Rent Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PSP Games, Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.2

575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not a huge step forward

posted by kaingel (KNOXVILLE, IA) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten a lot of bad reviews , and somewhat unfairly. Firstly , the graphics are slightly better (on hdtv set anyway) a little crisper than the last pes.Player movement is a lot looser,player collision is better and the animation is what has always been the biggest feature of the pes series for me is excellent yet again.The pace of the game is improved greatly adding a little more excitment and running with the ball to free up space is rewarded , especially with players like Ronaldinho.
The wings seem easier to attack as defenders seem to stand off a little more and crossing is less automatic and requires you to aim to the area you want to hit which is a plus.
Shooting is still very good and the flicks and improvised shots really stand out giving an extra realism to the game.
Now some of the bad.The replays are abysmal most of the time,the frame rate changes constantly , buggy one minute,super fast the next and it looks like the players lost a few hundred polygons.
The refs are way too harsh and hand out red cards for slightly miss timed tackles even if its not from behind and 50-50 balls result in too many free kicks.I won clean tackles and got the ball before the player and was still punished.
Overall,i dont think its a great leap from last years game and would think twice before buying new , rent it or look for a used copy and see what you think.I think its a little more exciting to play and there is at least some customization you can do,so no more man red or london blue,all the english teams can be edited and the other major leagues (spain,italy) already have the correct names so that saved me hours of editing.

GRAPHICS- 7 Sharper with new animations
PLAYABILITY-8 Looser feel,better running game
SOUND-6 - Terrible commentry(as always)
Good atmosphere from lively crowds
ETERTAINMENT-7 as always,hours of fun , but the online game still suffers from nasty lag.
REPLAY VALUE -9 We'll be playing it until next year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Konami makes the best soccer game without a doubt!

posted by GLW71681 (MUNCY, PA) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I started with FIFA in the late 90's and at the time yeah they were enjoyable until I played the Winning 11 series and I will never go back. PES just adds on to an already better series with more realistic movement, faster paced game play and better animation. I am to the understanding that most of the reviews are not taking into effect what its like to really play soccer, so reviews on soccer games mean nothing to me. If you like easy, unrealistic soccer go with EA's FIFA, I am gonna stick with PES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Defintly worth a rental...

posted by KGoddard (LISBON FALLS, ME) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of Winning Eleven, but PES 2008 just isn't the same. I find that the a.i. aren't the most aware of switching between offense to defense. I'll find myself getting aggravated at the a.i. because their off sides or defense has no organization.

I couldn't find an option to turn off the auto-switch players. It would switch players depending on what the game thought was the best option. It seems like it always switched right before I hit B to tackle, but would switch to the player down the field where the pass is going. Not fatal but annoying.

I wish they would use the right thumb stick for dribble moves. After 20 hours of game play, the game just got very repetitive.

The master league is fun though, but the condition part was still lacking a huge impact of player performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best soccer game out now

posted by Spaniard33 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I picked this up on the release day not expecting too much because of all the reviews, but I have to say it's really impressive. It's a lot faster paced and gives a very realistic feel. The graphics look much improved from last year's game. Definite pick-up for any soccer fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fifa is better ???? are you kidding me ?

posted by madchemist (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

NEVER .. and I'll repeat never Fifa was better then PES. And graphic improvements and physics is only thing that soccer game can get. And Fifa's unrealism and scripted goals not fun at all. And for all people who loves Fifa ... play american football or something

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Someone please WAKE ME UP!

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry folks... I used to be a big sports game fan. i mean i loved em all. But lately I've been disgusted and this game may as well have been in the chunks i blew when i played the last version. BOTTOM LINE: horrid game all around...sorry Konami, you are seriously losing your touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

posted by hcling (GARDENA, CA) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE OLD VERSION, WHICH IS WINNING ELEVEN, I GUESS THE GAME JUST DID SO BAD IN SELLS, THEY DECIDED TO CHANGED THE NAME, BUT NOT THE CONTENT OF THE GAME, SO EVERYTHING IS JUST THE SAME OLD SAME OLD STUFF, NO EXICTMENT, JUST BETTER GRAPHICS, WHICH WE ALL KNOW, BUT WE ARE NOT HERE JUST FOR THE GRAPHICS, WE ARE HERE FOR THE GAME PLAY, AND IF KONAMI JUST WANT TO MAKE MORE MONEY, I AM DEFINETLY NOT GOING TO SUPPORT THEIR GAME ANYMORE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by alarndgamr (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

worst football game ever. i have played fifa since 98 and i thought i would try something new. the game reminded me of the old fifa. it was too animated. game play was not realistic at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the current FIFA

posted by schuMANE (KENNESAW, GA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This game looks and plays very well, aside from a few game play flaws PES couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhhhhh

posted by Shaolin (POMPANO BEACH, FL) May 22, 2008

Member since May 2008

Okay, So I'm a big futbol/soccer fan and I had high hopes for this game. Sadly, I was extremly disappointed. First of all, suffers from some pretty bad frame rate issues when there is a lot going on at one time. The graphics are nice from a far but aren't anything special. It's a fun game but it's a let down for soccer fans in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

thos game

posted by moneyman12 (GENEVA, FL) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

this game sucked i hated it it had no potential and it was a wana be fifa

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FIFA>PES

posted by EntryInvld (LINCOLN, NE) May 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

After playing EA's FIFA series for so long it's tough to enjoy a game this poor. Don't waste your time, or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as easports fifa

posted by keefter (DAYTON, OH) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game play and graphics are not bad. having to use the start button to skip replays is annoying.
It is far to easy to commit fouls and get booked or sent off.
It was tedious to have to edit all the teams to represent there real names and the lack of stadiums does nothing to enhance the realism of the game.
All in all a fair effort. But not close to the realism of EA Sports Fifa 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

posted by ottertron (DILLSBURG, PA) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This is a good game if your a fan of the old Winning Eleven series. The graphics are pretty good for a game that moves fast. There are some glitches in the player movement, like randomly running out of bounds when your trying skirt around an opponent on their flank, but other then some small issues the gamepay is easy to pick up. The controls are simple, but you can get pretty elaborate with the movement of the ball and the placement of your shots. All in all its a good game if you have enjoyed other soccer games in the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Soccer Game

posted by elopezuvm (BRONX, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

If you like sports games you'll enjoy this one:

Good:
-Graphics/Player Models
-Easy game play

Missing:
-More off ball control
-Poor on line game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its a soccer game

posted by pope04 (WETUMPKA, AL) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

its not a bad game, graphics are ok, but overall if you want a good solid soccer game this is a good pick. alot more fast paced than fifa.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Disappointed - Graphics & Game Play

posted by AtlaSoccer (PHARR, TX) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I am a big Fifa fan, I started with Playtation 2 fifa 2006 and I was very pleased with it, then I moved up to Xbox 360 and Fifa latest version 2008, I got my copy yesterday and I was very excited about the game, but after 20minutes, I put it back in the envelope. Graphics are very low quality compared to Fifas, Game play was very slow, I didn't feel much in control of the players, there are no famous players or teams in it, menu seems to be a puzzle overall a total disaster. It is definitely not worth the wait nor the price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but I want more!

posted by Starks507 (TEANECK, NJ) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Before PES 2008, I had never played any of the Konami soccer games in this series. I was impressed mostly with the game play. The game play is smooth and easy to pick up on. Once you master the controls, it feels as though you have total control of the players. The graphics are good, but I expect more for a next generation title. I was disappointed mostly from the crowds. The crowds are boring. In any soccer game, I'd expect the crowds noise levels, chants and animations to be above average. After all, soccer has the craziest fans worldwide.

Another downfall of this title is the presentation and the lack of league licenses. The presentation just doesn't match that of EA's FIFA 08. Now FIFA isn't perfect but it has more lasting appeal than PSE. It is also deeper with more teams, leagues and players. PSE has some leagues, but it also has generic players.

Overall, I think Konami is on the right track. I'd expect them to come back strong in 2009. If you are just a casual player, this game will entertain you, but if you are hardcore, I'd go the FIFA 08 route.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but flaws ruin it for me. Back to FIFA :/

posted by ProjectLee (HOLT, MI) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The graphics, animations, and controls are amazing! HOWEVER, the amount of unlicensed teams are unbelievable. ONLY two teams retain their original name in the English Premiere League. Then there are unlicensed leagues, with licensed teams. All the big national teams (Brazil, Germany, and Italy to name a few) Have fake names for players. 15 fake stadiums (some based off real stadiums).

The menus are ghastly (Though master league menu is neat, since it will occasionally show pictures of fans, or in game shots of your last game)

The sound is amazing! You'll be cheering along with the people in the nosebleeds for your team.

Anytime there is a replay, a cut scene, or any general zooming in. You'll watch your solid FPS drag to the speed of a turtle.

Though this sounds primarily as a bunch of complaints. The game is amazing for someone merely interested in the sport, and interested in personally leveling up players with game play time (experience points to increase skills).

The replayability is HUGE! But the lack of real names (I enjoy playing soccer games to learn every player on a team, and root for those when they show up on sports channels). Lack of ability to simulate through some games. (As much as I enjoy playing every game, sometimes I'd prefer to see how my team is doing without me going 12-0 against the opposing team) The difficulty settings renders me crazy! (I am by far a wuss when it comes to being good at games, but when you play beginner, it's way too easy. Yet amateur I am getting rocked!) But hey, maybe it's just me with the difficulty.

Final Thoughts: 6/10 Fan of the SPORT, looking for some amazing animations? This is worth the rental(/buy). Prefer to cheer for real teams and real players? Get Fifa (or hold out for a better soccer game) I for one, prefer Fifa over this game. Why? I want to cheer for my favorite soccer teams, or prepare for the world cup by learning the names of players on some national teams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best soccer game!!!

posted by juandelac (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

PES 2008 is the best and realistic soccer game in the market, the graphics are really good and the play mode too. I only gave it a 9 is because when playing an online match, sometimes it has flaws, but if they fix the little problems in xbox live mode this game would be absolutely a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little dissapointed (fifa is much better)

posted by Masterkc (PORT WASHINGTON, NY) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

i have been playing both fifa and PES since i was 9 and this years fifa suprisingly came out to be 100 times better than this years PES. PES gameplay is realistic but has flaws. Some times you have the ball and it dissapears or there is a late reaction when u do something.Plus fifa has teamplay online where you can be your own player online. PES Graphics arent the best ive seen. Playing online games are hard caus eof the lag. This game defnintly not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »