Rent Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask for 3DS
view large frontback

Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

203 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great puzzles, weak story

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the 5th Professor Layton that has been released in the US, but the 1st for the 3DS. Like before, the game is about the main characters solving a mystery, while doing a bunch of puzzles and mindbenders in the process. This new version is based in a Vegas/Monte Carlo themed city.

Positives: Great puzzles, nice graphics, polygonal characters instead of 2D, cutscenes look great with 3D effect on, lots of side content, you get to learn more about Professor Layton's background

Negatives: Weak and predictable story, lame antagonist, 3D effect is lousy for regular gameplay, some poorly implemented adventure parts, some puzzles get recycled too much.

Conclusion: Fans of Professor Layton definitely need to get this game, its a great entry into the series, and the upgraded visuals make a big difference. The 3D effect doesnt work well, though, and the story is pretty lame, especially compared to The Unwound Future (which i personally consider is the best in the series). Still, its all about the puzzles, and there are a bunch of them, some of them very clever. Game will take about 20 hours to complete, with a lot of extras to waste time with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If My Grandmother Played Video Games,She'd Love It

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I have a feeling a lot of snarky fans of this game will immediately write this review as coming from someone who probably only plays "Call of Dutiezzz" and Battlefield, but that's not the truth. I'm extremely open-minded when it comes to various game genres. Games like Pikmin aren't full of action and yet they manage to be interesting. This game is just flat out boring. The puzzles feel like coloring book activities and the story and dialogue are flat and minimalist. This is my first Professor Layton game and will probably be my last. I did enjoy the fully animated cutscenes and wish future Nintendo games would take advantage of it on the 3DS (Pokemon in particular), but everything else was incredibly weak. If you want a good puzzle game on the 3DS, get Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward. Much better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

layton doesnt disappoint

posted by pipo_star (SAN BRUNO, CA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

its always the people you would least expect to have done the crime. story has the gang going to a carnival and everyone turns into stone. professor Layton never passes off a puzzle so he learns a lot of new twists that deal with the past. the story isnt bad, but the ending leaves you hanging. there are more prequels to come, but i wonder when will the Layton series go back to the present time. the puzzles aren't as difficult as other Layton games, but there are some hard ones still. if you need help, theres the coins that give a hint. a nice little treat is the free Wi-Fi puzzles per day so that's like +300 to download. it give gives the gamer thinking, and it wont be boring if you try hard to solve them all plus in 3d.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love It or Hate It

posted by TheKiss (HILLSDALE, MI) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

This game, as with the rest of the Layton series, is very slow, quiet and cerebral. Many other titles boast "puzzle-solving", but the bulk of this game consists of puzzles in the traditional sense--straight brainteasers, logic puzzles and the odd bit of algebra. It's all presented entertainingly with an anime-style story and colorful, voice-acted characters, but most of your play time will be spent staring ponderously at a puzzle while the same (the same!) song loops. It's an experience most players will either adore or dislike almost immediately. I'm more of a right-brain creative type and found many of the puzzles too hard, but your mileage may vary.

This is the first 3DS entry in the series and I can't say I'm impressed. The earlier games' expressive 2D art has been replaced by somewhat chunky-looking 3D sprites with drawn-on flapping mouths and a limited range of motion. The anime cutscenes are gorgeous but the bulk of the story is told by these clunky puppets. Voice acting is generally good, though Layton's assistant Luke gets pretty shrill. Music is high-quality and pleasantly unobtrusive. Much of the dialogue is predictable and fairly unnecessary--in my first 40 minutes of play I solved only two puzzles and was only skimming the text. 3D is implemented reasonably well.

Bottom line: This is a fairly-long, quiet game that will appeal to logic-lovers. Newcomers to the series, rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »