Rent Prince of Persia for PS3
view large frontback

Prince of Persia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.6

9603 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A beautiful start

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

64 out of 76 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game looks stunning. The art work makes it feel like you are playing through a sketch or water painting- an amazing look thats never really been done so well. The puzzles are nearly absent throughout the whole game and the few you run into are very simple. The focus is mainly on platforming and ballet-like combat. The combat is way too easy. button prompts show up on screen to aid you in battles and there is no way to turn them off which could make some people looking for a challenge, look somwhere else. Platforming is fun and its impossible to die because your AI sidekick saves you every time you miss a jump. Its nice because you dont have to satrt all over but, again, it takes away from the challenge. You AI companion is one of the smartest I have ever seen. The enemies are not numerous- focusing mainly on 1v1 combat. The open world allows you to complete tasks in any order you please. This is a huge step away from the sands of time trilogy but a welcome new step at that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing....but,

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

37 out of 47 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome....but, i do have issues with it. visually, its got some of the more impressive graphics ive seen ever in a game. the animation was stellar and in its own rights, there isnt a game that offers the quality of graphics that this game offer. the familiar jumping style gameplay (Prince of Persia, Mirror's Edge) is very exciting and fun at the same time being easy enough to play, but with enough challenges to annoy you when you mess up for the hundredth time. the fighting system is alot of fun once you learn how to use it.
now, the problems....thats really all there is to the whole game. once you get past all the new concepts this game has to offer, it gets rather boring, at least for me it did. there isnt much fighting, really and i got bored of jumping and sliding and swinging (and falling) off of things after about the 3rd hour. the story was interesting enough for me to finish the game, and i will say that, even with what i thought were flaws, this is one of the best games of the year and you definitely need to experience it yourself, because it has some amazing features to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so perfect !

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

33 out of 46 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

ok lets start by me saying that I'm was a huge fan of the POP trilogy...loved it on my ps2...and what alot of changes has been added on the next gen POP.
The graphics are amazing story is good...the only comment that i have about those two sections is:
Its prince of PERSIA..and here comes a prince from the desert with blue eyes and an american accent..come on !!!!!they were suppose to make him more authentic with a persian look and an cool accent ..and I'm sure every body agrees when i mention NIKO BALAC from GTA4 ..ya the looks and his accent made him very cool..
one huge deference that this game has from assassin's creed is the environment with assassin's was filled with people walking in the markets and the city makes u interact with other people but with POP u play the whole game with the prince and elika and maybe one or two enemies..thats it !
remember the old prince of persia when u fall in a crowd on enemies and u start jumping from one of them's back to stab another ..i hope u will get my point..i think it will get kinda boring running alone in the desert with a chick walking on walls and jumping on polls ..walking on walls and jumping on polls ..walking on walls and jumping on polls ..walking on walls and jumping on polls ..see i bet u got frustrated by now ..that exactly what the game does to u ..I'm sorry ubisoft u could done better..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prince of Repetition (Ubi Soft's table scraps)

posted by duff916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game should be called "Prince of Repetition" because once you first have to use your map to make your way through the game it never seems to change at all. And by that I mean, all the levels have the same basic lay-out. And there are not that many enemies to fight. Plus they are easy to kill so you might as well get out a turbo controller and just hold down the "Square" button to mash through them. Why they put a combo system in this game is beyand me.

Another thing I didn't like about this game was that fact that you can never die. So with that you never get a scence of "I better make this jump" or "Oh NO! He is about to kill me!" because your female companion will ALWAYS save you.

Graphics are a nice change but kinda get old after a while scence all the levels look just about the same.

The control is probably the best part about this game. It is so easy to wall-run, jump, fight or just about anythng the Prince does in this game. But at the same time it seems a little to easy and offers no real challenge while controling the Prince.

All-in-all this is a good weekend rental but thats it.

I gave it a 4 out 10 (weak).

Looking forward to the next Price of Persia!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Please tell me this game was a joke..

posted by BloodLust5 (HAVERHILL, MA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I am appalled at the high ratings I have seen people give this game- I hesitated even to give it the 5 I did. The number of complaints I have with this game FAR OUTWEIGH any enjoyment I felt in playing it.

First, the battle system. Can we talk about a complete turn for the worst since the other games-every single battle is COMPLETELY the same. Nothing changes throughout the ENTIRE GAME. You always fight 1 person at a time and from start to finish you have the exact same set of combos that become increasingly dull and boring. Every battle is literally: wait, block, strike strike strike. Over and over and over again. Oh and btw, it is impossible to die- at first it seemed somewhat nice but after a while it was like, is this game serious? The battles in the other game were far more entertaining- you jumped around, integrated attacks from enemy to enemy, utilized the environment more effectively, manipulated time, and all sorts of other cool things. What happened here!?

My second main complaint- light seeds. Are you kidding me? Not only do you have to complete the entire "level" once, but you then have to go back and run through the entire level again collecting "light seeds"- this task becomes so tedious and mundane that cutting myself seemed like a better time. Not to mention that every single level is basically the same to begin with. Run along wall, grab ring, jump...
The story line is horrible. They provide frustratingly little information on both the protagonist's and elika's history- what happened to all of her people!?

Basically, you will have no fun running through 24 levels of basically the exact same obstacles, with the exact same boring unchanging battles, only to laboriously collect every idiotic light seed. The dialogue is also completely sub-par.

Also, you run frustratingly slow, and the height cap for the prince's falls are sometimes ridiculously and aggravatingly low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Inches Away

posted by stphnvlkmn (MURPHY, NC) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have been an avid fan of the Prince of Persia Franchise for years now, and this game made me love it even more.
First of all, let me address the main complaint. People are annoyed with the fact that you can't technically die in this game. I personally found it to be convenient. A big thing that can make platformers annoying is having to repeat a large section over and over until you get the difficult part right. Ubisoft did a good job solving that annoyance by only making you repeat a small part. That also makes it more believable, in a sense. Just as in Bioshock, the main character doesn't actually die, and seeing how people in real life don't get multiple lives, it fits. It also allows for a stronger bond between the prince and Elika; you can see their care for each other, especially if Elika has to save you when you mess up in combat.

The platforming in this game is just top notch. Although they did make it a little to easy. I'm just saying for all that he does, you'd think you would have to press more buttons to do it. The combat is fun, but it is rather easy once you get the hang of things. And back to the dying thing: If you suck at combat in this game, you will not beat it. Making a mistake that would cause you to die in most games, gives life to your opponent.

The story in this game is good, but it's really the interaction between Prince and Elika that got me hooked in. They can do a good job of keeping the mood light. My only complaint with it is that Ubisoft has got to stop making bad endings to their games (reference to Assassin's Creed); I know they do it to show that there will be a sequel, but they could definitely do better.
I want to give it a ten, but I can't; but it is inches away. There was a sequence in the last boss that was unique, but a step in the wrong direction. There was also the ending, and a few quirks here and there. 9.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You can't die.... so what?

posted by kampret (HAYWARD, CA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Many people will complain that this game is very easy to beat, and you can't die...

I agree that you can't die in this game, but the game is not easy... it just feels easy..

As one reviewer pointed out before, if you suck at fighting, you won't advance.. there are times where just tapping buttons won't kill the enemy... (health bar won't drop at all) you need certain strategies to kill the boss..

When you jumped off cliff, you will get saved... but you will be put on the area the last time you're on the ground.. which could be a long way after you do those acrobatic moves.. it just eliminates annoying loading times you usually find in certain games like this.. now explain to me why that's a bad thing?

I hate loading times.. I really do.. in this game, you start the game.. and virtually won't find any loading times.. the only times you will see loading screens are when you teleport, which is not very often..

conversations are fun and make you chuckles at time.. the guessing game is hilarious, and you can elect not to trigger it if you don't want..

puzzles are exciting... there are even times I had to create some equations on a piece of paper in order to solve one of the puzzles.. I haven't had such fun with math since.. well.. forever... :p

I'm not a hardcore gamer.. and I got frustrated with games such as call of duty or mirror's edge (very frustrating as I died a lot).. so this is a perfect game for me... others might disagree.. I just dont agree that 'not dying' is boring...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Pretty and pretty boring

posted by Jaruski (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Yes, it was a great use of cell shading, a very stylized approach on a venerable brand. Kudos. But when the game play mechanics detract from any real enjoyment, you've no other recourse but to throw down your controller, and put this stinker back into its envelope.

I was enthused and amused on the first and second "worlds", but quickly realized that I was doing the same thing over and over and over and over agaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiin. Being rescued every time I fell was novel at first and then quickly grew to extremely aggravating. You and I both know that there's more than enough space on the disc to have some variety in their "snappy" dialog. "Aak! You're heavier than you look!" ANNOYING THE FIRST TIME, but the hundreth, millionth, gazillionth time? Oh, you best believe their dialog grows annoying fast. And the bosses? LAME! Home-girl Elika is especially annoying during the fights. And whoever programmed the camera so that you can't see behind you while you're clinging to a ledge or vine needs to stop programming cameras and move on to a less annoying line of work, like stabbing me with a butter knife or becoming the new head of the RNC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A MUST SEE GAME

posted by Gigalow (WHITTIER, CA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

OK, first off,i'm not much into writing reviews so forgive me if i miss any common gaming terms..Also forgive the poor spelling i suck at it cause i spend 8 hours of my work day doing contracts so i refuse to go back and do it at home,with that said...

This game is great,I haven't played a game like this in so long it's quite refreshing.

GRAPHICS... AWESOME,the comic book cartoon look fit very well. The detail looked very good any point of view close or far didn't matter.I admit to acouple glitches where you could see through the walls and such but, it wasn't worth crying about.
SOUND... AWESOME as well,the sound fit well for battles and story. On the con side(maybe it's just my audio)but rarely the music silenced some of the chatter from the story.Either way i turned the other cheek.
Story...GREAT. I could have had a deeper story line,but having a wife who enjoys watching me play it was perfect(i didn't have to keep her clued into anything :)

This is a game i would recommend to anyone, If your a awesome gamer or hardcore i would just rent it,but if your a casual gamer it's a must buy. I knocked off 1 point in rating just to be fair because of the glitches and sound issues but besides that HAVE A BLAST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't you remember the old prince?

posted by zachar (TROY, OH) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OLD PRINCE

If you played through sands, warrior within, and two thrones, then you must have fallen in love with the battle system. Picking up different weapons, throwing them at your enemies. Facing up to 6 opponents at once sometimes. Kind of mixing the old jet li game with different sword techniques. The playstation 2 prince of persia games were all about the action, and the puzzles!

NEW PRINCE

If you liked the prince before, you will not like this one. I played an hour, and it left me almost in tears. They changed the battle system... THEY CHANGED THE JUMP/CLIMB/WALLRUN BUTTON! WHAT THE SHIP? you cant do that to us! If you want a really pretty game to look at that doesn't skill or hand eye coordination to play, then you might like this game. But for the more hard core players that have experienced the old prince games, i would strongly advise you to not touch this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WHAT A JOKE

posted by patejn5 (DAYTON, OH) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you played the past PoP, you will be disappointed with this one. You spend most of your time in this game trying to collect these light orbs. There are only 5 different enemies in this game. You play each boss 5 times, and by the fifth time your just annoyed really. There are no fancy combos as there were in the past PoP, no weapons you can pick up, no special abilities. This game really was an utter disappointment. If your thinking about renting this game, don't bother you'll have a better time with PoP: Sands of time. This one sucks monkey n-ts. I got the impression the producers need to realize a game so they cheaply made a game, with last generation graphics and old interfaces. JOKE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too casual?

posted by Data1979 (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ever get the feeling your watching a game as opposed to playing it, well thats how I felt with this game. Sure, it looks alright, nothing spectacular if you have played Ninja Gaiden or Heavenly Sword. The gameplay is just straight forward button mashing - I suppose my real gripe with this game is its too easy, I understand wanting to attract casual gamers and all, but seriously if I want to just vegetate with no real mental stimulation I will watch any of the national news channels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointed

posted by nephelim9 (SYLMAR, CA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I used to be a big fan of this game but this last one was very bad in my opinion. hardly no fighting and all the goodies from the previous games are gone , so dont expect to much out of this new one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by Jdubski (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

When i saw commercials for this i was excited. After first few minutes of playing, its clear that this game was made for little kids that's for sure. The controls are so simple a monkey could play. The story is lame and plot is dull. You'll be yawning after 5 minutes. The very minimal fighting sequences are boring, akward, and repetitive. The main point of the game is to simply run around collecting orbs. Very lame. I played for about 20 minutes and returned it. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fantastic Average

posted by znadynot (BREMERTON, WA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+May Contain Spoilers+
While I can't say how this game compares with any of the story revolving around the Prince of Persia story, I did play through this game with the highest of hopes that it would knock my socks off. Needless to say to anyone else who has played through it completely, the socks stayed on.
I enjoyed the stylized graphics the game offered, but I think that any game released on a current-gen system with such limited unique animations and repetitive (albeit beautifully fitting) music selection could have gone far beyond what was displayed in this title.
The combat system was VERY forgiving, which isn't necessarily a bad thing but does make for a much less challenging game. The most challenging part of the combat was probably dealing with the frustration of when your combos get interrupted and broken up automatically whenever you pushed 3 of the 4 main mini-bosses to the edge of the combat zones. Also, the moveset you start with is the moveset you end with. Nothing is ever added, yet the mini-bosses become more challenging as the game progresses. This seemed like an unfair advantage on the AI's part.
Outside of combat, the acrobatics can be strung together in beautiful fashion with minimal effort, even by uncoordinated players. However, poor detection in some areas makes for some frustrating rescues by Elika because you restart where you last had both feet planted firmly on the ground.
Another note to the challenge of the game is this: You can't die. Yep, The Prince is invincible because Elika will always use her magic to save him. While it is frustrating to replay hours of some games due to lack of saves or checkpoints, you will not worry about that here. Some players may enjoy that, others may not.
I will not reveal the ending to the game to those who do wish to play through, but I was disappointed by the inability to choose what The Prince does.
All in all, I really enjoyed playing through the game but I'm glad I didn't buy it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good art, Generic storytelling

posted by MrTheDude (PORT ANGELES, WA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Granted i've been playing this game for about 3 hours hoping that around the next corner will be something that impresses me. Unfortunately that moment continues to be elusive. Most of the gameplay is centered around getting to the objective while not many enemies are present. Repetitive, lifeless, dull. 3 words to describe this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a great game.

posted by akram3803 (DEARBORN, MI) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The older game was better and more fun and exciting then this new one, the graphics were alot better and you for sure did not need a side kick with you all the time, it is pointless to have someone saving you all the time and not having a challenge in the game. I didn't even want to play the game anymore after a while it was boring. Why do i need to fly? what is the pointof that?!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Prince of Persia

posted by kenwest3 (TAUNTON, MA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

cartoonish kids game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

outstanding game, and story but....

posted by gameflight (MESA, AZ) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

1 thing that bothered me about this game was what alot of people been saying is the ending a little empty...not to sure if their going to make a 2nd 1 or not maybe i should of got that extra patch 4 the game but thats doing 2 much 4 me i just was hoping...that it would end like the prince of persia on PS2 but unfortunately it wasn't other then that the game was outstanding i mean almost excellent but im a little bit confused i mean not much prince going on here just a thief....I'm a little bit distraught with that 1 but o well these 2 things i mentioned were the only problems other than that its a must rent i highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow games sucks

posted by balmori78 (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game suck they missed it all up.i was expecting more killing and you do the same thing over and over thats why i give Prince of Persia a 1!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i sent back this game i did not like it at all!!!!

posted by junor522 (BRENTWOOD, NY) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i sent back this game i did not like it at all!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointment

posted by Behemial (AYER, MA) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like the POP series don't get this game. It is awful. There are more boss battles than henchmen and the battles aren't nearly as violent as past games. No more fighting hordes of enemies, just the frustrating wall climbing and jumping around. You can't even die and you don't even have to find the way to go, they show it to you. So it requires nothing other than an occasional button push (I actually did some sequences with my eyes closed). For the first time ever a hit series of video games was taken and dragged through the mud and urinated on, what a great idea. How this game got good ratings is beyond me. And by the way after you beat each level you need to run around like a lunatic collecting orbs to open other levels. I only beat the game out of respect for the series and I want my time back. I will save you your time-all the work you do to prevent the guy from escaping is undone by you when you decide to let him go in the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally a step in the right direction

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Its nice to see a company take an old franchise, try something new, and make it work. The graphics and physics are beautiful and the artistic style is a complete breath of fresh air.

My only complaint is the lack of improvement among the characters. You can't really upgrade your abilities or unlock new combos or anything like that. It does seem to get monotonous towards the end. Other than that the game is wonderful.

Normally when a game offers the a sandbox style game play, the games graphics take a hint to allow all the objects to be present without heavy load times. But this game offers a sandbox adventure with beautiful graphics. It is just like playing a comic book, its amazing.

This story is wonderful as well, every boss has their own back story that interweave into a wonderful adventure. Plus the addition of Elika adds a new element to an already great series. She comes in to add a tag team element during battles and allows you to instantly replay difficult areas without a load time.

I highly recommend this game to any person with nex-gen console. Totally worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prince of Persia's adventure continues

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Prince of Persia, is the game which started the whole genre of being able to climb, slide, run on walls, and now SCALE THE CEILING.. If you played the previous versions, Prince of Persia is a must have and a definite rent..

The Sands of Time is only the past. The Prince's Fallen Kingdom, that was fallen too the merciless Sands of time, turning all the loyal servant, and soldiers into sand creatures, with the Prince's royal arrogant modesty, and no curse held, the prince was free to return home, at last.

Weathered and scared, the Prince's past only to deem himself worthy of defeating another one of fate's next paths by defying death before. Once again, the Prince places himself in another adventure by aiding a damsel in distress; the princess of the name of Elika. The princess Elkia, whos kingdom has fallen into the grasp of the god of darkness, Ahriman.

In this version of Prince of Persia Elika helps him threw the entire adventure. Unlike before where he would only meet up with acquaintances in certain parts of the game who sometimes would aid the prince, but with a accidental arrow shot at prince while in combat.
- "Shoot at them, not me!!" -- "sorry"

Ubisoft has evolved Prince of Persia in many ways.. Ubisoft really aimed to have the player be able to explore the entire map. There is no longer one way paths. There is sometimes more then one way to reach a location. Be sure to check your compass quite often, the chances of traveling a complete opposite way and getting lost is very easily accomplished. The new anime-like graphics gives the world a fable story book feel that is very captivating, as well as fun to stop an admire the entire surroundings. The new combat system allows a dynamic interface for epic sword fight battles to take place, but a down side is that you only wish you get to fight more corruption engulfed soldiers; this new Prince of Persia has actually changed for a whole new pace into the story of the game's genre, and for the better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest games i've played on ps3!

posted by fenixfire (EAST QUOGUE, NY) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible! I really do enjoy adventure games, and this is one of the best. I have yet to play the tomb raider game for ps3, but i do have mirror's edge, and I highly recommend this game if you've enjoyed mirror's edge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse