Rent Prototype for PS3
view large frontback

Prototype

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

11094 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ABSOLUTELY INSANE!

posted by Hauter07 (HULL, MA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This is one of the funnest games I've ever played... Avery long story, challenging missions, free roam, and everything else you love in a game. It is very similar to INFAMOUS but with much cooler powers. Run up buildings, consume people and morph into them as a disguise. You HAVE to play this game. You wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous+Resident Evil+Assassin's Creed=Prototype

posted by Mike4Homes (STUDIO CITY, CA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I just completed the entire game. I'll admit that I was skeptical about this game at first after reading some of the reviews on this site. This game was fun, challenging, and it captured my attention much more than I thought it would. The open world setting allows for unlimited replay with all of the upgraded weapons that are available as you progress through the game.
While some other similar games also have you running on rooftops, and/or using super powers to defeat enemies, this one adds the ability to fly through the air, run on the sides (and rooftops) of buildings and use special weapons. You're also able to hijack tanks, helicopters and infiltrate military units. Not to mention the fact that you can literally throw people, objects and automobiles at just about anything you wish. Consuming enemies allows you to gain power and knowledge by stealing their memories and their life forces.
It takes place in New York and the plot involves a virus that has infected the residents of Manhattan.
Overall, this is an action packed game that every gamer should experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prototype = Enjoyable!

posted by Kitoyo (LOMPOC, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! When I first started playing I got the feeling of playing assassins creed, with the free roam ability. The story line is unique and I hope there will be a second one. I didn't like how the upgrades were priced though. I think they should come up with a different kind of currency instead of just giving some 10000000 points. Overall I'd recommend this game to just about everyone. There is always something to do instead of missions. Like destroy bases, hives, do events for extra points, hunt down Intrigue targets to get more storyline info, or just destroy things for the fun of it. There is nothing more fun then lifting up a tank and throwing it at that pesky helicopter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent it, dont buy it

posted by Braden1314 (Arnold, CA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

73 out of 93 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Well, obviously i'm not going to spoil anything, but there are times in the story where the storytelling gets a bit etchy. People who have beaten the game know what i am talking about most likely.

The game is very fun there is no lying about that. But after you spend your first fourteen hours straight on it, get all the web of intrigue nodes, and all the upgrades, it seems like all there is left to do is run around and get blown up by the military (Because the game gets exceptionally harder after you beat it and continue to free roam).

But When it comes down to just a great game, Prototype is it. A unique game indeed, because you aren't going to find another shape-shifting wall-running gainer-flipping and overall badassery from any other game. Great game, but for me, not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very surpised!!

posted by FNovak (MERRICK, NY) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game shocked me on how good this game was. There was so many things go on. i had alot of fun with the game. i really like that u can read peoples mind, that was different and cool. i really didnt have an bad things to say about the game. Very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by sniper321 (COLUMBIA, SC) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome you have a weapon for every situation and lets face it whats cooler then dive bombing off a skyscraper and hitting the ground slomo style

you can even mess with the milatary hey they try to kill you no problem walk into a ally turn into one of them walk out point at some sucker and yell "its him get him" then watch the explosion

lets face it you got powers you are a pain to kill and you are really mad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

N.Y. City will never be the same!

posted by SirRobin (DAVIE, FL) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I just recently checked out and played the PS3-Hit game "Prototype" and I must say the other reviews and hype for this game were not exaggerated in the least. From the graphics to the seamless destruction scenes to the variety of methods for completing your missions, this game packs a punch, claw, blade, and other weapons of mass destruction.

The game in a nutshell puts you square into an infectious outbreak on the island of Manhattan with an infected individual named Alex Mercer, a former employee of the bio-chemical company Gemtech. However, Alex has a special strand of the infection, giving him super speed, strength, and the ability to morph his appendages into different weapons, among other skills picked up throughout the game. The military, headed by a government faction called Blackwatch, quarantines the island and tries everything in their power to corner, capture, or eliminate Mercer and his allies. Mercer, suffering from amnesia of how or why he received this strand of infection, goes about the city, looking for clues into his past and leads into Gemtech's executive branch. However, another powerful entity remains, one that is potentially more powerful and dangerous than Alex, and it is up to Alex to find out what it is and how to stop the infection once and for all.

What makes this game stand out for me is the attention to detail on the sites of Manhattan and the seemingly endless methods of dispatching enemies. Virtually any small object is able to be used as a weapon, such as satellite dishes, cars, people, a/c units, and so on. You can also disguise yourself as a military officer and order air strikes on certain buildings and targets or fake the military into thinking that Alex is another of their officers, gunning him down in the process.

The only thing I can negatively comment on is the controls. Running up buildings can be tedious at times and fighting towards the end is confusing. Overall, the game is a lot of fun and worth playing once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Hack n' Slash Sandboxer

posted by roguezhai (WASHINGTON, DC) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

53 out of 70 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Let me just get this out of the way. If you're looking for a fun, engaging superhero/villain game, play Infamous. But if you're feeling contrary, or have already beaten Infamous, read on.

The Story:
Alex Mercer is infected with a plague. It gives him superpowers. He kills anything in his way.

Gameplay:
Reminiscent of a hack n' slash because of all the button mashing. The screen is always filled with enemies or civilians or both. Infected and soldiers drop Devil May Cry looking glowing orbs. Collecting these allows you to upgrade powers, though you only really use three. The cutscenes are forgettable and best skipped and the missions are standard open world fare. Consuming soldiers is an interesting mechanic but could have been fleshed out a little more. As it stands, the consume events seem like little more than "stealth lite" or just another version of a time trial mission.

AI:
The military AI is awful. You can run up the side of a building in the middle of a base (while in military disguise) and not set off any alarms. The only soldiers worth worrying about are the ones with rocket launchers. The Hunter AI is awful and relentless, but once you upgrade your powers they are taken out easily.

Graphics:
Decent, with no lag given the amount of activity on screen. There's a good assortment of civilians but the Infected, soldiers, and buildings all blend together.

Final Thoughts:
Prototype succeeds at being a violent playground. Unfortunately, you're playing here alone. The game is populated by lifeless dolls and the player character is a one-dimensional, over-powered monster. If you're looking to blow off some steam, rent this game, but I guarantee you'll be blasting through the cutscenes in no time. if you want a more immersive, replayable game, play Infamous. You get all the cool powers and you can actually shape the game world around you. It seems small but an injection of emotion could have made all the difference in Prototype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

King of the SANDBOX!!!

posted by ElecDyNomt (NEWMARKET, NH) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

NYC is big in this game, movement is tricky as fist but don't get frustrated it IS worth getting used to, plus the upgrades for your in game powers get more impressive as you go.

If your not a fan of game that rely heavy on twitch skill (Final Fantasy people this is directed at you) you may not have fun with this one. Battles are frantic and very verybloody (did I mention there is a LOT of blood and gore in this game?)

Upgrade system is sweet enuf but using the moves in battle (once you get used to it and play around mixing different attacks, powers, and moves) it is total hack'n slash bliss.

You can also learn to use the military hardware like tanks and copters adding yet another flavor of tasty fun to mix, you can even call in air strikes. All this is accomplished but absorbing special targets like the "tank driver" then you can drive the tank and so on.

If you like God of War and GTA4 but found either/or (both) felt I bit flat or way too short (wish they made GoW a sandbox game?) than your gonna love this game it's huge and replay value is high. I love this freak'n game! Why haven't you played this game yet?!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ITS THE KEY!

posted by GreyFox (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If i had a czar for every time in this game someone said Key, i would have enough to fill Obamas' cabinet.

Idea : A
Story : F
Game Play : C
Acting : D
Immersion : F

The idea of a new york zombie esque infested city is a great idea if planned out and executed well. In this game most of the missions were more so : Kill X of X's, or Destroy X buildings, it made it feel more of a grind than anything else, more like questing in that bad MMO.

Also, the complete utter destruction of immersion, having the military looking for you, and flying around right next to them and consuming someone right next to them, or even picking up cars and them not saying to themselves "No... no that can't be the guy we're looking for" The whole ability to fly past anyone without them even raising an eye brow really ruined the immersion for me, or barreling through pedestrians or zombies and the soldiers not even noticing. Also, the buildings were basically just templates painted on there, no windows or anything.

I just finished playing Infamous back to back and then Prototype back to back right after, so maybe this is a little biased, but compared to infamous, I'm not looking forward to the sequel. On the other hand, i am looking forward to the sequel to Infamous.

The 5 second plot videos which explained nothing, and didn't even tell you where to go on a mission also ruined the immersion. Randomly knowing EXACTLY where to go to find the one phone booth in New York City that had that ONE specific cell phone under it was a "little" far fetched.

Over All Rating : Rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I was Misled

posted by XanMan (EVELETH, MN) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I first was going to get a PS3 early this year, I asked some folks what games they'd recommend and I listed off a few I was definitely getting. The few I listed were Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction (I wanted to play this before "ACiT," obviously,) Uncharted (Ditto,) Prototype, the newest WWE RAW vs. Smackdown, and Burnout Pardise. People said, "No, don't get Prototype, get inFamous instead." Well, I didn't end up buying either, because I found a couple of used games to get instead, however, listening to this advice, I put both games on my Gamefly list, but inFamous a notch higher.

Boy, was that a mistake. inFamous is a tedious, endlessly frustrating game with a lot of graphic issues. It was probably released at least 6-8 months before it really should have been. It had a killer ending that sets up for some sequels that will hopefully have some of the bugs knocked out of it, and I'll give it a try just to see where the story leads, but I won't be so intent on trying to beat it if it's as terribly irritating as the current one. Prototype, however? Prototype is an amazing game that I could play over and over. In fact, it's the first game I've seriously considered pressing the "KEEP" button for. It is absolutely tremendous.

Not only do you acquire the ability to practically fly, which is a freaking rush, you can also run up buildings, which is almost more fun than flying and is a trip in itself, but you get to drain people and steal their identities, because you can realign your body into just about anything, which leads to your primary offensive and defensive weapons. You can create a shield or wrap yourself in living armor. You can also generate claws on your hands, turn your hands into hammers, or even into a giant sword-like blade. Besides that, you can absorb army officers and steal their weapons, tanks, and helicopters. Plus there's a compelling story all the way through. For what more could you ask?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The (mature) game that keeps giving!

posted by PinkDyno (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I actually chose to keep this game and I'm very happy with my purchase! Sandbox games are great, because you have a freedom that other games don't give you. There is so much to see and do, and prototype does not disappoint in that regard.

I beat Infamous before I rented this one, and I really loved Infamous, but unless you were following the quests and side quests, it was actually a bit boring. Prototype fills in that need. If I'm not doing quests or side quests, I am causing havoc and battling infected and non-infected alike all for the sheer joy of doing it. There are things to do outside of the assigned story and that's what I love about it. I can play it for a few hours and realize that I really didn't get any of the story accomplished and I'm completely OK with that. OR I can go right to the story if I wanted to. It's my choice - and THAT'S a sandbox game to me.

I think the powers are cooler in Prototype than in Infamous, and more interesting to utilize, as each have their own uses. There are combos and different ways to use them. Yes, the side quests are very repetitive and off-story compared to Infamous, but still entertaining and more challenging as you go.

This game is very graphically violent and has a lot of filthy language, so if this is for your kids or you have younger children, I would not recommend it. This is definitely a mature title. The main character pretty much has no morals, either.

The story isn't spectacular and it's kind of all over the place and a bit fuzzy at times, but really what you are getting is the game play and something that is entertaining for hours. Even after you beat the game you get to go back and do it over again with all your powers from what I understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really fun game.

posted by Enhasa (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I like this game's storyline and concept a lot. Replay value isn't that great, but since this is a rental its ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT.

By not having great replay value, I mean that once u clear the whole storyline, stuff is very repetitive and there are no goals for u to do anything unlike GTA series.

On the positive note, this game is absolutely amazing. I liked every single aspect of it.

If there is anything the game should improve on, the developers should make it so that players are made to use different body modes at times instead of just clawing or slashing everything with the blade the whole game. Destruction of bases should get harder over time, and hives definitely should have some method of retaliation against air combats. And also more/different types of monsters!

Do rent this. I honestly didn't want this game at the start. Was hoping for M.A.G to be shipped to me but I got this instead. However I am so happy gamefly sent this to me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but not much replay value.

posted by ilickwalls (DELAVAN, IL) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

It was a good game. Very apocalyptic and outlawish with the added ability of being able to fly over new york and kill or break anything you wish. The only thing that bothered me is when you unlock new+ mode and have all your powers it takes away all the fun. This game works off of the mystery "what happened to me?" angle, so playing a second time just kinda sucks.

Original playthrough 4.5/5
Second Playthrough 2/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't live up to the hype. AT ALL.

posted by PolloRojo (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I saw that another reviewer mentioned that Prototype was in the works for 7 years. If that's true, they must have finished it after a year, and spent the other 6 trying to figure out the title, packaging, and release date.

I honestly played games 3 or 4 years ago that were more entertaining, with better stories, and similar visuals.

In Prototype's defense, the game IS thrilling for a little while, but it gets entirely too repetitive and boring WAY too quickly.

I know there are already tons of comparisons with InFamous, but the games came out a couple of weeks apart, so there are comparisons to be made.

If you play Prototype first, you'll enjoy it, until you play InFamous, and realize it's the all-around better game. If you play InFamous first, you may only play Prototype for a few hours before the gameplay becomes stale.

In it's own right, the game isn't so bad, but it just doesn't stack up the hype previews and trailers gave it. The abilities you can gain are awesome, but this game gives you what I like to call the "Need For Speed Warmup."

Essentially, you start the game with almost every single ability you'll get by the end of the game. You can dominate easily, and see everything the game offers, all in the first scene. Since you rented it, you could send it back right then.

It's just like the more recent NFS games. You get one of the fastest cars in the game, and you're put into a race you couldn't possibly lose. Why spend the next 10 hours of gameplay trying to fight cheap AI through a hundred or so missions/races, only to get the same car back?

That's the same thing Prototype did. After the first 20 minutes, I'd seen it all, and I just felt like sending the game back.

So I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the best ive seen in a while!!

posted by giovanni (DECATUR, AR) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is one of the better games out in the last 5 years! gots alot of action, alot of gore, and you can roam and do pretty much whatever you want in the game. i gave it an 8 out of 10.. but this game is not for kids its got way to much gore in it. but i recommend it too a older audience..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A whole lot of fun

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game suffered so much, due to coming out at the same time as inFamous did. The reviewers game inFamous a better score, and I believed them at the time. When I finally played Prototype, I knew that I was duped, and Prototype is the better game.

To start, the direct action in this game is that of a brawler/button masher. I normally hate brawlers. But, this game feels so much deeper than any of the regular brawlers I've seen in the past. The "city of New York" (it's way to small to be an accurate mapping) is completely open from the start. You can start finding your collection orbs from the start. As you progress through the story, you unlock side jobs, such as fighting military or infected forces, finding people with knowledge of your past, flying to land in the bullseye, and speed races. When you unlock them, you even get military tanks and helicopters, which are a lot of fun to just cause a rampage around town. The story is also pretty good, in the sci-fi comic book sort of way. I was really impressed by how often the story arc kept changing directions, surprising me all the time.

So, since I opened by mentioning inFamous, how are they the same/different? Both have similar story setups, where a man suddenly has amazing powers. Both can scale tall buildings, and will learn the ability to fly. Both are open world sandboxes, but Prototype's map is completely open from the start. inFamous is more of a platformer, with a shooting mechanic thrown in, whereas Prototype is a brawler (you can use guns, but normally won't). inFamous has a lame morality system that gives you a reason to play a second time, whereas Prototype allows for increased difficulty to make you play a second time. If you're looking at time of play, 2 playthroughs of inFamous will take less time than a single playthrough (on normal which does have some difficult parts, hard unlocks after beating normal) of Prototype, assuming you find/do everything in your first playthrough of both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Experience as expected

posted by CJinBrksid (TULSA, OK) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros- This game has some really fun concepts.. sprinting up buildings, awesome weapons... It's progressively more difficult, which is nice since you feel like you're being forced to play smarter and better all the time. The story line is good, and easy to skip if you're in a hurry. The missions themselves seem to be set up where you can start one and be done fairly quickly.. using EXP was very easy. Didn't have to read the manual or look up help because the overall gameplay is so easy to learn but difficult to master.

Cons- After hours of this game and numerous missions done I finally got bored. After a while the novelty of what this guy can do wears off and the missions seem to be the same basic thing over and over again. Also, the gliding can be difficult to master especially when trying to land somewhere, target something, etc. That's basically it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Challenging .. But Awesome !!!

posted by explicit1 (LARGO, FL) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

120+ hours of game play to get the platinum trophy , you must want to slaughter a great deal of people to play this game , very frustrating until you figure out the controls , very tough missions , very addictive , you will love it , just give it a chance >
Great game , A must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Cool, but could have been better

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Graphics 8, Sound 7, Controls 7, Story 5, Overall gameplay 7.

Flying around the city consuming and killing can be quite fun. Though the straight story line of the game is short (beat it in about 10 hrs), the missions are challenging, fun and there's also several side-missions that are standard and repetitive. The powers and weapons are very cool, although I found I really only used the big sword and the whipfist. The combat controls are a bit lacking but at the same time satisfying. The story is very weak, almost pointless, I honestly didn't even care about the story or even pay any attention to cinematics. Overall I recommend this game, it's worth a rental, I might buy if its below $10-15.

Likes: Combat gameplay was great, nothing like ripping apart bodies with your mutant powers. Or hijacking tanks and helicopters around the city.

Dislikes: Bad story, I literally didn't care about the character or the story with the typical video game villain twist at the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Story is a mess.

posted by Crash44 (OREGON CITY, OR) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Prototype almost had me during the opening sequence. The game throws you right into fighting a hoard of soldiers and mutants, using the start as a tutorial for all the controls. Then the backstory kicked in trying to explain what was going on, and it lost me.

The story is a completely dis-jointed mess. The bulk of the story is delivered in the Web of Intrigue, where you select nodes and go get the person it tells you to, absorbing them for the info. The rest is delivered in cut scenes that look awful, don't tell you much, and have a ton of loading screens. When you do complete a web node, you get.. another cut scene and loading screen! The whole web of intrigue feels tacked on to add extra playtime. All of the web missions could be regular missions and they could do away with what is essentially a second world map. The story is too broken up to follow clearly and it's annoying.

Ignoring the story problems I went onto the missions. There are some fun assignments in Prototype, some that drive the story and some that are just for scores. Overall the combat is ok, but the controls are troublesome. Pulling of some of the moves for simple movement were difficult. You have to hold down THREE buttons to do a glide for example. Some of the missions early on make use of the enemies weapons to complete. You can pick them up, just don't try it if any are nearby! Swarms of enemies usually keep spawning until you do what you need to do while the targeting for grabbing items, and for shooting, and for your powers is sketchy. Even using the provided lock on button you'll still miss a bit too much. Prototype is a game where you can find some fun if you can overlook the problems, which I couldn't.

If Prototype had seen a few more months development it might have been a keeper. As it is it's strictly a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Delivers the goods, but could use a little more

posted by Misfit77 (DENVER, CO) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

All in all, Activision delivered a rabble rousing, blood soaking adventure that wreaks of all of the best elements gamers have grown to love. From the beautifully landscaped skyline of Manhattan to the often irritated civilian lurking the streets below, and the sandbox open world calls upon my favorite aspects of GTA. The storyline is great, though cheesy at times, it calls upon a truly human character in the mutant Alex Mercer, struggling to find out his identity while attempting to rid the city of hordes of monsters and corrupt military. I especially loved the sarcasm involved in its portrayal of the ubiquitous over-patriotic American way of life.

While the gameplay proved entertaining overall, I have to say it was also...well, confusing. At times button mashing reigned supreme over my preferred method of well synchronized one-on-one combat. Alex's powers were very creative and fun, when I could figure out how to use them, which often proved difficult considering all of the fighting that I needed to do without time to perfect the button sequences. The graphics were average, sometimes seeming oversimplified. But at no time did I end up stuck in a wall or frozen in a fight sequence, which tends to happen in a lot of fast paced action games. My biggest disappointment of all though, was the repetitive nature of the missions. So many games lately get caught up in single missions that are spread throughout, with varying minor differences. It proved to get boring once again in Prototype. And unless you are a psychopath that wants to cut everything you see into millions of pieces, once the game is over, the replay value is significantly reduced unlike it's counterpart GTA.

Prototype delivers action, a solid story, and a main character that is two parts superhero and two parts killer. I would like to see a sequel to this game as I think Activision has a solid franchise to build on. Maybe make the game play a little less chaotic and the missions a bit more diverse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overhyped

posted by TheKara (RIVER OAKS, TX) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is extremely boring story wise, and mission wise. The only interesting parts about the game is the powers and the GTA style rampages.

Having to get the majority of the story through the web of intrigue was a horrible idea. I mean I want the story told to me in a story line cut scene, or voice overs while I am doing something. I don't want 15-20 second clips that make no sense because I have forgotten the previous one already, and will of forgotten the newest one by the time I run across the next guy. Not to mention none of the webs seem to mesh.

For powers alone I would give it a 7 out of 10. Story drags it down to maybe a 5 out of 10. In the end its like playing Hulks Ultimate Destruction with an over powered but less interesting version of Venom or Carnage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Aug 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty cool and has a pretty good story line. You can climb buildings, fly and pretty much destroy everything in sight. The controld tend to get in the way of themselves and sometimes do not respond or respond when you haven't pressed any buttons. Also, why the developers put "new game" as the default selection on the start menu is beyond me. Its really annoying. The game took around 10 hours with no side missions and is worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skippable

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love sandbox games. I love just randomly running around and breaking stuff and killing people. Which, in Prototype, you are not only allowed to do, but encouraged -- nay, required -- to do. You play Alex Mercer, a severely altered amnesiac who can absorb other people's flesh, turn his limbs into giant knives, run up buildings, and fly by shooting jets of blood out of his wrists and ankles. It is pretty darn cool to run around Manhattan without having to worry about all those stupid buildings getting in the way, and since you run faster than any car, it's also fun to just plow through throngs of pedestrians while your dude casually swats them all away.
The biggest problem I had with it was the targeting system. There are big enemies that Alex's knife-arms are essentially useless against, so you have to pick up giant things like trucks and air conditioning units and fling them at said baddies. But as soon as you have the heavy thing in your hands and are ready to throw it, the targeting system immediately locks onto some random guy 5 blocks away while completely ignoring the giant monster taking up your entire field of vision. This happens consistently, too.
Another thing: the combat is clumsy. Button-mashing third-person melee I can handle, but when you're running around (which you have to do constantly due to every shooting at you constantly) and you have to turn and face a guy, it's virtually impossible to face the direction you want. The camera can't keep up with any sudden course changes so you end up having to lunge at things just off-screen in the vain hope that you'll hit the one guy you're actually trying to hit. And if you come into contact with any surfaces off-screen, you will end up doing a somersault, a wallrun into a corner, or a little pirouette while a giant monster takes off 100% of your health. And God help you if you encounter any sort of overhang. Bottom line, combat is lousy and missions are tedious. Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse