Rent Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 for Wii
view large frontback

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

228 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Future of Wii Sports games? (I hope so!)

posted by Wii60Gamer (DORCHESTER, MA) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Games like this are the reason why I got a Wii in the first place. When I first bought my Wii I was excited to start playing not only new types of games, but also old favorites (particularly sports games) re-imagined for the new control scheme. After being disappointed by Madden, Tiger Woods and the 2K baseball games, I've found the first sports game on the Wii that I truly love (besides Wii Sports).

Pro Evo 2008 takes a chance and revolutionizes video game soccer. It has some flaws, but in this iteration they've laid the groundwork for an excellent game for many years to come. The control scheme is fantastic... in fact I hope we'll start to see similar schemes used in other sports games as well.

Online works great, despite Nintendo's annoying friend code system. Plus, I love the menus and the music, they give the game a nice presentation that's clean and fun without being kiddie looking.

The biggest disappointment for me is the lack of a Master League mode, I miss making my own players and developing them over time... but the Champions Road is a pretty decent replacement, albeit one with a bit less depth. The AI can be a bit stupid as well, which is something I hope Konami improves in the future.

Finally, I'll just say that you should be prepared for a bit of a learning curve, but once you figure it out you're going to love how it plays and you may never want to play the more traditional style of Pro Evo (or any other soccer game for that matter) again. Don't worry, there's a great tutorial that'll help you pick it up pretty quick. It took me 4 or 5 games to feel comfortable with the basics but now I'm onto the more advanced techniques and loving every minute of it!

In short, give it a try and I'm sure you'll love it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really play as the WHOLE TEAM for the first time!

posted by GoneTodash (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first read about the control system of PES, I was worried it would leave me feeling disconnected from the action. Seeing the screen shots concerned me as well, with all those colored arrows pointing around the field that make it seem like your every move will be telegraphed to your opponent before you make it. I was WRONG, WRONG, WRONG.
Words really can't explain how much more fluid the game becomes using the Wii Remote's capabilities. Twenty minutes spent in the basic training mode is all it will take for you to realize just how little control team sports games have delivered until now.
Never pass to a team mate's position in the formation, having to cross your fingers that there will actually be someone there to receive the ball. Never switch to the closest defender to an opponent as he's dribbling the ball toward your goal, only to have that defender stop and go in the opposite direction you want him to. Never get scored on because you can only utilize one defender at a time, while computer controlled defenders stand close by doing nothing.
Just one warning, this is not a game you want to try to play on a 19" or smaller TV. The 2 viewing options are both wide shots.(and a close up angle would not work) It's only 2 players, but I'm sure broader multi-player options made will be a feature in the 2009 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as advertised

posted by Jets24 (KYLE, TX) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not as impressive as I expected. The controls were unique but I didn't feel like I was in total control of the game. I sat there and pointed where I wanted everyone to go and where I wanted to pass. I pointed at the other team and continuously mashed the "A" button to take the ball away. The graphics were below average for the Wii. Worst of all, I didn't feel like their were legitimate dynasty modes that would keep me coming back. I sat this game down a week after I got it. If you're looking for an average soccer game, you got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Soccer finds its true home with the Wii controls

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Soccer on consoles takes a leap forward in usability, flexibility, tactics, realism and fun with PES-2008. The limitations of trying to fit a continually moving soccer game into the constraints of joystick control have been thrown off with style.

Point, click, drag and lead your players around the pitch with the Wiimote and nunchuk to produce a flowing game that despite a few limitations still results in a satisfying soccer experience. Dribbling and shooting are instinctive. Tackling is a little hit and miss sometimes. Moving players off the ball is truly great especially at set pieces such as free kicks and corners.

There are several modes - including quick match, cups of various pool sizes and league. National teams and various league teams thinly dsguised under not-quite-real names can be selected which have at least some of the real player names. The players have different skill levels which is most noticeable when trying to score with them and there is a fatigue level for each one which can indicate when you need to make a substitution (of which you get three - in English league at least).

There are action replays of goals and other highlights at the end of each half with the ability to move the camera and zoom to savour your favorite moments and this is implemented very well indeed.

In order to provide and wide enough view of the pitch for long passing the player graphics are small by default but this really doesn't detract from the gameplay and the detail on the replays makes up for any deficieny in the normal play.

BUT - yep here's the BUT, after a while the game does tend to start feeling a little too much of the same thing every game. It's not a massive problem but if you are easily bored with games this could be a problem for you. Together with the fact that the direction of your attempts on goal is pretty much under the Wii's control this is why the game only gets an 8.

Definitely rent it and try it - some may want to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2 REVIEWS: Rent PES 08 (wait for 09); BUY FIFA 08!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the first installment to hit a Nintendo system; and I was excited to try it! Eventhough the trailers and screens made it look like it was difficult.

Here are my reviews...

PES 08 {7}; The training was good and it did not make you want to give up. However the controls in PES 08 are actualy intuitive until you try to tackle. The graphics are nice and the players move fluidly, Even the commentator is more clear and nicer to listen to. The online is ok. The big draw back is that this has to many layers and it makes it difficult just to play (they need to streamline the menu screens). Since it is getting overhauled in 09 I would say rent this but buy Fifa 08; Way better Deal!!

Fifa 08 {9}; Most of you gave up thinking the controls was to difficult. However the training mode was not as tuitive as it should have been; and I agreed. On the other hand after just jumping in and playing a game for 5 minutes it came naturally. I know that it does not have Tournament mode but it is put together almost perfectly; the controls are outstanding, the menu is perfect, the online is better, and it flows more smoothly. I bought this one before playing and it is the best Fifa game since 98 and 02!!

Next year we should have 2 outstanding titles; and until that time comes; I highly reccomend that you {BUY} Fifa 08 and {rent} PES 2008!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Konami's Evolution

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Evolution Soccer series has always garnered critical praise as well as been excepted by the Japanese gaming community as THE soccer title. Things really haven't evolved as much as the title implies but that's ok because its' core gameplay is still some of the best you can get in any soccer title out there. FIFA from EA might look a little more impressive but Konami's Pro Evolution has the gameplay goods. You don't play Evolution Soccer for the graphics (even though they're pretty darn good for a Wii title). You play Evolution because of its' extremely tight gameplay mechanics. This has always been my favorite soccer series going all the way back to International Superstar Soccer 64 on the N64 (it was actually Pro Evolution Soccer with a different title here in the states) and it still is. If your looking for quality gameplay in your soccer simulation then look no further than Pro Evolution Soccer 2008. Thank you Konami.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I thought this game was going to be really good and fun, but it just wasn't. The graphics are really bad, you can't even see the jersey number. The wifi connection is also really bad on this game, because it takes way to long to find an opponent. Do not rent this game, rent FIFA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a soccer fan

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

I am not a soccer fan by any means, but this game was pretty cool. I found the graphics good and the game play average but i still had fun playing. I guess i am expecting every Wii game to be as fun as lego Star Wars but that's not going to happen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting!!

posted by WildFan (HOPKINS, MN) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I just went out a bought this game last night and I had a tough time putting the remote down and going to bed last night.

When I first started playing I was a little concerned because the graphics aren't the best and some of the navigation screens are downright cheezy looking but the game play is an absolute 10!

What it lacks in graphics it makes up for in the creativity in using the Wii remote in a sports game, bottom line is that this is the type of game that I was hoping for when I bought the Wii. I'd definitely suggest buying this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »