Rent Project Gotham Racing 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Project Gotham Racing 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

4973 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid.

posted by SkullZero (PORT LUDLOW, WA) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off.. not a fan of the bikes. That being said, I still think it's cool that they are a part of the game. They aren't compelling enough for me to get into but, I can see how others might dig them.

The rest of the game, I do find compelling. The weather effects, the tracks, the cars. I'm not very into modifying cars and toying around with all that stuff, I just want a solid racer, which PGR 4 is.

It's my feeling that PGR 4 is a very accessible game for those not into tweaking every aspect of the cars.. it's for those who just want a pretty driving game with an authentic feel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by 2old2ply (O FALLON, IL) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally got a chance to play PGR4, maybe I'm a little bias but GRID is the best to me. Tried RacePro didn't like it. While this game is good, it doesn't put you in the real racing feel of a simulation or arcade game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty but definitely not peppy

posted by VIIIBabies (PALMER, MA) May 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this installation of PGR has a very polished look; the game-play is somewhat lacking. As the trend as of late seems to be, you are going to be playing a more simulator type of game as opposed to a straight up racer. Near everything in this game is stuff that the Gran Turismo series has been doing for years. You can find yourself quickly winning races and then near instantaneously find yourself in the losing end. The use of kudos for money is quite interesting; directly linking how much money you earn with how well you drive. Not bad for a rent, but definitely not worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lost its Touch

posted by MrSparks (CHERRY HILL, NJ) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PGR3 revolutionized the Drifting in racing games, it was perfect in that aspect. PGR4, it is extremely difficult to pull of drifting and E-Brake maneuvers. It killed the experience for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good racer

posted by Howler (EDGEWOOD, NM) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I highly recommend this game as a purchase, not just a rental. As far as racing titles go, this one is top notch. Nice handling and physics, a good choice of vehicles, and a very nice variety of challenges (not just 'come in 1st' but challenges such as earning the most kudos stars, knock down the most cones, etc).

The only big drawback in my opinion, and the only thing preventing me from giving this game a perfect score, is that the vehicles are not upgradeable. If you find a car you like that happens to be an E class car, don't expect to take it to C class races.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very well Done!

posted by Chuba23 (PALMYRA, VA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game surprised me alot. I was not much of a fan of Project Gotham Racing 3. But i decided to give this one a try because of the Bikes

To my surprise. it is so much fun, il sit down and play it and before i know it a few hours has passed. getting up to the top of the List is lots of fun. and the Kudous system is great too. It even comes with a free gamer picture that you can unlock in the PGR4 SHOP in the game menu.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Project Gotham Racing 4

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I don't know what to think anymore. PGR3 was my favorite for a long time. But I beat Forza Motorsport 2 (took almost 200 hours), and I'm so used to the more realistic driving now, that the PGR series seems like a cartoon. Graphically hands down PGR4 is the best. Forza looks great, but it's not the same.

My biggest beef is probably minor to most, but it's the menu system in PGR4, it's not very intuitive and didn't make sense. I didn't have a real sense of progress. The worst part is you really don't get any choice what track you race, where as PGR3 you pick whatever car whatever track once it's been beaten. I also liked the music and locations better in PGR3.

Most people who like the PGR series will like this game because it adds the other elements (rain, snow, bikes), but they aren't very fun because it's not realistic, and rarely do you play in the sun anymore. I found the 'normal' difficulty setting more difficult than past games. Seems almost perfect (maybe a little too tough).

I found the non-street racing tasks to be annoying this go around, I'd rather just race which is nice about Forza. Neither game is perfect. A mix of the two would be awesome, but I don't know that we'll see that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old same old

posted by mcss86 (HIGHLANDS, TX) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Typical arcade racing.

The graphics are fantastic. The car selection is pretty good, lots of very nice cars. Using bikes in the game with cars adds a nice touch.

But, as with all of these type of games the actual driving is unrealistic. If you like arcade racers then you will enjoy this. If you love sim based games like me, don't bother with it. If the 'physics' were at least consistent it would be okay, but they are not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing Visuals, Great Racing, Tons of Vehicles

posted by kdkiernan (TOPSFIELD, MA) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

PGR4 seems to have been lost in all the great games that have been coming out for the 360 lately. It plays the same as the last PGR game on the 360 but now it has a lot of weather effects. The weather will change from rain to snow in the middle of a race and the conditions affect handling drastically. The game also features a sort of World tour as the single player. You play through the calender with races several days through the months. While playing the single player you increase your world rank against the other computer players. As you get to the higher ranks, you open new events to compete in. I really enjoyed this new addition to the game.

There are so many cars and bikes to choose from. The physics and handling of each vehicle is unique and adds to the challenge and re-playability of the game. And they're not all the latest either - lots of classics, as well as very special cars such as the DeLorean, the Atom, and even the Tesla.

Overall, if you liked the last PGR or if you are a racing game fan, this is a game you should definitely pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's definately fun.

posted by ODST117 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'll start out by saying that this racer takes just a single turn to give you a feeling of accomplishment.

Just a single well-executed turn can put me in better mood.

This is the kind of feeling that Forza take a whole race to build up, but when Forza's comes, it's much more powerful.

I guess this explains the whole feel of the two games. PGR4 is definitely pick up and play, especially if you have played the others of the series. It also has long replayability value. I had to keep it because it was holding up slots for way too long. I'm still playing it today, and I've had it for almost a month now. It's a fun game, and the graphics are just unparalleled, at least in still value.

The game only goes at 30fps, and for those of you who swear that no one can tell the difference, for the first time i can, when i switch from Forza (which is a solid 60) to PGR.

Is this the best racer on 360? For me, it's a solid no. Forza 2 is the more rewarding, longer, and more testing of the games. It really is a realistic racer.

In the end it comes down to preference, in which case, you really can't go wrong with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For people who want to have fun this is the game f

posted by MyTZuS (WOODSTOCK, GA) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

For people who want to have fun this is the game for them.

Those that want realism, its not here.

So far PGR2 is the best out of this whole series and PGR3 the worst.

PGR4 has very nice maps. It has game modes along with the cars and bikes. And, the game is set up so that you can play it, race in multi ways or play the game modes like Bulldog, any way you want..... not how the developers in other games dictate that you should.

I'm pleasantly suprised by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great racer

posted by phishlive (COLUMBIA, MO) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is probably the best racer so far, and far into the future for the xbox 360. The main changes in this installment are bikes, and weather effects. PGR has always been cars only so some people may think they just through the bikes in at the end. Not even close, the bikes handle amazing and you can even do tricks on them. Ive found the bikes to be more fun than the cars! And then theres the weather effects. These are absolutely beautiful. The rain looks stunning, and snow very cool, and the lightning storms are incredibly realistic. Of course, when its wet your cars and bikes will slide more, same with snow and ice. Thers also fog. Everything can grow more gradual or fade away as the race goes on as well, like starting out with a light rain and towards the end of the race its pouring. Overall, best racer on the 360 and maybe any platform right now. It definitely deserves at least a rent and if you were a pgr3 fan, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Be Better

posted by mrbarky (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics were great, and I liked the tracks a lot. It's a bit arcade-ish for my taste, but that's OK. Where I felt it really fell down is in presentation. The menus are terrible. Why have a menu scrolling across the bottom like a CNN ticker when you can just list the options right there? OK, maybe I'm being trivial but this is like mystery meat navigation. Why hide stuff off screen?

Also, reading the car models was not easy (I have a std TV). Is there a reason for using a 16 pt font? Some were illegible even when standing right next to the TV. Do extra lines on the TV cost extra in development costs? Use more space!

I was also a little disappointed in that you can't just set up a race on any track (or at least a good many unlocked ones) and just go. I'm not really into career modes etc. This was probably the deal breaker for me in terms of actually buying the game.

It's worth renting though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PGR 4

posted by firemelon0 (OAK PARK, IL) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a good game. THe physics seemed close to how a real car would act. There were some down sides to the game though. One was that you can't customize your car other than what type of paint you want, and even the pant choices are limited to the car. The other is that no matter how well you do in a previous race in a series, you always start in last place. I didn't like that because sometimes you are facing tough opponents and just barely win and then you have to start at the end of the pack on the next race. I like how you can race bikes or cars in this game, even though sometimes when you are riding a bike the computer driver will knock you off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pg4

posted by locdogg39 (MEDINA, NY) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

no racing game is sweeter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PGR 3 part 2

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Oct 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This is nothing more than the same old same old. Not really much of a graphical upgrade, the weather effects are cool. The cars are sweet and the bike are too, but the crash physics are unrealistic just like the other iterations of this game. Just like PGR.2.3 and now 4 you tend to either bounce off of walls or get stuck on them when you wreck.

My major beef with this game is the Kudos system. I HATE kudos. I am a technical racer (Forza is my Forte) I hate being forced to drift and slide. I want to drive a technical line around the tracks but the developers force you at times to drift. I love the way you get kudos for the wins, I was happy to see that, but you are still forced to drift. I was hoping the Devs got rid of the forced drifting, but they didn't.

I really enjoy the bikes, they are alot of fun. The bikes will be the saving grace for this game.

There is nothing in this game to make me want to keep it for a while. For me it is a 1 weekend rental. A good rental, but not enough in it for me. Thanks to the cevelopers for the roughly 300 achievement points I got in the first hour of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PGR3 vs PGR4

posted by cleverone (GLENDALE, CA) Oct 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Not everything is better in its new version, I think this game lost its original feel, now it feels like another need for speed game with more real car graphics. I will play PGR3 as if PGR4 never was born! RIP PGR4 lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so great

posted by CMagalis (LAKEVILLE, MN) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Amazing graphics, but an extremely numb feel. Not quite as like-able as PGR3 or Forza 2 because the lack of choice in season mode. Cars do not react very realistically in this game. Also the in car view is much to "divided" feeling, as if you are looking through two monitors. Forza 2 is much more realistic because the cars have limits and real physics. My verdict is get a decent car in real life and go for a spin! Its much more enjoyable unlike racing games! Games like this give real cars unrealistic performance and put car enthusiasts to shame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow Project Gotham Racing 4 is hot

posted by xboxlive36 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 22 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

A 5 NO WAY THIS GAME IS HOT BEST RACING GAME OUT GAME PLAY 10 OUT OF 10 G 10 OUT OF 10 IT HOT MAN BUY IT IF YOU HAVE XBOX LIVE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE XBOX LIVE RENT IT BUT IT WILL SILL BE FUN FOR DAYS AND MORE WILL HAVE FUN AND SEE YOU GUYS ON XBOX LIVE LOOK FOR ME THE NAME IS philly450 some get some lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Favorite Racing Game!

posted by GhostRyder (MINNEOLA, FL) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I too was skeptical about playing PGR4, but this game is the most enjoyable racing game I have ever played - and I've played a lot of them! I own Forza 3, Grid, the DiRT games, and I can't tell you how many hours I've logged on the Gran Turismo series (on the PS1 & PS2), but none of those games provided me with more emotional satisfaction than this game.

I reluctantly rented Race Pro before I rented PGR4, and you couldn't find 2 other games that are farther apart on the spectrum of fun. Race Pro was drab and dismal, while PGR4 is animated and intense. The races in Shanghai in the wet are glorious, with the neon lights reflecting off the pools of water along the streets. The skyscrapers in NY look photo realistic, and can be very distracting while you're screaming along at 180+ mph. The best feature, and the one that truly immerses you in the game, is the weather effects. You are not limited to just rain or dry. You can encounter a light rain to a heavy snow storm, and anyone who has commmented that the driving feels too much like an arcade racer and less simulation does not have a very good feel for the difference. I've never driven any of the multitude of exotic cars that can be found in the game, but knowing as much as I do about them, they feel the way their real counterparts would feel. When you're driving a Ferrari 599 GTB on a wet track, and you drive over a puddle, you really feel the temporary loss of traction! While the driving in Race Pro felt numb, the feeling of PGR4 is lively and exhilarating, making you feel like you're on the edge and really accomplishing something.

The sound of the engines of each car are also very realistic. My favorite is the high-pitched whine of the Ferrari F50 GT. The variety of races will keep you entertained for quite a while, as they offer a wide range of challenges to your driving skill. There are not many games that reward precision and flamboyant driving on the same lap! This game is a definite buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crus'n Exotica is more realistic...

posted by AndyYankee (SOUTH YARMOUTH, MA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

awful graphics, awful physics, even the menu is bad, on the motorcycles if you tap the controls in one direction the biker will roll over completely, horrible over steer, on the cars it's complete understeer, I waited nearly a week for this to arrive?

keep away...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did Monkeys Program this game?

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Afteer Playing this game I have to ask did Monkeys program it because it is either that or it was prograqmmed By Programmers without working Brains. How about not having races in the Rain at night in Cities with more flashing l;ights then Vegas and then mak it so you have to go through Gates that You CAN NOT See until You are right on them and then Program the Computer Cars to go three times as fast as you can and they never miss a gate or hit a Cone. I do not think there is One Programmer in the Business that Actually has an IQ of over -100 Morons design games that idiots Program and then they charge 1000 times more then the Games are worth for them. But to get good ratings they Bribe the People that Write reviews so they can Get 4 out of 5 and 9 out of 10 Ratings When they Really deserve At Most 1 out of 5 or 10 Ratings If you havent play this game DONT if yo uhave I hope you rented it if you bought it see if you caqn get Some money back for it NOW before they realize the Game is Junk that Should never have been made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dissapointing

posted by XEternalX3 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I found the mechanics and physics innacurate. The reactions/responses of the vehicles are inconsistent. The vehicles are unbalanced. No way is a s10 truck gonna pass a race bike at full throttle in a straightaway. The only way to really enjoy the game is to play on easy mode. Normal is nealry impossible, and hard I dont even want to try my luck. The AI drivers you are up against are all perfect drivers who seem to do impossible feats and maneuvers at times with cars that would never pul it off and they never make any mistakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best PGR ever yet!!!!!!!!

posted by m19u31 (WHITTIER, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

This game brings me back to the old days where racing was a fun game by itself and still is and this game has proved it so good it burns rubber. Now for my ratings for this game are, the graphics are a smooth 9.50, sound is a nice 9 but can be anoying when your car gets to fast but it's a racing game so what do you expect, controls are simple so it's a 9, replay value is mordernly high. and so my review is a 9.10 I know they don't have a game review that doesn't have a 9.10 but I think it deserves a 9.10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

7.0 really?

posted by 541michael (LA PINE, OR) May 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I didnt like this game at all. I couldnt get into it. The bikes are dumb. You cant customize the cars, and jazz. Who wants to hear jazz while racing? I also thought the cars sound effects were off. If I had a Camaro that really sounded like that I would be upset. I dont know how this game got such a high rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse