Rent Psychonauts for Xbox
view large frontback

Psychonauts

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.6

2899 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You shouldn't miss this one

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

31 out of 32 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Most people overlooked Psychonauts... and I was one of them. But since playing it, I can say that this is a fun, innovative, engaging platformer with real creativity behind the scenes. It's a humorous, enjoyable game that will have you putting other games aside through it's completion. The story is a strong point, moving the game briskly along a 15 hour quest. The graphic quality is nothing to write home about, but the graphic design is, creating worlds that you will remember well after the game is over. Sound fairs well, but not much stands out, except for the ambiance of the music and some voice and effect work. The real draws here are the psychic powers you acquire (which are just plain fun to use) and the worlds of experience. Jumping into people's heads and treating their psyche's like levels is something maniacally brilliant and very entertaining. Whether it's a city of terrified lungfish, a living board game or conspiracy-laden suburbia, these levels have tons of character. It's the kind of game that will remind you why you play games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The One That Got Away

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Jun 19, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best overlooked game ever. It's really too bad it didn't get the recognition it deserved. You play as Razputin, a powerful youngster with a dark past and a dream of becoming a psychonaut. This game is really funny and the graphics are creative and the voice acting is great. The levels are really trippy, in a good way, and there are a lot of cool powers. the boss fights were interesting and the story was cool. The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is because there were parts when I got really annoyed at a level or boss fight. Other than that its a great game. I give it a 9, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Creativey Exciting!

posted by interfab (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 28, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the moment I fired up this game I knew I was gonna like it.. the concept & storyline are unique, the gameplay is fun and all the characters have great humor. The graphics are kinda tame, but I think it was intentional. I'm only 5 hours into the game, but can tell I will be hooked until the end.. a definite must try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why Didn't anyone Play This?!

posted by THK098 (FT WORTH, TX) May 2, 2006

Member since May 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seriously,this game is FUN.I'll admit,at first glance,this game looked strange because of the weirdo characters,but then I actually played it.The story was pleasantly humorous and the script and voice acting was top-notch.The powers are used in unique and innovative ways.The only problem I had with this title was hat it was too short.A game like this should've been longer.Let's hope for a Psychonauts 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Whats so good (and bad) about psychonauts

posted by gamerlord (POTTSTOWN, PA) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a highly wanted game that was supposed to be released on the dreamcast. The game is exellent, though anyone who has ever played sonic or prince or persia is bound to think this game is easy. It is also too short. I would love it if the makers would make a sequel starting right at the end of the secret ending you earn by getting rank 100. But lets get to the good parts of the game. Pschonauts has an excellent use of the powers available, telekenisis, pyrokenesis, confusion grenades, clairvoyance, invisibility, pschic ball, and psi blast, and all of them are necessary to complete the creative and fun missions. The most fun, and difficult mission is "the milkman conspiracy" where Raz has to travel into the guards mind to find the milkman. It is very odd and creative level. The bosses are creative and challenging. The one thing that seperates pychonauts from any other platformer is the dialogue, from basic story lines to squirrels telling a child to kill people. Now the ultimate add-on to the game would be if there was multiplayer. Then you could use the campers and teachers in an all out fight. The controls are straight forward and simple to get the hang of. It is a fun challenge trying to collect all of the mental baggage, mental cobwebs, and the figments of imagination. So over all I only have one thing to say, Long Live Pschonauts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The perfect platformer for grown-ups

posted by monger (PHILMONT, NY) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow. This is definitely the best game you never played. What? You say you don't like platformers? Hate collecting coins/mushroom/stars/widg- ets to trade in for power-ups? So do I. I have, like, zero time to play video games, so the minute it becomes tedious the game goes back to gamefly and I try the next one. What rockets Psychonauts to the platformer elite is that it never gets old. The environments are so wickedly different and inventive that at no point do you say to yourself, "Jeezus, not THIS again." And there's very little of the tricky timing sequences that blacken your soul to a despairing crisp when all you want is to just want to move ahead in the story.

A story ripe with deliciously dark humor from the wonderfully twisted geniuses at Double Fine developers.

Please, Double Fine, make a sequel. I PROMISE I will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid game

posted by DeusUmbra (TUCSON, AZ) May 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This an amazing game. It may not feature the glitz and glamour of astounding graphics, but it is fun, with a quirky and humorous storyline. From the genius behind such games as the "Monkey Island" series and "Day of the Tentacle," comes this epic title about a child with immense power who aspires to be a secret agent.

The controls are good, graphics, though cartoony, are solid, and the storyline is funny beyond belief. The only downfall being it may be a bit on the short side.

This game deserves to be played, and is well worth the rental. It is easily within my top 10 favorite games of all time. Believe me when I say, this is a quality game that shouldn't be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall very well done

posted by Xaranthos (PORT LAVACA, TX) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of Features...fun levels...very fun and entertaining plot and gameplay. Home run!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is an excellent game.

posted by homekeys (Johnstown, PA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics while not cutting edge match the style and humor of the game perfectly(somewhat like suffering). The control is tight and the special abilities, along with the story are cool. It can get confusing as to where you should go next some times but I was always compelled to give it another try to see what happens next. Rent this game if you like third person platforming with an excellent story/gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'd rather watch it then play it

posted by shmach (TOPEKA, KS) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Psychonauts has great presentation, fun characters, excellent voice acting, and silky smooth animation. The whole game sort of emits this twisted nickelodeon-like vibe that I think appeals to 20 somethings like myself, but would also be appropriate for the younger crowd. Unfortunately, Psychonauts' major failing is, well, its gameplay.

The most important element of gameplay in a platformer (at least for me) is the jump. Raz comes equipped with the industry standard double jump from the get-go, but it feels terrible. Ledges always seem to be slightly above Raz's reach, meaning that I'm never sure if I'm supposed to be jumping for one platform or the other because they both look unreachable. It doesn't help that some of the level designs just seem to sprawl in places, which left me without a clear idea of the direction I was supposed to be going in some levels.

I really wanted to like Psychonauts. I haven't played a decent platformer since mario sunshine, and I was looking forward to some good old fashioned hopping and bopping. Unfortunately, I was left hopping off to greener pastures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHY IS THIS GAME NOT RENTABLE?!

posted by Volubility (BISCOE, NC) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I HAD IT ON MY GAMEQ FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND THEN IT SAYS NOT RENTABLE? YOU GUYS NEED MORE COPIES OF THAT GAME BECAUSE THAT GAME WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE GAMES FOR THE ORIGINAL XBOX!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PSYCONAUTS ROX!!!!!!

posted by darth00 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Ok....... THIS GAME RULES!!! u can have telekineeses!!! u can burn stuffz(lol)!!! imma goo BYEEEEEEEE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a true video game.

posted by ryan321321 (ALBANY, LA) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is my favorite game of all time, and I have played other great games as well, such as Call Of Duty, Zelda, to even Portal. This game is fun, the main reason, the driving force of "Why" I started playing games in the first place. While I do play some really hard core stuff like Dead Space or Gears of War, this game will always be a special to me, despite its cartoonist appearance. This is one game that no one should ever miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review for Psychonauts

posted by Arkainus (CUDAHY, CA) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The game it self is very good for all age groups I think. The hardest level is the last only because of one section the meshed cylinder is a pain other then this the game isn't to hard but just takes time to play but again it is very enjoyable to play.

If you can get past the images dont get me wrong its pretty good for then but not so much now your going to love this game.

Note: You will not get a achievement points for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Razputin FTW!

posted by Mysterionz (BRIGHTON, CO) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Psyconauts is an over the top adventure game, with quirky characters, a great story, fantasmical voice acting. Its problably the funniest game ive ever played.

You are razputin, a rambuncious character that only has one dream, to become a phsyconaut. A psyconaut can easily be described as a fellow with crazy azz mental abilities, its pretty much the best thing ever. So ya, Rasputin wants to become a psyconaut so runs off to a training camp for them. You progress through this ROTFL game, gaining powers, items, and even a girlfreind. The graphics are very original (i mean, its Tim Schaffer, wat the H-E- Double hockey sticks do you expect.) The gameplay Mecanics are very polished, although, some psy powers are a bit hard control. All in all, it is a fantastic game. I definetly recommend you click that RENT button, and then once you realise that your entire life should have been dedicated to this game you can click the keep button. :>D BUY BUY BUY! Maybe we can coax Tim into giving us a sequel. ;D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

STOP! go out and get it now!

posted by nawrot (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

an excellent mix of action and creativity with a unique art style.your main chracter raz is tramatized from life in the circus and runs away to whispering rock camp for mental exercise. He must face several difficulties because the coach is trying to take over the world using kids' minds.You go through peoples minds and learn psi abilities (telekinisis levitatiion ...). While you play,listen,and see game you think "what the crud this is strange (in a good way)" , beacause it has weird chracters, maniacs, an asylum , and brainless kids.All in all this is must play for anyone with an open mind for insanity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I honestly don't know what to rate it. 9?

posted by Basbait (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was really fun to play through. So, starting off easy, you play as Raz, a runaway who joined the psychonauts' summer camp, where young gifted kids learn to use their psychic abilities. You learn quickly and become a natural, despite only having 1 day to spend there before you get taken away by your family. Without going to far into the story, you eventually need to go into people's minds and collect stuff, platform, and solve any "mental issues". The game plays like a good to average platformer, with lots of loading. But, on the other side of things, the presentation is amazing. It isn't the greatest graphics, but it looks like Tim Burton mixed with an insane asylum (literally). Some of the insides of people's minds are really weird, with each one playing out differently than the next. One is a war zone, the other a spanish city, and so forth. It's also very fun because of the characters. I won't give too much away, but the two characters I like the most have the names "Fred" and "Boyd". Exploring different minds, meeting different characters, it's all fun. Only complaint is that the last level made me REALLY mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of Xbox's last and best

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

Excellent and creative platformer that everyone should try.
The game looks like a kiddie platformer at first, but the writing is definitely for teens and adults - not R-rated, but kids would not understand a lot of the humor.

Pros: Imaginative, distinct levels. No level aside from the main campground hub looks alike. Twisted ideas based on characters' mental illnesses and neuroses (diva actress's insecurities in a playhouse, paranoid security guard world full of g-men, etc). Fantastic, humorous script. Good voice acting and sound design. Variety of powers (telekinesis, levitation, shields, etc).

Cons: Textures could have been better. The platforming can get frustrating - you'll find yourself falling two or more levels only to have to climb a long way back up - this has been a problem with 3D platformers going back to Super Mario 64. The story can get aimless and fluffy sometimes. Some levels are too easy, but then the last couple of levels spike in difficulty, making a previously fun game an exercise in frustration.

Overall, one of the Xbox's best games ever. You'll get a good 10-12 hours or maybe more if you try to find all of the items.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i've ever played

posted by Luigizkrib (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

this game has easy controls quirky and a funny storyline you can beat it and still have stuff to do and in the middle of the game you always want to finish the level just to see what happens next

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellence...

posted by ganesheik (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Gameplay - 10 - The game is constantly changing. You don't ever feel like you're playing a recycled map... Controls are very easy to master... Sometimes I get the start menu and the select menu mixed up, but that's about it...

Sound/Music - 8.5 - If Danny Elfman had done the soundtrack to Banjo and Kazooie, this is what would have come out... It's very clever, clean, and I never got annoyed by any sound coming from the game. One exception: a yound kid was crying for about 3 minutes towards the beginning of the game... I had to mute him...

Graphics - 8 - Great for an Xbox game. Some of the cutscenes looked worse than the ingame graphics did.

This game was great. It was so fun I played through it for nine hours the night I got it even though I knew I had calc 3 in the morning. The voice acting is spot on. ZIM/Dagget from Angry Beavers voices the lead character and he is hilarious... All of the characters are insanely funny and appropriate... There's alot of adult humor, but not necessarily crude humor in the game. It keeps you on your toes and everything comes together great. I would say the two strongest points of this game are its characters, and it level designs. All of the levels and boss fights are incredibly well thought out and well executed. Great game. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could not get into it

posted by Lucasan (ALLSTON, MA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The game really felt cluttered. It's basically along the same idea of Mario 64, but much more confusing. Then again, I only played through the first couple levels or so. Once I got to the campground, I just had absolutely no urge to continue with this game. The menu was also a little too much, I felt like I had a lot to learn, but no will to do so. Call me a quitter. (Puts Fallout 3 back in Xbox).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

would not work!!!

posted by spike01 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i put this game in 3 different xbox's and tried many times and it would not work at ALL!!!!

this has lost my trust in game fly too many machines do the work why? dont they use people to check the games???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Psychonauts review

posted by Chewbacach (DALLAS, TX) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

In this game you play as Raz,a young psycic who has a troubled life. He runs away to Whispering Rock Psycic Summer Camp.The camp has never had anything interesting happen but campers start to get taken and come back with out a brain.Raz trains with some of the greats and meats the greatest of them all,Ford Cruller,partially insane and very sarcastic he helps Raz trough out his journey.Along the way you meet some strange people but it all ties togeter nicely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Very Good Game into the Mind

posted by lightspear (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Psychonauts is a very unique game, with it's music, level design and the character designs themselves. In order to play the game to it's fullest potential, you must get all the collectibles. You can play straight through each level and reach then end in no time at all. The voice overs are amazing and each character has a unique personality. It also can intrigue people to look deeper inside their own minds to see how they perceive things in their own mind. The sense of humor also gives comic relief to any dramatic part during the game. The use of badges and powers gives the gamer many ways to explore levels and many different combinations to defeat enemies. The boss fights are short but they give gamers short laughs as the Rasputin and the boss make witty remarks to each other. The scavenger hunt gives gamers a reason to level up and explore the main world. The main world also gives more insight to the campers and their relationships with the others. The game unfolds very quickly almost giving no time for break in the story. Using items to get out of someone' s mind to level up can be useful for defeating enemies and upgrading your powers. The different levels give the player a sense of mysteriousness. Each level has unique designs and some levels excels at the art design. This game will bring adventure, excitement and good laughs to any gamer. Just be ready for a few disturbing sounds and images.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best frickn' games ever!

posted by eggbert (SANTA MONICA, CA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

nothing has ever come close to rivaling psyconauts.
People with short attention spans (like me) will like the crazy levels and the ever changing abilties the main chacter can have.
It's quite sad that psyconauts did not sell well and no sequel was ever made, so your best bet is to buy it used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse