Rent Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 for PS3
view large frontback

Pro Evolution Soccer 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back To Form, but no evolution

posted by BLiNBLiN (DORCHESTER, MA) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seabass and co at Konami use their "get out of jail" card with PES2009 and recreate the old PES every1 has grown to love, with higher end graphics and enhancements. Its basically a hi-res take on a PS2 classic.

Pluses:
ball physics are excellent, ball is its own entity on the pitch.
lighting effects, night, rain effects in game are excellent!
UEFA Champions League mode, captures the atmosphere.
edit mode is back now with custom chants.
become a legend mode (fact: was in Winning Eleven games atleast 2 years before EA's be a pro mode)
Facial textures on players are excellent, best around.
custom soundracks

Minuses:
kit textures, details are meh, basketball style shorts
bad commentary (no big deal)
online is still lacking, and spotty in quality of play, make sure you play against green or yellow connections to avoid horrible online play.
no advancement, revolutions, evolutions in the series.

Conclusion:
Konami is lucky to have such a well made gameplay system and loyal fan base to back them up against the 100 ton gorilla creeping ever so close.
Konami resorted to using an old game engine and bringing it up the next gen with ball physics and environmental effects, but with EA's FIFA already having a next gen engine they want and all they need to work is on the core gameplay, Seabass better work hard on bringing the series into the truly next gen, 3 strikes and your out, next year better bring it in every aspect, or you'll get left in the dust with FIFA's strides.

Which game plays and feels better? PES...
but without the licenses, front end beauty, graphics, etc, are you really getting your money's worth?
Which game has the complete package? FIFA...
but without gameplay, what do you have?

I still prefer PES, but for how long? Next year will be a major point in BOTH games, stay tuned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh Fifa is so Close!

posted by URBROD (ASTORIA, NY) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me begin this by saying, I never thought I would live to see the day but, oh God is Fifa sooo close to be the best football(soccer) game out there. I am a fan of PES (Winning Eleven) ever since Konamy came up with the title for Nintendo and then called it Winning Eleven for PS1. How much of a fan you ask? Well, I ordered the game from Korea (the game was released in Asia a month earlier) I paid $70 for the game and $55 for 2 day shipping otherwise it takes sometimes over 10 days to get to the US, Yes I know I couldn't believe it either.

Now, I think we can all agree that for the past 3 years we have been dealing with disappointments after disappointments, the 2008 was disastrous with tons of bugs (you could score from the middle of the field, easily) playing online was impossible, terrible lag, and 2007 let's not even talk about it, I miss PES2006.

However, I dont' want to spoiled your waiting and make you think this year's version is worse, after all I am fan too. PES 2009 is better than 2007 and 2008 just not as good as we would want it to be. If you are a fan of the franchise, buy it (you will anyway). If this will be your first soccer game purchase then you will have lots of fun, though you will probably like more Fifa 2009 (They fixed a lot of the annoying bugs they had, is also a bit faster than previous years. EA owns most soccer rights with original teams and actual player names, not to mentioned that it has this cool feature where you can update the leagues with the latest, if let's say Ronaldo is injured in real life, your player is out too). I have no idea what Konamy is waiting to do something similar, we can deal with the fake team names and players you can edit the name of the team and player anyway. But it has no online update where let's say after transfer season is over the teams are updated. Robinho will still be playing for Real Madrid, for example (he's now at Manchester City, crazy). Unless you make all the changes yourself which, is impos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lets play some real football man !

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok its a huge deference than last year ...Konami did a great job by pumping up the graphics..the players look sharp ,the stadiums and even the croud ...I hate Fifa (nothing personal) but dont like its game play and I remember when I played the demo of last year and I was like " oh man If only pes 2008 had the same graphics ".well pes 2009 sure did and also looks actually better than fifa.
I'm not gonna comment on the sweet game play if u r a winning eleven fan u will know what I'm talking about. Dont think of pes 2008 just forget it ..consider it as a game that Konami rushed making..pes 2009 is an great game just get it and start wining some cups for your team man ! Forza Italia ..Forza Italia

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its terrible

posted by kakaaa (rockville, MD) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game is the worse winning eleven series EVER , SO UNREAL ALL THE MOVEMENT OF THE PLAYERS!!!! WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT , DONT EVEN BOTHER OF GETTING THIS GAME , ITS REALLY BORING.... THE PLAYERS MOVE REALLY SLOW , HARD TO DRIBBLE , CANT LOB THE GOALY .........IF U WANNA PLAY WINNING ELEVEN , JUST PLAY WINNING ELEVEN 6 BECAUSE ITS THE SAME THING AS PLAYING IT ON PS3....THIS GAME IS ON IMPROVING EVERY YEAR IS GETTING WORSE AND WORSE......I LOVE SOCCER BUT I DONT LIKE FIFA AND NOW WINNING ELEVEN IS TERRIBLE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved It

posted by easygamer (YORKVILLE, IL) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I have never played any type of soccer game before, so I decided to check it out. I was addicted within a few minutes, and I love that I can put a picture of my face onto the player I create! I learned the rules of soccer quickly, and once I got used to the square being the shoot button and not the X, I slaughtered the other teams. I really did not expect a soccer game for the PS3 to be this much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pes sucks

posted by pulga34 (MAGNA, UT) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

i played fifa for a coulpe of years and i rent pro evolution and really its no close to fifa they got to fix everything on pes i dont know why ps3 has this kinda games i tell all my friends and they think the exactly same like me you guys want to play soccer you guys got to rent fifa 100% better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too slow for my taste

posted by macchonk (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a BIGG fan of konami's pes (winning eleven)... back then on ps2, gameplay was fast... I could control my character as fast as my finger can move, but the newest pes is WAYY too slow... so basically the character responding very slow, and i can't make any tight fast movement anymore...

online gaming
One of the worst online gaming experience i've ever experienced... pes 9 (ps2) where i used to play alot didn't have this problem... once in a while it does get laggy (thx to those lag switch user who can't accept their suckiness getting owned)... but pes 2009 simply is laggy is every online match... konami totally have a problem when it comes to online game experience...

another thing... konami seems to be missunderstanding what "next gen" game means.... they simply mess with "realitiness" of a gameplay where (ussually bunch of sucky soccer player does) they simply suck at controlling the ball, and very often can't trap the ball completely... that's what konami inmplemented on PES 2009... i seriously having trouble to make my character trap the ball perfectly... my character very often can't even trap such an easy straight pass... what the heck is that???

I'm dissapointed, but still looking forward for PES 2010...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »