Rent Professor Layton and the Unwound Future for DS
view large frontback

Professor Layton and the Unwound Future

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

727 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unstuck in Time, Stuck in Puzzles?

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The third entry in the puzzle-solving Layton series is the most engaging, with more action, intrigue, and features than its predecessors. There are even, surprisingly, some original puzzles left, although there's a larger reliance on trick answers this time around. As for the mini-games, two are still frustrating and boring, but at least a programmable car sequence, in which you use a set of arrows to plot a path from point A to point B (while collecting a series of items) offers some twists.

Among the new stuff this time are "puzzle battles," which feel unfinished (and not different from regular puzzles), but which are appreciated because of the way they help to make a more integrated mesh between the story and the puzzles. Also new, obviously, is the story, which features Layton and Luke apparently being transported ten years into the future. It's gripping, and even a bit emotional, given that we get some flashbacks and corresponding insight into Layton (and his lost love, Clara). The cast feels more fleshed out, too, and it's nice that they're not just being trotted out for procedural sequels.

But really, the game plays as it always has: you click from screen to screen, looking for clues that will advance the story, often being forced to solve puzzles along the way. (In fact, this time there are occasional puzzle-checks that force you to solve X puzzles before continuing--ala Mario Galaxy's "star" system--though if this causes you grief, you're doing something wrong.) The puzzles keep you on your toes, and the narrative keeps you moving: for some, it will be a very addictive, unputdownable thirteen hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heartbreaking

posted by timewaster89 (PLANO, TX) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not only is the game fun and challenging, it is also a compelling story with true characters. The story was filled with twists and turns that I honestly did not see coming and the characters show a hidden depth that will surprise you. For the first time in this series, I actually cried. I give this game a ten out of ten. I was going to give it an eight or a nine, but the fact that the game emotionally affected me brought it up to a full ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Professor Layton and the Unwound Future

posted by dianacc (GILBERT, AZ) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome, I love it. For everyone who like problem solving puzzles this is for you. I am addicted to it. I recommed you play it. GREAT GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Plot!

posted by Flailmorpho (OREGON CITY, OR) May 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The plot starts off well, but the ending was badly written. Expect any good plot to go downhill when the Professor points at a certain someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hard to put down

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Once you get started the game is really hard to put down, you just want to keep going trying to unlock the mysteries and solve puzzles!

I found this game to be much much easier than the previous puzzle games. There's not many math/number puzzles so it doesn't require you to think too hard and this game features more puzzles where they give you a set of requirements and you find out which one matches using the requirements set forward. Also I believe there are 300 hint coins, 20 of which you start with and this time around they give you 4 hints on the puzzle instead of the 3 they did in the past.

Storyline, voices and the music are wonderful as always and playing this game really feels like your watching a movie, the graphics are really good for something on the DS.

Hopefully the sequel to this game will be just as good, if you've played the previous Professor Layton games I strongly suggest you rent/buy this one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Challenging!

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is great! The puzzles are very challenging and I must admit I used the "cheat" option in game fly multiple times because I could not figure out a puzzle. I reccomend this game to anyone who is up for a challenge!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for a puzzle admirer

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jul 4, 2011

Member since May 2008

This game was great! It had three of my favorite things:

1.Challenging puzzles

2.Good graphics

3.An amazing storyline
This game is for people that like to solve puzzles, and are good at solving puzzles, otherwise you wont make it past chapter 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'm obsessed with Professor Layton!!!

posted by sallysweetheart (PISCATAWAY, NJ) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is the best of the three games! This entire series is engaging and fun. I can't wait until the next game comes out!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Professor Layton game so far

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The Unwound Future..... weird story line but great game!

9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another great game

posted by irishbull (PENROSE, NC) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Just like the last 2 Prof. Layton games, this one doesnt fail to deliver a great story line and challenging puzzles. Some of the puzzles were easy to solve, but overall I really had to use my brain. I cant wait for another one to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still The Best Puzzle Series.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I expected this series would have gone down hill a little bit since the last game but surprisingly it still has the same twists and turns of the other two games. The story has you guessing until the very end while the gameplay still remains the same. Overall if you've played a Layton title before you know how this goes and for those who haven't you should definately give it a look if you enjoy puzzle solvers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great story

posted by loto128 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Just like the other Layton games, this one too had a fantastic storyline and fun characters. However, the puzzles started to feel more repetitive this time around, and almost annoying, as they would get in the way of the adventure. For a game about puzzles, that's probably a bad thing. I found that only a few puzzles in the game were very clever / unique- most of them just felt like math questions, and it was almost as if there were only a handful of puzzle types that would just get the numbers switched around for the next one.

But then the ending comes and kind of makes up for everything. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »