Rent Project Gotham Racing 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Project Gotham Racing 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

3687 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PGR 3 Nails it !

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

My previous experiences with PGR titles left me feeling frustrated and bored soon after popping the disc in to my old X-Box. I hated the insanely difficult Kudos challenges. This new and vastly improved version is an outstanding mix of realistic physics, and arcade style game play.
The car models are so gorgeous they may make some fans of certain dream cars drool. The graphics are perfect and definitely next gen! PGR3 offers deep on line play as well. You can take static pictures of your cars in their parking spaces in your garages, and in action from the reply feature with photo control you might expect with a real camera.
The cockpit view gives a new dimension of weight and speed to car racing games, and is a nice addition. Frame rate is fluid and I have experienced no flaws after dozens of hours playing both on line and in solo career mode.
If you are looking for a racing game that puts you as close to the real thing as you will ever get to your dream cars (most likely for most of us anyway) this is for you, and you won't regret it one bit.
My only complaint is that you cannot tune your cars or add anything beyond a slim selection of paint colors, and sometimes no choice of colors at all. But if you want to tune some lawn mower sounding 4 banger with spoilers higher than Gods ego get NFS, or wait for Forza 2. Considering the options right now for the 360 this is the best looking racer available, and well worth the purchase for any shinny new 360. Where else can you get the chance to simulate the ride of your life in an F1 McLaren, Lamborghini's, Ferrari's or Mazerati's? However if you want a Mazda, or Audi to plaster tacky graphics on and race for money to tune up, and modify your ride then never mind, you won't appreciate the joy of a finer automobile you just don't see on the streets, except in Beverly Hills. Don' t get me wrong, I like NFS as well, but PGR3 is superior in graphics and game play. You gotta see it to believe it. I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Life Begins in front of your TV---by Mandrew913

posted by mandrew913 (NEW MARKET, MD) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Have you ever driven a Maserati MC12 in the streets of LA? Have you experienced 200 mph on the Brooklyn Bridge? Well, this is your chance.

Warning! If you are a fan of turtle, snail, or old lady racing, then please step away from the computer screen. Traveling 7333 times FASTER than the average garden snail is what Project Gotham Racing is all about. (I really did the math!)

The short career mode of PGR3 ranges in difficulty from effortless to the equivalent of teaching your pet turtle to ace your least favorite teacher's math test. (Note to self: Teach Franklin to pass algebra.) The steel medals will come easily while the hardcore platinum medals are nearly impossible to earn, especially if you are a beginner. By winning career mode races, you will earn credits with which you can buy faster cars.

Eighty cars come with PGR3. (How did they all fit in the disk?) At the moment, 12:07 PM on Monday, July 17 in the year of 2006 AD, there are multiple cars available on the XBL marketplace. They can be purchased individually or as a bundle. Every car in PGR3 is a high performance, licensed vehicle. Each car is grouped in a class from A to E, A being the best and E being the worst. These 'worst' cars are still great and include the Corvette ZR-1 and the Aston Martin DB9.

Taking PGR3 online is great fun. Playing real people is a whole new experience. You can play the average street race, or take it to the next level with games like cone capture or cat and mouse. One problem with PGR3's online play is the long wait times to find a game in online career mode. In the time it takes to find a game, I could write, produce, and sell a documentary on annoying wait times.

Everybody loves gamerscore points! I have just over 5000 of the little guys as of 7/06. PRG3's points are tough. You will have to earn every last one. Some of them are even impossible because of glitches in the game.

The 2000 character limit, now a 46 character limit, won't let me finish this re

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hold on

posted by Raz360 (WAHPETON, ND) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This is one of the first 360 games that I had rented, and I loved it. For some reason, I just loved going fast down a straightaway, coming up to a corner, hitting the ebrake, and earning Kudos! The car selection is very nice, ranging from this strange go-cart looking thing to the Ferrari F50. The detail on these cars is amazing also. The interior looks as nice as the rest of the car! As you race down the beautifully designed cities, you'll see the damage you do to these cars. Once you win the race (or lose...) You'll see how well you stacked up compared to other drivers through xbox live. Speaking of Xbox live, online is fun with this too. You just find a game, join the lobby, pick a car, and compete! The only bad ting about xbox live would probably be that some people seem to think that it's bumper car 2006, not PGR3. You can turn collisions off, and it's much better! In short, if you like racing, rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game..

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was never a fan of the PGR series until this. This features great graphics, fast cars, and a solid online mode.

The Good: As stated before, when you first turn on PGR and run a quick race it will captivate you with georgous looking tracks, and a nice sense of speed. That alone is not enough – the cars, oohhh..the cars! PGR features some really exotic cars from the F1 Mclaren, to Ferraris, to Lamborghini’s. This game doesn’t wait to get up to speeds of 170 MPH, it starts you there! The controls are fitting and not that hard to get used to. The music is decent, but again if you don’t like it simply switches over to your custom soundtracks.

The bad: I have to be honest with you here…I first rented this game around January expecting a sort of a racing SIM, this game is NOT that. It is more of a mixed between Arcade and Racing Sim. So you can either find that a good thing or a bad thing. If you are playing another racing game right now, it might take you a bit longer to pick this one up, unless you are a racing freak, which then it should only take you 30 mins max. Another thing is that the career mode is way too short.

In summary a great game that should be rented and then decided upon if you wish to keep or not. Personally, I kept it and I am still playing it to this date. (on a side note: gamefly is offering this game at a very low buy price so you might not even want to rent it – just buy it!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is not a racing game. This is a Driving sim.

posted by dfcski (LINCOLN, RI) May 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

IF you are a driving fanatic or a car enthusiast, this is your game.

IF you like racing games enough to spend time learning how to play them. This is your game.

However, IF you are a casual gamer in search of a fun game to play... look elsewhere. This game takes a longer than average time to learn, and takes a substantial amount of practice to be good at. Don't expect quick results.

So, if you love driving, or you love technical racing games, go for it, its well made and detailed, and the online play allows for endless competition.

online play offers a cool feature in which great players online races are broadcast like TV, so if you master this game, while you are racing, there could be players from all over the world tuning in. (if you like that sort of thing... ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The only thing missing is excitement...

posted by WhoDey513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'm big into racing games, but I do play my share. I was bored of PGR3 within 3 hours of gameplay. Even when playing online, the game felt flat IMO. The nice shiny graphics are a plus, but for me, I need to have some replay value and PGR3 doesn't have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Project Gotham Gets a 360 Make-over!

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Story- Basic Rally Racing

Graphics- From Cars to Audience to Location It Is All In The Mind. (Rating 10.0)

Gameplay- Not The Best But Not As Thought. (Rating 7.0)

Overall Review- 8.0
"Project gotham 3 Shows The Best Cars In Visualing"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Realistic Racer

posted by X360man (PRAIRE VILLAGE, KS) May 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

GPR3 was a great game. it was one of the best racing games i've ever played. the cars were very realistic and so was the driving. it is a pretty easy 950 points. if you are looking for a great racing game then you should get GPR3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PGR 360

posted by sportsfan (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I was hesitant at first to rent this title, but I went with my gut instinct and gave it a shot. I am sad to say that I'm disapointed with PGR. Let me start off by saying that the graphics are hardly even close to next gen. In my opinion, they look very alike xbox graphics. The controls are easy to navigate and use. There are some game modes that might keep you coming back for more, but they just kept me away. I even went as far as playing online and that also didn't amuze me. Plain and simple this game is not fun as far as I'm concerned. It might be because I'm not really a racer fanatic, but when I play a good game I can tell and I can tell this is not neither a good/fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A wonderful racing game really worth 2 bucks

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

One thing is you really can't pass on a game that is so good and that its only two dollars at Gamestop used. The game is by far my favorite racing game on xbox 360 (Sorry Forza Motorsport) but anyway the game has so many possibilities like buying cars and Test driving them. My favorite capability is really small and weird but really cool, the game lets you walk around your garage in first person and just look at your car and take pictures. First person view in racing is as good as another game. Races are fun and no matter if your a noob or not you can still have great time. AI cars react to you if you hit them and also xbox live tournaments are very fun. If you don't already have it you have to get it for 2 dollars there really isn't a way to say no
9.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!!

posted by noahre86 (HEBRON, KY) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is awesome... My favorite racer... gotta play PGR 4!! Check this game out... only 2 bucks at gamestop... or rent it on here!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent racing title

posted by Broon43 (NAPLES, FL) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2009

For one of the original 360 releases, this title still has a decent following for online tournaments and multiplayer.
No wonder, the graphics are fantastic, coupled with a user friendly menu system, interactive garages, car buying/selling, a wide variety of car manufacturers to choose from and on and on.
The controls are well-designed for racing, as well as manipulating the cameras, and selecting music choices in-game.
Overall excellent design and replayability. Perfect renderings of each track and an oustanding presentation through and through.

A must rent if you love racing titles. Not as good as GRID due to the lack of visible car damage and drifting challenges. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WHY!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by GrayBoy256 (KERNERSVILLE, NC) May 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

JUST BUY BURNOUT PARADISE!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a few hours

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Good especially if you you want Gamerscore. But I think this lacks. Bad handling on most cars, impossible opponents, like with a Mini Cooper, you will be facing like BMWs, Benzes, and Ferraris. Really, ok for a quick couple hours of fun and some easy Acheivements, but not worth too much time. I bought it used and payed 7 to 8 bucks for it, so at least I didn't drop too much for it. I'm gonna have a gamerscore scoring weekend this weekend, and should be able to get something out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PGR 3

posted by cnross (DELAWARE, OH) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I like this game because of the graphics and many other little details. The cars are more realistic than any other game I have played and more exciting to drive because all of the choices. I recommend this game to people who like racing and driving lots of cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short and sweet review.

posted by dijital101 (TRIMBLE, MO) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Great indestructible race fun. Giant selection of exotic dream machines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

custom tracks

posted by jacob87611 (BAYTOWN, TX) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

i love how this game enables you to plug in an mp3 player and listen to tracks on your mp3 player VIA the usb port in the back. I do this a lot with my psp and thats why i love the x-box 360. not only with this game but any game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Ive loved every project gotham racing and this one is even better than the previous ones. It has xbox live which is average for racing games, because you cant really do much on racing games for online. The campaign is very fun. They just keep getting better everytime they make a new one. This is the king of racing games. You must rent this game if your a racing junky and even if you arent rent it. Its a great buy too. You must play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by laccal (KENNER, LA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

great racing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very suprising

posted by kruetz57 (ROCKFORD, IL) Nov 21, 2007

Member since May 2006

ok when i first got the game i thought it was going to suck b ig time becuz i had playd pgr 2 before and it sucked big time but suprisingly i had alot of fun after the first 5 minutes i realy like how alot of the lamborghinis are available for pretty cheap prices i got like 4 of them before even completing 20% of the game what i didnt like was how incredibly bad the damage graphics were like i would hit a wall going about 120 mph and pretty much nothing would happen except there would be this long scrape acroos the side of the car so very impressive bad graphics when it comes to crashing highly recomended pleese try this game you will like it if you like to do games in order pleese do this one BEFORE pgr 4 even though i heard thet game was prety fereeking sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Project Gotham Racing 3

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

Hands down the best racing game I've ever played. Perfect mix of reality and style. All cars are awesome, no slow cars. Graphics are amazing, extremely fun to play. I still play it a lot after owning it for over a couple years. Can't wait for PGR4! (I also own Forza Motorsport 2 and still like this one better.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love this game, when I'm playing it...

posted by yuckbog (DAVIE, FL) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Very realistic graphics, fun courses, great sound, and the longest, most boring load times that kill all the fun.
There were a few races that I completed that took longer to load than it did to race. It also seems that you need to reload the entire race over if you crash early and you know for sure you won't be able to finish in time. So you quit race, choose to start over, and sit and wait while it loads up the race you were just in over again, as if it were the first time loading it.
Xbox live was also a little frustrating as I could not find anyone willing to finish any races. If I pulled too far ahead of anyone, they quit early. If I started getting owned right off the bat, my competition found me unworthy and quit. This leaves you with 2 options, which are finish the race by yourself which can be unchallenging and a chore if you have 5 laps to go, or you can quit the race as well, which shows up in your rep as a quitter.

All in all, I am really glad I rented this game, because it is definitely fun and challenging, but glad I don't own it simply because the load times just aren't worth sitting through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST RACING GAME ON THE XBOX 360!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by cdubb03 (MIAMI, FL) May 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

LET ME JUST START BY SAYING THAT I HAVE PLAYED EVERY RACING GAME ON THE XBOX 360 AND NONE ARE NEARLY AS GOOD AS PGR3. EVEN THOUGH THE GAME IS ABOUT A YEAR OLD I RECENTLY RENTED THIS GAME AND HAVE NOT STOPPED PLAYING IT SINCE I POPPED IT IN MY 360. THE ONLY RACING GAME I HAVE PLAYED THAT EVEN COMPARES TO PGR3 IS FORZA MOTORSPORT, AND THAT GAME JUST CAME OUT. FORZA IS GREAT IF YOUR A RACING EXPERT, BUT FOR GAMERS LIKE ME WHO PLAY FOR FUN, ITS TOO REALISTIC AND DIFFICULT. ON THE OTHERHAND, THERE IS NEED FOR SPEED WHICH IS TOO FAKE AND EASY. PGR3 IS RIGHT IN BETWEEN THOSE TWO RACERS AND IS NOT TOO HARD BUT NOT TOO EASY. THE GRAPHICS ARE BEAUTIFUL ALL AROUND FROM CARS TO RACE TRACKS TO THE CITIES YOU DRIVE THROUGH. THE SOUND IS AMAZINGLY REALISTIC AND WITH MY SOROUND SOUND SYSTEM IT SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE A FERRARI F50 PARKED IN MY ROOM. ANYWAYS, IF YOU HAVE NOT ALREADY PLAYED PGR3 AND LOVE RACING GAMES I RECOMMEND YOU BUY THIS GAME OR AT LEAST RENT IT, OR BE PATIENT AND WAIT FOR PGR4 WHICH COMES OUT SOON, WHICH IS THE ONLY REASON I HAVE NOT BOUGHT PGR3. IF YOU HAVE EVER PLAYED THIS GAME THEN YOU PROBABLY AGREE WITH EVERYTHING I JUST SAID....RIGHT?????!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, But not as good as PGR2?

posted by Bauer4Prez (HIGHLAND, NY) May 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I may be a little "late to the party", with this review, but after playing it for the first time, i wasn't the impressed. Being a huge fan of PGR2, I felt that PGR3 was lacking somehow. Now, don't get me wrong its still ridiculously fun, the textures on the cities are top notch. Its definitely a rent for a Veteran PGR player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pgr3 thumbs up

posted by JonMandell (HAMDEN, CT) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game has put alot of time out of me. one thing you need to do is buy at least one of every ferrari or lambo. the one thing that kills me is one on ones so try it on easy. if you like the challenge go for the next level. this game is repetitive but it keeps you occupied. I'd recommend this game for any1 who hates test drive unlimited.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse