Rent Professor Layton & the Diabolical Box for DS
view large frontback

Professor Layton & the Diabolical Box

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

1609 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the 1st!

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To keep it short, solve puzzles/riddles to finish the game and solve the mystery.

This game was good, puzzles/riddles were way easier than the 1st game. The story is just as good and there are new "sidequests" that make this game fun even after you completed the main story.

Graphics and sounds are also good. The voice over aren't that bad either and this is one of the few games I like to play with the volume turned up.

Highly recommend, can't wait for the next one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic game! Loved it!

posted by kirkncaity (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was AMAZING. I loved the plot line (although the ending was a little ridiculous and unrealistic... still a very interesting twist.) and the puzzles, especially towards the end. I feel like when the mystery is getting closer to being solved, the puzzles are more focused towards the plot and then I can't put the dang thing down at all. About half way through this game, I just played it in a straight shot. Actually, I played the whole game in ten hours because I was so in love with it. (I was very proud when looking at the other person's save file at 21 hours. \m/)

This game is really gripping and extremely fun so long as you're into puzzles, obviously. My boyfriend and I play these together and he's extremely logically minded (if that makes sense) so whenever I got stuck, he could quickly figure out the answer and help me arrive to that answer. There are a lot of trick puzzles that are frustrating when you're seeking a logical explanation, and it's something silly. In retrospect, they're hilarious but when you've spent the last fifteen minutes in total confusion, it's less funny and more "okay, time to take a break from this crapola" type thing.

I'd like to complain about Luke as a black smudge on the perfection that is this game, but he's not that bad, he just annoys me. Flora is kind of a pointless character and there are a ton of plot holes (likely done on purpose to progress the plot to the following game) so I think the whole thing would have been better (and more summed up) without her.

The end is emotional and left me feeling like I could have potentially cried if I wasn't with other people in the room. It's very sweet and you end it with a fuzzy good feeling. I cannot wait for the next game! In fact, the next game was in spot 6 in my GameQ but I moved it up to #1 after I completed the Diabolical Box. I love love love this game and can't wait for the Professor Layton VS. Ace Attorney/Gyakuten Saiban game to come out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable!

posted by cdwark039 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game not realizing that I should have played Professor Layton and the Curious Village first. After doing some research, I figured out the chronological order of the series. Nevertheless, I had fun solving the puzzles...some of them were tricky, but I still enjoyed it. Good game...looking forward to the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Game, Though Not For Everyone.

posted by LorettaGP (Astoria, NY) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I really loved playing this game. The graphics are beautiful -- they look a lot like a Miyazaki movie (Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle) -- the mysteries are fun, the pacing is great, and the puzzles are fun to solve.

I've seen reviews in which people say things like, "it's boring just trying all the possibilities for each puzzle until you find the right one." The whole point is to enjoy solving the puzzles yourself! My advice is, don't rush through the game. Don't cheat to find the answers by force or trial and error. Try to figure them out yourself! Enjoy it!

If you don't like solving puzzles, fair enough! I personally don't like games in which the character runs around shooting monsters, you know? We all like different things.

There are only a few drawbacks to this game.

#1. Some of the puzzles are frustrating, not difficult. For example, one puzzle is a picture of a scene in which something is wrong, and the puzzle solver is supposed to figure out what's wrong logically. The problem is that the scene is dark and it's raining, so it's actually difficult to see the scene at all, much less figure out what's logically wrong.

#2. The major "mysteries" of the game are solved by playing forward through the game, rather than by you, the player. For example, in the beginning of the game, Professor Layton and Luke are looking for a missing child, Tom. I figured out almost immediately why they were having so much trouble finding Tom, but I wasn't able to tell the game that -- the mystery was "solved" for me by Professor long after I had figured it out.

#3. It's too short! But that's sort of a complaint of love....

So, on the whole, this game is wonderful, though it's not for everyone. If you like puzzles, and don't mind patiently figuring them out, then play this game! And I would give basically the same review for the first Professor Layton game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Glad to have you back Professor!

posted by StarWars94 (BAYONNE, NJ) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Professor Hershell Layton and his assistant Luke return for another exciting adventure filled with mysteries and of course, puzzle solving. After witnessing the death of Layton's mentor, the two pursue the last mystery he was working on, the Elysian Box, a box that is said to kill all those who dare to open it. The mini games also make a comeback this time around and more voice work is added to certain scenes. A "colorful" new set of characters are here as well as others from the first game make a surprise entrance. And people who have wanted to open the secret door in the first game can finally see what it holds. And of course, there is a secret door in this game as well as the confirmation of a third game in the works. I can't wait for it but until then, I'll be playing this one. I had a lot of fun playing this game. No complaints except for maybe a few tricky puzzles but that's what guides are there for. I highly recommened it for fans of the first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bigger, Better version of the first game

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Just finished it, took ~11 hrs vs ~7 for the first one. Possibly due to more storyline, as puzzles (apart from a couple of real stinkers) seemed generally easier than the first one. Definately a 'can't put it down' game. Would recommend playing the first one though, as parts of the story follow on from that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

finished in 2 days

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

when i got this game i really enjoyed it so much i couldn't put it down i like the pancake stack and light the creepy woodsalso cross the icey lake i'm really going to get this for my brithday with pro layton 1 i give pro layton 2 5 brewed tea out of 5.

p.s. you brew tea in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What are you critics thinking?

posted by Wynter (BENTON, AR) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Though gamefly critics and users have given this game good ratings, I simply have to disagree on this. If I wanted to watch a poorly plotted cartoon, I would watch them on television. There is very little GAME PLAY to this game. Other than randomly pecking around at items in the scenes and rolling your eyes through supremely easy mini-puzzles. I couldn't even bring myself to play past one puzzle that had only TWO possibilities, yet it still let you "win" on the second try.

Maybe if your kid is wanting a game where they don't feel inept and you just want to shut them up for an hour or so, you should put this in their hands. For those of you adults wanting to play an interesting game, this is not the one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a definite improvement over the first

posted by GamerTech (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

if you loved the first, you will really love this one

and if you didn't play the first, but you love adventure games, charming art, good writing, and fun puzzles, you need to play the first one first

that being said, this game's biggest improvement over the first is just that the puzzle design is just a lot more logical than the previous game. the first game suffered from having a lot of puzzles with arbitrarily chosen solutions that weren't necessarily factual to the situation described. there are a lot fewer of those bad ones in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A charming, fun game, with only a few minor flaws

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

This was my first Professor Layton game, but won't be my last. It's a lot of fun, and it's great if you're looking to challenge your mind rather than your reflexes.

My only two gripes:

1. The ending to the story/mystery was kind of lame, IMO.

2. There are several infuriatingly cheap puzzles. By the time you figure it out, at the end of every puzzle there's an explanation. In these cheap ones, the explanation is usually "we never said you couldn't do THIS", and is just generally misleading. I hate puzzles like that.

Overall, fun game, definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Proffeser Layton and the Diabolical Box has a different feel to it then the first game Curious village. You travel aruond the areas on a train unlike the first game. Unfourntunatly once you leave a town you might never go back. Like the first game you collect items. You collect toys and tea ingrediants. Using those you can train a hamster and using the tea you can make .... well tea. Don Palo returns as a villian but is not the main villian. Who is. You'll have to play to find out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Diabolical Review

posted by Flailmorpho (OREGON CITY, OR) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I beleive that this game's story could have used some more polish but overall I found it great. I do have the question of why every single person in this game loves puzzles for some reason, it kind of breaks the story, also some plot important scenes should have been voice acted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hard

posted by warf232 (CARROLLTON, TX) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Professer layton is hard but fun. I thought the puzzles were witty and sometimes funny. In the game it has great twists and suprises at every corner, so I didn't want to stop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Sequel That Improves The Series!

posted by Coolcat600 (MOUNT VERNON, OH) Jul 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

You'd think that being a sequel it would be a rehash of the same puzzles and the same type of story as before. That is where your power of deduction would be wrong!

The game has puzzles that are similar and there are some repeats (sliding block puzzles, for example), but overall the puzzles are unique and interesting and if you had just played The Curious Village you would still find the puzzles fun and enjoyable.

For those who have played The Curious Village there will be familiar faces from there that will certainly amuse you.

One word of warning - if you like surprises play The Curious Village first. I made the mistake of thinking the titles would be stand alone, and they are for the most part, but there are some plot spoilers in the Diabolical Box that will ruin some surprises from The Curious Village.

Much like the first, the game is somewhat short. About 10-15 hours depending on your speed and level of completion you wish to obtain. It took me about 12 hours to get all of the in-game puzzles completed.

Good luck with the puzzles, and remember - every puzzle has a solution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Good thinking game

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I would definitely recommend you rent not buy this game. I got lucky, I bought it used from game stop and beat the game before the 7 days was up and was able to return it and get my money back. Unlike other games of this type there is no variation. No matter how many times you play it you get the same games and the same quest.

It is a good game if you like to think, and it was addictive until I beat the game. I mean if I an average gamer not considered advanced can beat it in seven days you can too, so yes rent it and play it cause it is fun the first time through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unable to be completed

posted by IMHO53 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I really like the premise behind the Professor Layton series. It's fun. However, I was unable to complete this game. My daughter also had problems finishing the game. We both got stuck at different parts of the game because of the puzzle. The same thing happened with the other P.Layton game. The puzzles are challenging and they should be otherwise you waste your money. I just don't think any game should not be able to be completed. Maybe it needs better clues or the option to skip a puzzle. Whatever! I will not buy any future Professor Layton games and will not recommend them to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Professor Layton Fan

posted by coleenhubb (WICHITA, KS) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I was very excited to get the Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box game. I was waiting all summer for its release. Then, when I got it in the mail and I played it, it was everything I had hoped for. I expected the storyline to be weird, because the Curious Village game was also weird. However, the puzzles were fun and the other tasks you have to complete are an added bonus. The only reason why this game is not a perfect 10 is because the weekly bonus puzzles were too easy. That was my only disappointment. Besides that, the game is awesome and I can't wait until the next Professor Layton game releases!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I loved the first Professor Layton game, and the new one does not disappoint. If you like the first one, you will like this one. I actually liked this one better. The story is fun and the puzzles are great. My only complaint is that it was so short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent sequel!

posted by coppercoin (BREEZEWOOD, PA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box is a fantastic game for those of us that love mind-bending puzzles! Gameplay is easy, stylus dominant. The storyline is interesting, the characters are much the same as in the first Curious Village, but with a whole different problem to solve. The puzzles will remind you of those used in the C Village, but there are so many new ones to discover along your journey that it seems the makers of this game are definitely on their toes! I did enjoy the C Village very much, and was excited to see the Diabolical Box released. I was just as excited each night as I played. And if you are like me, while you are at work (or school), you will be thinking about a puzzle you played the night before, and working out a solution til the time you get home! There are some mighty tricky puzzles in this sequel, and that great feeling you get when the answer dawns on you - well, is just amazing. I highly recommend this game, the puzzles are practically endless, with weekly downloads available after you've completed the game - and bonus areas to open, too. I can hardly wait for the next game in the series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by dadof3 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

This game was so great. My kids spent HOURS playing it. Usually they are bugging me telling me how bored they are. I barely even got them to decorate the Christmas tree with me they were so into it. I decided I had to try this game myself. I played it and the storyline was great. Along with the movie like graphics. Who knew a mystery game this good could be based around romance!Don't worry guys there is still a lot of action also.

The game had a fem minor setbacks.

1. Some puzzles were very frustrating and hard to understand.
2. Not as many puzzles as the first Professor Layton.
3. Many of the harder puzzles gave you items for your hamster and camera but because you couldn't solve them, your hamster stayed fat and your camera stayed broken

Other than that great game for puzzle lovers. Not so much for younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Puzzles, puzzles, and then some more puzzles...

posted by Taladryel (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

In most respects, "Diabolical Box" is pretty much identical to its predecessor, "Curious Village". In fact, the enjoyment of this game can vary based on whether one had played its predecessor (there is such a thing as puzzle overload). The gameplay is simple - the player moves from one static screen to another, tapping objects with the stylus to find hint coins and puzzles, which can be math, logic, basic "trick questions", maze-tracing, geometry and visualization, block-shifting, moving sheep across moats, chess, and an especially vicious type of "peg solitaire" (at least, once one makes it to the third and fourth levels of that one). Difficulty ranges from very easy to fairly difficult, and it doesn't help that in a few puzzles, the DS screen (or the question's wording) are not very helpful in getting the thing solved - more so than in the "Curious Village", in fact.

The fun part is - solving puzzles nets you Picarats, the game's currency - with each failed try reducing the number of Picarats you get per puzzle. Getting enough Picarats unlocks additional puzzle challenges (at least one of which requires a copy of the "Curious Village" as well) and the player can make puzzle-solving a bit easier by spending any hint coins found on up to three hints per puzzle.

All of this is tied together with a garden-variety "mystery", some anime-ish cut-scenes, and the obligatory swerve that, unlike in "Curious Village", is a bit on the "trippy" side (you'll see what I mean...). [Thankfully, any puzzles missed in a given chapter can be accessed later on in the story.] Frankly, I enjoyed the first game somewhat more, but again, this might be the effect of "Layton Fatigue" (playing through more than one of these in a six-month period is bound to be tiring).

On the whole, new players should find the barrage of brain teasers - tied together with a bare-bones mystery - an entertaining diversion. As for those who'd already played "Curious Village" - this is more of the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BRAINPACKED FUN ADVENTURE

posted by kingamer (STRASBURG, PA) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

THIS GAME IS A BLAST. IT NOT ONLY MAKES YOU THINK, THE IN GAME VIDEOS MAKE IT SEEM LIKE TV,AND THE INTERACTIVE ADVENTURE MAKES YOU KEEP PLAYING IT FOR HOURS. ANY ONE WOULD LOVE THIS GAME.
P.S. SOME OF THE PUZZLES ARE VERY CHALLENGING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty challenging over all a lil short though

posted by jackie (SUPERIOR, CO) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

lots of fun for not playing the first one. Fun and challenging puzzles. beat the game pretty fast almost too fast then i didn't see the point anymore. hated making tea. poor hamster 'midget'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Get For Puzzle Lovers

posted by Jakeified (MONTAGUE, MI) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

When playing the sequel I thought I knew what to expect, puzzles, mini-games, etc. I was completely shocked by the games originality! A new storyline, puzzles, people and more interesting fun new perks for the player to enjoy.

You will enjoy countless hours of fun with this game. More stronger, unique puzzles and not re-worded, mashed up puzzles from the first game like one'd expect.

A MUST rent and a MUST buy for puzzle, and game lovers alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

great for kids

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i never been a professor layton fan myself but i tell ya this game sucks. really mostly all ds sucks except the mario and gta series.i know what your thinking, i must play action game all the time no. i like solving mysteries and any other genre. but me and this game just dont click. to to meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee this is great....................FOR KIDS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »