game! I still remember the first time I saw a friend come over and beat Tyson. It was amazing. Every punch Tyson threw would knock you down if it landed. Heck, I can even remember the code that took you straight to Tyson, to this day...now that is a classic game right there!! I can barely remember my name these days....well this game is basically the same game overall, but even more fun now with a few twists. The head to head with a friend is super fun as well, we stumbled upon this and had a blast today smashing each others faces. Check it out, I don't think you'll be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by Chucc29 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by davidlee (dover, NC) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Punch-Out for the Wii is an excellent game! It didn't fall short of what I was hoping for at all! The original Punch-Out was one of the best games ever created on the NES, and the Wii version surpasses it. The game incorporates a lot of the same characters from the old one..... Glass Joe, Von Kaiser, King Hippo, Don Flamenco, Super Macho Man, Bald Bull, and Mr. Sandman, and also has some new characters, such as Bear Hugger and The Disco Kid, each with their own unique characteristics which make them both challenging and entertaining. The graphics are good, and the animated cut away scenes are funny. The game has a new training option, to help you if you are having trouble with a particular opponent. Once you defeat the champ and win the title, you can go back through the roster and defend it, but this time your opponents have different weaknesses and different fighting styles. The controls are fairly simple. Basically the same as the original. It won't take a long time to beat the game, but it has excellent replay value. I would reccomend this game not only as a rental, but also as a permanent addition to your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Left Jab, Duck, Right Jab, Star Punch!

posted by oobie134 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wasn't born when the original Punch-Out was released, but I still loved this game. It has a sense of difficultness and all the old characters still have those annoying combos ( dang you Piston Hondo!) This is a must rent if you have a Wii, and if you're not interestred in it, Rent it and try it, that is what Gamefly is for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brings back memories

posted by rokee62 (WOODBURY, TN) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of the nes game punch out but they have improved alot. This is a very awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by Moonraker (ANTIOCH, IL) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play this game. I loved the original but of course I was much younger and Nintendo was about as good as it gets back then. This was my first game from Gamefly.

I was disappointed in how short it was. Correct me if I'm wrong but Sand Man was the last guy???? I beat the game in 3 hours. Then the next step is to keep your belt against all the same characters and they change up their moves on you. I tried Glass Joe on the second time through and he took my belt. Are you seriously telling me I beat SAND MAN for the belt and GLASS JOE took the belt from me? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Don't get me wrong I thought it was cool that you could practice on hologram versions before you go in and fight the real thing and the 2 player mode was hilarious, but other than that I lost interest in this game the same day I got it. UGH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PUNCH OUT!

posted by ninerhouse (LANCASTER, CA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pattern memorization and timing

posted by Starfox64x (EVANS, GA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Punchout is definitely an improvement over the original. the characters are fun and funny, all with unique personalities and moves. but once you see these moves enough, you know how to dodge and counter them, which is all there is to it. figure out which dodge to use or which punch to use (left dodge, right dodge, duck or block, and left/right punch, or left/right high punch) most of them just require you to dodge their punches and wail on them once they miss. When facing off with someone for the first time, this can be difficult. however, once you understand 'stance A means that he attacks from the left, so i need to duck and hit right-up' or whatever, its just pattern memorization.

The wii remote and nunchuck control style works well, but overzealous players will get tired quickly. i did not try the sideways remote, but i assume its similar to the old version of punchout, which was very effective.

It's interesting to see the original charecters in 3D now, and to a degree, they are all interesting. however Coach sounds like he's reading from a script, and his jokes are terrible. sometimes he give decent advice, but usually its after you figure it out yourself.

the game is not bad, but after the 2nd belt, things get fairly difficult. thats only 8 people. there only seems to be about 13 people to face, each of which take about 5 minutes to beat... so it wont take but a few hours for a determined person to beat...

Give it a try, but dont plan to have too much fun with this. it's a fun experience while it lasts, but certaintly not something you want to pay $50 for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but can get annoying

posted by TxGames (CHANDLER, TX) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was fun and easy on the first 3 opponents. The 1st king took over 3 tries to learn how to hit him and over 3 more to win. After that it just got harder. But its a very fun and addicting game. I couldn't stop playing, no matter how aggravated I got. It was overall a fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Punch Out

posted by tucker666 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This has been the best game so far I've played on the Wii besides Wii Sports. It feels just like the old NES game, it's fun to learn the strategy for each opponent, and the multiplayer is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

punch out for the wii

posted by gpig278 (HARRISONVILLE, MO) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is the best because it have a good storyline and tough boxers and little mac is the biggest little man

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worth one time through

posted by kyle2k9 (CORONA, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

it's fun the first time around, but loses it's luster on play ability. I'm upset over the lack of left handed controls, like most wii games. i would have given the game an 7, but with no left handed controls, it gets a 4. If you've played the original nes mtpo, you'll get some feelings of nostalgia, but after one time through the game, it's time to move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

old school gone good il give u a hint cheat

posted by playboyjay (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

funny fun memories old school is back just instead of mmike tyson which it shold have been its teh almost look like mr sandman game pretty tricky a lil hint for all u peopel that think peopel hit u just way too quick press pause alot just before sum one will hit u dats how i beat the last couple of guys cause man these guys hit hard n fast so press pause alot see if it helps riet when u think hes going sum where then do them combos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre and Repetitive

posted by PewPewPew (LEWISTON, NY) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game, but I was horribly let down.

PROS

-Comedy-based storyline with colorful characters
-Unique gameplay and presentation
-Allows you to get mad at a fake personality and then kick his butt

CONS

-Very repetitive gameplay, as you adopt a dodge-attack strategy that gets very old very quickly
-Short story, with no plot...which is expected of course
-Many seemingly impossible fights
-Very little multiplayer capability
-Did I mention monotony?
-Unhelpful personal trainer who stole my bike!

Sorry punchout, but chocolate is not a flower. I would only rent this game to make yourself feel good about not buying it. (Or if you want to get mad at certain races of peoples).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse