Rent Prototype 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Prototype 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.0

3476 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Flipping_Fish (SCIENCE HILL, KY) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing. Straight up OP awesomness. Great challenge and COOl powers. All round great game. Must get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it a good game, i like it very much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prototype 2 better than the first!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the first prototype and didn't see how they would top it but they did.
Sound- sharp and clear.
Controls- smooth and easy
Graphics- amazing
World- stunning and grim
Story- captivating
Gameplay- epic
I'm not joking when I say everything about this game blew me away and the best part about any game it was fun, entertaining, and action packed, I gave this game a perfect 10/10 and I don't do that often so I highly recommend you put this in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killing machine

posted by explicit1 (LARGO, FL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I love this game , the controls work great , the graphics are great , pretty good story , and unbelievable power. If you play this game , get ready to be a unstoppable killing machine , awesome and fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why you play

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

How much you like this game depends on why you liked the first one. If you just love elbow dropping and one-shotting a tank, you'll love this one. If you want engaging story telling and relatable characters, you might want to give this one a pass.

Still, one shotting a tank is pretty damm cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Sequal

posted by rodfong591 (ESTES PARK, CO) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

so i am i huge fan of the prototype franchise and i LOVED prototype. i wan disapointed when i found out you dont play as alex mercer in this one BUT when i played it i was sucked into it. missions are great. awsome powerups and powers. great graphics. and of course the story was one of the best storylines i have EVER heard i would give this 100 if i could give it more than a ten. great rental, great buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by talentoverflow (WOODSTOCK, GA) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

First off I just want to say the game isn't horrible. It just doesn't live up to the first Prototype. The main problem that I have is the combat. All the weapons in the first prototype had extra combos you could get for each weapon. Which allowed for a more wide verity of destruction with each weapon. This made the game extremely addicting, because it gave you so many ways to blow stuff up. Now in prototype 2 you have 3 basic attacks with each weapon. Mashing the attack button 3 to 4 times to do a basic combo, hold the attack button to do a stronger attack, or jump in the air and press the attack button fall from above and hitting you enemy. That it.

In the last Prototype you made points for everything you did. (take down a plane get points, finish a mission get points, blow up everything in a 5 mile radius points). Then you went and spent those points on what ever upgrades were available stealth, health, speed, new attacks, ect. Plus you did have to do mission you could just run around and destroy stuff. Then be able to upgrade all you want. Prototype 2 has annoying leveling up system. You get XP now, and then once you get enough you improve health, speed, ect. The worst part about the XP is you get a little for everything you do like 2-50 XP for killing stuff. Then you get like 30,000 XP for completing a mission. So if you want to be faster or stronger your pretty much forced to do the missions. instead of having the real open world feel of just running around having fun.

Also the missions are repetitive. Let me explain about 50% of what your going to be doing. Consume a guy take his form. Use his body to get into a base/hive. Kill marked things inside. Leave then lose alert.

Here are some good things about it Prototype 2 though. It looks pretty good, has a good story line, and most people will have fun playing it defiantly if they're new to the series. My only problem is it was a big step backwards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful graphics

posted by Irish711 (FOLSOM, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Activision did very well creating this game. The one presonal effect that stood out in this game was the graphics. The cut-a-ways made you feel as if you are actually in the game. The blood and gore really played a part in it as well. All i can tell you is that you MUST play this game. The only downside is that there isnt much game life after the main story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first

posted by father2six (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Prototype 2 is one of the best new game out to date. I have not been able to put it down. If you liked Prototype you will love Prototype 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh...not my thing

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
In all fairness I didn't like the first prototype, but I thought I'd give this one a try. It just didn't do it for me.

Simply put Prototype 2 is a 3rd person view, open world, button masher. You do feel like a killing machine. You are extremely powerful. If you liked the first one I think you'll like this one just as much or better.

If you didn't like the first one I don't think enough has changed for you to enjoy #2.

For those with kids this game is filled with profanity. If you don't want them talking like drunken sailors you shouldn't let them play this game.

Pros
==============
1) you feel awesomely powerful
2) graphics are good
3) interesting things like shape shifting and consuming

Cons
==============
1) camera angles were a little clunky at times
2) tons of profanity
3) story is only okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok nothing great!!

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Apr 25, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you did not care much for the frist Prototype then you wont like the 2nd. Has some cool kill moves alot of blood upgrades are Nice- But the missions most of them are just a Bore. Search for this Doctor search for this Guy so on and so on. Its worth playing but not worth 60 bucks!! Great Rent are a nice buy at 24 bucks sorry folks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome sequel

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 25, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Simply fun... This sequel is great, continuing from the first Prototype. It plays as a third-person free roam game that keeps an easy to learn, intuitive gameplay with a great story and combat system that allows you to play however you like.

The story is about James Heller.
Returning from leave in the Military -- Sargent James Heller had a family waiting for him at his home in New York. Anxiously anticipating to get home, Heller listen as his family's problems started as Black Watch reappears to counter measure the Mercer virus outbreak.
The Mercer Virus was thought to be eradicated, but a spanning new outbreak had emerged that was rapidly spreading to the public of New York.
Heller finally makes it home, only to find his family killed by Alex Mercer. Filled with hate and anguish, Heller reinstated into the military to hunt Alex Mercer down.

You will have to purchase this title to get a new online feature called Radnet. It is a dynamic leader board that gives awards and extra missions, while online. It gives additional missions, but doesn't interfere with the story line. It makes the title replayable as new activities and missions are added routinely.

The new title is great, they still keep the same control elements and keep the combat simple. The town evolves dynamically as, so does you. Instead of requiring you to stop and upgrade your stats... They implemented the ability to popup when you are to upgrade/evolve -- It was a great addition, for many times you would forget about needing to add new features to your character as you progressed through the game. You can do everything by stealth or go all out Rambo-style.

This game is awesome in every aspect and is definitely worth a rent and purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Ending Glitch

posted by brandondale (KEYPORT, WA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Even though, as far as I know, Activision says there is not a glitch, there is. after you complete a misssion, sometimes the next mission will disappear. My suggestion is to make a new save game after every mission so that you can go back a little bit and continue. I did not do that and got half way done with the game when the glitch got me. It is a fun game, but not fun enough to start over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its what crackdown 2 should have been...

posted by GRIDLOC (MURRIETA, CA) May 2, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Equal parts fun and frustration

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

"Prototype 2" returns us to an infected New York, except this time instead of playing the first game's protagonist Alex Mercer you now play a returning soldier named James Heller. Heller's wife and daughter are killed, and Mercer infects him with what is now called the "Mercer virus". So Heller now becomes a killing machine, with increasingly stronger powers and abilities as you progress through the game. The game is divided into three zones (you can backtrack to a zone after you've finished all of the main story missions via a fast travel point called an air bridge), and there are 32 main missions divided among them. In addition to the main missions, there are 12 side missions to tackle and collectibles to find. Controls are fairly smooth once you get the hang of them, though on occasion they'll delay in engaging (the glide mechanic is good for this). Heller's hunt ability, a sonar like pulse he can emit when tracking a target, is a neat idea, but in practice it proves to be more confusing than helpful. This leads to plenty of frustration when your mission is to find a certain target. Thankfully, most of those are side tasks that you can ignore if you want. Voice acting is fairly good, though the dialogue is especially profanity laden, so keep that in mind if you have youngsters in the house. The story is decent but forgettable, as it basically retreads the same tale from the first game but with a different lead. Missions don't vary much- infiltrate a base, steal an identity, kill things- but they're fairly fun. The camera, just like the first game, can get a bit crazy in chaotic combat. Graphics are nice and detailed, though the print is a bit small and can be hard to read. This game makes for a good rental, as it's a fun way to kill time but it's hardly a memorable experience. Heller as a character just doesn't make a big an impact, as, say, Cole from the inFamous games. Still, it's worth the time to play. Even if you'll forget it soon after you return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dated

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Is it just me or is this the same game Activision has been pumping out since Spiderman 2. I'm getting a little sick of seeing the same New York similar city scape that I've seen for the last decade of Activision super hero games. If you've played prototype 1, the incredible hulk, or any of the free roaming Spidermans, you've basically already played this one.

Pretty much, the game goes like this. You run, jump and glide your way to one of the many (and I mean many) military bases that all look like clones of each other, and devour a certain soldier to disguise yourself. There's a short cutscene of a bunch of random images and some over the top, underwritten, overly acted dialogue. Then you proceed into the base and devour a few more soldiers, before you're told to disguise yourself again so you can exit the base and start the whole process over. There is no variation to that. That is what you do.

10 years ago this game would have been great, but now it just feels dated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

prototype 2 sucks

posted by sashilz (BROOKLYN, NY) May 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

this game is over rated and boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fight, Consume, Repeat

posted by StoicJapheth (CHARLESTON, SC) May 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

Graphics are good. Gameplay is good. Storyline is acceptable. Enjoyed playing it for the first hour or so. Then the repitition of of missions and upgrades made me turn it off and play something else. The game never really grabbed me and made me want to know whats next. Its forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game problem

posted by MegaJoy (BELZONI, MS) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The Game was skipin bad so i didnt finish playin it,so thats why sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Platinum

posted by cgtjr (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Cool game. Great story. It was easy to platinum. Only 1 and a 1/4 playthroughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Decent game made bad by cursing

posted by finder (EWING, NJ) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I really enjoyed the first game in this series. The power set and gameplay was fun. The second game seems like it follows the formula of the first game, but unfortunately I just couldn't enjoy it for the amount of cursing. There was cursing in the first game of course, which I was fine with, but in this game it's almost literally every line (and most of the time multiple times a line). While I could have played it, I just don't care to play a game that can't have better dialog. I'm usually not adverse to cursing (though I think you can creatively avoid it, if you try), but usually it's not used to an extent that it actually dumbs down the storyline and makes you feel like you're playing with thirteen year old boys who just discovered the F word. The writing just seems lazy as a result.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by Pedo_Bear (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game was really brutal
it is very free range and a epic story line around 19 hours of game play and just insane killing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Free roaming pleasure

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Although the game starts slowly and overly emphasizes its makers' love of their own mythology, it becomes very enjoyable as soon as Heller begins to accumulate skills, abilities and diversity of missions. An absolute joy to smash, grab, float, soar, crash, bash and dash. Suggestion: Finish collectibles first and then the stars. That leaves you powerful and fierce for all the missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad...

posted by Mrdjnes (MIAMI, FL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

It's a pretty good game but I didn't like all the different powers you have...gets confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome

posted by dangus1924 (NEPTUNE, NJ) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Awesome awsome awsome, but the cursing is overrated. he curse 30 times in sentence...... "mother beeper u cant beeping kill beeping me beep beep beep, i will have beep my beeping way beeper!!! other than that i like".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse