Rent Psychonauts for PS2
view large frontback

Psychonauts

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.2

1656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Psychonauts, a nice change of pace

posted by dsd2682 (Miami Beach, FL) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first started Psychonauts. I wasn’t hooked right away. But, by the third level, I must admit I was impressed. This game is beautifully rendered, imaginative, and original. The characters are genuinely amusing. Except for some of the camp kids who don’t really develop much during the game, all the people you interact with have surprisingly interesting personalities.

What I enjoyed most about this game, beside the colorful and imaginative surroundings, was that I wasn’t impossible to figure out. The bosses were difficult, but not to the point of frustrating. With a few exceptions you can get through the game without totally frying your brain trying to figure out the impossible. For those of you who really like a mental challenge, there is the difficult but very interesting “milkman conspiracy” level. For those of you who are platform lovers at heart, the Meat Circus is a twisting trapeze that will have you delightfully (or in my case frustratingly) busy.

My only complaint was the camera view. There were many many times when I would go near a tree or under a platform and all I could see was just that. The camera didn’t follow you as seamlessly as it could have, but I find most 3d games run into this problem. And for the most part, you could always change the view manually. My other complaint was the loading times. If you do play this game, try to get it for PC or Xbox. On PS2 the loading times are suicidal. But in the long run, its still worth the wait.

I give Psychonauts a 5…out of 5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Journey Through the Mind

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was great. I also thought every Ratchet and Clank, Sly Cooper, and Jak and Daxter game was great, as well as Kya: Dark Legacy and a host of others. What I'm saying here is that the game is fun, but it's sort of a cookie-cutter platformer. You find and buy items to gain ranks to increase your psychic abilities to get to new areas and start all over. Fun, yes, but not innovative.

Where this game shines is the color. The character design is cool, and the voice acting is (Thank God!) fabulous, with Richard Horvitz of Invader Zim as the protagonist Raz as well as numerous fine voice actors. The level design is creative; each new zone is another person's mind, complete with eccentric personas and disjointed level segments. You truly feel like you're wandering through someone's shattered psyche, setting right their grievous past.

The game's a bit buggy in the later levels, and the final stage felt a bit rushed (without giving anything away, there's a platform jumping nightmare that kicks you to the beginning when you screw up. Ugh!). Still, this doesn't really detract from the overall experience; a fun romp through a very engrossing world. This game is lengthy, especially if you want all the items and secrets, so rent it and consider a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Psychonauts an actually smart game

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Psychonauts is one of the smartest, funniest, and wierdest games I have played in my life. It's a game where you actually get to know the characters alot. The script is one of the funniest written in a long time. The levels are very wierd and wacky. It has gameplay like a platformer wich I don't usually play but for this I'll make an exception. The biggest problems are the last levels of the game. The camera will get on your nervs and if you hate escort missions then you'll claw your eyes. I won't spoil anything for you but you will deffinetly start to swear. The game plays like it was on the PSP but is a great game that most likley wont get the attention it deservs. So do the world a favor and make sure this game is on your Q list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

could have been great

posted by DevynAngel (OAKDALE, CA) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is insanely imaginative and the voice acting is top notch but suffers from some of the worst platforming play i've ever encountered. As some have said the camera constantly sabotages you and you never have any idea where you're landing making difficult jumps insanely frustrating. The action controls are also slow and make for some more hair pulling as oftentimes an enemy can hit you before your move or ability gets off.

This isn't so bad early in the game but the very last levels are terribly frustrating and you'll do the same jumps so much when you do get through it you won't feel glad you've done it you'll feel angry at the developers for making it much more difficult than it needed to be because they didn't spend more time on the game. Worse yet when i got to the end the game actually locked up which has only happened one other time since i've owned a playstation and naturally the autosave feature made me start from a much earlier point.

Its a shame such a great story had to be marred by such terrible effort on gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Psychonauts!!!!

posted by gamerlife (LIVINGSTON, CA) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know how you can not like this game. I think that its a very creative game. Sometimes it can be very funny. The powers are very cool. I love going into the adults mind. Sure they might be wacky but,thats what i like about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A unique experience.

posted by Sinrise (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having played virtually every platformer in existence since Super Mario Bros. on the NES, I've noticed some patterns in game designs. Platform titles are usually the most rich with new ideas and every variation possible. It's interesting when a game comes along that has so many new ideas but fails in the same areas platformers have been falling short in for years. This game probably has the most collectibles of any platformer I can think of. It also has a thoughtful and unique ability system with upgrading. The graphics and sound are top notch. The voice acting is as professional as it gets. Gameplay-wise this game plays like most others with your standard double-jump, gliding and other physics-defying feats that make platformers so compelling. Sounds like a perfect game, right? Well, it would be if not for one glaring problem: difficulty curve. Why is it almost every platformer I've played goes from fun and very challenging to too difficult-to-be-fun in the course of one level? It's usually towards the end that you see the difficulty spike. There are precious few who's developers were as consistent with level design on the last level as they were the first.
I give this game an 8 our of 10, instead of a 9 or 10 simply because I never finished it. Better to turn off a game and send it back to GameFly than throw a controller. :)
-Sinrise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yet another game that coulda been good

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Yes another game that could have been good but the programers said No we cant make a good game so let us mess it up by putting in a camera that is more of a henderance to the game then a help and lets make it so the only people that can play the game are the ones that Have Perfect timing and reflexes of a Mongoose. When will the programers get it through their Thick Skulls that in a Platformer game it is really really nice to be able to see what your trying to jump onto? My Guess is never because that would mean they would actually have to put in some work on doing it and they would also have to play test the game before they put it out and, God Forbid that a game was actually tested before it is Published im guessing that they just dont care if their games can be played because that would mean they care about more then the All Mighty Dollar. Software Companies only care about how much money they can rip the gamers off for by selling games that are Like this one better suited as coasters then an actual game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Trippy...demented...weird

posted by DaBlueFox (ATTLEBORO, MA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 26 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

This game is WAAAAYY out there. I seriously think the makers on this game were smoking peyote while they were designing it! The characters are very strange and there are some really strange elements and events. For instance, if you walk up to a certain girl character and bug her too much, she threatens to set you on fire. This game, I think, has content that is really meant for adults or older teens. Unfortunately, the gameplay is meant for kids. It's extremely repetitive and it's fairly simple to figure out the puzzles in the game. It's also so trippy and the colors are so odd that the game gave me a headache after playing it for about a half hour. It's not a badly made game, it just wasn't really for me and I think they should have decided on a specific age demographic for the game as it is all over the map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitley worth trying!!!!

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) Feb 2, 2011

Member since May 2010

I loved this game :) different and very fun in terms of the ps2 game's
might want to pull up a ign walkthrough though when coming into contact with bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Entertaining and Hilarious!

posted by jennytessa (VILLAS, NJ) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Not only are the controls easy to use and fun, there's a ton of wacky off-beat fun to be had. Jumping into people's minds and finding out what's wrong with them was a really interesting idea and it made for an awesome game. The characters are all amusing and a lot of the time I found myself wandering around Whispering Rock and the asylum just to hear what weird things people had to say. I also loved how interactive the game was. Sometimes, I'd sit there using my psychic powers to mess with students so I could hear their weird reactions. It never got old, either ;D The voice acting fit perfectly too. Anyways, I must say Psychonauts is one of my favorite PS2 games and is definitely worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game, a breakaway from the norm

posted by poke4597 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Psychonauts. Even the title appeals to a fantasy and superpower lover such as me. I rented this game on a whim, and am very glad that I did so.

Graphics-8/10-For a PS2 game, these are nice graphics. The game is colorful and is animated well. Nothing looks bad, and with this kind of ambitious game, the graphics could have been much, much worse.

Gameplay-10/10-This game is very fun to play. The powers that your lovable character will receive are very amusing and fun to play with. The platforming elements in this game are also very well placed, and they never feel rushed or sloppy, and they always make sense. Also, the freeform exploration parts of the game often result in encounters with adorable and hilarious characters across the camp, which make this game an absolute blast to play.

Story-9/10-The story in this game is very cute and sweet. It is rather shallow, but it is a perfect fit for a quirky game like this. It involves Rasputin, or Raz, the young protagonist, attending a camp for kids with special psychic powers. They are in training for becoming Psychonauts, psychic secret agents. Then of course, something starts to go wrong.

Multiplayer-N/A

Length/Replay Value/ Difficulty-9/10-This game is a nice length, not too long but not too short. The replay value of this game is rather nice, as there are tons of things to collect, to attain better powers and grow stronger in general. This game can be a little challenging, such as during certain platforming portions of the game.

When all is said and done, Psychonauts is a wonderful game, full of personality and charm. There were a few problems however, such as the game's camera, which has a few issues, and especially the loading times. They are murder for an eager gamer such as me. This is a great game, so I definitely think you should rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mind freaked

posted by egginacan (VANCLEAVE, MS) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

I thought that this game was smply amazing ,though the games difficulty rapidly soars upward 1/3 into the game. The levels were so mind boggleingly made. Not to mention the awsome powers you get for nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh...My...Brains...

posted by Nannerpuss (MECHANICSVILLE, VA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Okay, first let me just say how amazingly beautiful this game is. Each of the levels looks like they locked a bunch of california art students in a room and told them to make a video game. It's beyond belief how amazingly creative theese people are.
Much like an actual dream you would have, they've taken the character's personality, reflected it into the level, and made it in the form of a platforming game.

Take for example one of my absolute favorite levels; Black Velvetopia. In this level, you enter the brain of Edgar Teglee, a latino artist who can not seem let go of his break-up with his high school sweetheart. It is your job to go in to his mind, and make him stable. In this level, everything (the colors, the style of artwork, the characters) looks like it is painted on black velvet. The characters you interact with around you are of a latino background, and the entire plot line of just THAT level is based around a bull-fighting kind of theme.

Love, Heartbreak, Adventure, Comedy, Matadors; All of this is going on...IN JUST ONE LEVEL

How incredible is that!? Each level is its own complete seperate, unique story line, yet it all comes together. I could go on forever, but i will spare you all the details. Find out for Yourself how amazing this game is

With its beautiful artwork, top-notch voice acting, INCREDIBLE and relationship-based storyline, plus one of the funniest scripts I've heard in a long time, Psychonauts is A MUST PLAY. If you pass up this rare gem, you will sorely dissapointed.

This is a game ANY gamer can appreciate. Heck, why are you still reading this review? GET OUT THERE AND RENT THIS GAME NOW!

10 out of 10 :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

imaginative game and one of my favorite platformer

posted by person1234 (West Chester, PA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

i really really liked this game its incredibly imaginative and a great platformer. i also liked the camera work and how easy it was. the bosses were fairly easy in my opinion. and the main difficulty was in trying too find out weir too find certain things or how too get stuff. ( i spent many hours trying too find something that i already had.) but besides that it was a fairly cool game.
the voice acting was also relatively good as for the story line.....lets just say it could have been better.
if you enjoy this game you also might like rayman hoodlum havoc which is also a game I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An absolute triumph!

posted by caseman96 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

Okay, I'll get straight to what I want to say. RENT IT NOW! This is a rare kind of game to come by. It doesn't only have lots of creativity and care put into it but there is a funny script and a wonderful story. The game play is a very well balanced difficulty, also a must for platforming gamers. The levels are each unique in thier own way. Finally the characters are very recognizable and interesting to look at. Each one is totally different from the next. Bottom line if you want a great game get this one or you will regret it for the rest of your life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Acting, Less-Great Playing

posted by stevo30110 (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This adventure-platformer is the nearest thing to a 'Pixar Quality' experience you'll find in this generation of games. The voice acting, character animation and design are all outrageously clever and stimulating. The challenges and levels, however, are not. From the ghosted icons you collect for various upgrades and leveling which appear to be an arbitrary addition to the game - to the strict linear design of the levels - the only adventure in this game seems to be finding a reason to continue playing it.

I was also playing this game on a backwards-compatible 80gig PS3 and it does not function as well as when I played it on my old Xbox. So be aware, you'll miss out on the quality animation because the voices don't sync properly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funny and original

posted by dgamer101 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This was very fun to play. It is very original from the graphics to the gameplay. This game also had a lot of enjoyable humor. If you like funny games with action this is a must play. I give it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disk didn't work but was a blast on other systems

posted by robert5121 (PARSONS, KS) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I played this game on a different system because my disk didn't work.
great fun but some times it can get frustrating
the game geats hard to understand.
but it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much fun, I couldn't put it down!

posted by Coldmoon (PLEASANT VALLEY, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Let me just say, I wish I could have played this game back when it first came out. There is so much to enjoy with this game and so little, if anything, wrong with it.

The storyline and characters are amazing. Voice actors are great. I even recognized the make characters voice as one of the people from Angry Beavers on Nickelodeon.

Not only is the storyline great to follow along but there are some fun side things to do as well, scavenger hunts, collecting arrow heads with equipped items. Entering peoples brains to see how really messed up their world is, is hilarious. I loved the guardsman and painters brains, lol.

You can't go wrong with this game even if your playing games on your PS3 right now. Take my advise and play this game all the way till the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by vajpop (CATHEDRAL CITY, CA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This here's a fantastic game with all the bells and whistles of a great Nintendo platformer without the childish humor, in fact the jokes in this game appeal more toward teenagers then the characters design would have you believe, which is why I think the game did so poorly in sales.

My only complaint is the load time for each area is rather long and I think I am just too dam impatient to deal with that many loading screens but in no way do I regret playing this game, the wait was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tim schafer is the tim burton of video games

posted by tacoman64 (WELLBORN, FL) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Psychonauts is one of the funniest and wierdest games, the humor isn't crude humor like in conquer. the game has platforming at its finest. there are a couple parts of the game that turn you away from playing it for a couple of days, this is apparent when you are near the end of the game. the dialoge is one of the most funny in gaming history. this game also has some very good puzzles. this game is one of those games you never heard of, but is a really good game. if you have a ps2 or xbox you should definitly play this game. the game is short but it is a game every gamer should play. tim schafer if you're reading this pleasemake a sequel. if you liked this game tim schafer is working on a game right now called brutal legend, so when it comes out you should check that game out,too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but a little bit weird

posted by ericman (OLATHE, KS) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I thought that the game was very fun to play. I thought that some of the levels were a little bit repetitive but they weren't to repetitive to make me stop playing this game. Overall the game was very fun to play and for well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

you are a new psychic soldier!

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

for those of you that read my jaws review, MAJESCO definateley did better this time. GET THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome

posted by warkiller0 (VALENCIA, CA) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

this game is based on a kid named Razzputan who joins a camp that make kids into pyschonauts which are people with special powers such as pk and tk and lazers.as u play as razzputan you progress and get new ablitys.i give this game a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game is so good it's Psycho

posted by DavidSnit (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I had heard great things about this game . I heard it was a cult classic. What I did not know, was this was a superb, inventive, and intricately detailed game that is not to be missed. At the very least you should rent a copy. The game is mindblowingly original, and even phycological. The environments are twisted and weird. The gameplay is downright entertaining. Unfortunately, the game is so good that the few flaws it has stick out. The camera is frustrating, and some of PSI powers aren't interesting or original. But these flaws are microscopic in the masterpiece that is Psychconauts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse