Rent Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy for Xbox
view large frontback

Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.1

781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

One for the collection!

posted by boats36 (MESA, AZ) May 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

One of the better titles out there. Good controls, never ending addition of powers, boss fights that can actually be won without having to replay them 100 times, lots of twists and turns in the story, and a main character with attitude.

Not a simple FPS. You need to analyze your surroundings, look carefully for clues and try different things to progress. Seemingly indestructible threats can be eliminated if different strategies are used.

AI voice overs are a bit redundant and can bug you if you get stuck in a tough spot, but other than that, it's a game for the collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!

posted by IHaakonI (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Xbox titles I have ever played so far. The physics in the game are incredible and the power you have over your enemies is intense. The graphics are decent and the storyline is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Psi-Ops use TK to rise to the top

posted by Camandlay (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This gems is one of the most original and fun to play games ever. Most great ideas get stupid game
play and a bad story. This game, however, is the opposite. You get to burn people with PK, throw people with TK, and Control people with MC. Simply Awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest game ever!

posted by NiCkGoHRin (GROVE CITY, OH) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wish it was more successful because there is NO game that can amount to Psi-Ops originality, if you haven't played this game it is a MUST play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HOW IS THIS GAME GOOD!?

posted by Eggsta (EVERETT, WA) May 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

Im sorry, but I have no idea why it has such a high rating. I found this thing on the first page categorized by "gamefly rating."

Anyway, I just have to say that this game is barely any fun. The way this game starts, it's fun, but when you're in the middle of it. It's not fun.

Basically you play as a psychic soldier that (I cant remember the plot too well since it's been so long) is trying to escape this band of terrorist phycics. You get some guns to shoot other soldiers with and you get some psychic powers that you "restore" within your mind since your has altzimers or something and forgot them.

If the guns weren't so boring or if the AI wasnt so horrible or if the enemies werent so cheap, this game might have been good. You get to use guns that you steal from guards or other soldiers and blast others with of course, but the guns are extremely weak and it's much easier to just use your psy power, but eventually the soldiers somehow can cancel out your powers when you use them so you're forced to use horrible weapons. Now the thing that bugged me the most about this game was the godawful AI. I'll give you an example of them to give you a better picture

You: *Moves on inch*

Guards:(One mile away in the bathroom in the next building) "HEY I HEARD SOMETHING! I BETTER TAKE SIX OTHER ARMED MEN TO CHECK IT OUT

You: ...aw man

Guards: THERE IS SOMEONE THERE! SOUND THE ALARM!

Maybe if they took that part out this game might have gotten a better rating. There's very few good things in this game. Sure the graphics are pretty good for a two year old game, but it's just way too annoying to play through the whole thing.

The only thing that got this thing a four was that the training room was FUN. You can use you powers on ANYTHING in there. There was this wrecking ball that you could lift with your telekinesis and through at boxes or just soldiers that you could insert in the training room.

Just do me a favor and dont buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Splintercell with SUPERPOWERS ?

posted by dborgtx (BEAUMONT, TX) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This was my favorite Xbox game of all time. In fact I still have this game, just can't play it on 360. Not back/compat. Sure wish they would re-make this game for the now generation, they would love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game takes me back.

posted by DisEngAgeD (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I remember playing this game a long time ago back when there was no xbox 360. But what game fly has wrong is that this game is TWO PLAYERS. Gamefly might be calling it one player maybe because when you play as two players, you're the same person. One controls the shooting (and powers? I'm not sure if it's the other person) and the other controls the movement and camera. I find that the only let down (which is the biggest there could be) is that it's not compatible for Xbox 360. Just be sure you know, this game IS for TWO players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Disapointment...

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game is just way too repetative, and the story is the same way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »