Rent Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 for PS3
view large frontback

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

If only EA and Konami could get together...

posted by csdesigns (APEX, NC) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Then we would have a great looking and an excellently controlled soccer game. As it is, we only have a wonderfully controlled soccer game here. The graphics are very much of the Xbox1-type. Really, this was the best Konami could do on the PS3?

But as it is with any sports title, the graphics can stand a bit on the wayside (although begrudgingly) if the controls are intuitive and respond accordingly. Which is what this game delivers. For the other poster to complain about the controls, not to bash him too much, but I have to ask if you have ever played FIFA 08? FIFA looked really nice, but the user-controlled players were always over-animating and I never felt like I was in complete control of the characters, especially when trying to make cuts with the ball. To me, that ruined the experience in FIFA, and really, its been that way ever since the last gen for that series. PES still lacks a large number of features and depth that the EA series has had for some time now, but the gameplay and control still belong to Konami.

If you own any of the last few games in the PES (Winning 11) series on PS2, then there may not be much reason to check this game out. But then again that's what gamefly is for... checking out games before you buy them to decide if its worth your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PES 2008

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

PES 2008 is a great game -- to an extent. EA's FIFA series has made strides over the past couple of years to catch up to the Konami game, and some people have said FIFA 2008 is finally better than PES this year.

If your main interest is online play, then I agree. PES 2008 is a mess online; the game is essentially unplayable. FIFA 2008 is a much better choice for the gamer who plans to spend most of his time online.

However, if you enjoy playing offline against the computer or your friends, then PES 2008 should be the choice. As usual, the gameplay is stellar -- players move, dribble, pass, and shoot exactly as you'd expect them to. There are a huge number of animations; you can play for hours and still see new animations every game. Everything about the game feels like real soccer; FIFA 2008 still hasn't reached this level of realistic soccer simulation.

The graphics on PES are underwhelming. It looks more like an upgraded PS2/Xbox title than a next-gen PS3/360 game. The previously mentioned animations help make up for it, but Konami should really be able to produce a game that looks better than this, especially two years into the life of these consoles.

In the end though, gameplay is what matters the most. And the gameplay is fantastic; you won't find a better soccer game. I enjoy playing the game offline in Master League mode, and the broken online play doesn't bother me as much as it will other players. Thus I give this game a 9/10 -- the gameplay is so good that it makes up for the other shortcomings.

However, as I said earlier, if you plan to spend a lot of time playing online, you should probably go with FIFA 2008. Despite still lagging behind PES in realistic gameplay, the online works wonderfully whereas PES' does not. Hopefully Konami will release a patch to fix the broken online play, but until then PES is strictly an offline experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Give it a try? or Pass

posted by Otttoman (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

What are the most important things when you buy a game?

I would say graphics , story , controls . Game would be good only when theese 3 elements come togather and balance .
Dear PES 2008 i could not see any "THING" that you were using "mighty" cells of PS3, plus controls are horrible . It is not the same game anymore. It is not like it used to be .... you get togather with your friends have couple beer and play it whole night until your eyes get stuck and start seeing things double ... :)
There is no available update function , for recent squads >not even radio like FIFA series ... It feels like the game was made for PS2 and developers changed it last second.

So i think this game is not going to last long ...
If i had another chance i wouldnt waste my time renting it .FIFA 08 is a much better replacment ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PES 2008 is more fun than Fifa 2008

posted by pollux (SOUTHLAKE, TX) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 is more fun than Fifa 2008. It's not even a contest. I'm not a devoted PES fan - this is my first experience with the franchise. I have been a big fan of Fifa games in the past, and I expected to prefer it this time around, but I rented both games and it took just a few minutes for me to make up my mind. I wasn't having any fun playing Fifa. PES, on the other hand, is a blast.

I have read mixed reviews about both games, and I found it hard to find any consensus between ratings sites. The only way for me to decide was to try them both out. Fifa has the licensed teams, which admittedly is a big plus, but you can download option files to fix the fake team names on PES. I haven't tried out online play on PES, but I have heard it's so laggy that it's unplayable, so you might want to take that into consideration. The bottom line is that PES 2008 is fun to play and Fifa 2008 isn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not that good.

posted by CrazyPlaya (MENIFEE, CA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PES 2008 is a good game, it has players playing soccer. It really doesn't have more than that. The Master league was fun and had some variety but beyond that everything seemed the same from the previous winning eleven game. Personally i like FIFA much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Online play for rental??

posted by Bloggerme (LAKE HIAWATHA, NJ) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Whats the deal, you cant play this online as a rental cause you need to enter the registration code. That makes renting this USELESS as renters dont have the code!! This sux. And the game is not PS3 quality!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Online gameplay??

posted by Parcerito (MIAMI, FL) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

You need to have a code to play online... we as renters are stuck!.. what the...? even less points for this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

still waiting !!!!

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I love the winning eleven series ...big fan for years ..the ps3 is a great console and I think that Konami couldv'e taken advantage more of its engine but unfortunately not....the same game play but lame graphics...but still i'd rather play pes 2008 than fifa ....I'm keeping my fingers crossed for pes 2009..I'm still waiting konami i know you can do better..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls are too difficult

posted by topace88 (WOODSIDE, NY) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I find the controls difficult to master. Maybe it is the nature of the game, however the layout does not seem intuitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever!!!

posted by kakaaa (rockville, MD) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

pro evolution soccer is the worst game ever in the history of konami....its ok when u play offline but its what everybody should at least expect the graphics because its on ps3....but go and play online , the game is horrible...its unplayable!!!!!! what a dispointment!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pro Evolution Soccer

posted by nader00 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Facial grahics are great. Player movement is fairly realistic. Level of difficult is very good. The lamest thing about this game is that gamefly doesn't provide you with the registration information to play it online. What is the problem with that? I can't figure it out!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A+++ 100 times Better than FiFa 08

posted by zamalloa (FAIRFAX, VA) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game is much better than fifa 08 better graphics and game play awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008

posted by UsmanLV (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The graphics are amazing. The game play is not as fun as Fifa. I have more fun playing Fifa Street than PES. But did I mention the graphics are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It doesn't score

posted by WetLight (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

My review of this game is based on the few days i had it with me! I played by myself a few times and the AI was extremely hard to beat.
I played with a few friends but the game wasn't a lot fun. It was awkward! The graphics are not last gen capable! Give it a try, you might like it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a good game

posted by azul17 (TORRANCE, CA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I played it only for 15 min coz i couldnt stan it. The graphics are super bad, the game play is ok. i still think fifa 08 its a way better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than FIFA on gameplay

posted by BadBunny (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) May 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

FIFA looks much better but ProEv plays a better game. Online is weak but the two-player contests are great, as as the single-player and master league. You can find option files pretty easily to change some of the kits and update the rosters. I've been a fifa fan but the ps3 fifa is still glitchy. Pro Ev looks like an xbox classic game but the gameplay is much better. If graphics is what you want, fifa is better. For a realistic game of football, ProEv still wins. The bad reviews should be taken with a grain of salt. Hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The most dissapointing PES

posted by proevofan (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I have been WE/PES fan until this year. I switched to FIFA 2008 because of many reasons.

1. PES has been getting negative review especially for PS3. I tried it and agree with the negative review.

2. FIFA 08 has a player update/roster feature that makes me not going to switch back to PES until it fixes this issue.

3. The worst design to lock the Online play with serial so I cannot play online thru gamefly.

4. The animation of players are so robotics

5. The game is so arcadish. Players move too quick like robots

6. I tried PS2 version it is way better than the PS3. Probably because not hi-def so the poor animation is probably hidden.

So this game not worth your dollars but penny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PES lost the race!!

posted by MO1978 (TROY, MI) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

PES was always on the top.. this was the situation 1-2 years ago. But since Fifa07 came out, things did changed.

PES points:

Graphics:
- the best PES so far (no surprise! ) with the HD, but yet far less than fifa07.

Presentation and content:
- Better content, and much better presentation than the previous version, but again, never compared with fif07.

Gameplay:
- this has always been the strength point of PES and the weakness point of fifa games. Now, what happened?
Fifa significantly improved the gameplay to be more realistic and more enjoyable with plenty of moves. Whereas, PES continued to maintain the same good level of gameplay but with the drop of the frame rate while intensive play going on!. Having said that, for the same price, go and get the fifa07, and the PES guys have to think of something better. otherwise, it's a dead end for them.. so sad!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pro evolution soccer 2008

posted by realmz1503 (Aliso Viejo, CA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

good game

boring if played alone though

over all fun exiting

and original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pro evo futbol (soccer)

posted by dankman4 (SPRINGDALE, PA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

game was cool , graphics were cool i guess, but if you are a fifa player then it will screw up your buttons. it took about 1 1/2 games for me to be over pro evo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pes 2008

posted by bumsun (RIVERSIDE, CA) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

okay this is better than fifa 08, but thats not saying much. people, for the love of god stop supporting games that are broken. You keep buying them they are going to keep making them.

it is better gameplay than fifa, but the box says online play and you can't even get online if you rent it. that is straight garbage. add to that there is lag on out of bounds play and long kicks. i paid $500 for next gen games not atari. don't buy this.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LAG!

posted by batistutas (ARCADIA, CA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Horrilbe online gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »