Rent Professor Layton & the Last Specter for DS
view large frontback

Professor Layton & the Last Specter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

294 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another great Profesor Layton Game, with extras

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played any of the previous Professor Layton games, you know exactly what to expect here: A story based around a big mystery, with a ton of puzzles thrown along the way. This time, the mystery is about a Spectre that seems to be plaguing a remote village. This is actually a prequel, and explains how Professor Layton and Luke meet. Your sidekick for the journey is Emmy, a new girl to the series. The entire mystery will take about 15 hours to solve, more if you plan on solving every puzzle along the way. However, besides the main game, they also included an optional "rpg" called London Life. Its an interesting, although repitious little RPG. Overall, fans of Professor Layton will enjoy the game. Its not as great as The Unwound Future, but its still a good entry to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Professor Layton Fan must-play-game

posted by TwilightNinjaX (SAMMAMISH, WA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say to, THIS GAME IS PURE AWESOMENESS! It does a good job of introducing the series (because it is the PREquel after all) Hint coins are a little more plentiful but some of the puzzles are harder balancing it out. The bonus game "London Life" is more of a game than a bonus game and I find it very fun to play after I beat the game. I recommend renting this game and keeping it for awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Last Specter Is the Start of it all.

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

In this Prequel to Professor Layton and the Curious Village, Professer Layton Meets Luke (his appretence later in the games), and his new assistant Emmy while trying to solve the mystery of the Giant Specter terrorizing a town called Misthallery, known for it's thick fog. This game plays like a normal Layton Game and the puzzle system stays the same. This Game comes first in the Layton games chronologicaly and is before the Events of Eternal Diva (Movie) but will be before Miracle Mask when that comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same...

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

I've played the 3 Layton adventures before this and by the end of the third, it was starting to feel samey. This one pushes it even further with just remixes of the same puzzles you've already seen multiple times. If you're into the plot - by all means, but you won't find much new here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same, not that that's a bad thing

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

If you've played the other Layton games, you know the score here. Not much different, but if it ain't broke...

I do think they will need to change it up somehow for the future, I'm almost at the end (I think) as I write this, but my interest is waning faster than it did for the previous titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »