Rent Prince of Persia for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Prince of Persia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.7

16203 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game fit for a... well, a prince!

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

107 out of 127 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I have to say after seeing the games direction at E3 I was a little worried.
Using an artistic style instead of whats been normal for the past 3 prince of persia games, had me unsure. Adding a 2nd character had me downright frightened.
I'm VERY pleased to say this game has laid all those fears to rest.
The cell shaded characters, the background music, the story, even the voice acting all top notch!
This is a game worthy of some praise! For a company to take a very drastic departure from what has been familiar for players is always a slippery slope, but Ubisoft has done it and the game has come out with a fresh new look, but yet a similar feel.
I will say the play controls take a small amount of getting used to if you have played previous Prince of Persia games. But nothing that a few minutes of playing wont solve.
The second character I'm happy to report is really not AI controlled, its more of an extension of yourself, assisting you in jumping further and pulling off a few nice combos during the fight sequences.
The game also carries the same trial and error exploration of all the series, but in the past you needed to manually save your life and reverse time. This one is more like time reversal on automatic, so if you make a wrong move you're magically saved instead of sent to your death. Although that does take a little challenge out of the game it does promote more fun vs. frustration and allows things to flow nicely.

Bottom line:
Stylish graphics, fun gameplay, solid controls, good voice acting, and nice movie quality story.
The only downside is without death penalties the game is somewhat easy. But for some that may not be such a negative. In all thats what makes this an excellent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitive

posted by SPenguin (WOODINVILLE, WA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am finding this game to be very hard to play through. I normally enjoy games where you have puzzles and platforming but when the entire game is the same thing over and over, with barely any real story, it gets very old. And that is my issue with this game.

You don't really fight that much, at least from what I have seen so far (about halfway through) and even when you do fight, there are no consequences for doing poorly because you can't die...at all. I don't mind that type of system for some things since it allows you to have fun jumping around and trying to get the orbs floating everywhere, but it goes a bit far. Fighting isn't hard either, just mash a couple buttons.

Graphics are okay. I like when games use stylized graphics like Borderlands or other cell type shaded effects, but this game, in my opinion, doesn't use it in the best way. The graphics feel bland and boring. The stylized graphics also seem to lower the detail on quite a bit of objects.

The controls for the game are easy and not really much to go into. There were times that I would jump off into a void on accident because of the camera or controls. Make sure to time certain things correctly. Sometimes an action needs to finish its motion before you start another action. Sometimes it feels like you need to go a bit slow with button presses and other times faster.

Overall this game is not worth buying and I'm not even sure I would suggest renting it. If you like overly repetitive game play and a boring story then try it out. But definitely try it before even thinking of buying it. I like to finish games I rent/buy but I don't think I can stomach this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Visually stunning but repetitive and shallow.

posted by nightmare6 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

48 out of 66 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Visually stunning but depressingly and disappointingly shallow and incredibly repetitive.

One sentence to describe Prince of Persia.

Before anything, I have play all of the previous 3 Prince games and the original (and not on XBLA). I have to say, the game IS fun, but is VERY repetitive, I can stress this enough. Be prepared to do the same thing for 10 hours, and I don't mean the same thing as a shooter example of shoot, crouch, shoot again and move forward repetitive, I mean, press A to jump, then B to grab, the Y to use the special jumps and thats it for 95% of your gaming time, and all you need is the correct button press and he does it automatically.

The fighting system is decent (and I'm being generous). It just not consistent at all,and sometimes down right frustrating cause one fight everything works and the next you do the 100% same thing and it fails like the game was bugged. Ultimately rewarding, but sometimes I wish the just eliminated the fighting and that would make even the repetitive jumping even more obvious.

Now for Elika... For does who don't know, every time you fall, you got this companion that saves you no matter what, even if she is supposedly unconscious, she wakes up out of nowhere, saves you and then goes back to unconscious. This mean you can never die. But in my book, I have died about 500 times in this game already. Trust me, once you see her saving you 5 times in 1 minute, you NOTICE you did die, this is just a nice checkpoint system, but you do "die", just not in the Game Over kinda way. Also, the story is none existent, you might as well have made it have a timer in case you wanted to do speed runs and make it more arcade like.

The game is 100% rental material, just not a buy. The game is about 2 hours long too, so its not short. Since this is a Gamefly review, I say:
Rent it for sure, but this ain't no must buy and reviewers are to generous with this cause of its name and brand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

undergoing mitosis...

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

53 out of 85 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

get it!? cuz of the...uh...CELL.. shaded...graphics? okay. it was a lame joke. moving on.

the prince of persia brings one of the most classic game franchises to the 360...FINALY.lets hit up the pros and cons of this new instalment.
PROS:
1. the graphics.yeah,its the first thing u'll notice.these graphics are beautiful.i personaly luv the new art direction.the whole game looks like it was taken straight from a concept artists sketch book and majicaly made playable on screen.
2. the story.its not GREAT,but i like it.once again the entire landscape has been thrown into bleak chaos by some dark majic god type deal,and its up to u as the prince to restore the "fertile plain".u r acompanied by the princess of the land who has the useful ability to use majic.this adds a fresh new feel to the game,letting u use her power to jump further and fight better.the voice acting is also pretty good,and the comical lines the two dish out make some darker moments a little more lighthearted.
3. COMBAT.okay,again,as in my Assasins Creed review,i have to SIIING the praises of UBISOFT MONTREAL!these guys KNOW how to make a game! okay!? the combat system in this feels sluggish AT FIRST,but once u and the princess r able to team up...its AWESOME.the entire fight system is based one on one (boooHOOO.i wont get to fight timesand zombies 20 at a time...just...just read on) and still feels great. its cinematic and the combos u can pull are awesome,and best of all,u have to strategize(not alot)to win,no BUTTON MASHING.
4. landscape. its ALL connected. no loading screens,no door portals,no nonsense.

CONS:
1. one of the reviewers called the game repetative and shallow.CHEESUS CRUST! R U SERIOUS!? every POP game is REPETATIVE.RUN,JUMP,WALL RUN,PILLAR CLIMB, SWORDPLAY...need i go on? every game is repetative to a point,but we still play them cuz theyr FUN!

so just rent this game.not much replayability, but its fun. an 8 1/2 out 10.

this review brought to u by pucheo films on uTUBE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A great chance that ultimately falls flat

posted by Node202 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

25 out of 40 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Lets get straight to business and skip brushing up on the series history.

PoP is a new spin on an old theme and genre which attempts to breathe fresh air into the long beloved (by some) PoP series. The game features a new prince who has a on screen companion this time around and last for the entire games duration.

Lets talk about the good first. The new prince, the new art style and SOME of "tag team" elements found in the new companion are great. Well, the art style and world POTENTIAL is great. The new prince...artistically is great but retains some of his smart mouthy nature (not a real problem, dialogue is not unbearable).

It is also worth mentioning that the music is quite good. The story...is cliched a bit and really could be on par with a Disney story not unlike Aladin or some such.

However, then there is the bad. The games biggest problem is its difficulty. To put it short, it is simply far TOO easy. Its not just the often spoke of fact that you cannot truly die(fall off a cliff and get pulled up instantly, fall in battle and get a instant res).

Its the fact that the actual platforming, the very backbone of the game, running, jumping, climbing etc, is all automated. Every jump, every wall run, every grab, is scripted. What this means is the actual control you have over the prince and his actions is cleverly limited. Its hard to explain, but for those who enjoy platforming, making your own way to find things etc. It will not happen in this game. Every single thing you would need to use platforming for has a predefined route to it, complete with predefined running areas-

(take hand of controller while wall running, tap A, tap A,tap A. he just did some intricate stuff and you had little to do with it)
Couple this with the fact the actual game pacing is nothing more than a slight twist on the okami system (Find evil stuff, clean land, collect stuff, repeat) does not help.

The game to me lacks any real enjoyment when the core aspect of it is automated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince of persia Great

posted by Dustin2k6 (BISMARCK, ND) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

First of all ignore the 1st review its in all Caps and the guy is obviously a fan boy

Now onto the game
First of all its quite different from the other pop games. It is a new prince game after all but i Wanna keep this short and sweet .the game is beautiful fun and full of some great combat. if you are a fan just rent this one and see for yourself also theres coop attacks that are pretty cool

Graphics=9
Gameplay=8
Story=8
Controls=8
8.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautifully Designed & Renowned Next Gen Classic!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Dec 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I received this game in the mail yesterday, and have played it for a couple of hours. The first thing your going to notice, is the Graphics. I've seen some jaw-dropping, aw-striking games in the years I've been a gamer. This game, Prince of Persia, has to be one of the hands down, greatest games, I've played for 360 to date.

Why do I say and stress this? The amount of Creativity, the Artwork designs, it's as the people had taken their storyboard art designs and literally used the rough copies and made them even more beautiful and enhanced to the fullest to be platformed on the 360. This game is nothing short of brilliant.

My hat's off to the developers, I'm blown away and wowed beyond words. The A.I. system between you & the princess in the game is virtually flawless. It's a smooth moving, fast=paced, puzzle solving, treasure unlocking, story unveiling in-depth story. The combat/fighting system is on point & easy to use, even for the younger gamers.

My ONLY complaint is the camera angles in some points. I had a minor headache during gameplay. My advice, take the game slowly, don't rush it. This is a true piece of art & solid development that Everyone should try & then buy! :) final grade: 9 out of 10. I hope you found my review helpful. As always gamers, thank you for reading! Enjoy My Fellow Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This would have been good.

posted by JavasSarel (SEABROOK, NH) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The GameFly system is kind of like ordering dinner at an expensive restaurant. Note, I have never had an expensive dinner at a gloriously overpriced restaurant, but the theory remains sound. You order things that compliment each other.

Unfortunately, I got Assassin's Creed 2 and Prince of Persia at the same time. Prince of Persia is a mechanically good game, however from the standpoint of seeing the series mature from the start, this isn't so much "Prince of Persia" for me as Assassin's Creed 2 is. AC2 overpowered the finer nuances of this game, and when I had the hankering for a action-platformer-puzzle-exploration game, I didn't pop in Prince of Persia. I popped in Assassin's Creed 2 and went exploring.

The game itself has tons of merit on its own. the pacing is well developed, and a game based around instant kill pitfalls is surprisingly well balanced by having an instant respawn. The battles are cinematic yet still require action on your part, and some of them actually require brainpower to win.

However, the game can be overshadowed by other games with a better sense of danger and risk/reward. If you're going to get this game, pair it on your Gamefly queue with a game of a different genre, such as Call of Duty 4 or Halo: ODST. You'll find it plenty enjoyable then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sometimes beautiful doesn't mean good.

posted by seminoles1 (PURVIS, MS) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game may be one of the best looking games I've ever played especially on my new hi def tv, but after several hours with it I was ready to send it back. Don't get me wrong the game does have it's positives. The hack and slash action is great, the environments are beautiful and it has a pretty good storyline. There are a flock of negatives namely being this game is very repetitive. You basically rome through each level in pretty much the same manner. You hardly meet any opposition aside from the sometimes ridiculously hard acrobatic maneuvers needed to get from one side to the other. You do all of that to finally encounter a boss character who you can easily beat using Elika and her magical combos. And on top of all that you never die. If you fall Elika will save you, if you get hit by an enemy she will bring you back to life. Now if that happens the enemy will regain a small portion of his life but none the less you cannot die. Even though I had this game only a day, I played through almost half of the game according to some of the strategy guides i read on line and it just wasn't my cup of tea. If you liked the old Prince of Persia give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

all in all def. worth a rent

posted by Acidrash (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Dec 5, 2008

Member since May 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

im gonna agree with the previous post and say ignore the 1st review(the one with all caps). no way could you possibly beat the game in under 2hrs. i'd say about 8-10hrs and thats if you just run through it.

to some the changes might turn some fans away, but too most this might be the best PoP yet. yes you dont die(the chick thats with you the whole game saves you), which at 1st might turn some ppl away also but if ya play on you'll quickly realize that its better that they made it that way. YOU WILL BE SAVED(dying to some). AND LOTS.(theres even an achievement you can get if you beat the game while being saved under 100xs, which from what i read most ppl wont get on there 1st play-through myself included. overall great game and def. worth a rental. there even saying it might be up for GAME OF THE YEAR, it wont win with all the great games out so far but should be in the running nonetheless.

Graphics 9
Gameplay 9
Difficulty 8
Controls(once you get use to em) 9
ALL IN ALL 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Um...What Happened?

posted by Venkman (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

19 out of 35 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

The game starts out interesting enough. Then the Prince starts talking like a real jerk and you immediately want to run off a cliff and send him sprawling to his death...Which would be nice if you COULD DIE!!!!

How can you have a game where it is impossible to die. There is no challenge, if you screw up....TRY AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN then fight the same boss AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN. The bosses can't even kill you.

And if that wasn't repetitive enough...After you kill the repetitive bosses in the repetitive levels you get to collect a PAINFUL amount of LIGHT SEEDS. thats fun....Why do i have to collect these light seeds, TO GET A STUPID ABSOLUTELY USELESS POWER (All of the powers do basically the same exact thing)

This game would be good, If it was. The weak link in this game is existence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun at first

posted by 00Domwin (PIEDMONT, SC) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game boils down to orb collecting when you really think about it, and without good enough motivation the average player just cannot keep it up. Without any weapon upgrades, significant combat upgrades, or a truly unique ability I was unable to care beyond the half way point of the game.

The dungeon crawling was fun at first, but that also got tiresome. I found a few odd collision issues as well as some "action logic" bugs (i.e. if i jump at a wall a certain way i am supposed to enter into aciton A. A few times i would instead begin action B or C, both would result in a "death") but they result in mostly minor annoyances. The only variance in the crawling are these 4 types of magical plates, of which i unlocked 3. One involved virtually no input from the player. The other two involved the player dodging obstacles, and again there were some minor collision issues. It seemed the bounding box for the obstacles extended beyond the models so you would collide with the object before you visually do.

The combat was fun enough, if a little easy. You can string together various combos for very visually pleasing attacks. I found it to be a bit easy for my tastes, but that is a relative measurement. My main beef with the combat was that there was so little of it. The primary focus of the game is the dungeon crawling, which as i stated earlier got old.

My main complaint for this game is the lacking of dying. Any time you fail to complete a timed button press or if you are going to fall to your death you are saved by the Female protagonist. In the case of dungeon crawling you are taken back to the last piece of solid ground you were on; in the case of the combat the enemy gains some health back and the fight continues.

I think anyone interested in the game should try it, but be warned that you might get bored with it. Ubisoft seems to be shying away from variety in their games lately, I am hoping this isn't a permanent trend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetition, Repetition, Repetition, Repetition

posted by BrewLegend (WATERBURY, CT) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I will say that I like the art style and think this game looks great, but this is the most frustratingly repetitive game I have ever played. The puzzles don't change, and you fight the same 4 bosses throughout the whole game. The combat system is terrible. After the first 30 minutes, you will see nothing new. I played maybe 2 hours worth of gameplay, and I wish I could get those 2 hours of my life back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

prince of persia the man who new to climb allot

posted by zabawaba (AUBURN, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is very repetitive the fighting is rare and boring when it does come around lack of moves and slow. This is also a time waster collecting items not fun. I say do not waist your time waiting for this game in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Best 5 minutes i've ever had!!!!

posted by muffman22 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 12, 2009

Member since May 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I anxiously the arrival of this game and I checked the mailbox every day until it's arrival. I finally get a chance to play the best game of the year. I must have got the wrong game. The graphics and the cut scenes were great and complimented the story well, A+ on that side. The game play was terrible you don't really control the fighting, it is just the same combo's over and over; verrry different than the other series. The simple fact that you cannot die in this game ruined it for me, it became a game of running around to collect light orbs, ooohh fun! Best 5 minutes i ever had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh... I liked Sands of Time Better

posted by Scratch (PASADENA, CA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To start off: there is nothing intrinsically wrong with the new iteration of Prince of Persia. It has well designed levels, though they are short and shallow. It has beautiful scenery and animation, but you've seen everything there is to see within 3 hours of the game. It's game play is fast-paced and fairly fluid, but it gets stagnant fast and you start wondering why you seem to be doing the same things over and over and over again. Well, that's because you are. With EVERYTHING.

The boss fights are long and tedious. The fights with regular enemies are over with astonishing quickness. The combos are not very intuitive and require a LOT of trial and error and constant pausing to check and see if you are doing the right thing. Oh, and every single combo is available from the very start of the game. Thus there is no growth to be had in combat. You just sort of button mash your way through fights, trying to find random combos that may look pretty as you are fighting yet another samey-looking enemy. However, during every boss fight there seem to be instances when you can't help but get wrangled into a random quick-time event. Often it catches you by surprise and you end up pressing the block button, which messes up the quick-time automatically. Not that it matters. You can't die anyway. It just seems poorly thought out.

Where this game excels is platforming. In fact, all the power-ups in this game are related to platforming and getting around the game world. This is rather disappointing as one would expect as least a few combat upgrades, but there are none to be found. However, I cannot argue with the skillful leaping and agile maneuvers that both the Prince and Elika exhibit. It is quite fun the go running around on walls and jumping off pillars and even tumbling across ceilings!

It is only to bad that this doesn't make up for the game as a whole.

Oh, yeah. And the ending is the most unsatisfying thing in video games I have ever seen. But that's just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

With all the hype I was disappointed

posted by StoneDog (San Antonio, TX) Nov 11, 2009

Member since May 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't usually write reviews but this one had so much hype and had me so excited for what I thought was going to be a gaming masterpiece. It was just a bunch of wall running and really good graphics.
The storyline was weak that game play was horrible. If you want a button masher and to spend your time running on walls this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Impressive Reboot

posted by Akiro27 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ubisoft did a great job with this reboot. Compelling characters, good dialogue, gorgeous environments.

The controls are about 90%. There are some frustrating things that pop their head up from time-to-time, however in general this was a game I was able to spend hours enjoying as a gamer, but it was also simple enough for my non-gamer wife to pick up and run with.

Definitely a solid game with a lot of polish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Prince of Persia

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, must play. Only rent though, do not buy. Extremely repetitive, 2-4 hours too long. I like you how you can't die, brings the frustration to a minimum. Wasn't nearly as frustrated as I was with Sands of time (the end a little).

This game is art, very beautiful backgrounds, smooth controls, good music (gets repetitive).

I was disappointed in the fighting (very mechanical, slow). I know they were discouraging button mashing, but it wasn't fighting at, just timing button pushes.

Very unique ending....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Game should be rated E

posted by tsabbat (MIAMI, FL) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I find that the game was a complete failure since it had nothing to do with the previous game play of prince of persia. Everything is so easy that a 5 year old can play it so as for a Prince of Persia game i rate it 1. Even the graphics were off, if you want easy achievements rent it but if you think you gonna enjoy this game dont get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for the first 10 minutes

posted by DNoble (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With the quality graphics, motion dynamics, and plot, it may actually take you awhile to realize that you hate this game, but trust me you will. This game fails on so many levels that it makes it almost impossible to enjoy Ubisoft's Ninja Gaiden-esque character movements and superb visuals. Here is a just a quick summary of things that will have you shipping the game back to Gamefly well before you've finished:

1. REPETITIVE - not only will you face the same boss characters over and over again (sometimes in just a matter of minutes), but you will constantly find yourself retracing your steps across this vast, ill-conceived world.

2. OVERDONE - there are too few places in this game world that you can simply walk or jump to get to - I enjoy a good puzzle environment as much as the next guy, but come on! Common living quarters involve wall-walking, pillar-hopping and pole-swinging. You would have to be born a ninja to go to the bathroom in this place. Also: stupid light seeds!

3. Timing - almost everything seems drawn out in this game: from unneeded dialogue, to boring cutscenes (that you cant skip), you rarely feel like you are in the flow with this game.

It's a shame, this game could have been superb. It feels like Ubisoft got bored or rushed it somewhere along the development. Worth renting if you're bored or curious, but definitely have a good backup game to play once you realize this one is terrible. Unfortunately, I did not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game, be sure to play to the end

posted by Rock8man (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I was playing through this game, I thought it was okay, but nothing too special. Playing through the ending changed that. I loved the ending so much, I actually went back and played through the game again, and loved it from beginning to end. It's the first time that has an ending has been so good it's made me love a whole game as a result, and realize it's brilliance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Prince of Persia

posted by rizz070 (PLANO, TX) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing similiar to the previous. I loved the previous game. This game redundant and very few battles, mostly it is just moving around in this world. Not exciting or action packed AT ALL....Worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If You Don't Like Platformers....Run Away!!!!

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jun 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I will try most platformers and really try to like them, but this one just rubbed me the wrong way. The collecting of lightseeds was mind numbingly boring and sapped any real enjoyment from the game. A total waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prince of Persia tries to get cute... and fails.

posted by rolla02098 (GALLOWAY, OH) May 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I thought this would be a game similar in style and tone to the great trilogy of Prince of Persia games released for the last generation of consoles. I was wrong. The last 3 games were a lot of fun running along the walls and climbing almost anything, not to mention trying to be stealthy at the same time. This was challenging and required the right moves at the right time. This new game is uninspired. It tries to make the characters "cute" like most Japanese games. This game has completely changed the tone and made parts of the game too easy (you can't die), and some parts very frustrating. When you reach one of the bosses, the game simply says that this creature cannot be harmed by physical or magical attacks. It does not give you any help in defeating the boss. This required several trips to the internet to look up howe to finish the boss, and ultimately, my giving up as I was too bored to continue.
Graphically, this is one of the worst games I have seen on the XBOX 360. It can be difficult to make out exactly what objects are and if you can grab them. For example, there are vines growing on some walls that you can climb, but other walls have a slime on them that tries to eat you (remember, though you can't die). Both of these look the same from a distance due to the poor rendering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse