Rent Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

889 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So much action and better than they say

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

OK Who's reviewing this game? Did they even play the actual game or just the demo? Well maybe just not fans. That said this is a fine game and extremely frenzied with non stop cosmic fire fighting action. It's in space so you can't expect a lot from level design, its...space dummy, there's nothing in space. But wow the ships look really nice and have a Gundam feel for those who remember.
The story is fair but contrived, and as you might expect poorly dubbed. I'll say the worst thing about this game is the music. what the heck is wrong with Square Enix? They use the worst, cheesy music that might make someone want to shove a pencil in their own ear. Bad music and voice acting aside, Project Sylpheed is a very well executed space fighting game. Truly intense action, fair levels of difficulty, and lots of outfitting of your ship. You have plenty of ways to strategize with the careful selection of appropriate weapons, all somewhat predictable but fun nonetheless.
some people may find the HUD confusing, but given a little time and attention through the tutorial, its not nearly as hard as if you just try to play with out learning the controls first hands on. Is Project Sylpheed flawed? Yes. But it is also a lot of fun for those who like sci fi, or arcade like aircraft fighter games, and easily worth the modest price tag of $39.99 new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT MUST PLAY, BUT WAY 2 SHORT

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My title says it all!
I cant give it more than a 8 because you can beat it very fast a few hours, and playing it again (you can keep weapons etc...) only offers for trying to achieve everything which there is plenty of.

Story: 4/5 Great heart pulling anime like Sci Fi story, but WAYYY too short.

Gameplay: best space game I ever played/ read about, aka including ones coming in future, offers plenty of styles of play though mainly differnt MachineGun/Lazer & Multi Guided Rockets & Anti Big Ship Missles, but you can experiment with other things instead of All weapons like bossters and cartidges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game and I have a love/hate relationship.

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Jun 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At times this game is fantastic. Flying around in space taking on squadrons of sometimes 50 or more ships at a time with insane weapons like nuke and emp mines, rockets, cannons, rail guns, and missles that lock can lock on up to 60 enemies at a time can be incredibly fun.

But, the frequent time limit set on most of the missions is kind of ridiculous. The game won't tell you how long you have to beat the level. But, after a certain amount of time, your teammates will tell you, "In 3 minutes it will be impossible to continue combat." Almost always for absolutely no reason. One time, there was only 1 enemy left, with a entire armada of ships attacking it. And there's me about 2 seconds away from a lock on. Yet they retreated and I failed the mission. How exactly was that impossible?

Pro:

Great graphics
Fast, frantic space combat
Nearly the only space shooter released in years
Entertaining anime cutscenes
Tons of enemies on the screen at once
Epic Battles
Smooth Controls

Cons:

Time limits are annoying and really take away from the experience.
Cutscenes are entertaining, but are a little over the top.
A lot of the missions are very similar. Kill all enemies, escort warships, destroy battleships, etc.
Each mission have sub objectives, but the game never tells you what they are.

Overall though, I really enjoyed Project Sylpheed. And hey, its a next gen space shooter. You don't see many of those nowadays. So if you are a fan of the genre or if you ever felt like a little Macross Plus in your Ace Combat, give Project Sylpheed a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh..

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had the promise of being entertaining based on the tutorial missions and the very nice looking cut scenes. Unfortunately the game play is simply boring through and through. Yes, you're flying a space ship. Yes, you can customize it and add new weapons. It all still boils down to locating a little orange objective marker on your reticule and holding the right bumper until it explodes and is immediately replaced with yet another orange objective marker.

I played it for as long as I could but there is nothing exciting or fun about this game. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK for renting

posted by XisRAW (CRESTWOOD, IL) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is OK. It does get a little boring after awhile. If they had it where you could do ground combat every now and then it would be good. Can't see myself buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth giving it a shoot

posted by Lovelylill (GARDEN CITY, MI) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A few thing that bugged me when i was reading other reviews was that it was to easy to kill ships all you had to do was lock on and shoot well then someone must be either on easy mode or they didnt play it long enough. Another is how confusing it, yes i agree the first time i played it was but after the tutorial i got a better feel of the game. The graphics are amazing but the storyline at little over used. The best part is destroying the enemy with bigger badder guns. Worthy game for renting but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Close to Wing Commander / X-Wing

posted by DaemonEA (DAVIS, CA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the X-Wing & Wing Commander games on the PC. The space shooter flight sim is something that has largely non existant today. But this game does the closest thing I have played in years to the forementioned games. It is not great, the controlls are not good, the animations and story dont make much sence but it gave me what I was looking for ... as close to Wing Commander and Xwing I have played in years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could've been amazing if everything was so distant

posted by P05TF03TU5 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If only the ships were bigger and closer this game could've been awesome. Instead, everything is extremely far away and you're basically shooting at text and a big lock on cursor. It doesn't help that all the missions are in space because it's quite hard to see the actually ships with it being so dark.

Pros:
Nice amount of customization
Plenty of decent cutscenes
Missions can become chaotic (closest thing to Macross)
Missions are broken into 3 parts
Missions can be skipped and replayed
Downloadable content
16+ missions

Cons:
Graphics, although nice, aren't quite next-gen
You're shooting text for the most part
Lack of variety in gameplay and enviroments
Lack of original Japanese Audio track

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'll blow you all to Hades!

posted by Nightblade (OOSTBURG, WI) Sep 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like this game, the fun part of the game is taking out capital ships "piece by piece" blazing though armadas energy beams and anti-aircraft fire flying everywhere the delivering a volley of rockets to the bridge of the enemy flagship... good times :)

Unfortunately there is really only one "dogfight" in the entire game (which I ended in one shot btw using bullet-time and the grav cannon... was still pretty fun though).

There are way to many annoying weak fighters buzzing around and many of the sub objectives borderline on imposable thanks to infuriating mission formats.

example: to get the destroy all enemies sub-obj you must destroy every single enemy but if you destroy all the "objective" marked enemies first the mission will end. Doesn't seem like a big deal, just save them for last right? but if you ignore them they destroy your allies and you fail a different sub-objective, so the only thing to do is destroy most of them but not too many... else your allies will finish them off and end the mission! you also fail if you don't get the last kill. Thankfully sub-obj are totally optional but if your going for 100% completion your in for a real nightmare no matter how good you are.

I finished it in 2 days and it has no multi player I wound recommend it as a rental but not as a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

takes some time to get used to it, but...

posted by NormalGuy (ARLINGTON, VT) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I downloaded the demo for free from Xbox Live and played that same level over and over until I got an "A" rating. I was hooked. If you have any doubt about renting this game, I suggest DLing the demo.
The graphics are quite good for the size/ volume of space in which you play. In fact, they are so good, that I sometimes feel like I am floating through the infinite empty that IS space. Granted, the 360 degree playable area can be dizzying, but there is a leveling feature (hold B and press down on the left stick) to keep you on track.
Sinking enormous battleships is very satisfying, and slowing down time to get a quick enemy ship is really fun, too. The weapon upgrading is well conceived and implemented, and commanding your wingmen is a nice little bonus, but not often critical.
The animeish storyline is cheesy (doesnt it kinda have to be?) but emotionally charged, and beautifully animated.
I think this game is really fun, and I am strongly considering keeping this rental, if it ever goes on sale through gamefly. Now all i need is a good walkthrough. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Boring...

posted by Sofresh412 (MCKEESPORT, PA) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game I thought hey this could be fun, getting new weapons and shooting down enemy ships. Sounds pretty good, but what you really do when you go into a mission is hold down lb and spin. It automatically locks on to ships, and when you let go they die. some of the missions take up to 45 mins and can get VERY tedious, shooting ships and more come back every 5 seconds. Not different ships, the same ones you just shot down basically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent plot, okay game play, mediocre targeting.

posted by Seablazer (SHOREHAM, NY) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good. I might even purchase it from Game Fly in the future.

After 4-5 levels, you'll learn the intricacies of the game, and how to make the wonky targeting system work for you. For some reason, lock on was spotty. Sometimes, you'll get a lock-on with an ASM, but instead of having the said listed 4 simultaneous lock-ons, you'll get 1, and then have to wait for a reload... Which brings me to another complaint...

The reloading of weapons is pretty lame. If I am carrying a missile that can fire up to four at one time, why is is that when I fire one, I have to wait 4-5 seconds to fire another when in actuality the remaining three missile are ready to go???

However, once you learn the system, controls, and flight characteristics, you'll probably enjoy yourself.

If you are looking for easy achievements, I'd look elsewhere. You will need to play this game through AT LEAST 11 times through to get all the achievements. This is due to one needing 10,000 shootdowns and shooting down enough enemies to total over 1 GIGATON of weight. This will take 11 or more play throughs... I sent the game back with 7 playthroughs and 700 megatons downed (1000MT = 1GT). You're other option is to just replay the Super Battleship levels 500 times. The reason being that each Super Battleship is equal to 1MT.

Good luck, and enjoy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Disappointing

posted by Muaraddim1 (PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I chose this game because I was looking for the next generation of space flight combat simulators. This definately is not it. I played about 1 hour of the game and decided it wasn't worth playing through. There's really not much to say about it, probably because I didn't play through much of it until I got disgusted and quit.

Star Fox fans, find something else. .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

visually pretty, bad maps, bad radar.

posted by Tigerland (ANNANDALE, VA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game...the weapons and lockon system were cool, the "padlock" tracking system was visually interesting, but gameplay and poor radar/maps made this tough...
you run out of missles and ammo quickly, and finding the resupply point is nearly impossible. Commands to your wingman are unnecessary, and the storyline is just too fractured. I got through about one level, and then it gave me a lame Escort mission that you see in every other game from Rogue Squadron and beyond...i put it back in the mail in just enough time to try and get the new Lost game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception

posted by CyberHater (SHERWOOD, AR) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although the Story line sucks, you will love the beautiful space battles and massive explosions! You can also update your arsenal with even more powerful weapons as the fight wages on. Although easy at times it is a great game for shooter fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too cumbersome

posted by cynderborg (FORT WASHINGTON, MD) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be too cumbersome to operate. It did not flow well to make it easy to operate the craft. The tutorials were great, but the operation of the spaceship left it a bad experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good, But Bad Rather

posted by TonyStark (DEERFIELD, MI) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am writing this as a person who is not a fan of ariel shooters to begin with. I enjoyed the Rouge Squadron titles, but that is my extent of interest in this genre. I really did not like like this game at all. The controls are all but impossible to master unless you are an actual space pilot whose ship uses an xbox controller to fly, which I doubt. And on top of that the game is hard. Really hard. The game play has no fluidity to it and feels like you are working instead of playing. Also there is no mission variety, you basically shoot other ships and that's it. Although weapon upgrades are cool, they aren't cool when the game is lame. The biggest tragedy of this game is it has some great cut scenes, and the voice acting is great. If the game was better I could see myself really getting into the game. But the game is all but unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun game but hard to figure out.

posted by KaosSwirl (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The games rather difficult, i played almost half the game until i realised by reading a walkthrough that i was supposed to recieve a achievment in almost all of the chapters through finishing main and secondary objectives within the missions. This soured me on the game because i wasnt going to re-play the 1st 4 missions just to recieve a achievment so i sent the game back.

perhaps if i read a walkthrough eariler, the game would have been more enjoyable. still i gave the game a 6 because it was fun just anti-climatic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is it worth it?

posted by militis (TULSA, OK) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the good qualities. Good looking graphics, you'll enjoy the visuals this game offers if you have an HD setup for your gaming system. The game play was very entertaining. The controls, while slightly complex, were effective and easy to master. The weapon upgrading, I found to be on of the motivating factors in finishing "just one more" mission.

However... the characters in the game were the single most annoying thing I have ever encountered in any video game. The voice over work was terrible. The dialog is comparable to mentally challenged children trying to discuss aero-dynamics. The story, to put it coarsely, is stupid. The missions were very repetitive and just annoying at times.

If you're looking for a somewhat complex space flight sim then you may enjoy this game. The Audio setup allows you to turn off the over whelming techno music, and annoying dialog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For skilled players only

posted by knifeisthe (BUENA PARK, CA) Aug 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Playing this game is a testament to your skill. It gets a little repetitive at times, but i think your skill level directly affects your enjoyment level. Story was good and controls are tight. Pretty good game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Project Sylpheed:AoD

posted by ZeroSix5 (PASADENA, CA) May 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Oh this game's story is pretty good but you kind of see the end coming from a mile. But the air combat or should I say space combat is impressive after you reach far enough in the game to get the Grav cannon the war ships and battleships kneel before your feet. the only advice I have for the game is don;t get mad fast. Thats what the game wants you to do so you'll screw up faster so take your time fighting. of course not the whole time because the game will tell you when time is almost up about 3 minutes before times up. The Battle CGS are AWSOME I for one thought of star wars when the ADAN forces and Terrans Fleets fought it was jaw dropping. I wanted more. Getting the achivements are easy if ur a noob then its gonna take a while. Some need to be on the hard setting or you'll have to finish all the sub objectives.

So finally i GIVE this wonderful game about
7 out of 10
Which is awsome but I wouldn't buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Nice

posted by khujo78 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know how ppl who usually play these games rate it...but i loved it. I have MANY 360 games from sports to FPSs to fantasy. This is the first game of its type that i've played and it pretty awesome. It can get confusing at first with all the light trails and missiles flying around, but it has a cool storyline and nice upgrades. I suggest going with what the game suggests as a loadout b/c it can leave u screwed if u start a mission with the wrong weaponsm i guess thats a downfall. But when you learn the controls, you just get caught up in the graphics and the interface, which allows you to command air squads while you do your own battles. Al on all, I loved the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some Strange Choices

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Square-Enix, who is quite capable of making excellent titles, didn't produce one for their X360 shooter, Project Sylpheed. Sure, there was a lot of promise, but promise is, to be generous, overrated.

The first problem is that Sylpheed has gone from a shooter to a Wing Commander clone (even sadder, it's better at it than Wing Commander Arena on XBLA). Making a core change to your game's style is a risky proposition and you need to have something compelling to back it up.

Wing Commander always had characters that you could care about. I'm not saying they were incredibly well drawn out, but the characters had some, you know, character to them. Not so much here. You're --- man, what is your name in this title? --- yeah, Katana.

Katana is a cool name. I have debated naming my first child Katana.

Here, though, Katana falls into what has become a somewhat tired cliche --- the mildly feminine male lead in a Square-Enix title. It's like clockwork --- the first guy you really control will end up looking like a runway model, which hampers the ability to draw people into a story where this fella manages to save humanity. He doesn't really have other notable characteristics.

When you're doing a Wing Commander game, a bad lead character is a bit of a problem.

Throw in a game with so much on the screen that it makes no sense. You almost never actually see other ships, so all you see on screen are vapor trails (technically impossible in space, if one were to nitpick) and lock-on reticles. Even the capital ships aren't exactly imposing. It's just lock on and fire missiles. Which isn't the makings of a really fun title.

The storyline is bland. Another problem in a storyline driven shooter.

Had they kept it as a pure shoot-em up, they would have been better off. But, Square-Enix wanted to try something different. Hopefully, they've learned their lesson.

Heck, why not give us a MASCULINE male lead just once? It'd be a nice change.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better then I thought.

posted by Garash (LAND O LAKES, FL) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It looked pretty cheesy, but it turned out to be a really good game. Lots of modes to your plane keeps it interesting as you can try out different weapons and such in different combos. Very Japanese, great graphics on the movies, and interesting story line. Rent it, it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not too good.

posted by Arbutis (SASSER, GA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Terrible, just terrible. Bad graphics, bad game play, and a terrible story line. What else is there?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse